View Full Version : Better quality '08 season?
cornerflag
30/01/2008, 10:55 PM
So with the return of some of the exports to the league this season (e.g. Jayo and Georgie) and the addition of some more players from across the water, do you think that the leagues standard and quality will have improved much on the field or have most of the players passed their peak?
Please submit your opinion
Pablo Escobar
30/01/2008, 11:02 PM
The quality will definitely improve. It came down last year, but should go back up. Obviously the big signings were made by the big clubs. But a player to watch this season (if they keep him) is Cobh Ramblers' Davin O'Neill. Class act whenever I've seen him. Very young too afaik.
30/01/2008, 11:06 PM
I think a recovery is there and with the better outlook in terms of finances this year we could perhaps even see a sharper rise in June.
Billy Lord
30/01/2008, 11:40 PM
If the best players in the EL are so good that they get transferred to Britain for peanuts and subsequently prove themselves to be so unsuccessful there that they come back to the EL, that's obviously an indication that, eh, the EL has improved.
Give them more money. That's the obvious solution.
30/01/2008, 11:48 PM
If the best players in the EL are so good that they get transferred to Britain for peanuts and subsequently prove themselves to be so unsuccessful there that they come back to the EL, that's obviously an indication that, eh, the EL has improved.
Some players have succeeded after going abroad, others have not. That will happen in any league. The important point is keeping quality players who personify the progress the league is making - the Joe Gambles, the Dave Mooneys, the Colin Healys. Players of a calibre who in the past would have jumped at any chance to go to any club abroad who now have set higher standards for themselves by rejecting small/mediocre clubs abroad for, admittedly in broader terms, small/mediocre clubs here whilst they presumably harbour hopes of joining a better class.
While that goes on, the gap grows ever smaller and, as any fan will agree, the hope is that one day the Irish squad is made up of one or two premiership stars, a few championship players and a bulk of home based talent, rather than the current one or two premiership players, a lot of championship players and even the odd lower league player coming in ahead of our home talent.
finnpark
31/01/2008, 12:08 AM
So with the return of some of the exports to the league this season (e.g. Jayo and Georgie) and the addition of some more players from across the water, do you think that the leagues standard and quality will have improved much on the field or have most of the players passed their peak?
Please submit your opinion
I think that the clubs hoping for honours are considerably stronger. They have a lot of money from investments/stadium sale etc but instead of investing it in a professional youth structure like Rosenborg did they are buying expensive players and increasing the average wages of the team. I can see a huge gap between 5 teams and the rest of the league:
Cork are extremely strong, i think that they are still short 2 defenders and a keeper but are much stronger than last season even without Roy.
St Pats have a bad manager and have made more "quanity" signings rather than "quality". In saying that they have a very strong midfield, keeper and attack and with the 3 defenders they have signed they won't be far away. I worry about their lack of invetsment in bringing young players through at that club!
Drogs - Unlike Pats Drogs have made quality signings rather than quanity. In saying that they have not added anything to the squad, just consolidation. They won't win it this year, the other teams have caught up to their standards.
Derry - In kenny they have a good manager. Will struggle to get into Europe but still he is building for the future. Their defense does not see mthe best and I don't rate Conor Sammon at all.
Bohs - Definitely favourites to become league champions. They have signed a class act in Cillian Brennan. Oman is ok and Jason Byrne will stand in the box for rebounds. Will definitely be in the top 2 this year. Expect the defense to leak goals with Fenlon in charge. Shels' defence was a farse at times.
The other teams have gone back apart from the promoted sides. UCD give their players away for free, must have heard nothing about contracts and Bray have a good team but lost some players too. Galway have 3 good players but are professional and Sligo lost their best player.
Shamrock Rovers are closest to the top 5 but I think they will struggle this season with 2nd season syndrome.
As you can see the top 5 have got significantly stronger. All the other teams are in a relegation battle.
Bohs - Definitely favourites to become league champions. They have signed a class act in Cillian Brennan. Oman is ok and Jason Byrne will stand in the box for rebounds.
:rolleyes: Killian Brennan is a big girls blouse who pulls out of tackles and spends more time fixing his hair than watching where the ball is. Oman is the class act.
St Pats have a bad manager and have made more "quanity" signings rather than "quality". In saying that they have a very strong midfield, keeper and attack and with the 3 defenders they have signed they won't be far away. I worry about their lack of invetsment in bringing young players through at that club!
Pats have signed 2 defenders with international caps (partridge & o'cearuill) and also 3 players who have seen it all and done it all in the league (lynch byrne ryan)
5 players in and 8 players(dead wood bar billy bibson) out
Still need another striker imo and if they get it the squad will be better than last season.
There are 3 players in the squad who have come thru the pats youth system and all have underage caps....And another 6 players off the youth team played for the u21s last season and are in line for the A team this year so dont know why you are worrying about our youth team
Olander
31/01/2008, 10:54 AM
The other teams have gone back apart from the promoted sides.Your summary seemed crappy enuff but I found this bit laughable, we retained all our best players and released the lads we didn't want and signed a few good players.... if you call signing some rubbish unknown IL player and Derry's fifth choice striker going forward then you must have been well behind....
On the same note in what way have Cobh gone forward? I don't seen any investment down their yet.
31/01/2008, 11:12 AM
There are 3 players in the squad who have come thru the pats youth system and all have underage caps....And another 6 players off the youth team played for the u21s last season and are in line for the A team this year so dont know why you are worrying about our youth team
Who are all these players, do any of them have names?
Danny
31/01/2008, 11:15 AM
Brendan Clarke - GK
Derek Foran - CH
Noel Haverty - CM
are all in the first team squad for this season.
31/01/2008, 12:07 PM
Pats have signed 2 defenders with international caps (partridge & o'cearuill) and also 3 players who have seen it all and done it all in the league (lynch byrne ryan)
5 players in and 8 players(dead wood bar billy bibson) out
Still need another striker imo and if they get it the squad will be better than last season.
Well said Danny. Finnpark was talking horse manure in relation to Pats. Also, McDonnell a bad manager ? On what evidence ? Kept the team afloat when he had no money to spend, and has improved steadily since he's been given a few quid. I wouldn't say he's performed miracles, and I know some Pats fans don't rate him, but I think he's done a decent job.
Danny
31/01/2008, 12:42 PM
McDonnell being a bad manager was the only bit of finn harps post i agreed with
WoodquayBoy
31/01/2008, 12:56 PM
I loved watching Corkm last season, by far the best footballing side, and with some of the signings they have made, I think they look really tasty for a right good stab at the league title this year. Bohs and Pats have both improved, Drogheda look as strong as last season as well, so the omens appear to be good for a better season than last
finnpark
31/01/2008, 1:09 PM
Brendan Clarke - GK
Derek Foran - CH
Noel Haverty - CM
are all in the first team squad for this season.
Sorry I didn't know that these were regulars for the first. I have to say that Ive never heard of any of them
finnpark
31/01/2008, 1:11 PM
Your summary seemed crappy enuff but I found this bit laughable, we retained all our best players and released the lads we didn't want and signed a few good players.... if you call signing some rubbish unknown IL player and Derry's fifth choice striker going forward then you must have been well behind....
On the same note in what way have Cobh gone forward? I don't seen any investment down their yet.
I never said that our signings were great but we are going forward with signing more professional players. We probably will still be relegated and we are nowhwere near the top sides. For Galway, you won't be far away from relegation. Only time will tell.
finnpark
31/01/2008, 1:15 PM
I have said this in my post, can you not read :rolleyes: BTW Partridge is a head the ball. Hes not long out of prison in England. He won't last long. Byrne is a Bohs reject and Lynch is a Drogs reject. Ryan is simply a reject.
Are these regulars in the first 11 then?
Olander
31/01/2008, 1:20 PM
short memories : http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=862145&postcount=4
that summary was total "horse manure" as TonyD put it :) and thats being kind.
finnpark
31/01/2008, 1:20 PM
:rolleyes: Killian Brennan is a big girls blouse who pulls out of tackles and spends more time fixing his hair than watching where the ball is. Oman is the class act.
Well you should know but Im going on what Ive seen. Ive seen Oman 3 times last in different games and on TV in around 5 games. Hes good on the ball but his positioning at times is laughable. Did you see in the game away to that Armenian pub team?
Brennan is an Irish U-23 international who is very skillful. Thats my opinion.
I have said this in my post, can you not read :rolleyes: BTW Partridge is a head the ball. Hes not long out of prison in England. He won't last long. Byrne is a Bohs reject and Lynch is a Drogs reject. Ryan is simply a reject.
