View Full Version : SRFC Easter Eggs ...
blackholesun
15/02/2008, 12:11 PM
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/1606/srfceggadfk4.jpg
Shamrock Rovers Easter Eggs
Hold off on buying your annual batch of chocolate eggs as, this year, we will have our own specially made eggs by Urney Chocolates under licence from Shamrock Rovers F.C.
They are in a Rovers box complete with a voucher to tear off for free admission for an under 16 to a home game in March or April 2008.
The eggs will retail for €5 and be on sale in the club shop at the end of February.
Another excellent idea from the SRFC promo think tank!
bhs
HarpoJoyce
15/02/2008, 12:16 PM
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/1606/srfceggadfk4.jpg
Shamrock Rovers Easter Eggs
Hold off on buying your annual batch of chocolate eggs as, this year, we will have our own specially made eggs by Urney Chocolates under licence from Shamrock Rovers F.C.
They are in a Rovers box complete with a voucher to tear off for free admission for an under 16 to a home game in March or April 2008.
The eggs will retail for €5 and be on sale in the club shop at the end of February.
Another excellent idea from the SRFC promo think tank!
bhs
Hunted for the link but coundn't locate it. An interesting yellow 'splash' with a red exclaimation mark appeared when I clicked on the address.
But you have provided alot of info. already. Cheers.
15/02/2008, 12:26 PM
I was thinking of this the other day when I was in Tesco and saw the GAA ones. Didnt think it would be feasible for clubs to do their own ones but thought that it might be a good idea to have an "FAI eircom League of Ireland" one.
I would love to buy them but my kids wouldnt eat anything with Rovers on it!
15/02/2008, 12:31 PM
I was thinking of this the other day when I was in Tesco and saw the GAA ones. Didnt think it would be feasible for clubs to do their own ones but thought that it might be a good idea to have an "FAI eircom League of Ireland" one.
I would love to buy them but my kids wouldnt eat anything with Rovers on it!
Mons should buy a load of cheap eggs (smarties etc) and stick them in Mon's Mugs with a bit of coloured cellophane wrapped around the whole lot, Bob's your uncle Monaghan Utd Easter Eggs
15/02/2008, 1:17 PM
Eh we dont have Mons mugs anymore.........we are all mugs for following mons if that is any good to ya?
Well done Rovers. Great idea; especially the voucher.
15/02/2008, 2:10 PM
Eh we dont have Mons mugs anymore.........we are all mugs for following mons if that is any good to ya?
well then why not put a mon's sticker on an Egg, I don't know improvise young lady Improvise
15/02/2008, 2:12 PM
Aw but brains and beauty dont mix. Unfortunately i got neither!
Sniffer
15/02/2008, 2:31 PM
Full marks to Rovers for this shameless promotion - other clubs follow suit. BTW, do 16 year-olds still get Easter eggs?
15/02/2008, 2:45 PM
How about 1 single thread with all clubs promotions in it. Instead of shams opening a new thread every time they do something. Or else if it needs a thread of it's own then let each club put it in their own forum.
Armando
15/02/2008, 3:16 PM
Full marks to Rovers for this shameless promotion - other clubs follow suit. BTW, do 16 year-olds still get Easter eggs?
28 yr olds still eat Easter eggs:o
Con-Con
15/02/2008, 4:24 PM
It was a very good idea. Fair play to Rovers.
15/02/2008, 5:07 PM
Very appropriate, a hollow shell in hoops :D
Celdrog
15/02/2008, 7:54 PM
Very clever idea, fair play to Rovers
How about 1 single thread with all clubs promotions in it. Instead of shams opening a new thread every time they do something. Or else if it needs a thread of it's own then let each club put it in their own forum.
How about you taking up a new years resolution and not posting on anything to do with Rovers?
Billy Lord
15/02/2008, 9:42 PM
That has to be the greatest compliment to Shamrock Rovers I've ever read here.:cool:
16/02/2008, 12:44 AM
How about you taking up a new years resolution and not posting on anything to do with Rovers?But I support Rovers, why would I not post about them?
The Lilywhites
16/02/2008, 2:03 AM
But I support Rovers, why would I not post about them?
Sligo Rovers are Sligo.
Shamrock Rovers are Rovers.
It's terribly simple.
forza rovers
16/02/2008, 7:01 AM
Sligo Rovers are Sligo.
It's terribly simple.farmers and gaa heads call us sligo we are rovers end of
Isn't that your community?
HulaHoop
16/02/2008, 12:43 PM
farmers and gaa heads call us sligo we are rovers end of
Always amuses me the obvious inferiority complex Sligo Rovers fans have when it comes to the name "Rovers"
Their fans are so desperate for everyone to call them Rovers it renders them unable to see the wood for the trees.
Us Shamrock Rovers fans don't care either way what a few culchies in a small corner of the western seaboard call themselves, we just laugh at them because we know what the reality is and so does the rest of the country.
hedderman
16/02/2008, 10:16 PM
Sligo Rovers are Sligo.
It's terribly simple.
Cork City are City.
Derry City are City.
Slightly more complicated.
No club has a monopoly on the second part of their name
deecay
17/02/2008, 12:17 AM
Always amuses me the obvious inferiority complex Sligo Rovers fans have when it comes to the name "Rovers"
Their fans are so desperate for everyone to call them Rovers it renders them unable to see the wood for the trees.
Us Shamrock Rovers fans don't care either way what a few culchies in a small corner of the western seaboard call themselves, we just laugh at them because we know what the reality is and so does the rest of the country.
Shams are a joke,just see where ye finish this season.Dessie Bakers a big signing
Il never respond to the name Sligo,thats the gaa's team name
Dessie Bakers a big signing
Where did any of us say that? You've conveniently left out Rice and Maguire I see. One thing's for certain, wherever we finish it'll be ahead of the Sligs.
HulaHoop
17/02/2008, 12:23 PM
Il never respond to the name Sligo,thats the gaa's team name
Grand, just so long as you realise that when you go outside Sligo and tell anyone you're a Rovers fan they will assume you mean Shamrock Rovers. That's the reality of the situation and always will be no matter how much Sligo fans want it to be different.
Same thing in England, Manchester United are known by everyone just as United whereas West Ham United and Newcastle United are called by their first names.
Rovers fan
17/02/2008, 1:19 PM
Where did any of us say that? You've conveniently left out Rice and Maguire I see. One thing's for certain, wherever we finish it'll be ahead of the Sligs.
I wouldn't be so sure. we have improved are squad more than people think. Wait and see. I reckon we have a good enough chance of finishing ahead of ye.
17/02/2008, 5:38 PM
Grand, just so long as you realise that when you go outside Sligo and tell anyone you're a Rovers fan they will assume you mean Shamrock Rovers. That's the reality of the situation and always will be no matter how much Sligo fans want it to be different.
Same thing in England, Manchester United are known by everyone just as United whereas West Ham United and Newcastle United are called by their first names.
Man Utd arent some part-time outfit that have just been promoted to the premier division like.
The Lilywhites
17/02/2008, 5:47 PM
Cork City are City.
Derry City are City.
Slightly more complicated.
No club has a monopoly on the second part of their name
Maybe they're locally known as City, but to other people in the league and around the country, Cork City are Cork and Derry City are Derry.
Anyway, it's an argument that's going nowhere. Just call teams whatever you like! :ball:
forza rovers
17/02/2008, 5:53 PM
Man Utd arent some part-time outfit that have just been promoted to the premier division like.if your saying rovers are part-time your wrong we are full-time for the last 2 years
HulaHoop
17/02/2008, 5:53 PM
Man Utd arent some part-time outfit that have just been promoted to the premier division like.
Did I say they were?
Great idea. Well done Rovers. Always seem to be coming up new and innovative ways of generating income and raising their profile.
By the way, the reality is that the only people that refer to Sligo as Rovers is Sligo fans.
17/02/2008, 10:01 PM
if your saying rovers are part-time your wrong we are full-time for the last 2 years
No, I mean Shamrocks are.
alabama rover
17/02/2008, 10:04 PM
This is such a pointless and boring argument not to mention off topic. Rovers Easter Egg Initiative is not only a marketing effort but is also likely to be a charity effort as there is a move by fans to sponsor some for sick kids in Hospital.
It is a good idea and should also generate some goodwill.
Speaking of goodwill, I hear all Bohs fans serving bans are to be allowed back into Dalyer if they pay £100. Any Bohs fan know if this is true. I really hope it's not.
GreenStar
18/02/2008, 1:36 PM
Hoopy, with all due respects, this thread is about Rovers Easter eggs initiative. Why do you keep dragging it off-topic? If you want to know about what's happening at a different Club or have childish arguments about Club nicknames then start a new thread or, better still, post it in their own forum. Nice 1.
HarpoJoyce
18/02/2008, 1:41 PM
Speaking of goodwill, I hear all Bohs fans serving bans are to be allowed back into Dalyer if they pay £100. Any Bohs fan know if this is true. I really hope it's not.
Do you believe they should be allowed return without paying the €100, I dunno....maybe.
I think that it is usual to punish/compensate when fans have been abusive.
Mind the time that Shamrock Rovers were fined heavily for the rascist chanting by their fans during the last league game of the season at Belfield Park in 2005.
HulaHoop
18/02/2008, 3:45 PM
Rovers Easter Egg Initiative is not only a marketing effort but is also likely to be a charity effort as there is a move by fans to sponsor some for sick kids in Hospital.
You can't say things like that around these parts as buying Easter Eggs for sick kids does our image of us all being scumbag hooligans no good at all. :rolleyes:
Hitman
18/02/2008, 4:14 PM
You can't say things like that around these parts as buying Easter Eggs for sick kids does our image of us all being scumbag hooligans no good at all. :rolleyes:
Just pretend you were responsible for putting them in hospital in the first place and it'll all be okay.
Carlin
19/02/2008, 7:23 PM
It's not true. Now continue on with your Easter egg thread...
It's not true.
Got the amount wrong, but a Bohs fan tells me the idea is true, as per your own programme.
CuanaD
20/02/2008, 2:39 PM
Back on topic - SRFC easter eggs - great idea - i'll take 4!
will they be on sale anywhere other than the club shop? (like anywhere more accessible for a good northsider? - why don't I see "available from ALL branches of WOODIES" - that would get a few extra sales & ANY kid getting a SRFC egg will be interested in finding out more about the club - thats how life-long obsessions begin)
:ball:
GreenStar
21/02/2008, 7:25 AM
will they be on sale anywhere other than the club shop? (like anywhere more accessible for a good northsider? - why don't I see "available from ALL branches of WOODIES" - that would get a few extra sales & ANY kid getting a SRFC egg will be interested in finding out more about the club - thats how life-long obsessions begin)
The eggs will be available at selected branches of Woodie's DIY from the end of February. Can't confirm which branches just yet but I would guess at Tallaght, Lucan and Sandyford
CuanaD
22/02/2008, 6:43 PM
The eggs will be available at selected branches of Woodie's DIY from the end of February. Can't confirm which branches just yet but I would guess at Tallaght, Lucan and Sandyford
Should at least have them at each Dublin branch - I'll be looking for them in the Glasnevin branch anyway
Still, its a great idea imho - well done SRFC