View Full Version : Brady's Role?

Scram
13/02/2008, 9:38 PM
Any insight?

I hope he's not picking the team because he rates Liam Miller highly, I rate him highly too...for about 10 minutes of some games and that's when playing well.

I can see him sitting down with The Big Don and Co. discussing the players but Trap will make his own mind up from video, training and friendlies and as a liaison with the players...i.e. a limited role.

RivaldoBabb
14/02/2008, 1:30 AM
We dont even know if Wenger is going to allow Chippy to join team Trapp but if he does then id say he will be a part time consultant, giving Trapp the low down on the current crop of Irish players, getting him to understand their mentality because some of them can be right fools e.g. Stephen 'I dont want to be associated with' Ireland

Bondvillain
14/02/2008, 1:49 AM
We dont even know if Wenger is going to allow Chippy to join team Trapp but if he does then id say he will be a part time consultant, giving Trapp the low down on the current crop of Irish players, getting him to understand their mentality because some of them can be right fools e.g. Stephen 'I dont want to be associated with' Ireland

I would politely suggest that one shouldn't assume he's a fool simply because one isn't aware of (or doesn't understand) his reasons.

RivaldoBabb
14/02/2008, 6:32 AM
sorry, im not interested in his EXCUSES.

Deckydee
14/02/2008, 7:59 AM
Cone cleaner? Boot boy?

Plenty of oppertunites for him!!

14/02/2008, 9:08 AM
It is clear he has no role as yet. Trappatoni spoke to him AFTER the approach by Givens (using his Swiss connections) and the boys. It would also seem as the only Irishman he knows and presumably respects, Trappatoni would like him as part of the team.

So the ball is in Liam's court at the moment.

Morbo
14/02/2008, 9:11 AM
I would politely suggest that one shouldn't assume he's a fool simply because one isn't aware of (or doesn't understand) his reasons.
I think its a pretty safe bet that he is a fool, he was stupid enough to say that his living Granny had died and he was actually stupid enough to think that he would get away with it, if that doesn't make you a fool then I don't know what does

Wolfie
14/02/2008, 9:13 AM
There's a thread devoted to Stephen Ireland lads.

Ozymandias
14/02/2008, 9:40 AM
I think its a pretty safe bet that he is a fool, he was stupid enough to say that his living Granny had died and he was actually stupid enough to think that he would get away with it, if that doesn't make you a fool then I don't know what does

could that make him naive...just throwing it out there ...or is he just a lemming and went along with what the Girlfriend said.....

Scram
14/02/2008, 10:21 AM
could that make him naive...just throwing it out there ...or is he just a lemming and went along with what the Girlfriend said.....

Can nobody on here stay anywhere near "on-topic" !!! FFS

14/02/2008, 11:07 AM

I did and I do fear if Brady turns down the job (whatever the job might be), Givens may be offered some role.

14/02/2008, 11:22 AM
I did and I do fear if Brady turns down the job (whatever the job might be), Givens may be offered some role.
Christ no, bad enough he's staying as U21 boss. :eek::mad:

backstothewall
14/02/2008, 9:20 PM
Hope Arsenal allow him to go. I fear David Platt will be involved if he isn't.

Greenforever
14/02/2008, 9:26 PM

And to be sure, to be sure, he repeated the lie again:D

Greenforever
14/02/2008, 9:28 PM
I hope chippy is involved but with Trap the main man, we will have no problems recruiting a top class backroom team.

frankbrett
15/02/2008, 10:09 AM
from his RTE punditry can anyone speculate on which players will be spoken of favourably to Trapp if Chippy gets a role.
I know he was never convinced by 'McGeddy' but seemed to like Miller. Wonder if he sees some of his own traits in Garvan?

Drumcondra 69er
15/02/2008, 10:15 AM
Hope Arsenal allow him to go. I fear David Platt will be involved if he isn't.

Doubt it, Platt wasn't Trap's greatest fan, hated playing for him.

Ozymandias
15/02/2008, 10:19 AM

touch of the ...Its my thread and I'll cry if I want to ;)

15/02/2008, 11:49 AM
from his RTE punditry can anyone speculate on which players will be spoken of favourably to Trapp if Chippy gets a role.
I know he was never convinced by 'McGeddy' but seemed to like Miller.
He certainly praised him enough in commentary for the Brazil match last week.

15/02/2008, 11:57 AM
why does he insist on calling him maceddie though?! even when herlihy and the rest call him by his name

15/02/2008, 1:19 PM
In fairness he spent 7 years in Italy and still can't pronounce Juventus.

Scram
15/02/2008, 4:14 PM

Or "Giovanni" ! [Jo-VAN-ny]

backstothewall
15/02/2008, 8:58 PM
why does he insist on calling him maceddie though?! even when herlihy and the rest call him by his name

Ever seen that friends episode where Ross starts speaking with the English accent??

Its a bit like that

Bondvillain
15/02/2008, 9:10 PM

Captured brilliantly by Apres match in their early "Brady's Insight" live sketch:

O Herlihy : "So Liam, It's clear the players need coherent guidance. what advice would you offer the boys in the dressing room there now?"

Brady : "Weeeell Billlll....eeeeh (mumbles)... Samp-DOOR-ee-ya, (more mumbles) Joo-VENT-uz...(mumbles) eeehhh, EEEEnter Meelan?"

O Herlihy : "Okeydoke. Eejit."

backstothewall
15/02/2008, 9:35 PM
Doubt it, Platt wasn't Trap's greatest fan, hated playing for him.

Good!

18/02/2008, 9:43 AM
http://www.tribune.ie/article.tvt?_scope=Tribune/Sport/Soccer&id=83650&SUBCAT=Tribune/Sport&SUBCATNAME=Sport

01/03/2008, 10:09 AM
It looks like Brady has met face to face in long meetings with Trap about his proposed role in the Trap era and has gone home to mull on it a bit.
Brady ponders role (http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=56662-qqqx=1.asp)
Delaney
I 'don’t want to talk publicly about what his role (with Ireland) would be but certainly it was clarified over the day or two we were out there. I think he’s the perfect fit for the role we spoke about. He also has a very good relationship on a personal basis with (Marco) Tardelli'

02/03/2008, 4:12 PM
It looks like Brady has met face to face in long meetings with Trap about his proposed role in the Trap era and has gone home to mull on it a bit.

In charge of the subuteo games?

06/03/2008, 9:01 AM
To help Trappatoni get to know the players. Very strange role. I could do that. "Here's Ireland - his relatives are sickly people. Here's O'Shea - he strutts a lot but can't pass to his own players. Here's Duff - opps he's just tripped and injured himself. Here's Reid - no, seriously that's his normal weight....etc"

06/03/2008, 9:16 AM

Owls, if Trap needs a court jester he can give you a call.

06/03/2008, 10:06 AM
"Here's Given, he loves going the wrong way at penos. Here's Finnan. There goes Finnan. Here's McGeady. He loves to run backwards with the ball a bit and falls over a lot. Here's Kilbane. He's a great header of the ball, can't pass or turn quickly but we play him at full back. Here's Keane - he does a great cartwheel. Here's Hunt - he clatters in to goalkeepers and likes to get sent off. Here's Dunne. Competitive, strong, a leader but not our captain. Here's Lawrence - a porn star. Here's Doyle. Emmmmm. Well anyway, here's the former manager - he used to put out the cones at Walsall and never managed before. Here's the stadium. No it's not a soccer stadium and when we move from here we'll be playing in, err, umm, not a soccer stadium. Hope that's all clear, Giovanni. Now where's my cheque?"

gwhite
06/03/2008, 10:45 AM
Whaddya reckon Brady's chances are of getting O'Brien & Finnan to change their minds and come back to the fold?

06/03/2008, 11:00 AM
O'Brien retired because he felt hard done by. He could be convinced. I can't see Finnan changing his mind though. As others have said though, they shouldn't need to be convinced but I'd certainly have both them back.

06/03/2008, 11:01 AM
Whaddya reckon Brady's chances are of getting O'Brien & Finnan to change their minds and come back to the fold?
Probably a better chance with O'Brien than Finnan. Liverpool will always be in contention for trophies, it'll be hard to resolve that with the relative success of qualification with Ireland. It'll be hard to get Finnan to return unless he's guaranteed that he'll start every single game at right full, remember one of his complaints was being played out of position.
On the other hand, qualification with Ireland will have to be seen as a bigger success than O'Brien will ever achieve with Bolton, who will regard not getting relegated and decent cup run as a success.

I like the mention of "several promising youngsters in the Championship" from Brady last night on RTE. You'd have to imagine that'll include McCarthy, Whelan, McCann, Garvan, etc

RivaldoBabb
06/03/2008, 11:02 AM
From the articles ive read Finann seemed fairly set on retirement wheras O'Brien might be convinced to return. But the Finann article on liverpools website was written before Trapp came on board. The attraction of working with a world class manager might have changed his mind.

We certainly need him, and O'Brien for that matter, there arent many young promising defenders putting their hands up.

Dr. Ogba
06/03/2008, 11:44 AM
Probably a better chance with O'Brien than Finnan. Liverpool will always be in contention for trophies, it'll be hard to resolve that with the relative success of qualification with Ireland. It'll be hard to get Finnan to return unless he's guaranteed that he'll start every single game at right full, remember one of his complaints was being played out of position.
On the other hand, qualification with Ireland will have to be seen as a bigger success than O'Brien will ever achieve with Bolton, who will regard not getting relegated and decent cup run as a success.

