View Full Version : Na Fánaithe

13/02/2008, 6:42 PM
This season we are trying to organise an ultra section which will be known as Na Fánaithe.

We're holding a meeting this Friday, the 15th, in the Hibo at 8 o'clock. Anyone interested should turn up or PM me if you can't make it but are still interested.

bray boy
13/02/2008, 11:00 PM
we need as many people as we can to show up so we have more opinions on what we should do, get, etc.

Hulsey
15/02/2008, 12:39 PM
Can't make it tonight but you both got my bebo and superfrank has my mobile no so if you's need an opinion on anything just giz a shout. Defo in for the ultras tho

forza rovers
16/02/2008, 8:01 PM
are ya planing any displays this season?and what does Na Fánaithe mean?

HarpoJoyce
16/02/2008, 8:26 PM
are ya planing any displays this season?and what does Na Fánaithe mean?

You should be careful what you ask for?

'cos English has a huge vocabulary, you can find different words in English where the Irish is more limited.
Some examples of Na Fanaithe (excuse sp.) usage.
http://www.daft.ie/searchnew_development.daft?id=2660
"...Radharc Na BhFanaithe (Ramblers View)..."

http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:5Q2YKWja9DEJ:www.examinations.ie/archive/exampapers/2004/LC001GLP100IV.pdf+Na+F%C3%A1naithe&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=15&gl=ie
"...Fearghail agus dá bhean, Rita. Imreoir sacair abea Éamonn a bhíodh ag imirt leis an bhfoireann,Fánaithe na Seamróige nó Shamrock Rovers."

It appears words for moving about are limited in Irish. So some clubs have to share.

Sir Edmund Hillary's word for trekkers was the older style 'trampers'.

forza rovers
17/02/2008, 7:08 AM
You should be careful what you ask for?

'cos English has a huge vocabulary, you can find different words in English where the Irish is more limited.
Some examples of Na Fanaithe (excuse sp.) usage.
http://www.daft.ie/searchnew_development.daft?id=2660
"...Radharc Na BhFanaithe (Ramblers View)..."

http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:5Q2YKWja9DEJ:www.examinations.ie/archive/exampapers/2004/LC001GLP100IV.pdf+Na+F%C3%A1naithe&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=15&gl=ie
"...Fearghail agus dá bhean, Rita. Imreoir sacair abea Éamonn a bhíodh ag imirt leis an bhfoireann,Fánaithe na Seamróige nó Shamrock Rovers."

It appears words for moving about are limited in Irish. So some clubs have to share.

Sir Edmund Hillary's word for trekkers was the older style 'trampers'.
thanks

17/02/2008, 2:08 PM
Na Fánaithe is the TG4-Gaeilge for The Wanderers, as in Fánaithe Bhré (Bray Wanderers). For the record, Shamrock Rovers are known as Ruagairi Seamróige on TG4.

mightyseagull
17/02/2008, 3:04 PM
Superfrank did you just come up with this name or did ppl actually pick it?

17/02/2008, 3:05 PM
There was a thread a while back where people suggested names and the main two involved in the ultras chose that.

forza rovers
17/02/2008, 3:10 PM
are ye planing any displays?

17/02/2008, 5:04 PM
We're working on it.

forza rovers
17/02/2008, 5:34 PM
We're working on it.good luck with it

bray boy
18/02/2008, 6:43 PM
there is going a piece on what we're are trying to create in the wicklow news tomorrow
we are deciding on what we're going to add to the atmosphere when following the wanderers this season.
if anyone has any queries this is the thread for it!!!

notever
21/02/2008, 9:55 AM
This can only be good for everybody who supports the Wanderers it should make the atmosphere all the better home and away. We need that atmosphere every week.Well done and good luck with it.

bray boy
11/03/2008, 12:46 PM
well first game gone and we have a few new flags and a few new fans its only a start but there will be more to come bigger and better as they say.....well hopefully haha

bray boy
28/03/2008, 10:17 PM
i know the match was shocking but what did veryone think of the waveys good?

28/03/2008, 10:25 PM
I was impressed by the display. It was a good idea to bring the two sets of ultras together.

bray boy
28/03/2008, 10:58 PM
yeah we will probably be doin it in richmond too....
we're gettin der slowly but surely!

Sean South
28/03/2008, 11:31 PM
Any pictures of your actions

Seagull
29/03/2008, 10:50 AM
i know the match was shocking but what did veryone think of the waveys good?

Will yous take credit for the homophobic chanting too?

bray boy
30/03/2008, 5:09 PM
we cant disclose that information

bray boy
05/04/2008, 12:18 AM
heres our kinda of first video mainly of cork away
more will come when its fully up and running let us know wat you think

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ixeu_XVlSpo

Hulsey
07/04/2008, 11:14 AM
Good effort with the video :) . That take long to do?
For some reason in the related video at the sides theres a video of Pingu going fishing :confused:

bray boy
07/04/2008, 6:49 PM
an hour or so thats about it
i happen to be a fan of pingu actually the going fishing episode also happens to be my favourite
it can be found in my special box

Hulsey
07/04/2008, 8:08 PM
an hour or so thats about it
i happen to be a fan of pingu actually the going fishing episode also happens to be my favourite
it can be found in my special box

You got the camp special box so, I got the better one ;) and I'm not telling you whats in it, mysterious eh :D

bray boy
13/04/2008, 9:01 PM
the green ultras v bohs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SG7ipOoQHZU

Grasshopper 99
15/04/2008, 12:15 PM
I wonder who put that up, and who is the man in the brown jacket and black and white hat.

Legend

16/04/2008, 1:05 PM
I wonder who put that up, and who is the man in the brown jacket and black and white hat.

Legend

looks like franco?????????

bray boy
16/04/2008, 9:22 PM
is franco :cool:

bray boy
26/04/2008, 2:20 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6NTPpnm2ck

in galway

Green&whitearmy
29/04/2008, 5:16 PM
good video, who where the muppets not wearing a jersey up the back, every1 else had them on???

bray boy
30/04/2008, 11:46 AM
definatly not me.......:D

Grasshopper 99
30/04/2008, 12:27 PM
good video, who where the muppets not wearing a jersey up the back, every1 else had them on???

I agree with you, are they ashamed to wear the clubs colours? f in ejits.

deecay
30/04/2008, 12:35 PM
Ye need to do a bit more than sing and drum

bray boy
30/04/2008, 4:25 PM
in fairness some lads dont have a jersey.....
and big announcement ill be wearing my one this friday :eek:

bray boy
28/05/2008, 1:26 PM
na fánaithe versus ucd

shocking quality dont think it really does justice to what we did...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8KCnP96Wpc