View Full Version : Robbie Keanes first Major Winners Medal in Club Football

24/02/2008, 4:53 PM
Delighted for Robbie today and he has deserved it for the season he has had.

24/02/2008, 5:00 PM
Burst into tears and everything. Aw......

Congrats Robbie.

Robbie Keane "It was my dream to lift this cup"???

red metal
24/02/2008, 5:29 PM
Its allways great to see an irishman lift a trophy.delighted for him :D

Dave77
24/02/2008, 5:31 PM
Fair play robbie.

Great season and it really showed how much it meant to him. Always great to see Irish players winning honours at club level.

Greenforever
24/02/2008, 5:46 PM
Congratulations Robbie, you deserve it

danonion
24/02/2008, 6:24 PM
He'll scoop the UEFA cup as well this season

24/02/2008, 7:00 PM
Well done robbier, truely deserved.

24/02/2008, 7:21 PM
Its about time.

Now all you have to do is transfer your performences for Spurs to the Ireland team.

co. down green
24/02/2008, 9:00 PM
Well done robbier, truely deserved.

Yeah, well done Robbie

Post match interview (http://link.brightcove.com/services/link/bcpid958992159/bctid1428627573)

Marked Man
24/02/2008, 9:59 PM
Is the carling cup really a major trophy?

24/02/2008, 10:03 PM
Well its as important as the FA Cup as it gets you the same outcome, qualification to the Uefa Cup

Greenforever
24/02/2008, 10:54 PM

3rd Most important competition in England, so I'd say yes

sullanefc
24/02/2008, 10:59 PM
3rd Most important competition in England, so I'd say yes

4th most important.

1 Premier League
2 FA Cup
3 Championship
4 League Cup

Greenforever
24/02/2008, 11:05 PM
4th most important.

1 Premier League
2 FA Cup
3 Championship
4 League Cup

I doubt if most people would agree, I mean the so called best 20 clubs in England aren'r eligible for the championship:D

If you are talking about what they are worth financially, then just promotion from the championship to the premiership is possibly worth more than winning the FA Cup.

24/02/2008, 11:10 PM
I also have to laugh with Grant saying that Chelsea were the better team. At least Drogba was honest and fair. Good game though and delighted for Keane may he win many more honours in the game both at club and international level

24/02/2008, 11:51 PM

It is for Spurs.

Serb
25/02/2008, 12:15 AM
Based on Spur's current league position, it may have been the only way for them to get back into Europe. I suppose they still have a good chance with the UEFA Cup, but they are guaranteed to be back in Europe next season now, so good for them.

Oh, and congrats to Robbie! :)

Morbo
25/02/2008, 8:17 AM
I also have to laugh with Grant saying that Chelsea were the better team. At least Drogba was honest and fair. Good game though and delighted for Keane may he win many more honours in the game both at club and international level Off the pitch he was but on the pitch he was up to his old antics of arching his back in pain from the slightest bit of contact, anyway its great to see Robbie win something and hopefully its the first of many, looks like he now has good managers both at club and international level to get the best out of him

25/02/2008, 8:37 AM
Delighted for Robbie, though dont think he had much luck himself on the day. Ref picked a very odd time to blow up the game. Great final - at this stage, the carling cup is offering more excitment/better games than the much talked up fa cup.

aidz1
25/02/2008, 9:05 AM
Congrats Robbie
Good to see him land a trophy. He deserves it.

BaZmO*
25/02/2008, 9:07 AM
Not hugely important when compared to the League and FA Cup cup but it's a trophy nonetheless. And credit where credit's due, Spurs had to beat Chelsea, Arsenal, Man City and Middlesbrough to win it this year so it was no mean feat.

Was absolutely delighted for Robbie, it was obvious that it meant an awful lot to him. His face was brilliant when he got to lift the trophy. :D

It'll be interesting to see how far they get in the Uefa Cup now that they don't have to concentrate on the league.

25/02/2008, 9:28 AM
Well deserved Robbie, well done.

25/02/2008, 9:31 AM
Delighted for Robbie, though dont think he had much luck himself on the day. Ref picked a very odd time to blow up the game.
I thought he had a very good game. I switched off after he was subbed.
He was the inspiration for the victory, his attitude throughout the game would have pleased the other Keane.

BaZmO*
25/02/2008, 9:38 AM
I thought he had a very good game. I switched off after he was subbed.
He was the inspiration for the victory, his attitude throughout the game would have pleased the other Keane.
He actually got the second highest "Player Rating" on the BBC website, just behind Woodgate.

25/02/2008, 10:58 AM
I think it is a major trophy in the sense that the Premiership is unwinnable for all but 2 or 3 teams and the FA Cup is almost a closed shop as well. What else can Spurs win domestically?

Well done Spurs and Robbie.

25/02/2008, 11:32 AM

When Man.U/Chelsea/Arsenal/Liverpool are still in it along with other competitions it is always referred to as one of the major trophies. Only yesterday in commentary Chelsea were described as still being 'in contention for 4 major trophies'.

