View Full Version : Glen Hansard Wins An Oscar(r)

25/02/2008, 12:16 PM
Full List of Nominees and Winners here (http://www.oscars.org/80academyawards/nominees/index.html)

25/02/2008, 12:18 PM
Proof positive that God has abandoned us I feel

25/02/2008, 12:22 PM
Fair play to Glen, nice guy. Good weekend for the Irish Keane wins and medal and Hansard wins an Oscar.

anto1208
25/02/2008, 12:52 PM
Overnight success story ;)

He is going on oprea today i think . Is it true that his bird is 19 and they have been going out for around 2 years making her 17 and him 35 when they started dating

25/02/2008, 12:53 PM
Proof positive that God has abandoned us I feel

Bad-minded fcuker.

Seriously ...never been a huge fan but happy enough for him. If it was any of the legions who've followed in his ****y-knicker wake (the damians, the bell X's, assorted other acoustic picking forlorn cnuts) I'd be averting my gaze in disgust -but happy enough for GH.

25/02/2008, 12:55 PM
Yeah that is true but thats not really against the law is it. Glen Hansard knows her Dad as when the Frames toured the Czech Rep, Glen Hansard stayed in the Irglova houshold, as her Dad is a promoter in the Czech Rep.

25/02/2008, 12:55 PM
Overnight success story ;)

He is going on oprea today i think . Is it true that his bird is 19 and they have been going out for around 2 years making her 17 and him 35 when they started dating

...and someone claimed Martin Taylor brought the game into disrepute.:eek:

25/02/2008, 1:00 PM
Yeah that is true but thats not really against the law is it. Glen Hansard knows her Dad as when the Frames toured the Czech Rep, Glen Hansard stayed in the Irglova houshold, as her Dad is a promoter in the Czech Rep.

That's turned this story on it's head anyway! He's practically at Michael Jackson levels here! :D

25/02/2008, 1:01 PM
That's turned this story on it's head anyway! He's practically at Michael Jackson levels here! :D

How is that, 17 is perfectly legal so I think you are on dodgy ground comparing him to Michael Jackson.

Anyway for anybody that is interested here you go.

http://www.rte.ie/news/morningireland/

25/02/2008, 1:07 PM
How is that, 17 is perfectly legal so I think you are on dodgy ground comparing him to Michael Jackson.

He knew her from being friends with her father and stayed at her house when she was younger, is that correct? If so that's dodgy with a capital D.

Plus what's wrong with comparing him to the innocent Michael? I think it is you who is on dodgy grounds with your implications about Jackson, and subsequent link with Hansard :)

25/02/2008, 1:10 PM
How is that dodgy in one bit. You seem to be very cynical about anybody who achieves anything. Instead of being glad an Irish person is dong well on the International stage you have the cynical bitterness that continues to be a charaterisit of many people in this country.

Wolfie
25/02/2008, 1:11 PM
Plus what's wrong with comparing him to the innocent Michael? I think it is you who is on dodgy grounds with your implications about Jackson, and subsequent link with Hansard :)

He's been framed

25/02/2008, 1:33 PM
I was delighted for Glen. He is one of the most down to earth of the Irish "Rock Stars" and has worked his butt off for many years.

Go Glen.

25/02/2008, 1:47 PM
How is that dodgy in one bit. You seem to be very cynical about anybody who achieves anything. Instead of being glad an Irish person is dong well on the International stage you have the cynical bitterness that continues to be a charaterisit of many people in this country.

Cynical bitterness? For what? Not sharing your hero worship of bed wetting Hansard and the Holy Bono? Cop on to yourself with this 'I'm glad an Irish person is doing well' attitude would you

anto1208
25/02/2008, 1:48 PM

Who's saying there is anything wrong with it ;)

its leagal but a little creepy dont you think. i might change my mind when i get to 37

noby
25/02/2008, 1:50 PM
I might change my mind when my daughter gets to 17.

Anyway, fair play Hansard. Well done on the oscar too <ba-dum tish>.

25/02/2008, 2:04 PM
cynical bitterness that continues to be a charaterisit of many people in this country.

I don't like Glen Hansard because he makes me feel faintly ill and is responsible for popularising a certain type of music which finds mass appeal among student union types and soul-less types in general (there are of course exceptions before anyone gives out!)

