View Full Version : Dunphy slams Keano?

ofjames
11/02/2008, 9:16 PM
What's this i hear about Eamo giving keano a kicking in today's star? Any truth to it?

Is Dunphy contradicting himself yet again?

Bondvillain
11/02/2008, 9:48 PM
Yes. And Yes. (Kinda)

Eamon's job at the star is to sell papers. 2 people I know (who dont normally buy tabloids) today bought the Star to see "what the craic was". Eamon's work here is done.

He was basically ranting about Keane giving his opinions on everything- The Fai, Dave O leary, Premiership games in foreign lands, etc etc, and The Dunph came to the conclusion that Keane has spent so much time Fighting Bulshiitters that he has become one himself.

11/02/2008, 9:52 PM
I did not see the article but from what you say I think its funny that Keane always has gives a view on what is going on esp with the Ireland job. To be honest nearly everything he has said on the matter I have disagreed with.

11/02/2008, 10:21 PM
Ha ha. Didn't see this either, but I wouldn't be surprised. Wait around long enough and Dunphy will flip flop on every single position he's ever taken on anything. Trappatoni beware. (I hope someone shows Roy a copy of the article - could be fun when they next meet :D)

Bondvillain
11/02/2008, 10:58 PM
That "Bullshiiter" was an actual quote , by the way.

"Roy Keane has turned into a Bullshiitter"

Eamon Dunphy - The Star

"Keane was at it again last week, and it's becoming tedious.The Corkman has turned into Mr Rentaquote, spouting on about things he knows nothing about on a sickeningly regular basis.

When I collaborated with keane six years ago, he told me there were 2 types of people in the world he hated : "Politicians and Bullshiitters"

But he's turned into a Politicians and a Bullshiitter himself."

Dunphy then goes on to describe the 'bullshiit' in question - O Leary, Venables, WAG's & England players. He reserved particular venom for Keanes willingness to discuss the Cork GAA strike, despite his not being aware of the facts & he concluded with a dissertation on Roy's opinon on playing EPL games abroad :
"Virtually no-one else in the game is in favour of this nonsense (EPL games abroad) and it beggars belief that Keane has backed it. After all, he used to be very critical of the lengthy trips and physical demands on players from friendlies and so on.

Now he thinks it would be a great idea for Sunderland to play Wigan in Singapore. It's depressing"

RivaldoBabb
11/02/2008, 11:07 PM
Dunphy is great entertainment, I gave up taking him seriously about 10 years ago but if he wasnt around, you'd miss his bullsh1t.

gufcfan
12/02/2008, 12:19 AM
I did not see the article but from what you say I think its funny that Keane always has gives a view on what is going

You always hear him talkin about things other than Sunderland, but you can bet your ass he is only asking the questions of journos running low on copy.

Of course he doesnt just come out with these things of his own accord.

"We were looking good today and hopefully we can continue in this vein and keep picking up the points... and by the way I think that the FAI are making a hames of the Ireland manager situation"

Of course he never came out and said something without being baited into it...

theworm2345
12/02/2008, 3:49 AM
2 years ago:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KHTM-abNEyk
(Around 4:35, 8:30, 9:40)

Now:

Dunphy: Roy’s full of bull

By Adrian Russell
CONTROVERSIAL television pundit Eamon Dunphy — who helped Roy Keane pen his controversial autobiography — lunged two-footed, into the ‘bulls******g’ Sunderland manager with a remarkable tirade yesterday.

Former Ireland international Dunphy, who famously fell out with fellow Montrose panellist John Giles over Keane’s Saipan row with Mick McCarthy, now believes his former friend has been ‘sucked in’.

“I know Roy well and the one thing he hated when I knew him and when we were working on that book, he hated the bull**** that was part of manager-speak and part of player-speak,” Dunphy told RTÉ’s Pat Kenny Show on Radio 1 yesterday.

“And now he holds these lengthy press conferences every week in which he anoints David O’Leary to be the next Ireland manager, anoints Terry Venables as the next Ireland manager, he’s talked about the Cork GAA dispute, talked about how wonderful it is for the Premier League to play more games abroad and he’s just become rent-a-quote. And it’s quite extraordinary.