Are these regulars in the first 11 then?
I can read fine thanks for asking....
I was just pointing out that we've signed some international "quality" players
Dont ya just love these little first division upstarts who come up and seem to know everything about the league.... roll on mid august when you'll be facin relegation head on and hiding away from here....
Do ya know much about partridge or did ya just google the first article about him and make up your mind ? dont belive inrehabilitation ? or a 2nd chance for someone ?
Dessie was offered a new contract by bohs and only left cos of a row with SC. hardly a reject... dont remember too many eL teams rejecting Bobby Ryan either... lynch i'll give ya tho...
As for the younger players, no one said they were first team regulars, you said you were worried that there was a lack of investment in bring youth players thru, i just pointed out that you are talking thru your hoop
All 3 of those players played in the premier league last season or on loan in the 1st div and this season they will be part of the first team squad
Well you should know but Im going on what Ive seen. Ive seen Oman 3 times last in different games and on TV in around 5 games. Hes good on the ball but his positioning at times is laughable. Did you see in the game away to that Armenian pub team?
Brennan is an Irish U-23 international who is very skillful. Thats my opinion.
You're right, i should know! :p
Brennan had a few good seasons when SK was in charge - i reckon SK managed to keep him focused and got the best out of him but last season he was awful! His crosses never beat the first man and he constantly pulled out of 50/50 challenges.
Oman on the other hand won numerous player of the month awards and player of the season too. He was our most consistent performer an will be a big loss this season.
AustinoAsprilla
31/01/2008, 2:49 PM
I think improvements have been made with the return to management of Kenny and Fenlon and also with Matthews managing a bigger club. Just Dolan and Rico needed to come back as well!
" Lynch is a Drogs reject " Damien lynch is far from a reject .He was super player for us and will do a great job for pats .reliable player and a good penalty taker .Was sad to see him go tbh .
finnpark
31/01/2008, 3:43 PM
Do ya know much about partridge or did ya just google the first article about him and make up your mind ? dont belive inrehabilitation ? or a 2nd chance for someone ?
I can just see the transfer rumours thread and official eircom league transfers thread in a few months.....
"Partridge linked with a move to Mountjoy". :D
"Gilligan's scouts monitoring Pats stars Partridge and Byrne"
:p
hedderman
31/01/2008, 8:13 PM
" Lynch is a Drogs reject " Damien lynch is far from a reject .He was super player for us and will do a great job for pats .reliable player and a good penalty taker .Was sad to see him go tbh .
What's Stephen Gray like?
I've have't seen much of him.
31/01/2008, 8:19 PM
UCD give their players away for free, must have heard nothing about contracts
Think you'll find we lost eight players this year - two loans ended, one retirement, two free transfers and E50k or so in the kitty from the other three. How many other clubs have made that much in the pre-season?
ndrog
01/02/2008, 11:40 AM
Stephen Grey is great player .He was one off our longest serving players and i was sad to see him go .His family were regulars at utd park and lots of away games also .Good people. I think he will do well for you .
Sonic
01/02/2008, 12:02 PM
Drogheda United-Champions
Completely disagree with finnpark when he says Drogs have consolidated their position with the signings they have made. Quite the contrary they have strengthened the team no end. Kendrick is a good signing and any time i have seen Adam Hughes he has impressed me. im not sure if they have signed Kudosovic or not maybe im confussed with somebody else. In any case they have Declan O Brien to come back into the team and there has always been goals in him. But in my opinion by far their biggest acquistuion in Sean Prunty. In five seasons with us he has never failed to impress me both on and off the field. He is versatile aswell equally adept int he centre of defence as well as left back as we found out last season and on the wing. In midfield Paul Keegan cant even get on the team enuf said!! I think they will miss dan connor mind you but I thinkt hey will be champions again to be honest.
Pats-2nd
Just to be pipped by Drogs but have signed well.
Cork-3rd
Cork have signed well. Mooney will score them goals their midfield is class by far and away the best in the league and has been further enhanced with Mulcahy signing on but Im still not convinced about Matthews. Their defence will be well organised that is for sure and I fancy them for a cup!!
Bohemians-4th
obviously Jason Byrne is a great signing and I would tip him to be up there in the goal scoring charts but I dont think apart from him they have really enhanced the squad. Their defence is weak and if they dont start getting quick results you can see the fans yet again turning on the manager!