Basically I dislike him for the same reasons I dislike Snow Patrol, Damien Rice etc, etc.

Now that he has won an Oscar does that make me a begrudger all of a sudden??

If The Commitments could see him now they would be appalled! :)

noby
25/02/2008, 2:05 PM
If And And! And could see him now...

anto1208
25/02/2008, 2:26 PM
Having never met him i can't say wether i like him or not but i like some of his songs others i dont care for , didnt think this was that great a song but then again you dont get really good songs written just for movies.Im not one of these people that only likes a song that falls into a certain genre or hates one because the kids think its cool !! A good song is a good song regardless.

Im happy for him must watch the movie have it on the table at home for weeks now.

25/02/2008, 2:27 PM
Cynical bitterness? For what? Not sharing your hero worship of bed wetting Hansard and the Holy Bono? Cop on to yourself with this 'I'm glad an Irish person is doing well' attitude would you

Dont worhip him at all and have interviewed him a few times and found him to be full of **** sometimes and sometimes he was grand.

The point is if an Irish person achieves something on the world stage then they should be contratulated rather than the small town mindset that you seem to possess.

I say fair play to people who actually go out and achieve things in the world.

25/02/2008, 2:31 PM
The point is if an Irish person achieves something on the world stage then they should be contratulated rather than the small town mindset that you seem to possess.

Is it not more small town to congratulate someone on an achievement when you don't mean it simply because he is from the same place as you?

25/02/2008, 2:33 PM
I think you might just be jealous because he got off with your friend who you fancied for ages. Now that is small town.

25/02/2008, 2:36 PM
Fair play to Glen, wouldn't be the biggest Frames fan, and I've torn strips off him before for some of his music, but you have to respect an Oscar win.
Special mention for Jon Stewart, who interrupted the ceremony to bring Markéta Irglová back out to make her acceptance speech

25/02/2008, 2:38 PM
I think you might just be jealous because he got off with your friend who you fancied for ages. Now that is small town.

Ooh that's hurtful, especially from a guy who tried to criticise me for bringing the level down in the Ronnie Drew thread. True collours shown Neil, and it's a sickly shade of brown I'm afraid

25/02/2008, 2:45 PM
I am sure you will get over it just like he seemed to get over your mate.

Billsthoughts
25/02/2008, 2:49 PM
ya see what he did there Jebus? did ya???:D

Wangball
25/02/2008, 2:52 PM
Not really sure what my opinion on his Oscar win is maninly because I don't really care

In reference to him & his teenage love interest fair play to him, he makes sappy soppy music for moody student teenage types so you can hardly blame the man....he's literally polling his demographic

25/02/2008, 3:00 PM

I heard it was under?!

25/02/2008, 3:00 PM

Well when that happens I expect you to organise my 'Isn't He Great He's Irish' parade, and for you to set up a Jebus shrine right next to your Hansard one in honour of my achievement

Wangball
25/02/2008, 3:04 PM
Has anyone booked the Pheonix Park for Hansard's homecoming??? Joe Duffy is probably clearing his diary as we speak

noby
25/02/2008, 3:08 PM
Joe Duffy is probably clearing his diary as we speak

I read that as "clearing his dairy". I presumed it was a euphemism for 'getting rather excited about it', so to speak.

Wangball
25/02/2008, 3:12 PM
Well they'll have to polish his trophy with something.....

25/02/2008, 3:13 PM
You filthy minded brats!!

noby
25/02/2008, 3:17 PM
You filthy minded brats!!

You filthy minded brat!!

25/02/2008, 3:20 PM
Moi??? I am shocked that you could see fit to cast such aspirtions on my flawless character. Where's me whip so I can put manners on ya?

25/02/2008, 3:24 PM
Moi??? I am shocked that you could see fit to cast such aspirtions on my flawless character. Where's me whip so I can put manners on ya?

:p

You're all filthy minded brats, let's just leave it at that.

And besides, everyone knows Joe Duffy is neutered.

Wangball
25/02/2008, 3:28 PM
If you think thats filthy you should see my Internet History

25/02/2008, 9:09 PM
Didnt have any idea who he was, or previous songs, but heard the song this morning.

Am I the only one who thought it was ****e?

26/02/2008, 10:43 AM
No a good few people think its ****e.

