View Full Version : Club Promotion's Any Idea's

07/02/2008, 9:57 AM
Ok Lad's I know this has been done before but the climate is different now what with the FAI CPO's and what not. has anyone any ideas what the FAI, The Club's and we the Supporters can do to get ar$es on seats all around the country this year?
The obvious ones for me are more media coverage and advertising in the run up to the season, has anyone got any ideas how we can make this happen? As the FAI and/or the Clubs either cant or won't

07/02/2008, 10:47 AM
has anyone got any ideas how we can make this happen? As the FAI and/or the Clubs either cant or won't
I suggest a magic wand. If that fails, there's always a silver bullet.

As far as I can see, FAI/clubs are making serious efforts in this regard. I'm sure their strategies aren't perfect. In fact I know it. But, apart from knocking, have you got any suggestions?

07/02/2008, 11:03 AM
But, apart from knocking, have you got any suggestions?

I'm far from knocking it, just saying it's a couple of weeks to the season and not a Dickie bird in the print or broadcast media as usual. was wondering if there was anyway we as supporters could get our clubs noticed. I've racked my brains but other than an email campaign to the various newspapers which I'm pretty sure won't make an Iota of difference

Dave77
07/02/2008, 11:08 AM
Well I always thought that clubs like Shels and Bohs should advertise in the nearby colleges. Even a few posters around the likes of DCU, St Pats, Marino, Mater Dei etc. I only started going to Shels matches when I was in college and have never stopped. Its something small but everything helps especially for Shels!

07/02/2008, 11:14 AM
Well I always thought that clubs like Shels and Bohs should advertise in the nearby colleges. Even a few posters around the likes of DCU, St Pats, Marino, Mater Dei etc. I only started going to Shels matches when I was in college and have never stopped. Its something small but everything helps especially for Shels!

Yeah Bohs do this in DCU to their credit, I was thinking more along the lines of supporters organised events that could get some media attention. I don't know something like a 5-a-side footie tournament for Kids organised by either the Club or supporters club's. get the kids out and the parents will follow so will the media if it's a big enough event. also things like street parties in the local community, basically some ruse to get a crowd together so we can then preach all thing eL to them and convert them. The eL has a cult following so why not start acting like a Cult and brainwashing people away from their barstools and Flatscreens:D

But seriously just wondering if the Clubs should be doing more to get attention in the community. I'll use Sinn Fein as an example, In the run up to the last Local elections Sinn Fein held a series of "Family Day's" in my local park with bouncy castles and Mobile Disco and such, now people who wouldn't vote sinn fein if you put an armalite to their heads turned up to these events and had a great time, So if say Bohs were to organise a similar type of event to get the non-eircom following populous out and then bombard them with eL propaganda/ merchandise/ free tickets what ever it take's they might just get those people through the turnstiles

The Club open day's did this to an extent but were attended by mainly supporters of the Clubs and their families. I think the reason for this was because the open day's were held behind the closed doors of the stadium so they weren't likely to pick up any passing trade/people popping in for a nosey. some where Public like a park or town square would be much better imo

07/02/2008, 11:26 AM
if say Bohs were to organise a similar type of event to get the non-eircom following populous out and then bombard them with eL propaganda/ merchandise/ free tickets what ever it take's they might just get those people through the turnstiles
Did last year. Great buzz: chance to meet the players, tour the dressing rooms, run out the tunnel. Coming up again soon.

Woody
07/02/2008, 11:28 AM
Clubs should blitz local schools with info on their club and local pride and reiterating that the kids can get in free. Also maybe setting up a school supporters club for every local school etc.

07/02/2008, 11:28 AM
Did last year. Great buzz: chance to meet the players, tour the dressing rooms, run out the tunnel. Coming up again soon.
The Club open day's did this to an extent but were attended by mainly supporters of the Clubs and their families. I think the reason for this was because the open day's were held behind the closed doors of the stadium so they weren't likely to pick up any passing trade/people popping in for a nosey. some where Public like a park or town square would be much better imo

in Bohs case I'd be thinking the Bogies(John Paul Park)

Clubs should blitz local schools with info on their club and local pride and reiterating that the kids can get in free. Also maybe setting up a school supporters club for every local school etc.

Bohemians and a couple of other clubs have been doing this for a couple of years now with no visible success except to see a load of screaming kids in the otherwise empty shed.
Having said that my nephews best mate had his 8th birthday at a bohs match this year having seen them through one such kids go free event, If he wants to have his birthday party at the game I'd say he's hooked?

07/02/2008, 12:29 PM
Bohemians and a couple of other clubs have been doing this for a couple of years now with no visible success except to see a load of screaming kids in the otherwise empty shed.
Having said that my nephews best mate had his 8th birthday at a bohs match this year having seen them through one such kids go free event, If he wants to have his birthday party at the game I'd say he's hooked?

Firstly - how can having a load of fans in a part of the ground that would otherwise be empty not be construed as visible success ? :confused: What do you expect them to do - buy the club with their pocket money...? :)

Secondly - the example of the birthday you gave just goes to provide further evidence of the success of nteh school's initiative. Yet you seem to think it isn't working...? :confused:

As clichéd as it is, kids are the future for all our clubs, and we should be doing anything to get as many of them through the door as we can.

DRDoc
07/02/2008, 1:01 PM
The eL has a cult following so why not start acting like a Cult and brainwashing people away from their barstools and Flatscreens

I Love this!!!