“This is a sharp, smart, outstanding human being and he’s just been sucked into that awful Premier League vacuousness and it’s sad to see Roy Keane bulls******g, but he is.

“But there you go. It happens.”
http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=sport-qqqm=sport-qqqa=sport-qqqid=54994-qqqx=1.asp

barney
12/02/2008, 7:41 AM
Keane knows how the media works so I doubt he's unwittingly being hoodwinked into spouting the crap he has been spouting for so long.

He said over the last week that he'd love to manage Ireland but the present members of the association would have to leave for him to consider it. I can't think of a better reason for Delaney and co. to stay where they are for life.

12/02/2008, 7:53 AM
I did not see the article but from what you say I think its funny that Keane always has gives a view on what is going on esp with the Ireland job. To be honest nearly everything he has said on the matter I have disagreed with.

he's only ever answering questions put to him by the press. probably delighted to be asked about the Irish situation, then gives something controversial which the press concentrate on rather than reporting on sunderlands relegation battle. pretty smart if you ask me

Drumcondra 69er
12/02/2008, 8:42 AM
Dunphy finally sees through Roy Keane, wonder how long it'll take the other half of the country......

Keane's been at that sort of mischief for years, he's consistently used the media to get his own way from engineering his exit from Saipan to throwing out that little nugget in the aftermath a few months later when he said he'd consider playing for Ireland again if there was a charge in management purely to undermine McCarthy. Of course he then rejected Brian Kerr initially before coming back fro a final hurrah when he clearly wasn't up to it and what was essentially a PR exercise. He's very clever in the way he uses the media for his own ends, I'm amazed people have fallen for it for so long....

Deckydee
12/02/2008, 8:50 AM
Yes, he has slammed him and he also did it on his website as well. He named him as spoofer of the week

www.dunphytv.com (http://www.dunphytv.com)

12/02/2008, 9:03 AM
"[I]Keane was at it again last week, and it's becoming tedious.The Corkman has turned into Mr Rentaquote, spouting on about things he knows nothing about on a sickeningly regular basis.

The pot calling the kettle black :rolleyes:

12/02/2008, 9:06 AM
before coming back fro a final hurrah when he clearly wasn't up to it
He was excellent against France. Also motm in his last game for Liverpool and his last game for Celtic. He was still a fantastic player when he retired.

WoodquayBoy
12/02/2008, 9:18 AM
Of course he doesnt just come out with these things of his own accord.
. . . . . .
Of course he never came out and said something without being baited into it...

Cop on, he is not seven years old, he knows exactly what he is saying and if you have followed his career at all you would know he is well capable of offering an opinion without being asked or 'led' into it.

12/02/2008, 9:35 AM
Why is this in the Ireland section? surely it's at best World football and at worse Current Affairs?

Drumcondra 69er
12/02/2008, 9:40 AM
He was excellent against France. Also motm in his last game for Liverpool and his last game for Celtic. He was still a fantastic player when he retired.

Injured more often then not, was very poor for Celtic in general, he clearly wasn't up to it by then. He was alright against France, I wouldn't go as far as excellent and his coming back achieved nothing. It was a calculated attempt to win some sort of PR battle as far as I'm concerned.

12/02/2008, 9:51 AM
Keane won't sleep tonight........ who's worse for sensationalism? Hook or Dunphy?! At least they have opinions unlike Hansen, Shearer and co but I just wish they didn't change their minds so often.

Scram
12/02/2008, 9:57 AM
Yes. And Yes. (Kinda)

Eamon's job at the star is to sell papers. 2 people I know (who dont normally buy tabloids) today bought the Star to see "what the craic was". Eamon's work here is done.

He was basically ranting about Keane giving his opinions on everything- The Fai, Dave O leary, Premiership games in foreign lands, etc etc, and The Dunph came to the conclusion that Keane has spent so much time Fighting Bulshiitters that he has become one himself.

He's ABSOLUTELY right, the great Keano rebel is a sell-out....like a lot of so-called Rebels.

