15/02/2008, 6:13 PM
Salzburg are 2 up at half time in their game with matterburg

:):):)Never thought that we all would be following Fc Salzburg

joe_barry80
15/02/2008, 6:54 PM
4-0 up now

15/02/2008, 7:01 PM
The above posts moved into a new thread which I was going to open myself. I feel we'll all be following Salzburg now for obvious reasons.

15/02/2008, 7:08 PM
Just looking and they haven't won by 4 goals in the league since 2006. Coincedence that they do it this week?

I didn't realise they had a strong enough team. Alexander Zickler, Niko Kovac and Sasa Ilic scoring for them tonight.

joe_barry80
15/02/2008, 7:26 PM
finished 4-0 happy if he gets us scoring like that

backstothewall
15/02/2008, 7:54 PM
I'd sooner he got us the Nil as the Four. If he gets us that, an old fashioned 1 will do

beautifulrock
15/02/2008, 8:22 PM
Matterburg are no good lads :)

Bondvillain
15/02/2008, 8:27 PM

Does that contraption you have suck the fun out of ANY size room, or are there specific ones for specific jobs?

joe_barry80
15/02/2008, 8:38 PM

They are ok they have Carsten Janker from Bayern and as number of austrian National Team Players

Rovers fan
15/02/2008, 8:42 PM
is the rest of their team any good though? 4 good players won't get ya into the premiership. Not suprised they have such a good team as the owners are so wealthy

Bondvillain
15/02/2008, 8:48 PM
is the rest of their team any good though? 4 good players won't get ya into the premiership. Not suprised they have such a good team as the owners are so wealthy

A smattering of Macedonians & Bosnians in a Sea of mostly average Austrians. Janker's the star man. 9 goals in 24 games.

They were only 5 points off RBS before tonight's match, not up there challenging for top 3 primarily due to a few recent drawn games where they threw away the lead in the last seconds.

To be honest, I have no Idea of the overall strength of the Austrian league, and whether this performance is good or bad.
Perhaps someone from the Star surfing foot.ie looking for an easy space filler doing reasearch here at the moment could enlighten us over the next few days?

Sv Mattersburg (http://www.svm.at/)

joe_barry80
15/02/2008, 9:01 PM
It's a weak league to be honest. You have 3 champions in the last 8 years gone out of business. Wacker Tirol, GAK and Sturm Graz. The top few Teams have lost at least 5 games each. They can all beat each other there is no real consitincy in the league. Had it's hey day in 1998-2002 Sturm Graz got far enough in the champions League

Bondvillain
15/02/2008, 9:16 PM
You have 3 champions in the last 8 years gone out of business. Wacker Tirol, GAK and Sturm Graz.

Im sad he's gone out of business, but Im very glad that Whacker Tyrrell got himself a decent gig and achieved something for himself. It's hard to find work coming off those Fás courses in Clondalkin.

beautifulrock
15/02/2008, 9:17 PM
They are ok they have Carsten Janker from Bayern and as number of austrian National Team Players

Just to confirm I was being sarcastic :) I dont know the Austrian league too well. I wont do it again as I know we are trying to be serious about this.

joe_barry80
15/02/2008, 9:22 PM
sorry i'm working at the moment. just glimsing at the posts

15/02/2008, 9:50 PM
They are ok they have Carsten Janker
What's wrong with this sentence?

ruben_sosa
16/02/2008, 3:36 PM
With last season's runaway league success swiftly receding into the history books, Trapattoni is under pressure to consolidate a second successive league title as they aim to break away from a tight-knit bunch at the top of the Bundesliga.

No surprises then that Il Trap picks a rudimentary 4-4-2, with two natural front men replacing his recent predilection for swarming midfield and leaving the lanky Niall Quinn-like Marc Janko up front.

Instead, the veteran Alex Zickler joins Janko and, with the pacy Johan Vonlanthen on the bench and wide men ordered to get forward at all times, this is a team Trapattoni has sent out with eyes on a morale-boosting home win.

A bit like ...

Arsene Wenger

Tactics

Not much call for a forward-lying offside Trap on this night, not against such weak opposition.

