View Full Version : Fans Magazine

luka
01/02/2008, 9:37 AM
Lads,

For the forthcoming season I intend to put together a monthly independent magazine. Basically just a good read of all the usual history, pics, humour, supporters views, stories etc etc. Like a Fanzine really. Hopefully this will be welcomed by the Club and supporters. Now the serious part............I'm looking for a name for it. Any ideas? Try to keep the half-witted smart-arsed comments out of it please.

01/02/2008, 10:02 AM
Titanic 131428 - Cobh Too

luka
01/02/2008, 10:26 AM
.............P W D L GF GA Pts GD
10. UCD 33 7 10 16 31 - 44 31 (-13)
11. Waterford 33 7 9 17 23 - 47 30 (-24)
12. Longford 33 9 8 16 34 - 49 29 (-15)

Right John!

01/02/2008, 10:49 AM
A stinging rebuke, I'm sure.

I was trying to pun on Cobh, but the best I could think of was the rather weak "Cobh too" for 'hove too', hence the Titanic reference. Anyway, not very good.

Anyway, a better idea might be something along the lines of "Rams Fans"

Super-rams
01/02/2008, 10:57 AM
How about calling it: CRFC Ole Ole Ole :D:p:D

6yardpunisha
01/02/2008, 10:59 AM
A stinging rebuke, I'm sure.

I was trying to pun on Cobh, but the best I could think of was the rather weak "Cobh too" for 'hove too', hence the Titanic reference. Anyway, not very good.

Anyway, a better idea might be something along the lines of "Rams Fans"

I thought it was a bit OTT, most fanzine titles are based on along the lines you suggested

luka
01/02/2008, 11:06 AM
Short & Curlies

6yardpunisha
01/02/2008, 11:08 AM
Short & Curlies

your getting very cryptic luka, 1st the supervalu comment, now this?:D

luka
01/02/2008, 11:12 AM
your getting very cryptic luka, 1st the supervalu comment, now this?:D

Was only thinking out loud. Short & Curlies would refer to Paddy Short and Bertie O'Donoghues perm. Two Ramblers legends

6yardpunisha
01/02/2008, 11:17 AM
Was only thinking out loud. Short & Curlies would refer to Paddy Short and Bertie O'Donoghues perm. Two Ramblers legends

as i said, very cryptic:D

don ramo
01/02/2008, 12:21 PM
how about the rambler, sound familiar sure there was one before, but a good name, or ramzine, or the rams scene

luka
01/02/2008, 12:32 PM
how about the rambler, sound familiar sure there was one before, but a good name, or ramzine, or the rams scene

You'd be right there DR. It was early 90's and called 'The Rambler.

What about some like 'Rams View' or 'Ramblers View'

01/02/2008, 12:49 PM
How about The North Bank in reference to our legendary fan spot behind the goal.
The Rambler is good.

don ramo
01/02/2008, 1:05 PM
ya but thats stupid, cause the goals are on the eastern side of the ground, always found that funny:D, but the north bank is good:ball::ball:

MojoPin
01/02/2008, 1:21 PM
How about The North Bank in reference to our legendary fan spot behind the goal.
The Rambler is good.

north bank behind the goals????????? since when?

01/02/2008, 1:22 PM
ya but thats stupid, cause the goals are on the eastern side of the ground, always found that funny:D, but the north bank is good:ball::ball:

This is my view too

01/02/2008, 1:23 PM
how about Stupid Cobh Garbage Face :)

luka
01/02/2008, 1:26 PM

How about you do one and try to find a manager for the A League next year.

don ramo
01/02/2008, 1:28 PM

how about, stupid first div ****,
now go and ask your american friend for some money, or an accountant,

MojoPin
01/02/2008, 1:48 PM
north bank was always on the north side of the ground and it still was last year.

01/02/2008, 2:00 PM
how about Uptight Brits? :)

luka
01/02/2008, 2:19 PM
Sorry, but am I missing something here?

01/02/2008, 2:30 PM
Sorry, but am I missing something here?

just a bit of playful mocking

luka
01/02/2008, 2:32 PM
just a bit of playful mocking

Whatever turns you on Jebus, but they look more like two insults to me old chap!

