View Full Version : Joseph Lapira
cclinton
03/04/2008, 2:12 PM
He arrives in America, and says he played in the Scottish Second Division. "Hamilton who?" Nah, not interested, never heard of them.
The Scottish second division means about as much in America as American college soccer does here......
aaah!... but this :)
Adam Moffat, from Glasgow, made his debut with MLS outfit, Columbus Crew last weekend. Scored (possibly gotw) and cleared a saved peno off the line.
Moffat went nowhere in Scotland at any level after youth footie (Kilmarnock youths, Elgin City)... but possibly has found a home in the MLS.
now back to Lapira...
carloz
03/04/2008, 2:45 PM
I have a friend who uis an Aberdeen fan. he saw Joe play one game for the Aberdeen reserves. According to him lapira looked out of his depth even at that low level. Another great memory from the Stan era
TheBoss
10/04/2008, 4:27 PM
He played his first game for them last weekend.
11/04/2008, 7:50 AM
The FAI can hardly be blamed for the teams the manager / Stan picked. I mean we'd be the first to explode in outrage were Delaney picking the team !
Fair point but in any organisation the buck stops with the boss (hierarchy). It's embarressing for the FAI as an organisation because of what Stan did.
fergalr
11/04/2008, 1:01 PM
Lapira may not want to play in MLS because of this possible restriction in movement. Perhaps he doesn't want to play in Canada (Toronto have the right to sign him because of the draft system).
He is highly regarded in the US, and almost any MLS team would take him in a heartbeat. He is not being rejected by the MLS, he is rejecting them for whatever reason.
(according to wikipedia): Nybergsund is a village in the municipality of Trysil, Norway. Its population (2005) is 329.
Do you honestly think he has turned down Toronto in favour of a village team?
I've posted before that capping Lapira was a joke and having a thread about him in this forum is a farce. If discussion about Gamble, Healy, Farrelly, Byrne, Crowe (and all the up and coming local players is confined to the eL forum then discussion about Lapira should be confined to the forum on World Football (or the forum titled Rubbish).
irishfan86
11/04/2008, 5:45 PM
Do you honestly think he has turned down Toronto in favour of a village team?
I don't think it, I know it. I live in Canada and Lapira was talked about by Mo Johnston (manager) hopefully in the Canadian sports media.
It is a bizarre career choice, and nobody can really understand it, but it is a choice as screwed up as it seems.
This was written before he signed in Norway:
MO JOHNSTON is threatening to hijack Aberdeen's move for striker Joseph Lapira.
The former Celtic, Rangers and Scotland striker is holding out hope he can convince the NCAA attacker to sign for his Toronto FC outfit after picking him in the fourth round of the Major League Soccer SuperDraft.
Lapira, who has represented the Republic of Ireland due to parentage, is at Pittodrie on a trial.
Dons manager Jimmy Calderwood is running the rule over the international hitman with a view to making a move.
Johnston, however, remains hopeful of luring him back across the Atlantic.
He said: "I talked to Lapira on the day of the draft and I talked to his agent.
"We don't think it's a done deal that he'll stay in Europe. I'm excited about trying to lure Lapira here.
"We used a late-round draft pick but I think it is important we try to get a kid like Lapira to play."
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football-news/scottish-football/spl-football/aberdeen-fc/2008/01/26/mo-johnston-wants-to-derail-aberdeen-s-lapira-bid-86908-20298688/
HolylandsMan
11/04/2008, 11:36 PM
I've posted before that capping Lapira was a joke and having a thread about him in this forum is a farce. If discussion about Gamble, Healy, Farrelly, Byrne, Crowe (and all the up and coming local players is confined to the eL forum then discussion about Lapira should be confined to the forum on World Football (or the forum titled Rubbish).
The fact that he took a bizarre route to an Irish cap means that people are going to be interested. Its a strange story but of all the things Stan did, this was one of the more harmless. He's an Irish international so I don't see the problem with having a thread on him (although admittedly one would do)
On another note, Ciaran Martyn said that when he was out on loan in Norway, the standard was a lot higher than the Eircom League. Admittefly that's probably not the case for the 2nd division but worth bearing in mind.
I agree it woulda been nice to see him sign for an Irish club.
Philly
13/04/2008, 11:50 PM
He scored a brace on his debut.
TheBoss
14/04/2008, 1:01 PM
He scored a brace on his debut.
It was his 2nd game.
theworm2345
05/04/2010, 7:51 PM
Lapira has left his club playing in the Second Division in Norway. Rumor has it he's on trial with Barcelona and Chelsea are also in the hunt for his signature. I don't actually have any clue where he's gone, maybe he rose back to his true home yesterday :p
05/04/2010, 8:03 PM
He scored against me in Football Manager the other day. Neat turn of pace if I remember correctly.
Yard of Pace
06/04/2010, 5:57 PM
This (http://www.bigsoccer.com/forum/showthread.php?t=649275&page=9)thread says Staunton had him on trial at Darlo in January! I wonder where he is now...
sean r
10/04/2010, 9:17 PM
would he make a 1st div side? cork maybe?
