View Full Version : Trapattoni era
youngirish
09/04/2008, 12:30 PM
It doesn't look like direct lines of communication were opened with any of the dodgy players yet. Stephen Ireland wasn't approached, just named in the squad after a chat with Sven.
So I'd assume that neither Finnan or O'Brien were approached directly about being a part of this squad.
I must say that I have to take my hat off to Brady and/or Tardelli for how they've approached the special problem in the Irish setup that is our friend Stephen Ireland.
He definitely shouldn't be approached directly and coerced into coming back into the team as his achievements thus far as a player IMO deseve no such special attention. Simply naming him in the squad sends the message out to him that he can rejoin the International setup if he chooses to do so while also removing his means of manipulating the media into claiming that he wants to come back but has been overlooked by the FAI.
I hope now that having been named is enough to see him return to the fold if he wishes to do so and that Brady/ Tardelli or Trapatonni leave it at that and don't try to contact him if he chooses not to. If he rejects this opportunity then he shouldn't be let back near the team in the future (even under different management).
09/04/2008, 1:55 PM
Tardelli doesn´t look like a man to be messed with, he'll sniff out a waster mentality in the squad, Tardelli said in that respect that players "need to understand and realise that when they come to play with the national squad it's above all about pride and honour"
Interesting comments also from Tardelli about Keane
"I've seen him at Tottenham and he has improved a lot, and his personality has improved a lot." :)
Indo article (http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/tardelli-and-brady-come-up-with-all-the-answers-to-questions-irish-fans-want-answered-1342145.html)
What players might have issue with Bradys comments?
Brady has always being pretty fair and if anything he didn't criticize some of the poor performers enough, any players who think they they've been treated harshly by Brady needs to take a look in the mirror and take some responsibility rather than blaming everyone else
09/04/2008, 9:15 PM
Thought he was a bit over-critical of McGeady at times.
irishfan86
10/04/2008, 12:13 AM
Thought he was a bit over-critical of McGeady at times.
No no no, he was being critical of that other guy, MacEddy!
Irish_Praha
01/06/2008, 12:06 PM
Just read some post Colombia interviews with Trap on Sportinglife.
It's so refreshing to have a manager that talks so much sense and effortlessly gets his message across.
TRAP CONFIDENT OF QUALIFICATION
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/international/republic/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/08/05/30/SOCCER_Republic_Nightlead.html&TEAMHD=eire
TRAP HAILS 'STRONG' McSHANE
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/international/republic/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/08/05/30/SOCCER_Republic_Trapattoni.html&TEAMHD=eire
He admits that we have no super stars but we have the makings of a decent team that should expect to qualify for the WC. He just whishes that he had more time with the players between games and is going to try arrange this in future.
He also gave every player some tips on how they can improve their game and gave them idividual 10 min training plans for how he wants them to play for Ireland. He asked them to do the extra 10 to 15 mins training at the end of their training sessions at their clubs. I thik this is a great idea, firstly because the extra training can only help them but secondly it will make them feel more closely connected to the intenational team. Maybe it's small things like this that will make the players care more about playing for their country.
Then of course there's wonderful quotes like:
"It's important that our players believe. If I was a singer, I would have to sing; if I was a pianist, I would have to play the piano. Today I said to the team, 'We have to be a team'. :)
Razors left peg
01/06/2008, 12:28 PM
Just read some post Colombia interviews with Trap on Sportinglife.
It's so refreshing to have a manager that talks so much sense and effortlessly gets his message across.
TRAP CONFIDENT OF QUALIFICATION
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/international/republic/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/08/05/30/SOCCER_Republic_Nightlead.html&TEAMHD=eire
TRAP HAILS 'STRONG' McSHANE
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/international/republic/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/08/05/30/SOCCER_Republic_Trapattoni.html&TEAMHD=eire
He admits that we have no super stars but we have the makings of a decent team that should expect to qualify for the WC. He just whishes that he had more time with the players between games and is going to try arrange this in future.
He also gave every player some tips on how they can improve their game and gave them idividual 10 min training plans for how he wants them to play for Ireland. He asked them to do the extra 10 to 15 mins training at the end of their training sessions at their clubs. I thik this is a great idea, firstly because the extra training can only help them but secondly it will make them feel more closely connected to the intenational team. Maybe it's small things like this that will make the players care more about playing for their country.
Then of course there's wonderful quotes like:
"It's important that our players believe. If I was a singer, I would have to sing; if I was a pianist, I would have to play the piano. Today I said to the team, 'We have to be a team'. :)
Its hard not to get a buzz when reading his comments.He says everything that you want to hear from a manager.The crap we had to listen to about 4 year plans under Staunton is comical compared to listening to a proper manager talk about gelling as a team and that teams dont need superstars to win. I also think that is a very clever way of bringing a few players back down to earth that might have gotten a bit too cocky.It will be interesting to see if they do buy into it properly and do the extra 10-15 minutes training that he has asked them to do
kingdomkerry
01/06/2008, 2:15 PM
Whatever about qualifying for the WC you certainly get the feeling he will get the best from the players at his disposal
01/06/2008, 5:34 PM
Its hard not to get a buzz when reading his comments.He says everything that you want to hear from a manager.The crap we had to listen to about 4 year plans under Staunton is comical compared to listening to a proper manager talk
A big contrast from the "no right to win", "small squad of players", and "unrealistic expectations" crap we've had to hear for the last 6 years.
Paddy Garcia
01/06/2008, 8:12 PM
Is there a psychiologist in the back room team? If not Trapp should seriously consider getting one in. Maybe even two.
I'm not sure of the politically correct term, but quite a few of the lads seem a little touched. There is Hunt who looks and sounds a little mad, always likely to get sent off, McShane running around like an eejit, criticising Keane & possibly condeming himself to the reserves forever (& talking about ripping heads off, which is another red card offence). Then there is Ireland. Stokes would make an interesting case study too. Then there are players refusing to sign autographs. Maybe he could speak to the likes of Kerr & Dumphy too. Oh and Paddy Kenny could do with a hug as well. And that Thornton boy. And ....
And I used to worry about the occasional bender McGrath went on!!
Greenforever
01/06/2008, 9:10 PM
The buzz in the stadium on Thursday, was one of the best for a long time, Trap seems to be having a postitive effect on the fans as well as the players.
I doubt if we'll see any of SI SF AOB returning now, but to be honest we may be as well off, as Trap says we must be a team, not individuals.
While any of the 3 could be good additions I don't think they fit into Traps way of thinking.
I think we will see a huge improvement in McAShane and McGeady under Trap as well, and now firmly believe we may go to Italy in April with maximum points at that stage. I think Trap will look at any loss of points away in Sep or the home games against Cyprus, Georgia and Bulgaria as not acceptable, going into the 3 most difficutl games against Italy A Bulgaria A and Italy H, where we may have to settle for 3 points as a good return.
Trap definitely is confident of qualifying and that will rub off on the players.
01/06/2008, 11:04 PM
Is there a psychiologist in the back room team? If not Trapp should seriously consider getting one in. Maybe even two.
I'm not sure of the politically correct term, but quite a few of the lads seem a little touched. There is Hunt who looks and sounds a little mad, always likely to get sent off, McShane running around like an eejit, criticising Keane & possibly condeming himself to the reserves forever (& talking about ripping heads off, which is another red card offence). Then there is Ireland. Stokes would make an interesting case study too. Then there are players refusing to sign autographs. Maybe he could speak to the likes of Kerr & Dumphy too. Oh and Paddy Kenny could do with a hug as well. And that Thornton boy. And ....
And I used to worry about the occasional bender McGrath went on!!
I think you have hit the nail on the head.
Footballers just don't drink enough thse days :)
03/06/2008, 6:37 PM
Interview with Trap by Marian Finucane (http://www.rte.ie/podcasts/2008/pc/pod-v-030508-14m36s-marianfinucane.mp3)
Hard times growing up,
would bring tears to a Yorkshire miner.
lionelhutz
04/06/2008, 9:09 AM
I doubt if we'll see any of SI SF AOB returning now, but to be honest we may be as well off, as Trap says we must be a team, not individuals.
While any of the 3 could be good additions I don't think they fit into Traps way of thinking.
Didn't Trap say that he was pretty certain Finnan was returning in the Autumn? He didn't play these two games cause he was having an operation. We badly need Finnan and O'Brien, and could do with Ireland. Our defence would be much more solid with them
04/06/2008, 9:21 AM
I got the impression that Finnan would be back for the August international against Norway but maybe this isn't the case.
It also sounds like that Trap will never close the door on these players coming back but it does appear than he is very loyal to his players and is unlikely to accomodate Ireland and O'Brien in the team picked for the qualifiers if they don't make their minds up before the Norway game.
04/06/2008, 9:25 AM
It also sounds like that Trap will never close the door on these players coming back but it does appear than he is very loyal to his players and is unlikely to accomodate Ireland and O'Brien in the team picked for the qualifiers if they don't make their minds up before the Norway game.
I get that impression too, if they decide not to come back, well then that's their choice. If they decide later in their careers that they would like to come out of retirement to help out, I reckon Trap would welcome them back, despite what many on the board might feel about it. It's a welcome change from Givens' "well it's up to them to contact me" attitude
Greenforever
04/06/2008, 9:43 AM
I get that impression too, if they decide not to come back, well then that's their choice. If they decide later in their careers that they would like to come out of retirement to help out, I reckon Trap would welcome them back, despite what many on the board might feel about it. It's a welcome change from Givens' "well it's up to them to contact me" attitude
There is actually no difference in the attitude with Givens, Trap has said they have his number if they want to use it.
If they do come back they will only be played if Trap reckons they will improve the team, and as he is focused on getting the team playing his way, the longer they stay away the harder it will be to come back.
I reckon Trap will be very loyal to his players, while being ruthless if and when needs be.