However, for a man famed as a defensive co-ordinator, he has a rum bunch in the back four, a very hesitant operative and a goalie who gives everyone the heebie-jeebies just for good

measure.

He orders his right winger, languid Serb Sasa Ilic, to aid the defence but the player often seems reluctant to do so, much to the manager's growing chagrin. A roaming winger -- Damien Duff perhaps -- is allowed some free rein.

Even during attacks, and his side are very proficient out wide with two target men supplying goals from impressive crosses from either side, Il Trap is already attempting to re-align his defence in case of counter-attack.

A bit like ...

Fabio Capello

Half-time impact

With his team utterly dominant, there is little need to tinker with what is a facile winning formula.

Accused of sometimes sitting back on 2-0 leads, most notably when dumped out of the Champions League earlier this season, the Italian clearly feels there are more goals in this one and he has every intention of getting them.

Hence his instructions to maintain the pressure on the creaky opposition defence, a policy which reaps dividends as his side cruise to an effortless victory.

Even more impressively, the defence is utterly watertight, his half-time words clearly had the desired effect.

A bit like ...

Alex Ferguson

Body language

Get ready for some fun times. The Italian's fiery temper shows no immediate signs of abating even as he prepares to begin his 70th year. At various times, he harangues an assistant bearing an uncanny resemblance to Burt Reynolds; a young ballboy for giving the ball back to the opposition too readily; one of his subs for not giving the message to the ballboy with sufficient vigour and, most bizarrely, a member of the crowd sitting behind the dug-out.

And that was only the first half!

Bravely sporting just a natty Italian suit in temperatures plunging to several degrees below zero, the effervescent Trapattoni, when not standing at the edge of the dug-out, kicks every ball and indulges in a mini-twirl and fist pump every time his side score.

A bit like ...

Neil Warnock on a bad day

Reaction to players

More fun. At times either whistling or imparting his message with his hands, Trapattoni engages in constant communication with his team. Sometimes, he has to go to extremes with some of the more diffident players.

He harangues his confused left winger Patrik Jezek, who fails to understand his coach's orders, another time his central defender for daring to go up front for a free-kick.

When his team scores, the players celebrate with the subs bench and, intriguingly, ignore the management team. He does applaud their decent attacking efforts though but his key agenda is organisation. And when they scored the third, he even makes up with the sub he earlier harassed.

A bit like ...

Neil Warnock on a worse day

Reaction of fans

Trappatoni is hardly ever serenaded by the crowd during the first half and his appearance on the big screen in the 16th minute raises barely a murmur despite the early lead goal.

But, as his side wallow in the comfort of a 2-0 lead, they do begin singing songs in salutation to the man who led them to a first title in a decade last season.

Although weary of his defensive-minded line-ups of late, they warm to a one-sided display, ending in a 4-0 win. There's no shouts of "Give me a T" and Il Trap doesn't court his public.

He leaves the pitch in a very relaxed manner. Mutual respect between a maestro and his audience, one would conclude.

A bit like ...

Avram Grant

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/team-selection-1290832.html

cavan_fan
16/02/2008, 5:41 PM
In the light of irish toours to Sunderland I think an enterprising Irish travel agent could arrange weekend trips to Salzburg over the next few months.

They could call them the 'Trap and Von Trapp' tour!

amaccann
16/02/2008, 6:12 PM
No bad for a team managed by someone who is apparently "defensive" (or a non-english speaker apparently)

Joey Killester
17/02/2008, 12:03 AM
For hose who dont know, Salzburg are one of the most hated clubs in Europe, certainly in Austria, among supporters, due to them being taken over by Red Bull who changed the strip, colours, crest and name of the club, basically destroying their history and heritage. The are the epitamy of madern football, football as a business and all that. Some supporters of the old Salzburg have formed their own team rather then supporting the franchise, which are going by the old team name, SV Austria Salzburg, who are currently in the 7th tier of the Austrian league system. I know thsi has nothing to do with Trap, but I thought you should know before you all start supporting them.

eekers
17/02/2008, 1:01 AM
For hose who dont know, Salzburg are one of the most hated clubs in Europe, certainly in Austria, among supporters, due to them being taken over by Red Bull who changed the strip, colours, crest and name of the club, basically destroying their history and heritage. The are the epitamy of madern football, football as a business and all that. Some supporters of the old Salzburg have formed their own team rather then supporting the franchise, which are going by the old team name, SV Austria Salzburg, who are currently in the 7th tier of the Austrian league system. I know thsi has nothing to do with Trap, but I thought you should know before you all start supporting them.

well there are people on this board that supported dublin city ;)

Philly
17/02/2008, 1:18 AM
Or we could do it our own way. Ryanair and Aer Lingus fly direct to Salzburg. It'd be great to get a few fans together for a trip there to say hi to Trap!!