Colbert Report
10/04/2010, 9:19 PM
He should go back to North America and play in the MLS.
Razors left peg
10/04/2010, 9:31 PM
would he make an MLS team?
Colbert Report
10/04/2010, 9:43 PM
No idea, but the standard of football is very poor here. He was the NCAA player of the year in his senior year at college, so he'd get a shot for sure. I think Toronto FC own his rights.
theworm2345
10/04/2010, 10:23 PM
Anyone have his number? My team is looking for guys and if he still lives near Notre Dame Chicago isn't too far (technically the league is semi-professional). :p
Crosby87
10/04/2010, 10:44 PM
He played in the game at Giants Stadium vs Ecuador.
Bloody awful game.
10/04/2010, 10:55 PM
He was selected 35th in the MLS draft in 2008. PLayers selected below 20th aren't usually offered professional deals
To put it in perspective, Pats' Ryan Guy was selected 22nd in 2007
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007_MLS_SuperDraft
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2008_MLS_SuperDraft
sean r
11/04/2010, 12:40 AM
he would make mervue or limerick at least
irishfan86
11/04/2010, 7:17 AM
He was selected 35th in the MLS draft in 2008. PLayers selected below 20th aren't usually offered professional deals
To put it in perspective, Pats' Ryan Guy was selected 22nd in 2007
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007_MLS_SuperDraft
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2008_MLS_SuperDraft
Lapira was very highly regarded by MLS teams, and would have been selected very early on; however, he expressed his desire to play in Europe before the draft, so most teams avoided him.
Toronto FC "wasted" a late pick on him because they felt the slight chance of him signing was worth the risk, as it was a late round pick anyway.
Just because he hadn't earned an Ireland cap doesn't mean he's a joke; this guy was very good at the college level in America, and it's not his fault he was selected for Ireland.
Toronto FC would be very happy to have a young player of his calibre return to North America.
Personally, I hope he becomes a good solid pro wherever he goes, just to shut some people up in this place.
EDIT: I've added a couple of sources:
7. The best player in the draft goes … 35th?
Johnston also took arguably the best player in the draft at No. 35, but it is unlikely he will ever get to use him.
Notre Dame's Joseph Lapira, who has already represented the Republic of Ireland national team, looks certain to pursue options in Europe rather than play in MLS. However, if for any reason things do not work out and he decides to play in North America within the next two years, Toronto would hold his rights.
http://ca.sports.yahoo.com/mls/news?slug=ro-draft011808
Johnston could wind up with the steal of the draft when he grabbed Lapira in the third round. If Lapira signs with MLS, Toronto will have run away with this draft.
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=499902&cc=5901
Joseph Lapira, the once-capped Republic Of Ireland international and former Notre Dame star, was one of the most exciting prospects to come out of the MLS draft. Lapira fell to the third round since it was well known that he would put a pursuit of a career in Europe as his top priority. Still, Toronto FC took a gamble on the striker.
http://www.onlyonefootball.com/?p=10
Toronto FC draft fortune is based upon possibilities. If Lapira (#35) signs with MLS, they have the steal of the draft with a mid 3rd round selection.
http://proplayerpipeline.wordpress.com/2008/01/19/mls-draft-team-by-team-analysis/
11/04/2010, 11:55 AM
Yep, and he's doing nothing now so its immaterial
Razors left peg
11/04/2010, 11:58 AM
Surely he would have been better off playing in the MLS rather than the Norwegian 2nd divison, or where ever he was.
AlaskaFox
22/09/2010, 2:23 PM
Had a look for him on that Norweigan club's website, but no sign of him. What's he at this season I wonder?
irishfan86
22/09/2010, 2:47 PM
Had a look for him on that Norweigan club's website, but no sign of him. What's he at this season I wonder?
I posted in another thread that last he was heard negotiating with a professional team in India:
Irish-American footballer Joseph Lapira, who has played internationally for Ireland is looking to a move to Kolkata club Mohun Bagan.
http://zipsport.com/wordpress/?p=683
22/09/2010, 3:00 PM
I posted in another thread that last he was heard negotiating with a professional team in India:
For who? Dell?...
mark12345
22/09/2010, 7:59 PM
Laugh at MLS if you wish, but it is light years ahead of the League of Ireland. Players in the US are coached properly and the league in general is technically better than the Championship in England. In the games MLS teams have played against Premier League teams they have fared quite well. Admittedly the MLS teams would be no match for EPL teams in mid-season but generally speaking US soccer is on the right road and has been for some time. Keep in mind they were Leinster Senior League level about 15 years ago. It's all about coaching at the end of the day!
if Ireland/the FAI could retain its best players or the majority of them as the MLS does then we would be light years ahead of the MLS. Its more than just coaching. Ireland has a lot of good coaches at every level.
Though i agree that it is overall a better league than LOI, I have to say that the defending in the MLS is atrocious (generally).
Colbert Report
22/09/2010, 8:21 PM
Set-piece defending in the MLS is laughable. I remember watching a match a month or two ago where the centre-forward was being marked by FOUR defenders on a free kick near the corner flag. Smart little pass to one of the wide open players, and bang, goal.
sean r
23/09/2010, 6:02 PM
mark is correct the mls is a decent standerd and can hammer any loi side. they have soccer stadiums here and quite good ones. they have a amature u23 league that acts as the 4th division here in the usa. even though they are u23 they are run as a pro team and play in the national cup. also the mls players leave the mls to go to top flight leagues. jozy altadore left mls to go to villareal in spain. donovan left for everton bocanegea to fulham ect. how many loi players go right to the english prem right away? our guys go t northampton town then get released!! the loi can learn alot from the mls in the way of developement of players ok the league is weak in some areas but the players are leaving mls for TOP FLIGHT TEAMS not league 2 sides in england. the usa have more players playing top flight football than ireland does. we can learn from the mls the league is a good standard and has come a long way since it 1st started. there miles ahead of the loi
youre totally missing the point sean.
Our best players are already in the english premiership. We lost them when they were young teenagers. The MLS doesnt. If we kept our best players at home until they were a bit older our league would be just as good as the MLS and would provide players directly to the Premier League. Maybe even moreso than the MLS.
Until we retain the majority of our young players the league will continue to fail and our national team will continue to fail also. That should be the FAI's top priority but it never will be.
Yard of Pace
05/04/2011, 6:16 PM
Ye will love this one. He's signed for United Sikkim in the Indian second division after being out of the game for some time following the end of his Norwegian spell.
Previously rejected by East Bengal according to this:
http://www.goal.com/en-india/news/1838/i-league-division-ii/2011/03/22/2406841/india-dazzling-launch-for-united-sikkim-as-bhaichung-bhutia
05/04/2011, 6:41 PM
mark is correct the mls is a decent standerd and can hammer any loi side. they have soccer stadiums here and quite good ones. they have a amature u23 league that acts as the 4th division here in the usa. even though they are u23 they are run as a pro team and play in the national cup. also the mls players leave the mls to go to top flight leagues. jozy altadore left mls to go to villareal in spain. donovan left for everton bocanegea to fulham ect. how many loi players go right to the english prem right away? our guys go t northampton town then get released!! the loi can learn alot from the mls in the way of developement of players ok the league is weak in some areas but the players are leaving mls for TOP FLIGHT TEAMS not league 2 sides in england. the usa have more players playing top flight football than ireland does. we can learn from the mls the league is a good standard and has come a long way since it 1st started. there miles ahead of the loi
Altidore couldn't get a game at Villarreal could he thou?
And sure for arguments sake heres a few lads who played LOI that are in the prem now (all didn't make the jump in a day granted because they got promoted with their clubs from the championship)
Kevin Doyle + Stephen Ward - Wolves
Keith Fahey - Birmingham
Seamus Coleman - Everton
Connor Salmon - Wigan via SPL
Then you have shane long at Reading who will certianly make the leap soon
In the SPL (decent players)
Niall McGinn + Paddy McCourt - Celtic
Sean Dillon - Dundee Utd
Theres tons of other lads doing very well over there saying they only make the leap to Northampton is a little derogatory and inaccurate although i'm sure Northampton is lovely :D
But agree with the other lads that you missed the point a little
sean r
05/04/2011, 8:42 PM
could laperia do a job in the loi?
id like to think Sporting Fingal or Dublin City could beat United Sikkim or East Bengal on their day.
irishultra
05/04/2011, 9:38 PM
mls teams would beat loi teams. rovers would be competitive but nothing more than that.
05/04/2011, 10:15 PM
Not sure about that. The MLS is better than the LOI but the standard isn't that high.
05/04/2011, 10:36 PM
I've watched the odd MLS game and there pure muck, SPL is more enjoyable..
Maybe i've just seen all the sh!te games thou :D
Given himself is playing div 2 india, i'm sure hed do a job for longford town maybe
sean r
05/04/2011, 10:43 PM
can he do a job for athlone town??
Considering nobody has seen him play in 3/4 years, everyone would just be guessing.
Yard of Pace
06/04/2011, 9:34 AM
I'd love to know more about Lapira. He's obviously not going to be a top player but I'm quite jealous of his adventures nonetheless. I'd say a few years playing in Norway and India would be great craic. And certainly more fun than lining out for Longford every Friday night!
06/04/2011, 9:39 AM
He should have an interesting autobiography at the end of his career anyway.
06/04/2011, 3:47 PM
can he do a job for athlone town??
I'd say i'd do a job for Athlone town at this stage
Dermotron
30/01/2012, 3:58 PM
Back with Nybergsund this season
Could have been a money spinner to stay in India longer with the new Premier League Soccer about to kick-off
eitoof
07/02/2013, 5:47 PM
http://blogs.theprovince.com/2013/01/29/report-whitecaps-sign-honduran-international-defender-johnny-leveron/ On trial with Vancouver Whitecaps - if he gets a game there, he won't be their first Irish international player!!