04/06/2008, 9:47 AM
There is actually no difference in the attitude with Givens, Trap has said they have his number if they want to use it.There's a massive difference: Trap made the effort to go and see Finnan, O'Brien and Ireland. Givens used a press conference to tell everyone it was up to Ireland to contact him.
kingdomkerry
04/06/2008, 10:07 AM
I think the 3 have to make their mind up by the Norway game or forget about it to be honest
zenokelly
04/06/2008, 10:46 AM
I think the 3 have to make their mind up by the Norway game or forget about it to be honest
In reality the 3 should have made their minds up before the 2 friendlies this month whether to return, barring Finnan with the injury.
The other 2 just showed a complete ignorance in my view by not showing up and maybe then expecting to come back to a starting berth in september.
It just shows the kind of persons they are that they wouldn't come out with a statement or anything regarding their future, even leaving Trap in the dark.
I don't think Trap has really been stern enough with Ireland. Seeing we have only 3 matches before the qualifying he should have really gone in and said "turn up in May or **** off"
Finnan - Very important to come back (I think ke will with Trap's comments)
O' Brien - SLightly less important though we could do with him.
Ireland - Not a must with the 2 Reids and Carsley around and his clever ablility to go missing for 89 minutes a game.
04/06/2008, 10:48 AM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/worldcup2010/news.asp?n=32577
He's turned down a bonus if we finish second. Great gesture and a lot of belief in us. You've seriously gotta love this guy. :)
amaccann
04/06/2008, 11:26 AM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/worldcup2010/news.asp?n=32577
He's turned down a bonus if we finish second. Great gesture and a lot of belief in us. You've seriously gotta love this guy. :)
Jaysus; I mean sure, he's not short of a bob or two, but that's a hell of a gesture to make & certainly a vote of confidence in his and the players abilities. What a legend.
Morbo
04/06/2008, 11:33 AM
Yeah he is a class act, could anyone imagine El Tel doing the same if he had gotten the job?
04/06/2008, 12:57 PM
Givens used a press conference to tell everyone it was up to Ireland to contact him.
That's because it is.
Trap is/was under no obligation to go chasing half-interested players. If they don't want to play, and only Finnan wants to at the moment, then there will be and are more committed players around.
I mean sure, he's not short of a bob or two, but that's a hell of a gesture to make & certainly a vote of confidence in his and the players abilities. What a legend.
Compare that to the spoofer who stole €1.6 million of our money, to put us in 42nd spot in the rankings. I use the word stole, as he certainly didn't earn it.
EastTerracer
21/09/2010, 6:52 PM
I saw some footage of Trap with Jack Charlton on skysports last night so was happy to read this article from the Indo today. It sounds like Jack's memory is fading a little bit - its hard to believe he's only four years older than Trapattoni.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/trapattoni-has-long-way-to-go-to-match-jack-2345702.html
EastTerracer
01/10/2010, 7:43 PM
Trapattoni is due to appear on the Late Late Show tonight. I presume Manuela will be there as well.
Razors left peg
01/10/2010, 7:45 PM
Trapattoni is due to appear on the Late Late Show tonight. I presume Manuela will be there as well.
I would imagine it will be cringe worthy stuff, it usually is when Tubridy interviews anyone in the world of sport. Hes not bad generally but he hasnt a clue about sport
01/10/2010, 9:04 PM
wasn't bad, Manuela did seem to be doing a bit more translating for Trapattoni than in interviews, but he spoke well.
Tubridy's no football fan, but he did alright. Not the worst interview I've seen on the Late Late (Pat Kenny interviewing David Schwimmer)
Predator
01/10/2010, 9:22 PM
wasn't bad, Manuela did seem to be doing a bit more translating for Trapattoni than in interviews, but he spoke well.
Tubridy's no football fan, but he did alright. Not the worst interview I've seen on the Late Late (Pat Kenny interviewing David Schwimmer)The crowd loved Trap. I don't think it was a good decision by Tubridy to start talking to Manuela for 5 minutes, though.
Oh, and I feel like I have to see the interview Kenny did with Schwimmer. Is it anywhere near as bad as the talk with Jerry Seinfeld??
EastTerracer
01/10/2010, 9:46 PM
Tubridy's no football fan, but he did alright. Not the worst interview I've seen on the Late Late (Pat Kenny interviewing David Schwimmer)
Thanks Tets. It sounds like it's worth checking out on the RTE Player later.
02/10/2010, 12:47 AM
The crowd loved Trap. I don't think it was a good decision by Tubridy to start talking to Manuela for 5 minutes, though.
Oh, and I feel like I have to see the interview Kenny did with Schwimmer. Is it anywhere near as bad as the talk with Jerry Seinfeld??
Missed the Seinfeld one so I can't compare. It was when Run, Fat Boy Run (which Schwimmer directed) came out. Kenny barely mentioned the film, just kept asking him about working on Friends, scenes with Jennifer Aniston, etc. Schwimmer even said at one point that, while he was proud of it, he didn't want to be known for it for the rest of his life. So Kenny asked him about the scene where Ross and Rachel break up and how hard that was on him.
The Fly
02/10/2010, 12:54 AM
His interview with Pete Doherty has to be a contender for the title.