17/02/2008, 1:23 AM
Or we could do it our own way. Ryanair and Aer Lingus fly direct to Salzburg. It'd be great to get a few fans together for a trip there to say hi to Trap!!

Sounds interested, seeing as how the Easter meet up has officially died a death, I'd be up for this.

gufcfan
17/02/2008, 4:26 AM

I wonder would a load of drunken irishmen turnin up at the Salzburg ground wavin tri-colours be a good idea, considering we stole their manager?...

17/02/2008, 9:34 AM
I wonder would a load of drunken irishmen turnin up at the Salzburg ground wavin tri-colours be a good idea, considering we stole their manager?...

its ok, its not as if Red Bull have fans.

Wangball
17/02/2008, 9:48 AM
Do you remember Dunphy saying that if Carsten Janker got picked for Germany again he'd consider there to be hope for everyone and he'd get his boots out and start playing again?

17/02/2008, 10:01 AM
Definitely (http://www.austria-salzburg.at/A-Bitter-End-and-a-New-Beginning.55.1.html). Of all the teams to go and watch and give money to, they'd be well down on the list, along with MK Dons.

Bondvillain
17/02/2008, 2:24 PM
Ah, I'd rather wait and say Howaya when he gets to Dublin.

(BTW, Have they appointed a grand marshall for the Paddy's day parade in Dublin on the 17th yet? Trap is free from the 15th to the 19th.....:D )

Philly
17/02/2008, 7:50 PM
Sounds interested, seeing as how the Easter meet up has officially died a death, I'd be up for this.

Anybody else interested? Would be an interesting get-away. I know it's a franchise but get over it. That's a discussion for another day!

17/02/2008, 9:20 PM
Anybody else interested? Would be an interesting get-away. I know it's a franchise but get over it. That's a discussion for another day!

if ye feel like displaying a "violet/weisse" banner, all the better

brine3
17/02/2008, 10:23 PM
I didn't realise they had a strong enough team. Alexander Zickler...

zickler ist eine spitze, mehr mehmet, mehr bassler!

Joey Killester
17/02/2008, 11:35 PM
Definitely (http://www.austria-salzburg.at/A-Bitter-End-and-a-New-Beginning.55.1.html). Of all the teams to go and watch and give money to, they'd be well down on the list, along with MK Dons.

Thank you, somebody knows football.

amjl
18/02/2008, 11:21 AM
It's a weak league to be honest. You have 3 champions in the last 8 years gone out of business. Wacker Tirol, GAK and Sturm Graz. The top few Teams have lost at least 5 games each. They can all beat each other there is no real consitincy in the league. Had it's hey day in 1998-2002 Sturm Graz got far enough in the champions League

Sounds a bit Irish. Shels also had their decent runs runs in the Champions League before nearly going out business themselves.
Most teams in the top 3 of any league will will lose anywhere from 4 to 9 games in a season. Only obvious difference is a different team seems to win the league every season in Austria, where as the Eircom league has only 4 different champions in the last decade.

fergalr
18/02/2008, 12:27 PM
Sounds a bit Irish. Shels also had their decent runs runs in the Champions League before nearly going out business themselves.

Most teams in the top 3 of any league will will lose anywhere from 4 to 9 games in a season. Only obvious difference is a different team seems to win the league every season in Austria, where as the Eircom league has only 4 different champions in the last decade.

Probably wise to do a quick google before posting with such certaintly.