07/02/2008, 1:16 PM
Firstly - how can having a load of fans in a part of the ground that would otherwise be empty not be construed as visible success ? :confused: What do you expect them to do - buy the club with their pocket money...? :)

Secondly - the example of the birthday you gave just goes to provide further evidence of the success of nteh school's initiative. Yet you seem to think it isn't working...? :confused:

As clichéd as it is, kids are the future for all our clubs, and we should be doing anything to get as many of them through the door as we can.

I chose my words badly there steve, it is of course working, however what I meant to construe was that it is not enough. I think all eL clubs should be targeting the 18-35 market as these have a disposable income, will by drink from the bar/merchandise from the club shop and make a lot more noise than a few dozen 10 year olds who got in free

Terry-Lander
07/02/2008, 3:08 PM
has anyone any ideas what the FAI, The Club's and we the Supporters can do to get ar$es on seats all around the country this year?

If everyone who reads / subscribes to this web site brought one extra with them to games we might actually convert a few. I brought a 'football fan' who had never been at an EL game to Terryland last year and he is now a season ticket holder. Galway United may not be one of the glamour clubs but in the case of the new convert, live football was way better than the atmosphere-less flatscreen.

07/02/2008, 3:33 PM
If everyone who reads / subscribes to this web site brought one extra with them to games we might actually convert a few. I brought a 'football fan' who had never been at an EL game to Terryland last year and he is now a season ticket holder. Galway United may not be one of the glamour clubs but in the case of the new convert, live football was way better than the atmosphere-less flatscreen.
My brother is a lapsed Shels fan, and now expresses vague embarrassment at having ever followed them (given that they're a southside club really etc). If I can persuade him to go to Dalymount on the right side, does that count? :D

You raise a good point about glamour. I don't think anyone will ever go to an eL game for glamour, and we shouldn't try to sell it to them on that basis. It should be sold on its live, real quality in opposition to the celebrity dross that much of television sport has become. Mind you, I seem to remember a few eL radio ads from last year featuring a bit too much realism, with oul fellas ranting on about how they followed <insert grand ol' club name here> since they were a nipper. Cough. Splutter.

07/02/2008, 3:33 PM
League Cup games should be "Kids for a Quid".

NM pointed out at the Fans Forum that research has shown that 4-14 is the most effective age for trying to "win support" for a side.

Terry-Lander
07/02/2008, 3:40 PM
Last year GUFC had a 'kids go free' policy where children under 12 accompanied by an adult got in free. That has been scrapped this year in favour of a kids season ticket. Imo thats a mistake as kids were often the ones to persuade otherwise reluctant parents to go. It could result in a drop in attendance. Methinks one bit off one's nose to spite one's face!

Atmosphere is key and we, the fans, are responsible for that.........provided the teams are giving us something to shout about.

Terry-Lander
07/02/2008, 3:48 PM
Point is that by not having the kids you wont have their paying parents / guardians. It's was only a loss of income if the new system generates more income. It also created a 'feel good factor' whereby people felt that they were getting value for money. The local pr value had to have been worth a few quid.:rolleyes:

07/02/2008, 3:58 PM
Ok Lad's I know this has been done before but the climate is different now what with the FAI CPO's and what not. has anyone any ideas what the FAI, The Club's and we the Supporters can do to get ar$es on seats all around the country this year?
The obvious ones for me are more media coverage and advertising in the run up to the season, has anyone got any ideas how we can make this happen? As the FAI and/or the Clubs either cant or won't
First off, you have at least ten unnecessary apostrophes in your posts in this thread (including two in the bloody thread title) (and yes, I bloody well counted), and you're missing one which should be there. Learn to use the bloody thing. :mad: You don't use an apostrophe to make a plural you illiterate.

Back on topic:
Whoever mentioned a silver bullet was right. There's nothing that will get crowds rushing through the gates. It's long term thinking here: minimise negative opinion in the press by eliminating the kind of crap that actually makes up most of the big stories covered by the press about the league: clubs with more debts than Bertie to the tax office, unpaid wages, scumbags throwing bricks at buses - yes, rare stuff, some less than others, but every time someone tries this sort of crap, it makes the newspapers, reinforcing the negative opinion the public have of the league.

Second, raise the standards of facilities to make sure people enjoy attending: leaking roofs, broken seats, and crappy stands in general don't encourage repeat attendence. Someone brought up the issue of the availability of hot food at games at the FAI meeting last month. Daft **** like that will make a difference.

Third, results. As long as a European 'run' in this country consists of scraping past some Moldovan 'giants' before loosing to a team no one has ever heard of from a country where running water is aspirational at the best of times, the public will assume the teams here are ****. They're probably right.

Finally, if you really want to make a difference, bring your mates along to a few games. Go for a few pints with them afterwards. Make it habit for them to attend.

A fecking radio ad won't do ****.

07/02/2008, 6:33 PM
First off, you have at least ten unnecessary apostrophes in your posts in this thread (including two in the bloody thread title) (and yes, I bloody well counted), and you're missing one which should be there. Learn to use the bloody thing. You don't use an apostrophe to make a plural you illiterate.

I'm hoping that's some sort of joke. I really don't think it's appropriate that you abuse someone in that way.

geezer
07/02/2008, 7:09 PM
an email poster campaign to the regulars encouraging them to print off a match poster on the work printer (dont get caught)on the friday morning of a game and sticking them on the canteen noticeboard, the door entrance into the canteen and any other noticeboard you can find in your workplace. If you done that early on a friday morning by 10.00am breaktime people might notice it, mention it to their colleagues and one or two may encourage each other to go along as they sip their tea. It normally gives lads plenty of time to text the girlfriend wife etc and let them know about their plan for friday night. I witnessed this work in a large factory in Galway 4 years ago and the four lads are regulars now

08/02/2008, 8:51 AM
Good Idea ! Thats more like it