Derry 5th
Despite Kennys return I expect them to finish 5th.
As for the rest any three of Sligo Galway Finn Harps Cobh Bray and Ucd are in a right dogfight for survival. Im tipping Finn Harps UCD and Galway to go!!
ndrog
01/02/2008, 12:54 PM
Hey Sonic try and keep that quiet man ! Let the corkies get all excited about boy george coming back to win them the leauge :D
Boh_So_Good
01/02/2008, 12:58 PM
If Liam Brady, Paul McGrath, Kevin Moran, Stapleton, Quinn etc went to the UK now, they would not have the same profile and stardom they enjoyed back in their day. The Irish player is just another regional player in the UK now as the choice of players open to English clubs these days is global and not just the "Home Nations". Could you honestly see Niall Quinn playing for a Premiership club in 2008 if he went over there now with the same standard of ability he had back then? He would be in the same position as ones returning now. Worse even.
The Irish player is lost in the crowd across the water these days. Unless they are an exceptional talent they won't get a look in with the big British clubs. In the days before the fall of the Iron Curtain, the rise of African football and the visa issue for South American players was resolved, not to mention the major money in the Premiership I am sure the "returnees" would of been major players in the Premiership. But them days are over now. Liam Brady, Paul McGrath, Kevin Moran, Stapleton, Quinn etc were just VERY lucky to be Irish when they only had English, Welsh and Scots players to contend against for British stardom.
Yes, I think the players coming back to the league will improve the overall game here next seasons.
Maroon 7
01/02/2008, 1:49 PM
Certainly at the top Drogs, Cork, Bohs and Pat's all look like teams that could put in a title challenge so it should be a genuine race this season with a couple of sides involved. Hard to see one team running away with it.
Any of Sligo, Galway, Finn Harps, Cobh, Bray or UCD could go down. Think Galway and Sligo will be alright. Galway stayed up last season despite terrible home form. Can't see their home form being as bad again this season and their squad looks stronger. UCD look like they could get caught out this year with two from Harps, Cobh and Bray to join them.
Guess that leaves Derry and Rovers languishing in mid-table.
01/02/2008, 3:59 PM
Completely disagree with finnpark when he says Drogs have consolidated their position with the signings they have made. Quite the contrary they have strengthened the team no end.
Eh?!
Dalymountrower
02/02/2008, 8:32 AM
[QUOTE=Sonic;867954]Drogheda United-Champions
!!
Bohemians-4th
obviously Jason Byrne is a great signing and I would tip him to be up there in the goal scoring charts but I dont think apart from him they have really enhanced the squad. Their defence is weak and if they dont start getting quick results you can see the fans yet again turning on the manager!
QUOTE]
Best defence in the league last season and we`ve added one of the best centre halves in the league. Whats your evidence that the defence is weak? Goals against is the barometer, have you invented a new benchmark for assessing the weakness of defences? Are you Dessie Byrne in disguise?
The fact that ye had 9 players behind the ball at all times helped.
Not a tactic Fenlon will employ and will show any cracks in ye're defense
Sonic
02/02/2008, 10:53 AM
[QUOTE=Dalymountrower;868473]
The fact that ye had 9 players behind the ball at all times helped.
Not a tactic Fenlon will employ and will show any cracks in ye're defense
Precisely the point I was about to make but let the man believe what he wants. By the way I wouldnt say Ken Oman is one of the best defenders in the league either!!
harry crumb
02/02/2008, 11:29 AM
[QUOTE=micls;868478]
Precisely the point I was about to make but let the man believe what he wants. By the way I wouldnt say Ken Oman is one of the best defenders in the league either!!
He had an amazing year in 2007.
Dan Murray is probably the best.
finnpark
02/02/2008, 6:56 PM
Think you'll find we lost eight players this year - two loans ended, one retirement, two free transfers and E50k or so in the kitty from the other three. How many other clubs have made that much in the pre-season?
You wont replace the players you lost with 50K. 50K will buy a good car but thats about it. McFaul was a very good player from what ive seen. If he was at Cork or Bohs they wouldn't let him go for less tha €250,000 and would probably have him well tied down. Im not saying that Harps are experts because we are not but if you think 50K is a lot of money for 3 decent players then you are not in the real world. In fairness I do except you to struggle as much as us this season. :o
finnpark
02/02/2008, 7:03 PM
Certainly at the top Drogs, Cork, Bohs and Pat's all look like teams that could put in a title challenge so it should be a genuine race this season with a couple of sides involved. Hard to see one team running away with it.