12/02/2008, 2:27 PM
Injured more often then not, was very poor for Celtic in general

no he wasnt. in a couple of old firms he was outstanding

12/02/2008, 2:53 PM
What's wrong with Keane answering questions at press conferences anyway? I'd prefer to hear his views than "no comment". Mourinho used to crack me up, even if I despiced his team and players. This trend of Fergie, Big Sam sulking with certain trends of the media is a little OTT.

12/02/2008, 3:29 PM
Keane won't sleep tonight........ who's worse for sensationalism? Hook or Dunphy?! At least they have opinions unlike Hansen, Shearer and co but I just wish they didn't change their minds so often.

Opinions are like ar*eholes: everyone has one and usually the same stuff comes out as well. Incidentally Hansen frequently offers an opinion and usually far more considered than some.

Calcio Jack
12/02/2008, 3:39 PM
As Ferguson rightly said..."...Keane is a genius both on and off the pitch..." Keane amy not always be right or one may not agree with him, but one thing for sure is the fact that he is an exceptionally articulate individual with a razor sharp understanding of anything I've ever heard him speak about...and more recently he's also delivering many of his comments with a nice slice of wry subtle humour...

So for I hope he continues to answer questions on a wide range of subjects and keep us entertained.

I was I have to say quiet surprised to hear his views on playing P/ship matches in overseas venues....then again he's reputed to be on circa £4m per annum so i guess he knows the money has to come from somewhere.

Drumcondra 69er
12/02/2008, 3:42 PM
no he wasnt. in a couple of old firms he was outstanding

How many games did he play? 12 on a 6 month contract? He certainly didn't represent value for money. This isn't meant as a go, just a comment on injury record, he said himself he was embarrassed the way things worked out for him at Celtic.

12/02/2008, 4:14 PM
He was something like the 6th highest earner at Celtic.

Drumcondra 69er
12/02/2008, 4:18 PM
He was something like the 6th highest earner at Celtic.

Rubbish.

12/02/2008, 4:21 PM
Rubbish.
Sorry, I was wrong.

Strachan's Autobiog:
“When Keane signed for us, a number of reports indicated he would be on £40,000 (€59,244) a week at Parkhead and the deal would be funded partly by (majority shareholder) Dermot Desmond. Neither was correct.

“The salary we agreed with him was considerably less than £40,000 a week, and even then it was dependent on the number of first-team appearances he made.

“Far from being Celtic’s highest earner when he joined, he was no higher than eighth on the list.”

seanfhear
12/02/2008, 4:40 PM
well surprise surprise with the passing of time and more euros to be made out of slating roy keane the loyal associate once again goes for the dosh
well eamonn you never let us down

12/02/2008, 5:32 PM
Opinions are like ar*eholes: everyone has one and usually the same stuff comes out as well. Incidentally Hansen frequently offers an opinion and usually far more considered than some.

Hansen has sat on the fence so long since doing MOTD he'll forever be taking splinters out of his a**. The only interesting comment he had to make was Fergie would never win anything with kids and we know what happened that season......since then he plays it safe ensuring he doesn't upset his employers and the England players.

Scram
12/02/2008, 8:39 PM
Hansen has sat on the fence so long since doing MOTD he'll forever be taking splinters out of his a**. The only interesting comment he had to make was Fergie would never win anything with kids and we know what happened that season......since then he plays it safe ensuring he doesn't upset his employers and the England players.

Yeah, that's how he's gone alright and in truth, he doesn't want Engerrrland to do well anymore than I do.

13/02/2008, 9:56 AM

Here are a few of his quotes. Do they live up to your conceptions?

Systems can help you, but if you took the England players who took part in those three games and got the best coach in the world to work with them for a year, it wouldn't have made any difference. [on England's Euro 2000 performance]

The second half was easy to sum up - an absolute shambles. Communication, organisation and man-marking was nil [on England losing to Denmark 4 - 1 in 2005!]

"I'm starting to get a bit worried - England are looking really good."

Drumcondra 69er
13/02/2008, 10:00 AM
Sorry, I was wrong.

Strachan's Autobiog:
“When Keane signed for us, a number of reports indicated he would be on £40,000 (€59,244) a week at Parkhead and the deal would be funded partly by (majority shareholder) Dermot Desmond. Neither was correct.

“The salary we agreed with him was considerably less than £40,000 a week, and even then it was dependent on the number of first-team appearances he made.

“Far from being Celtic’s highest earner when he joined, he was no higher than eighth on the list.”

Spin, it's easy to not break a wage structure by paying large signing on fees and bonuses at the end of contracts, it's common practice. Either way, 12 games over the course of a 6 month contract doesn't represent value to me.

13/02/2008, 10:30 AM
Either way, 12 games over the course of a 6 month contract doesn't represent value to me.

Yep, but he did his PR stunt and played for Celtic.

galwayhoop
13/02/2008, 11:15 AM
Keane going to Celtic was a waste of time for Celtic. He added nothing to the team. They strolled to the league title and Strachan had to wheel out a clearly unfit RK to play the last few games and get his medal. Rangers were terrible that season and any performances against them have to be measured against that. Had Keane not come they would still easily have won the league title and you never know mightn't have been knocked out of the SFA cup on his overhyped debut.

Keane fulfilled his lifelong ambition of playing for the team he supported as a boy.... oh no hang on he went to Celtic and not Spurs!!

13/02/2008, 4:14 PM
Any predictions on how long the Dunphy Trapattoni love affair will last?

I'll go for
Game 2, after we draw ugly against Macedonia (which an Italian would regard as a good result)
Then Trapp refuses to call up Stephen Ireland who continues to play excellently for Man City but Dunphy can't understand why the manager continues to leave one of our best players behind when our game is crying out for Stephen Ireland's creativity.

seanfhear
13/02/2008, 9:22 PM
you mean to tell us that eamonn hasnt already fallen out with trap

Noelys Guitar
13/02/2008, 9:35 PM
"They should have brought in Vialli. A younger, hungrier manager" Or "George Graham knows the players better" or "I wanted Paul Jewell" or "I'm off to the pictures which is better than watching this"

Scram
13/02/2008, 9:40 PM
"They should have brought in Vialli. A younger, hungrier manager" Or "George Graham knows the players better" or "I wanted Paul Jewell" or "I'm off to the pictures which is better than watching this"

"If Delaney hadn't acted with such haste, we could have had Dowie, and with change left over"

15/02/2008, 6:15 PM
That "Bullshiiter" was an actual quote , by the way.

"Roy Keane has turned into a Bullshiitter"

Dunphy then goes on to describe the 'bullshiit' in question - O Leary, Venables, WAG's & England players. He reserved particular venom for Keanes willingness to discuss the Cork GAA strike, despite his not being aware of the facts & he concluded with a dissertation on Roy's opinon on playing EPL games abroad :
[/I]"

Out of curiousity, what did Roy say about the Cork GAA strike?

jmurphyc
15/02/2008, 7:03 PM

I didn't here his exact quote from him, but he more or less said that he wasn't totally following it, but sided with the players.

Bondvillain
15/02/2008, 7:27 PM

I dont know. It wasn't detailed in the paper at the time, I was simply paraphrasing Dunphy.

It was apparently Something about the intricacies of the Hurlers demands, which Keane cited incorrectly when offering his answer, before adding that although he identified with them, he didn't know all the ins and outs, and he suspected there was more to it than that ("that" meaning the opinion he'd just offered.)

Kind of a 'rock and a hard place' for Keane. If he doesn't answer the Cork question, or says he doesn't know or care, elements of the press run sideswipe "Keane loses touch with his roots" stories, If he does answer, Dunphy a runs "Man who Lives & works in North East of England doesn't know everything about Cork GAA shock!" non-story.

In fairness Dunphy dwelled more on Keane's comments on Wag's and Playing abroad than the Cork strike, and, given Keane's caveat at beginning and end that he wasn't au-fait with the situation, it's inclusion wasn't really necessary at all.
He could have had a much more convincing rant had he simply focussed on the strangeness of Keane's almost orgasmic acceptance of the future possibility of Sunderland having to fly to Kuala Lumpur to engage Wigan in a 6 point dogfight with 3 games to go in the season....

Wonder what Keane really did to push Eamon's buttons? I think there's more to this bile than just Keane's hooking up with old mother Quinn....