1997/98 St. Patrick's Athletic
1998/99 St. Patrick's Athletic
1999/00 Shelbourne
2000/01 Bohemians
2001/02 Shelbourne
2002/03 Bohemians
2003 Shelbourne
2004 Shelbourne
2005 Cork City
2006 Shelbourne
2007 Drogheda United

18/02/2008, 5:13 PM
To be honest, I have no Idea of the overall strength of the Austrian league, and whether this performance is good or bad.
Perhaps someone from the Star surfing foot.ie looking for an easy space filler doing reasearch here at the moment could enlighten us over the next few days?
If you bought the Star on Saturday you would have found out.:D

joe_barry80
18/02/2008, 6:14 PM
if ye feel like displaying a "violet/weisse" banner, all the better
If you want get away for the easter break. they are playing on Saturday the 22nd March against Rapid Vienna. Rapid will bring a big crowd with them. it sure to be a good game. Stadium is right beside the airport also. Couple of great Irish pubs in the city O'Mally's and someother one. Great place for a gettaway.

http://bundesliga.at/terminplan/index.php?&mode=result&y=2008&m=03&d=22

Juanace
23/03/2008, 7:55 PM
Just saw on Sky Sports News that Salzurg lost 7 - 0 to there tite rivals to today!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thats insane, im really worried!!! Is he past it..on that form id bring back Stan:(

23/03/2008, 8:00 PM
http://www.redbulls.com/soccer/salzburg/ (http://www.redbulls.com/soccer/salzburg/)

Blue-Army
23/03/2008, 8:04 PM
Giovanni Trapattoni: “That was not just a defeat, that was a catastrophe. In 50 years as a coach and player I have never conceded seven goals. We were given a real lesson by Rapid today. Normally we play with lots of confidence at home but a few players looked scared today -they were lifeless, as if they were paralysed. I don’t understand what was going through the minds of some of the players. We have to forget the defeat now but we can’t forget that we conceded seven goals. There is still everything to play for in the championship as we are just one point behind.”

jmurphyc
23/03/2008, 8:05 PM
Just saw on Sky Sports News that Salzurg lost 7 - 0 to there tite rivals to today!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thats insane, im really worried!!! Is he past it..on that form id bring back Stan:(

It is slightly worrying, but I didn't watch the game and have no idea of the circumstances or the quality of Trap's team and the other team. I will only start judging Trapattoni once he begins managing us.

23/03/2008, 8:09 PM
Giovanni Trapattoni: “In 50 years as a coach and player I have never conceded seven goals.

Delaney, you gobshy!!!!!!!!!!!! Is this your "world-class" manager? :mad: :D

Seriously lads, let's be grateful it happened today, and not in 6 months time.

23/03/2008, 9:14 PM
I was very worried when that score flashed across the SSN screen. Will be a test of his management skills to see if he can revive the team after such a thrashing.

Razors left peg
24/03/2008, 1:43 AM
Freak results sometimes happen.... we have still got a quality coach.... seen Billy Davies on Goals On Sunday and thanked God we dont have to listen to him for the next few years

Bondvillain
24/03/2008, 11:09 AM

Jaysus...

"What do we want?"

"Trap out!"

"When do we want it?"

"Before he's in!"

24/03/2008, 2:48 PM
Delighted. Red Bull Salzburg are a cancer on Football.

No Al Calcio Moderno

joe_barry80
24/03/2008, 10:24 PM
Watched the game they where really poor. rapid had one of those days. Salzburg have only one 2 of their away games this year and they are still in with a chance of winning the league. It's just the quality of the league . It's weak!!
They will go out in their next game and probally win by as much.

24/03/2008, 11:44 PM
Delighted. Red Bull Salzburg are a cancer on Football.

No Al Calcio Moderno

Agreed. Fight the Powah!

macdermesser
25/03/2008, 7:37 AM
Watched bits and pieces of the game. Vargas was shocking at the back.

On one hand, it was a bit freakish .. every shot seemed to go in.. but Rapid were allowed to waltz through the defence and do as they please.

With Co Adriaanse set to replace Trapp, I'm just wondering if Salzburg are more clued in than we are.

Still looking forward to the Trapp era though!

Highlights here

http://101greatgoals.magnify.net/item/GV4BWQZG6525B384

amaccann
25/03/2008, 8:00 AM
Wow, sounds like a freak result to be honest. Of course it won't stop the seeds of suspicion growing in people's minds!