When the likes of Spurs, Middlesboro or Blackburn win it, it appears to suddenly lose its 'majpr trophy' status.

joe_barry80
25/02/2008, 11:41 AM
Congrats to Robbie. Have to say it great seeing an Irish person winning.

mackannovic
25/02/2008, 11:42 AM
Fair play to him. Still think he's a tosser though.

jmurphyc
25/02/2008, 12:39 PM
Although he didn't have a fantastic game, he worked really hard as usual and thoroughly deserved it. Tottenham were by far the better side. Well done Robbie!

endabob1
25/02/2008, 12:40 PM
There are 3 Major trophies in English football The League, The FA Cup and the League Cup undoubtedly the league cup is the 3rd in that list but it's still a major trophy.
A great day for Spurs & for Robbie who was clearly very emotional about the whole thing.

carloz
25/02/2008, 3:10 PM
Got to say well dont Robbie. he has taken a lot of flack from us Irish, some deserved, some not so. Im confident that the next campaign, under a decent manager, he will begin to shine and prove himself against worthy opposition

Claret Murph
25/02/2008, 3:28 PM
Well done Robbie
Some times players win nothing for the whole time they are in the game , I am happy he can now look back at his medal in later years and has got something to show for his time in football ( apart for a bank full of cash ) I just hope he wins other cups , good on yer .

Seagull-4-life
25/02/2008, 3:31 PM
He actually got the second highest "Player Rating" on the BBC website, just behind Woodgate.
ye and he was leading after 90 minutes...delighted for the lad he deserves it and the scenes at the end were brilliant

jmurphyc
25/02/2008, 3:35 PM
As a football club, I'm glad it was Tottenham and not Chelsea. Look at the scenes at the end. The whole of the Spurs end of the ground was rocking. Would that have happened with the Chelsea fans? I doubt it personally.

25/02/2008, 3:52 PM
is this on youtube or anything, i had to leave before that part.

Seagull-4-life
25/02/2008, 4:06 PM
no had a quick look there...nothing

eekers
25/02/2008, 4:52 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_GuK4Ta35o

26/02/2008, 9:05 AM
I honestly think Spurs (inc Robbie) are going places under Ramos and have a really good chance of breaking into the top four next season. Spurs have always been good going forward but under Ramos and the short space of time he has been there, the defence has improved an awful lot.

26/02/2008, 12:52 PM
If you are talking about what they are worth financially, then just promotion from the championship to the premiership is possibly worth more than winning the FA Cup.

Promotion from the Championship is worth more financially than winning the Champions League due to the new TV money given to the Premiership. Last year the Guardian had a piece about how the Championship playoff final is now the richest match in world football in terms of what the winners get for just winning the game

Billsthoughts
26/02/2008, 2:24 PM
very dubious thread for the Ireland forum.......

26/02/2008, 2:32 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_GuK4Ta35o

that fella likes the saw doctors.....i saw a picture of the spurs players on the metro and there mouths were all opened catching flies, looked really weird.

keane seems to have a horn for berbatov. he will prolly be like that against bulgaria too.

AustinoAsprilla
26/02/2008, 9:39 PM
Fair play to him. Delighted.

kingdom hoop
27/02/2008, 12:17 AM
keane seems to have a horn for berbatov.

They mutually arouse each other in the videos I've seen.

Sign of a good performer when an illustrious co-star works well with them.

RivaldoBabb
27/02/2008, 5:50 AM
He deserves a winners medal for the way he has played the last 3 seasons for Spurs. I'm not sure about his interview when he says that he had dreamt about lifting that cup since his childhood. Someone needs to tell him its the Carling cup, not the FA cup.

Still its good to see an Irish player who actually performs well week in week out in the premiership get rewarded. Unlike that waster John O Shea who contributes bugger all and picks up medals along the way.

27/02/2008, 7:03 AM
Still its good to see an Irish player who actually performs well week in week out in the premiership get rewarded. Unlike that waster John O Shea who contributes bugger all and picks up medals along the way.

John O'Shea :eek: According to the hero of the Irish people on RTE television, he would walk on to the Inter Milan team.

Delighted for Robbie Keane. Won't stop the begrudgers still having a go at him on this board and elsewhere. Doesn't matter if it's the FA Cup or Carling Cup: he has won a medal with Spurs and good luck to him.

27/02/2008, 9:15 AM
They mutually arouse each other in the videos I've seen.

Sign of a good performer when an illustrious co-star works well with them.

I like the double entendre, very subtle :)

Denis The Red
27/02/2008, 10:32 AM
Its about time.

Now all you have to do is transfer your performences for Spurs to the Ireland team.
Read an interesting article in last Sunday's News of the World where they compared Robbie's career with his Ireland one. I personally don't think he puts Spurs ahead of Ireland. I just think that he's in a comfort zone with his country and no matter how badly he plays we have no one to drop him for. Spurs don't have that problem and he knows it.
But well done on his success in the Carling cup anyway.

kingdom hoop
27/02/2008, 11:07 AM
Here lads watch the celebrations video again from 1.25 (no volume necessary) for Robbie's, ah excited, search for Berbatov. You see him gaily mouth "Berba" at 1.30 as he first spots his partner, Cerny blocks his path momentarily, but there was no denying Keane that day. :)

Great to see people display such emotion. Hard to imagine Drogba embracing Lampard with the same degree of affection.

Transfer to video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_GuK4Ta35o)

27/02/2008, 12:49 PM
John O'Shea :eek: According to the hero of the Irish people on RTE television, he would walk on to the Inter Milan team.....
...and would be swiftly ejected from the San Siro for simulation (impersonating a footballer). :D

The Legend
27/02/2008, 9:14 PM
[QUOTE=kingdom hoop;886032]

Great to see people display such emotion. QUOTE]

He might have a hernia if they ever won the league. :D