Any of Sligo, Galway, Finn Harps, Cobh, Bray or UCD could go down. Think Galway and Sligo will be alright. Galway stayed up last season despite terrible home form. Can't see their home form being as bad again this season and their squad looks stronger. UCD look like they could get caught out this year with two from Harps, Cobh and Bray to join them.
Guess that leaves Derry and Rovers languishing in mid-table.
I think that this is the most intelligent post on the thread apart from my own ;)
Bohs/Pats/Cork have all improved dramatically I think so I don't expect Drogs to win it. I just cannot understand why Cork replaced Richardson with Mattews, its baffling!:confused:
02/02/2008, 7:07 PM
You wont replace the players you lost with 50K.
None of that money will be spent on transfer fees.
McFaul was a very good player from what ive seen. If he was at Cork or Bohs they wouldn't let him go for less tha €250,000 and would probably have him well tied down.
McFaul was out of contract so there was nothing we could do about a transfer fee. Agree with your point about having players tied down though.
02/02/2008, 7:18 PM
You wont replace the players you lost with 50K. 50K will buy a good car but thats about it.
Those players cost us nothing to sign and players of their quality have cost us nothing to sign before. We'll always be scouring for undiscovered gems or returning prospects who haven't made it yet. I'm not saying we'll replace them easily but it's conceivable we'll get some more good youngsters in for nothing.
McFaul was a very good player from what ive seen. If he was at Cork or Bohs they wouldn't let him go for less tha €250,000 and would probably have him well tied down. Im not saying that Harps are experts because we are not but if you think 50K is a lot of money for 3 decent players then you are not in the real world. In fairness I do except you to struggle as much as us this season. :o
Are quality young players realistically going to come to UCD if we try to tie them down to us in the long term from the off? Also, as a small club we can't commit to long term contracts. We can't afford to be stuck with players who don't live up to their potential.
02/02/2008, 11:26 PM
You wont replace the players you lost with 50K.
What's that got to do with anything? We bought the playrs we lost for free; we can do it again, as we've shown over and over.
E50k for three players to other clubs in the eL is good business in one summer, money-wise. As I said, show me a club who's done better.
finnpark
03/02/2008, 10:43 AM
What's that got to do with anything? We bought the playrs we lost for free; we can do it again, as we've shown over and over.
E50k for three players to other clubs in the eL is good business in one summer, money-wise. As I said, show me a club who's done better.
Cork City got a few hundred thousand for a 24 year old centre back. They got him for free but they didnt let him go for next to nothing.
04/02/2008, 12:45 AM
Who?
04/02/2008, 1:14 AM
Bennett, think he was 25.
04/02/2008, 9:14 AM
Bennett, think he was 25.
He was sold to another eL side?
04/02/2008, 9:51 AM
Now now, ease up on the sarcasm, just point ing out who he's on about.
mr.untitled
04/02/2008, 11:43 AM
Harry McCue signed Gray the season we got promoted (i think) I think the first time i saw him play he was at left back against rovers in richmond. I remember being very impressed, thinking, this player is real quality, we hadnt seen much of that round utd park for a while, thank god we do now. He moved to centre back and season after season never put a foot wrong. Has a tendancy to not look up before he clears but not worth mentioning. Had a massive part to play in our meteoric rise and wont be forgotten round these parts
in short...hes great
The Rebel Ram
04/02/2008, 12:41 PM
Lads
None of ye are taking into account that I am going to win the €130,000,000 on Friday nights euro millions and will invest it all wisely in Ramblers.
With a side bet on Ramblers wining the league at 200/1 I'll have my money back in no time!:D
Ramblers to win
City to be relegated!
04/02/2008, 1:50 PM
Now now, ease up on the sarcasm, just point ing out who he's on about.
No, no, I'm serious. Pineapple Stu's point was that 50grand for 3 players sold within the eL was good business for UCD. Finnpark mentioned some Cork player, who you identified as Bennett. I was really wondering if he was sold within the eL.
04/02/2008, 1:53 PM
Oh.
Right.
Reading FC then.:ball: