View Full Version : New Irish Home Shirt

Deckydee
07/02/2008, 10:43 AM
Hi,

I guess it was what the players were wearing last night. Has it been released yet and was there any announcement?

I think it is nice actually. Bit dissappointed that they changed though, only recently bought the other one :(

Seems kitbag have the new away shirt though. Really like this as well:

http://www.kitbag.com/stores/kitbag_4_5/football/product_details.aspx?pid=33082&cid=126

Sligo Hornet
07/02/2008, 11:05 AM
Hi,

I guess it was what the players were wearing last night. Has it been released yet and was there any announcement?

I think it is nice actually. Bit dissappointed that they changed though, only recently bought the other one :(

http://www.kitbag.com/stores/kitbag_4_5/football/product_details.aspx?pid=33082&cid=126

the Away one has been available for some time now.....agreed nice ( except for the usual "stain" on the front!

07/02/2008, 11:10 AM
Change of home jersey.............AGAIN! Cant see a whole lot of difference to its predecessor

Deckydee
07/02/2008, 11:23 AM
Change of home jersey.............AGAIN! Cant see a whole lot of difference to its predecessor

Either can I actually, except the orange stripes at the top

and yes it is a big stain! :D

Claret Murph
07/02/2008, 11:47 AM
Well you could say the the neck is different and the orange bits at the side stand out a lot , so as for buying it in mid March welllllll I am a sucker for Ireland home shirts and I plan to have mine the first day they come out .

CJTheGull
07/02/2008, 11:50 AM

Yeah practically no difference in the home jersey. Thought that navy '3rd' jersey was quite smart although that's probably changed now. To 'battleship grey' with a hint of vanilla or something. :D

RogerMilla
07/02/2008, 3:29 PM
dont like it at all , the stripes make them look like ninja turtles from the back!!

jmurphyc
08/02/2008, 8:16 AM
I saw in the match programme that is was being released some time in early March.

08/02/2008, 11:12 AM
Thats the last 3 home jerseys with barely fcuk all difference between them. Same with the away jerseys. The grey is nice though.

meathkeeno
08/02/2008, 11:16 AM
I saw in the match programme that is was being released some time in early March.

March 13th I heard

Ireland4ever
08/02/2008, 6:08 PM
March 13th I heard

Looks like we'll have a new jesrsey before manager then!

Emmet
18/02/2008, 2:51 PM
I have been fortunate enough to get a couple of shirts from the Brazil game - the new shirts are very similar but there is more textured patterns to these new ones. Overall though - very very similar :rolleyes:

citizenerased
19/02/2008, 9:33 AM
emmet how do you acquire all the shirts?

mackannovic
19/02/2008, 9:59 AM
Any chance we could get a campaign going to banish the orange blob from the front of the jersey. Even if it just said Eircom it'd be fine but the blob must go!

19/02/2008, 10:04 AM
Any chance we could get a campaign going to banish the orange blob from the front of the jersey. Even if it just said Eircom it'd be fine but the blob must go!

I'd be surprised if there wasn't an anti-dote on the shelf of your local drycleaners that could take it off ...without destroying the shirt obviously. Seriously.

Emmet
19/02/2008, 1:10 PM
emmet how do you acquire all the shirts?

These ones came from someone I know in Brazil - they would have been swapped after the game with Brazil's players who didn't want to keep them themselves.

boovidge
19/02/2008, 1:24 PM
These ones came from someone I know in Brazil - they would have been swapped after the game with Brazil's players who didn't want to keep them themselves.

who wouldnt want to keep Lee Carsley's shirt? :D

Emmet
19/02/2008, 1:47 PM
Well ... yes ... exactly! :D

citizenerased
19/02/2008, 2:53 PM
so what players shirts did you get then?

Emmet
19/02/2008, 6:08 PM
Dunne's worn shirt and Keane's spare

citizenerased
20/02/2008, 9:52 AM
happy days..fair play, how many ireland shirts have you got in your collection at this stage?

Sligo Hornet
20/02/2008, 10:12 AM
happy days..fair play, how many ireland shirts have you got in your collection at this stage?

Citizen, you forgot your last,and most important line......"and can I have one please?":D

Emmet
20/02/2008, 10:40 AM
It's around 120 now ... and No!! :D

citizenerased
20/02/2008, 12:20 PM
id say that collection is worth a few bob

Mr. Reality
27/02/2008, 12:02 PM
Hi,

I will never ever buy an Ireland shirt. Not until they sell them without the sponsor on it. Disgrace that we are the only nation who can't buy what the players wear.

newrynyuk
27/03/2008, 11:38 AM
Exactly!

Dunno how much Eircom pay to sponsor the Irish team, but I bet it's not as much as Mercedes pay Germany, or Nationwide pay England, or Carrefour pay France, and yet they don't get to have their logos on the shirts.

Can't blame this on Delaney though, we've got Donnie Butler to thank for this pathetic state of affairs. As soon as Ireland qualifited for Euro 88, FAI Commercial Manager Donnie Butler cashed in on the unexpected success and started selling the new shirt with the Opel logo on them and the sponsors have never been off since. Use to be able to get shirts without the logo from England, but that loophole has been closed since 1992.

27/03/2008, 11:54 AM
Retro jerseys without the sponsor, and the original logos, on toffs.co.uk - http://www.toffs.com/icat/eire
I have some of their stuff, it's fantastic

soccerc
27/03/2008, 11:56 AM
Can't blame this on Delaney though, we've got Donnie Butler to thank for this pathetic state of affairs. As soon as Ireland qualifited for Euro 88

It was actually 1986 during the barren years that the deal with Opel was agreed upon.

Pike B
27/03/2008, 12:03 PM
I have to agree with you lads. We should not have to buy that EIRCOM jersey. In the Rugby World cup just gone, two Irish jerseys went on sale. One with O2 on it, one without. IF the IRFU can sort it, why can't the FAI????

Paulie
27/03/2008, 12:18 PM
In the Rugby World cup just gone, two Irish jerseys went on sale. One with O2 on it, one without. IF the IRFU can sort it, why can't the FAI????

There is no sponsorship allowed on the Rugby World Cup tops of any country. This is out of the hands of the individual rugby unions as it's stipulated by the IRB as far as I know.

Pike B
27/03/2008, 12:20 PM
There is no sponsorship allowed on the Rugby World Cup tops of any country. This is out of the hands of the individual rugby unions as it's stipulated by the IRB as far as I know.
The same applies to Soccer World Cup and Euros, but we can't buy that sponsor less shirt!! Only the EIRCOM one, which our national team doesn't even wear!! Scandal...

Pike B
27/03/2008, 12:22 PM
I have two Irish shirts. One from 70's which I purchased from TOFFS, and one given to me by a junior international , which was sponsor-less. I am still waiting to buy one in the shops. Until they lift the sponsor, I won't.

Paulie
27/03/2008, 12:41 PM
The same applies to Soccer World Cup and Euros, but we can't buy that sponsor less shirt!! Only the EIRCOM one, which our national team doesn't even wear!! Scandal...

Fair point.

newrynyuk
27/03/2008, 1:40 PM
It was actually 1986 during the barren years that the deal with Opel was agreed upon.

True, but for the first two years, there was no Ireland shirt (the first, rather generic adidias effort) available in the shops, much less one with a sponsor's logo. After making it to Euro 88, the new shirt, with Opel logo, was the only one we could get.

In the Rugby World cup just gone, two Irish jerseys went on sale. One with O2 on it, one without. IF the IRFU can sort it, why can't the FAI????

You're on to something here. The FAI should sell 2 versions of the shirt, one with Eircom on it, one without. Even if the unsponsored version was €10 dearer (as was the case with the Ireland Rugby World Cup top) it would outsell the sponsored version several times over. Also that would be €10 per shirt extra profit for the FAI. Too much commercial sense or cynical?

soccerc
27/03/2008, 1:45 PM
True, but for the first two years, there was no Ireland shirt (the first, rather generic adidias effort) available in the shops, much less one with a sponsor's logo. After making it to Euro 88, the new shirt, with Opel logo, was the only one we could get.

That is simply not true. I bought the adidas shirt with Opel and the FAI crest on it in Penney's of all places for a tenner in the spring of 1987.

Wore it to both the Belgium and Brazil games a few weeks later

Pike B
27/03/2008, 1:51 PM

You're on to something here. The FAI should sell 2 versions of the shirt, one with Eircom on it, one without. Even if the unsponsored version was €10 dearer (as was the case with the Ireland Rugby World Cup top) it would outsell the sponsored version several times over. Also that would be €10 per shirt extra profit for the FAI. Too much commercial sense or cynical?
Could we make a difference? Can we change the FAI?? Doubt it, but it's good to know I'm not the only one who thinks it's a disgrace. And I like your idea, even if the FAI make more money.. ;)

newrynyuk
27/03/2008, 1:58 PM
That is simply not true. I bought the adidas shirt with Opel and the FAI crest on it in Penney's of all places for a tenner in the spring of 1987.

I stand corrected, I was young and naive then, and if you couldn't get it at the Dundalk Shopping Centre, to all intents and purposes it didn't exist to me.

But my original point stands, this sponsored shirt business was Donnie Butler's doing. 12 years later we still have to put up with it. Now the FAI daren't drop the shirt logo when sponsor's contract renewals come around for fear of lessening the money. Thanks Donnie!

27/03/2008, 2:07 PM
I am still waiting to buy one in the shops. Until they lift the sponsor, I won't.
I have never bought an Ireland jersey. As long as there's a large, ugly sponsor's logo, I won't.

Pike B
27/03/2008, 2:08 PM
I have never bought an Ireland jersey. As long as there's a large, ugly sponsor's logo, I won't.
Jeez lads, I am begining to think I aint alone here... Any more support for the logo less shirt????

newrynyuk
27/03/2008, 2:18 PM
Jeez lads, I am begining to think I aint alone here... Any more support for the logo less shirt????

Pike B, you can pretty much take it as a given that every Ireland fan would like to have an Ireland shirt without the sponsor's logo on it.

That's why on the rare occasions when sponsorless shirts are up for sale on eBay, they usually go for big sums. Hey! Maybe the FAI should consider that as well. Another cynical commercial ploy for them to exploit.

Pike B
27/03/2008, 2:22 PM
Ya, it is a pity. Mind you I was in Andorra once and when I asked the lad at the local sports store for an Andorra shirt I could buy, he laughed at me. They sold France, Spain, Italy, Barcelona even Manc Scum Shirt. But not their own... Wonder do they have a thread??? :) :)

27/03/2008, 4:49 PM
Ya, it is a pity. Mind you I was in Andorra once and when I asked the lad at the local sports store for an Andorra shirt I could buy, he laughed at me. They sold France, Spain, Italy, Barcelona even Manc Scum Shirt. But not their own... Wonder do they have a thread??? :) :)
Do Andorrans think of themselves as Andorran? Is there a national identity there, or do they pretty much accept themselves as a glorified tax haven? They're basically Catalan, if memory serves, though the country is ancient.

27/03/2008, 4:50 PM

and the oneills Ireland shirts of the early 80s were available

Pike B
27/03/2008, 5:26 PM
Do Andorrans think of themselves as Andorran? Is there a national identity there, or do they pretty much accept themselves as a glorified tax haven? They're basically Catalan, if memory serves, though the country is ancient.
Don't know to be honest bud, but it is a beautiful country. Would love a shirt from there. Wouldn't have a feckin sponsor on it either.....

newrynyuk
28/03/2008, 9:11 AM

The answer would be yes, if they are anything like San Marino.

I was there for the Euro qualifier last year and found the local Sammarinese to be fiercely proud of their independence and nationality. No San Marino shirts on sale in the shops though. But our supporters club secretary did manage to get one in a shirt swap at the match.

And no, the San Marino shirt had no sponsor on it.

Hibs4Ever
28/03/2008, 9:24 AM

I was there for the Euro qualifier last year and found the local Sammarinese to be fiercely proud of their independence and nationality. No San Marino shirts on sale in the shops though. But our supporters club secretary did manage to get one in a shirt swap at the match.

They sold them outside the ground at the recent game over there. Very nice shirt

Hibs4Ever
28/03/2008, 9:27 AM
Pike B, you can pretty much take it as a given that every Ireland fan would like to have an Ireland shirt without the sponsor's logo on it.

That's why on the rare occasions when sponsorless shirts are up for sale on eBay, they usually go for big sums. Hey! Maybe the FAI should consider that as well. Another cynical commercial ploy for them to exploit.

Same could be said when they grey 3rd jersey was released sponsoeless in Lifestyle. They sold out everywhere, and that was for a shirt we wore once and will probably never wear again.

Whatever extra money FAI get off eircom for the sponsor on jersey, I reckon they would make the same amound or more in sales of jerseys withouth sponsorship on them

Pike B
28/03/2008, 10:26 AM

Would love a San Marino shirt. They are quality. Remind me of the old Napoli jerseys. Classic..

citizenerased
28/03/2008, 10:35 AM
i got a fake san marino shirt for a fiver when i was at the match last year, still nice even though a fake...

28/03/2008, 2:45 PM
Don't know to be honest bud, but it is a beautiful country. Would love a shirt from there. Wouldn't have a feckin sponsor on it either.....
I emailed them there. Got this back:

Dear Mr. ******
I’m sorry to explain you that the Federació Andorrana de Futbol hasn’t got shop by now, consequently you can’t buy the jersey of the national team of Andorra.
Best regards,
Andrea Vidal
Federació Andorrana de Futbol