Billsthoughts
27/02/2008, 10:18 PM
If I had known he was up against 3 "Enchanted" songs.....no fuppin way should he have one. best film of the year and best songs by a mile.:mad:

28/02/2008, 11:15 PM
This news will pish George Byrne off no end :D:D

29/02/2008, 10:58 AM
Jesus there is another knob if there ever was one. George Byrne, he is up there with Cathal Dervan as the biggest tossers to put their words in Irish newspapers.

Billsthoughts
29/02/2008, 2:54 PM
Hardly.
Whether you agree or disagree with him at least he knows his stuff. Knows his music, films and footy. Is a good journalist as well. Generally very on the money with reviews of films. Never goes OTT in his praise of what are good but flawed films. Great and spot on review of There Will Be Blood.

29/02/2008, 2:57 PM
I actually think the opposite but that is hardly suprising. He is so biased in favour of one type of music he does not give any other type of music a chance. The only time I saw him talk about football was on that Forum as part of the 1994 World Cup and he was a joke on this with his ignorant remarks about the Bulgarians.

He is also a second rate journalist who behaves like an A list rockstar and festivals and gigs etc.

cheifo
29/02/2008, 3:04 PM
Who's saying there is anything wrong with it ;)

its leagal but a little creepy dont you think. i might change my mind when i get to 37

You will.:D;)

Billsthoughts
29/02/2008, 3:41 PM
I actually think the opposite but that is hardly suprising. He is so biased in favour of one type of music he does not give any other type of music a chance .
Well he is a music fan so therefore he has opinions on what he does or doesn’t like. He generally calls it as he sees it. You would expect your music critic to have strong opinions on…. well….music!

The only time I saw him talk about football was on that Forum as part of the 1994 World Cup and he was a joke on this with his ignorant remarks about the Bulgarians.

Eh he is a massive rovers fan. (Youd think as his Bohs equivalent ya might know that!) Generally gets a football reff in to most articles he does regardless of ehat they are.

He is also a second rate journalist who behaves like an A list rockstar and festivals and gigs etc.
Don’t know the chap so don’t know how he behaves. I did once spot him at a Glen Tilbrook gig and he seemed to be nodding his head and enjoying the music. Hardly behaving like what you call an “A lister”. I think I also saw him at a Rovers v Pats game about ten years ago. He seemed to just sit and watch the game. Altho seeing as it was pre 2007 cant imagine you were at it. ; )

01/03/2008, 12:44 AM
Well he is a music fan so therefore he has opinions on what he does or doesn’t like. He generally calls it as he sees it. You would expect your music critic to have strong opinions on…. well….music!

Eh he is a massive rovers fan. (Youd think as his Bohs equivalent ya might know that!) Generally gets a football reff in to most articles he does regardless of ehat they are.

Don’t know the chap so don’t know how he behaves. I did once spot him at a Glen Tilbrook gig and he seemed to be nodding his head and enjoying the music. Hardly behaving like what you call an “A lister”. I think I also saw him at a Rovers v Pats game about ten years ago. He seemed to just sit and watch the game. Altho seeing as it was pre 2007 cant imagine you were at it. ; )

So you know my life do you now. I knew he was a Rovers fan as I have seen him at gigs wearing his Rovers Top and maybe I am biased against him but the only time I have seen him on TV talking about football was during that sad forum on RTE and he came across as a knob. I have also seen him at various music festivals both backstage and in the VIP area and he comes across as a Class A Knob, but I suppose if you have Pepsi shoved up your nose that is understandable.

He is like Pat Dolan in that you may agree what he is saying but his style of debate is very off putting and over the top and lacking balance but I suppose its a personal

Finally I don't think you really know me so you should refrain from making personal comments of when I went to football matches. Fair play to you for going to a Rovers Pats game 10 years ago. I went to a Bohs Rovers game 20 years ago, now give me a medal. Probably the reason I was not at the game you mention was probably due to the fact I was not living in the country and I don't support either team but you would not know that. Some keep your ignorant thoughts to yourself as you don't the facts of the situation.

Billsthoughts
01/03/2008, 8:22 AM
there was a little wink smilie neil it was tongue in cheek.:)

03/03/2008, 11:05 AM
Neil, have ye got the painters in?!

Billsthoughts
03/03/2008, 12:49 PM
Id be careful if I was you Paul....:mad: