View Full Version : TV Guilty Pleasures

11/02/2008, 8:30 PM
For any potentially shameful TV programmes that you secretly find enjoyable.

One of my female housemates is big into America's Next Top Model. It's really quite watchable, the bitching is always fun, the talent's alright. I'll leave it there.

Harry Hill's TV Burp
I can see how he can grate some people, but its quite surreal and often quite funny.

11/02/2008, 8:56 PM
Right here for both of those shows. Manys a sunday spent watchin America's Next Top Model hungover with the girlfriend, have to say that I actually enjoy the show. How anyone wouldn't enjoy Harry Hill's TV Burp is beyond me to be honest.

I'll add Dog the Bounty Hunter to that list, although I don't know why

Angus
12/02/2008, 10:55 AM
Off the Rails - Caroline.........

Billsthoughts
12/02/2008, 12:52 PM
I cant get enough of "come dine with me".......I'd watch all the episodes in a row on a sunday...I have problems...:o

12/02/2008, 12:54 PM
I've been watching the Womens Murder Club on TV3 recently but now it clashes with Heroes on 6 I have to drag myself away

stann
12/02/2008, 1:31 PM
Richard & Judy for me. :o
I've lost count of the number of times I've said to someone 'Oh yeah I saw something about that on... some chatshow, can't remember which one now, anyway...' :D

Come Dine With Me is good alright. I also like Masterchef, The Secret Millionaire and Eggheads, shows that some might also consider a bit naff.
How can Harry Hill be considered a guilty pleasure though? That show is genius.

12/02/2008, 1:38 PM
Monday night is Mastermind, University Challenge then Masterchef.
I'm quite partial to a bit of America's Next Top Model too, use to watch it with the girlfriend and her best friend, until I was banned and it became girly night. Usually end up watching some of the repeats anyway.

12/02/2008, 2:12 PM
playboy channel, lets be honest here.

noby
12/02/2008, 2:23 PM
I applaud your honesty.

I have been known to watch an odd episode of Goldenballs (not the playboy version, I might add)

12/02/2008, 3:12 PM
In the Night Garden.

Started off as a quality time thing that me and my two year old used do together but he's starting to grow out of it now.
I still think it's great and wish they'd had kids TV like it when I was small ...actually Mary Fitzgerald on Saturday Mornings aside, there was no kids TV when I was small.

Soundtrack is excellent, uncomplicated story-lines ...very little story-lines at all in fact, just some random strange colourful creatures doing strange pointless carry on ...one of them's an obsessive compulsive who washes stones and then arranges them in a slightly spooky manner that's somewhat remenisent of the Blair Witch Project.

There's no heroes, no villians, no good guys versus bad guys -and consequently no fostering of in-group loyalty/out-group hostility in impressionable little minds -he gets plenty of that from pretty much everything else on TV.

12/02/2008, 3:13 PM
I occassionally watch Paul O'Grady when he's on.

12/02/2008, 3:48 PM
I occassionally watch Paul O'Grady when he's on.

Get. A. Job. :)

12/02/2008, 5:45 PM
I like Masterchef and The Clinic.

HarpoJoyce
13/02/2008, 5:22 PM
Re-runs of Friends. Like watching the same episode for the eight or ninth time.
Un-Beliveable

13/02/2008, 5:24 PM
Re-runs of friends. Like watching the same episode for the eight or ninth time.
Un-BeliveableSecond that. Always watch them when I see they're on:).

Rovers fan
13/02/2008, 5:44 PM
playboy channel, lets be honest here.

Its got interestin programmes alright!

13/02/2008, 7:28 PM
Masterchef fan here too. Strange in that I don't really cook...

Despise practically all reality TV bar Masterchef and Grand Designs

13/02/2008, 9:49 PM
I have a bit of a weakness for cookery programmes in general. Gordon Ramseys kitchen nightmares can be a real hoot at times.

14/02/2008, 12:00 AM
For some reason I find myself flicking over to "Girls of the Playboy Mansion" whenever I see it on the listings. Can't figure out why exactly....

14/02/2008, 1:28 AM
The O'Reilly Factor.
Fascinating.

Roadend
14/02/2008, 9:41 AM
I used to watch Faisean Paisean on TG4 when yer wan with the big funbags used to present it.

anto1208
14/02/2008, 2:15 PM
Right here for both of those shows. Manys a sunday spent watchin America's Next Top Model hungover with the girlfriend, have to say that I actually enjoy the show. How anyone wouldn't enjoy Harry Hill's TV Burp is beyond me to be honest.

I'll add Dog the Bounty Hunter to that list, although I don't know why

Because its truely and utterly awfull , i hold Harry hill in the same light as Ed Byrne cant stand him not funny never has been.

Im shocked was it you that said family guy had gone rubbish after the 3rd series ?

Roadend
14/02/2008, 2:43 PM
Im shocked was it you that said family guy had gone rubbish after the 3rd series ?

Not far wrong really "remember the time" gag over and over and over and over and over and over and...............

14/02/2008, 3:04 PM
How anyone wouldn't enjoy Harry Hill's TV Burp is beyond me to be honest.
Because Harry Hill is about as funny as a dose of the clap?
How anyone can employ him as a comedian is beyond me.

anto1208
14/02/2008, 3:29 PM
Not far wrong really "remember the time" gag over and over and over and over and over and over and...............

I was watching some old ones i think either 2nd or 3rd series and they are really poor compared to the new series. The new stuff is the best they have ever done.

Even still the remember when gag done a thousand times is still funnier than a small man putting on funny glasses and going pppprrrrrppppptttt a thousand times. He is as funny as arse cancer

Dricky
14/02/2008, 3:40 PM
Dog the Bounty Hunter pure class.

American Idol the auditions love it love it love it couldn't give a crap about the people who get through but love the trash who think they are the next idol Trash TV at it's best!!!

Roadend
15/02/2008, 8:19 AM
I was watching some old ones i think either 2nd or 3rd series and they are really poor compared to the new series. The new stuff is the best they have ever done.

Even still the remember when gag done a thousand times is still funnier than a small man putting on funny glasses and going pppprrrrrppppptttt a thousand times. He is as funny as arse cancer

Everyone I know who watches it reckon the newer series are poorer and getting progressively poorer. :confused:

anto1208
15/02/2008, 8:27 AM
Everyone I know who watches it reckon the newer series are poorer and getting progressively poorer. :confused:

Might say more about your mates than the show ;)

the last episode where peter has a stroke is probibly the best episode they have done.

cheifo
15/02/2008, 8:42 AM
The Late Late show.If I am at home on a Friday I always have a compulsion to switch even though Pat makes me cringe.When I watch MOTD I feel a strange guilty pleasure and think the lads from the EL section on foot.ie will never find out:D.
When writer and hellraiser Jeffery Barnard was on his deathbed, a friend at his bedside asked him was there anything he could get him to make his final days a bit more pleasurable.Barnard made an expression that he was asking for something really naughty and whispered "could you get me a copy of Country Homes and Garden"

Roadend
15/02/2008, 8:53 AM
Might say more about your mates than the show ;)

the last episode where peter has a stroke is probibly the best episode they have done.

I don't think I've seen that one, but my personal favourite is the p*ss take of Willy Wonka.

onceahoop
17/02/2008, 7:26 PM
I have a bit of a weakness for cookery programmes in general. Gordon Ramseys kitchen nightmares can be a real hoot at times.

Bit of a weakness for food programes myself. Spent one Sunday afternoon/evening watching Rick Stein travelling on a barge from the north to the south of France, stopping along the way in various places. Terrific, you can't beat a bit of peasant food and Stein is the best at it.

jamie m
18/02/2008, 10:00 PM
"the crystal maze" on challenge, read somewhere it was voted one of the most popular shows people would like to see re-made

18/02/2008, 10:53 PM
Not really a guilty pleasure but a blast from my past. Myself and the kids have series linked Quantum Leap on SciFi channel. Loved it in my teens and now the kids are enjoying it too. Also they are now addicted to Whose Line is it Anyway.

18/02/2008, 10:54 PM
I used to watch Faisean Paisean on TG4 when yer wan with the big funbags used to present it.

She now writes for The Voice newspaper's magazine.

18/02/2008, 10:54 PM
Not really a guilty pleasure but a blast from my past. Myself and the kids have series linked Quantum Leap on SciFi channel. Loved it in my teens and now the kids are enjoying it too. Also they are now addicted to Whose Line is it Anyway.

The kids have taste I see, great shows the pair of them, been watching Who's Line on Dave a lot recently myself

18/02/2008, 11:02 PM
Whoa! It was me who introduced them to them and insisted they watch them so it is I who has the good taste! Its pretty much the only way I get to watch tv in our house anymore, let them watch what I am watchin!

18/02/2008, 11:08 PM
Whoa! It was me who introduced them to them and insisted they watch them so it is I who has the good taste! Its pretty much the only way I get to watch tv in our house anymore, let them watch what I am watchin!

stealing your kids thunder, pretty low magicme :p

You always know you're in for a good Who's Line when Greg, Colin and Ryan are on the panel, never really care who the 4th person is

Yep, although I'll revise that to say that loooking back at the first three series I now realise that Family Guy is just plain crap

18/02/2008, 11:10 PM
that is so right. Love those 3. Tony Slattery is alright too. Combines well with them.

19/02/2008, 11:03 AM
Not really a guilty pleasure but a blast from my past. Myself and the kids have series linked Quantum Leap on SciFi channel.

Nothing at all to be guilty about here, Quantum Leap rocks.

The Retard episode.

The KKK episode.

The Bermuda Triangle episode.

All Gold.

My guilty pleasure would have to be Come Dine With Me. :o

Harry Hill is genius but his show has really gone downhill since last year. The Shergar episode had me laughing for days. :D

Get to watch a ridiculously small amount of telly these days mind :(

19/02/2008, 12:28 PM
"the crystal maze" on challenge, read somewhere it was voted one of the most popular shows people would like to see re-made
Only with Richard O'Brienb though.

19/02/2008, 12:31 PM
Only with Richard O'Brienb though.

Seconded. without him it wouldn't be the Crystal Maze

anto1208
19/02/2008, 1:18 PM
stealing your kids thunder, pretty low magicme :p

You always know you're in for a good Who's Line when Greg, Colin and Ryan are on the panel, never really care who the 4th person is

Yep, although I'll revise that to say that loooking back at the first three series I now realise that Family Guy is just plain crap

Yea but looking back at any of the first few series of any show they look terrible south park, simpsons, family guy . Still rate family guy as one of the best shows on TV think american dad is better at the moment.

Still no Harry hill though ;) ( as for whos line is it , crystal maze Q leap dont get me started .....shocking viewing)

I reckon there is about 10 shows max on now that are worth watching and most of them are repeats
Curb
Mighty Boosh
American dad
Family guy
South park
Dark places
Arrested Development

Then you have older shows

Office
Fawtly towers
simpsons
etc
that are good but have been watched over and over .

There is prob one or two more that ive forgotten

TV is so cluttered up with rubbish reality shows and then truely terrible rubbish like lost and prison break or the Unit the new terminator.

I basically Watch seinfield at 7 30 eating the dinner and thats it for tv ive given up on it.

Roadend
19/02/2008, 1:53 PM
that is so right. Love those 3. Tony Slattery is alright too. Combines well with them.

I'll have to stop you there, he was poor and nowhere near Styles, Mochrie or Proops and even Steve Frost.

19/02/2008, 2:03 PM
I think its his ability to take the abuse off the others that I love.

19/02/2008, 5:00 PM
I'll have to stop you there, he was poor and nowhere near Styles, Mochrie or Proops and even Steve Frost.

Yeah Slattery is very poor on that. I honestly perfer the American one.

20/02/2008, 8:20 AM
Havent seen the american one myself but heard it is good.

cheifo
20/02/2008, 1:11 PM
Josie Lawenece was brillant on that show especially the music role plays.

20/02/2008, 1:32 PM
Ive been temping evenings recently and finding myself watching a lot of re-runs of Family Fortunes on Challenge TV. I loved it as a kid and it's still great to watch now. The remade version with Vernon Kay is bloody awful though. Bullseye was great too.

DIFChick
20/02/2008, 3:25 PM
Ladette to Lady
I think there's entertainment value in it but friends and family think I'm a waster for watching such tripe.

21/02/2008, 4:32 PM
Ive ended up watcing a lot of Deal Or No Deal recently. Sad?