I like the mention of "several promising youngsters in the Championship" from Brady last night on RTE. You'd have to imagine that'll include McCarthy, Whelan, McCann, Garvan, etc

Funnily enough if I had to choose one I'd prefer to see O'Brien back ahead of Finnan. We're so desperate for a CB that he'd walk straight back into the team....whereas Kelly is an adequate replacement in a non-crucial position...

carloz
06/03/2008, 12:17 PM
Exactly, we all know Finnan is the better player, and it would be great if we could get him back. But we are down to the barebones in central defence. We need Andy O'Brien. We havent really got an answer for who to put beside Dunne, and im not sure if O'Shea or McShane are the answer. if O'Brien can recapture the form he showed while playing beside Cunningham then we most certainly need him back

jmurphyc
06/03/2008, 1:14 PM
There's a chance that Finnan may leave Liverpool in the summer. If he does, he could be enticed back. It's not likely, but I really hope he does. The acquisition of Trapattoni may help us to land him back too.

06/03/2008, 6:48 PM
There's a chance that Finnan may leave Liverpool in the summer. If he does, he could be enticed back. It's not likely, but I really hope he does. The acquisition of Trapattoni may help us to land him back too.

If Any O'B wasn't good enough for the last two managers, I doubt if he'll be in Trappatoni's plans. McShane/O'Shea/Dunne should be enough.

Surprised Trappatoni hasn't even come over yet as far as I am aware.

06/03/2008, 6:55 PM
If Any O'B wasn't good enough for the last two managers, I doubt if he'll be in Trappatoni's plans.
O'Brien and Cunningham were in Kerr's team and we had one of the best defensive records in Europe at that time.

06/03/2008, 7:02 PM
If Any O'B wasn't good enough for the last two managers, I doubt if he'll be in Trappatoni's plans. McShane/O'Shea/Dunne should be enough.Andy O'Brien was barely playing for Portsmouth during Stan's tenure, including him ahead of McShane, who was playing regularly for West Brom, would have been lunacy

Surprised Trappatoni hasn't even come over yet as far as I am aware.Why would he? He's still contracted to manage Red Bull Salzburg. Tardelli has already moved here and started to watch games, and Delaney has already brought Trapattoni DVDs of games to watch.

cavan_fan
06/03/2008, 7:19 PM
To help Trappatoni get to know the players. Very strange role. I could do that. "Here's Ireland - his relatives are sickly people. Here's O'Shea - he strutts a lot but can't pass to his own players. Here's Duff - opps he's just tripped and injured himself. Here's Reid - no, seriously that's his normal weight....etc"

or here's ireland.. he sees dead people

07/03/2008, 9:25 AM
LOL cavan_man.

He will be making the Tay and hang sangwidges, and bringing the flask along to training.

07/03/2008, 9:40 AM
Why would he? He's still contracted to manage Red Bull Salzburg. Tardelli has already moved here and started to watch games, and Delaney has already brought Trapattoni DVDs of games to watch.

See the country. Meet the people. Get a feel for the place. Meet the FAI ??

07/03/2008, 10:38 AM
Break his contract with his current employers?
Delaney has already been over to meet him. He said he won't be able to come here until his contract with Red Bull Salzburg expires, and I've no problem with that.

finnpark
07/03/2008, 11:06 AM
Delaney has already brought Trapattoni DVDs of games to watch.

Is it too late for him to change his mind? He should have watched the videos before deciding whether or not to take the job.

07/03/2008, 11:08 AM
Break his contract with his current employers?
Delaney has already been over to meet him. He said he won't be able to come here until his contract with Red Bull Salzburg expires, and I've no problem with that.

How does that break his contract with his employers? Does his contract state: You vill at all times remain in Austria and nimmer leave the Vaterland? A weekend in Dublin when his team aren't playing or over midweek just to have a look around. Just seems strange to me he hasn't been over at all.

07/03/2008, 11:09 AM

Owlsfan, a serious question for you. Do you like being an ireland supporter these past 15 years? Or do you do it out of some misguided National pride? I always feel you've nothing but contempt for the current generation of player and supporter and nothing but a return to the doldrums would make you happy.
Please tell me I'm wrong!

07/03/2008, 12:20 PM
I don't have to vouch for my commitment to the Irish cause to a complete stranger.

If you're referring to my slagging the team above, it's called satire and humour. At least geyser found it funny.

As for my comments about Trappatoni not coming to Ireland, would you take a job in a country and never visit the place? I just find that strange. No big deal but I would have expected him to be over by now.

Cowboy
07/03/2008, 12:26 PM
As for my comments about Trappatoni not coming to Ireland, would you take a job in a country and never visit the place? I just find that strange. No big deal but I would have expected him to be over by now.

I do not find it strange at all since he has not officially started the job yet, his current employers might find it strange if he did. What exactly would he be coming here for at this point in time?