View Full Version : Eddie Van Boxtel in Drugs Charge

08/02/2008, 12:27 AM
RTE.ie (http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0207/drugs1.html)

Eddie Van Boxtel (http://www.eddievanboxtel.bravehost.com/index.html)

Four in court over €10m drug haul
Thursday, 7 February 2008 22:32

Four men have appeared in Naas court charged in connection with the seizure of more than €10m worth of cannabis in Co Kildare yesterday.

All four are aged between 33 and 45 and were charged with two offences, possession of drugs and possession with intent to supply.

Three of the men made no application for bail and were remanded in custody.

The three men are 25-year-old Fran Delaney from Melrose Park in Kinsealy, 45-year-old Martin O' Connor from North Great Charles Street and 33-year-old Eddie van Boxtel from Sillogue Avenue in Ballymun.

I believe the age is incorrect but it is the former eL player & personality. Sad & shocking news.

Tis-smeee
08/02/2008, 12:34 AM
Glad he got caught tho, **** all sad about it

The Lilywhites
08/02/2008, 12:41 AM
Date of Birth: 14 August 1973 (Age: 34)

..according to playerhistory.com.

But they have been known to have had players' DOBs wrong in the past.

Terry-Lander
08/02/2008, 7:15 AM
RTE.ie (http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/0207/drugs1.html)

Eddie Van Boxtel (http://www.eddievanboxtel.bravehost.com/index.html)

I believe the age is incorrect but it is the former eL player & personality. Sad & shocking news.

Personally I don't think it's that sad. That amount of drugs destroying lives is sad but the more drug dealers / importers that are caught the better.

Theskinloyal
08/02/2008, 9:21 AM
I think it's sad though that a LOI personality has had to turn to that life.

W.R.F.C
08/02/2008, 9:24 AM
Van boxtel, would he have played with home farm years ago..

Terry-Lander
08/02/2008, 9:24 AM
Had to turn to that way of life or CHOSE to turn to it?

Terry-Lander
08/02/2008, 9:32 AM
Van boxtel, would he have played with home farm years ago..

home Farm, Leeds, dundalk, Galway United, Drogheda, Monaghan, Bray, O'Devaney FC, Sandyhill Celtic

eelmonster
08/02/2008, 9:49 AM
Sad, if he's guilty; the last I had heard of him he was a 'community worker' (a euphemism more often used north of the border) in Ballymun. He won a league title with us in 94/95.

http://www.eddievanboxtel.bravehost.com/evb_atpresent.html

from above:

"Born in Holland [!?] - 14/08/73"

Grasshopper 99
08/02/2008, 9:52 AM
Played for Bray too

DeNiro
08/02/2008, 10:17 AM
Did he not get capped at u21 level as well?

08/02/2008, 10:21 AM
He was part of an all conquering Home Farm Team that went something like 7 years unbeaten at under age Level I think Gary Kelly was also on that team.

garyderry
08/02/2008, 10:51 AM
I think it's sad though that a LOI personality has had to turn to that life.

He didnt have to, he choose to, big difference,

geezer
08/02/2008, 11:41 AM
forget the night against athlone in terryland when eddy jumped over the ball to let athlone equalise and a load of his buddies playin for athlone and in fact had travelled on the train together to galway.

Tis-smeee
08/02/2008, 11:49 AM
imagine the scandal of travelling with your friends on a train

08/02/2008, 11:55 AM
In fairness, it's not necessarily the same guy. There must be dozens of Eddie Van Boxtels in Ballymun.

Grasshopper 99
08/02/2008, 12:19 PM
i think he was pats goalkeeping coach for a while as well, now why doesnt that sursprise me :D

Love it:D

08/02/2008, 12:53 PM
In fairness, it's not necessarily the same guy. There must be dozens of Eddie Van Boxtels in Ballymun.

Like his son? :D

The jokes about him being Pats keeper coach just too obvious.

Port Saint
08/02/2008, 1:02 PM
i think he was pats goalkeeping coach for a while as well, now why doesnt that sursprise me :D

That was previously with rovers ;)

08/02/2008, 1:27 PM
Know of a story when he joined Bray but can't reveal as i don't know what consequences i'd face.

pixiehead
08/02/2008, 1:45 PM
imagine the scandal of travelling with your friends on a train

Quaility :D:D:D

08/02/2008, 1:53 PM
While a former LOI player getting involved with Drogs is obviously disappointing, it's not really a great surprise, and I'm more than a little surprised to see how much attention is being paid to this.

Titan
08/02/2008, 2:36 PM
The jokes about him being Pats keeper coach just too obvious.[/QUOTE]

He really was Pats goalkeeper coach Though!

08/02/2008, 2:38 PM
While a former LOI player getting involved with Drogs is obviously disappointing, it's not really a great surprise, and I'm more than a little surprised to see how much attention is being paid to this.

Ha, yes it's always a considerable disappointment to see a renowned player end up involved with Drogs.

08/02/2008, 3:02 PM
He saved a penalty from Eric Cantona in a Dundalk - Manchester United friendly in 1994. I'll never forget that!

The Lilywhites
08/02/2008, 5:02 PM
He saved a penalty from Eric Cantona in a Dundalk - Manchester United friendly in 1994. I'll never forget that!

The Star says it was for Leeds United he saved that peno. Dopes!

He was only with Leeds United until he was 18 or so before he joined Dundalk in 91/92.

08/02/2008, 5:29 PM
Disappointed to hear about this, despite the fact that Eddie was my unseen nemesis when I was a promising young keeper. He was something of a local legend and people kept telling me I'd only ever be the second-best keeper from the area. Sorry that it's come to this.

He's not garnering much support on his tribute site's guestbook: http://pub18.bravenet.com/guestbook/1482127902/ :(

08/02/2008, 6:12 PM
What is it with ex-Mons players these days filling up the column inches. People are gonna start thinking I am behind it all to stir up some publicity for us!!

Paddyfield
08/02/2008, 6:52 PM
forget the night against athlone in terryland when eddy jumped over the ball to let athlone equalise and a load of his buddies playin for athlone and in fact had travelled on the train together to galway.

He played a blinder for Galway Utd when we won League Cup Final against Cork in Turner's Cross on New Year's Day 1998.

08/02/2008, 7:14 PM
Know of a story when he joined Bray but can't reveal as i don't know what consequences i'd face.So you decided that was worth posting why then?:rolleyes:

oriel
08/02/2008, 9:06 PM
He had a great season for us in our Premier Div winning season of 94/95 taking over the GK spot from Jody Byrne mid season. Cant recall exactly but he kept a superb amount of clean sheets in the run in.

I recall a programme article around the time, when he was quoted as saying the chance that Keely took on him with Dundalk was his 'last chance saloon'

He had a very difficult upbringing and his family circumstances weren't ideal, but thats still no excuse if he`s found guilty.

Anyway, i was very sad to hear of this news.

ps as metioned before, that penalty he saved from cantona in oriel circa 93/94 --------that was eric's first miss from the spot - its even in his book.

Woody
08/02/2008, 9:27 PM
I guess Eddie was off his Van Box(tel). Ha ha ha, ho ho , I couldn't resist it, I nearly burst a blood vessel thinking that up.

passerrby
09/02/2008, 11:28 AM
I knew him when he was a tool now hes just a mule

09/02/2008, 12:05 PM
While a former LOI player getting involved with Drogs is obviously disappointing.

Disappointing to see any player get involved with Drogs as no good can come of it.

bluemovie
09/02/2008, 12:58 PM
Jesus lads, it was only a bit of blow.

Docboy
09/02/2008, 5:39 PM
What he said, they should really be concentrating on the **** that's killing generations in certain areas: heroin.

pixiehead
09/02/2008, 5:46 PM
Jesus lads, it was only a bit of blow.

;):rolleyes:

fbtn
10/02/2008, 10:10 PM
Dreadful news.

Going to be no end to this drought!

ndrog
12/02/2008, 12:04 AM
Disappointing to see any player get involved with Drogs as no good can come of it.

yep ,they will end up winning something .and thats just not good is it now ? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

DannyInvincible
22/01/2015, 5:04 PM
Van Boxtel to be jailed for ten years: http://balls.ie/football/former-loi-winner-jailed-10-years-drugs-charges/

Eddie Van Boxtel, formerly of several League of Ireland clubs including Dundalk, where he won the league in 1995, Galway United and Bray Wanderers, has been sentenced to 10 years in prison for possession of cannabis worth some €3.5m according to RTÉ News (http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0122/674870-drugs-sentence/).

The Dutchman was initially apprehended in February 2008 along with three others in Kill, Co. Kildare. He never showed to court for his inital hearing in July 2008 and a warrant was then executed for his arrest, reported The Indo (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/exleeds-goalie-held-in-105m-drug-case-30052214.html) last year.

Van Boxtel then managed to evade Garda capture for some time, finally being arrested early last year, some six years after the warrant was issued. He was understandably refused bail and spent the majority of 2014 in custody.

Spudulika
22/01/2015, 5:27 PM
I seem to remember playing against him when he was part of a win at all costs Home Farm team in the NDSL. We played HF in a shield or cup and were robbed, then (I think) Belvo beat them. He was a talent but odd.

seand
23/01/2015, 9:18 AM
It's not that important a point but I'm 99% sure he's Irish not Dutch. Dutch absentee Da, Ballymun Ma.

Good keeper on his day, bit of a headcase though. Undoubtedly 94-5 was his highlight.

DannyInvincible
23/01/2015, 10:56 AM
It's not that important a point but I'm 99% sure he's Irish not Dutch. Dutch absentee Da, Ballymun Ma.

Aye, you're right.

There's a brief interview with him here (at 03:38) after he saved a Cantona penalty for Dundalk against Manchester United during a pre-season friendly game in 1994 and he doesn't sound the remotest bit Dutch:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkzPnLqJ56A#t=218

Double Dutch maybe?

And check out Bertie's blazer at 04:19! The '90s...

23/01/2015, 1:21 PM
Dutch Gold!!

Was far from a sellout too. If I remember correctly the friendly ticket price was expenisve but included the first 3 games of the league season. PR mess no matter how it was intended to boost league attendance.

Captain2007
23/01/2015, 6:00 PM
Aye, you're right.

There's a brief interview with him here (at 03:38) after he saved a Cantona penalty for Dundalk against Manchester United during a pre-season friendly game in 1994 and he doesn't sound the remotest bit Dutch:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkzPnLqJ56A#t=218

Double Dutch maybe?

And check out Bertie's blazer at 04:19! The '90s...

Nice video clip, I played in front of him for a few years, I was use to keepers saying watch your house,until Eddie came and use the term watch your gaff in a strong Dublin accent when he arrived in Bray, decent keeper, can't say I have much sympathy for his demise, chose the wrong path in life, sad really!:(

littlebray
23/01/2015, 7:07 PM
I always thought Eddie was Dutch-born, but raised in Ballymun. No odd accent expected, then! But I have no memory of where, when or from whom I heard it.

gufcfan
23/01/2015, 7:42 PM
I always thought Eddie was Dutch-born, but raised in Ballymun.

Papers say he is Dutch-born and a Dutch wiki page for him says he was born in Amsterdam.

23/01/2015, 7:45 PM
Woah Eddie Van Boxtel
You use to be from Holland, you're from Ballymun now

littlebray
23/01/2015, 7:49 PM
Papers say he is Dutch-born and a Dutch wiki page for him says he was born in Amsterdam.

Have to admit I'd be more impressed with the Wiki than the papers, which are slow to investigate what they think they already know ...