6yardpunisha
01/02/2008, 2:35 PM
how about Uptight Brits? :)

comin from "pikey's r us" thats a bit fresh

01/02/2008, 2:55 PM
Whatever turns you on Jebus, but they look more like two insults to me old chap!

Ones a Simpsons reference and the other is a lighthearted insult on your reaction to said reference. I could have said ye should name the fanzine 'Friends Of Someone Who Calls Himself Punisha' if I was really trying to offend

luka
01/02/2008, 3:00 PM
We're a cranky buch of f******* in here ya know.

4th-div-are-we
01/02/2008, 3:37 PM
The RamBlurbs!!

Rams-07
01/02/2008, 5:07 PM
How bout `THE LONG STAND` or `THE UNFINISHED STAND`...:D

ramsfan
01/02/2008, 5:38 PM
one flew over the ramblers bar

luka
02/02/2008, 10:45 AM
Anymore lads? What about something like 'Claret & Blue View'

ramsfan
02/02/2008, 12:53 PM
claret and blue army

ramsfan
02/02/2008, 12:54 PM
who needs mourinho......

MojoPin
02/02/2008, 12:57 PM
c & b view

claret and blue view?

hard one alright..

ramsfan
02/02/2008, 1:00 PM
claret and blue nuts :D:D:D

ramsfan
02/02/2008, 1:01 PM
when kelsall sings

ramsfan
02/02/2008, 1:02 PM
eddie foley is a legend

ramsfan
02/02/2008, 1:05 PM
are you listening 96fm

ramsfan
02/02/2008, 1:06 PM
goodyear - no a bloody great year

ramsfan
02/02/2008, 1:08 PM
the long stand

ramsfan
02/02/2008, 1:09 PM
georgies scarf:D:D

03/02/2008, 2:48 AM
'Top of the hill' with regard to where it is in the town.

I think it might be a good idea to call it something that all Cobh people will related to, not just Ramblers fans, in a shameless effort to try and encourage people to games.

If its funny and witty, with articles that would appeal to all Cobh people you might see it generate a bit more interest. It could be passed out in some pubs in the town as well and get a wider audience.

I'm thinking along the lines of pieces on something like St Colemans around the world, different churchs, schools etc. and make it witty etc. so it would appeal to people from Cobh, not just ramblers fans.

Was there a Plymouth fanzine years ago that had a sketch about a drunken sailor and all he got up to around the town and then went to games. It was all witty remarks etc. related to the town that everyone from there got and wasn't mainly about football.

Theres loads of stuff you could do lads, and its a great idea. If its funny then people will keep coming back for more.

Just a suggestion

4th-div-are-we
03/02/2008, 12:02 PM
'Top of the hill' with regard to where it is in the town.

I think it might be a good idea to call it something that all Cobh people will related to, not just Ramblers fans, in a shameless effort to try and encourage people to games.

If its funny and witty, with articles that would appeal to all Cobh people you might see it generate a bit more interest. It could be passed out in some pubs in the town as well and get a wider audience.

I'm thinking along the lines of pieces on something like St Colemans around the world, different churchs, schools etc. and make it witty etc. so it would appeal to people from Cobh, not just ramblers fans.

Was there a Plymouth fanzine years ago that had a sketch about a drunken sailor and all he got up to around the town and then went to games. It was all witty remarks etc. related to the town that everyone from there got and wasn't mainly about football.

Theres loads of stuff you could do lads, and its a great idea. If its funny then people will keep coming back for more.

Just a suggestion

sounds good....you must of put alot of taught into that!!

"The inside scoop"

luka
05/02/2008, 4:35 PM
Anyone any more serious suggestions before I start planning?

05/02/2008, 4:38 PM
Any names taken ur fancy luka?

Anyway: "Rams Corner"
"Oh when the Rams."
"Barmy Army"

luka
05/02/2008, 4:43 PM
Top Of The Hill
The Rambler
Claret & Blue View

A couple of witty ones included but wouldn't really be right for it

05/02/2008, 4:45 PM
Claret and Blue view stands out.
Marco said the programme is gonna be called The Rambler again.

luka
05/02/2008, 4:47 PM
Well if that's the case then it's either Claret & Blue View or Top O The Hill

luka
05/02/2008, 4:49 PM
or maybe 'A Rambling View' or 'The Rambling View'

MojoPin
05/02/2008, 5:11 PM
a rambling view is very witty and catchy