View Full Version : Welcome

25/01/2008, 6:48 PM
It hasn't been confirmed yet, but I guess it's pretty unlikely ye'll turn down the offer (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2781). :)

Welcome to Foot.ie.

25/01/2008, 7:12 PM
Hello?

25/01/2008, 7:17 PM
I don't think they have any fans.

25/01/2008, 7:48 PM
Course they don't, they're a new club. I'm sure they will though.

25/01/2008, 8:07 PM
I'm sure they will though.I wouldn't be so sure Adam;)

Keen2win
25/01/2008, 9:32 PM
They're playing us first.

oldyouth
25/01/2008, 9:40 PM
Any Sporting Fingal fans out there??

25/01/2008, 9:43 PM
Tumbleweed:D

25/01/2008, 10:12 PM
Hi Sporting Fingal. I will always view you as the upstarts who replaced lovely, luckless Kilkenny. I may never forgive you for this. :)

25/01/2008, 10:27 PM
Sporting Fingal...........a Kilkenny City tribute band.:D

kevincronin2000
25/01/2008, 11:41 PM
have they any website?

26/01/2008, 4:26 AM
Welcome to the first division.

Is there a crest to be used as an avatar?

Sniffer
26/01/2008, 9:49 AM
I think I will align myself to SF, the people's choice. I am your No.1 fan.

26/01/2008, 9:58 AM
have they any website?
Not yet, as far as I can see.

26/01/2008, 10:21 AM
I think I will align myself to SF, the people's choice. I am your No.1 fan.

As in their first, their biggest, or their only?

Sniffer
26/01/2008, 10:27 AM
As in their first, their biggest, or their only?

As in all of the above I think:)

26/01/2008, 12:01 PM
Welcome, Sporting Franchise

26/01/2008, 12:13 PM
Not yet, as far as I can see.

How can you see something that isn't there?

26/01/2008, 12:23 PM
I can see your lack of ability to come up with a witty riposte... Does that count?

26/01/2008, 12:32 PM
I can see your lack of ability to come up with a witty riposte... Does that count?

Nope, cause that's obvious to all concerned

26/01/2008, 12:42 PM
Fair enough.

I count google as my internet eyes. If it doesn't see it, I don't believe it exists.

spcorp
26/01/2008, 1:49 PM
Any Sporting Fingal fans out there??

I'd like to be the first offical fan of sporting fingal! might aswell because my home town team (athlone town) wouldn't get a kick in a stampede!! and probably won't be able to get a kick in the league because they owe something like a hundred grand including players wages and they can't sign any players until they can pay it, which is unlikely.

So hello i'm spcorp and i'm a sporting fingal fan....

26/01/2008, 2:06 PM
Sporting Franchise is the clear winner in the wit stakes so far. Everything else pales in comparison.

26/01/2008, 6:11 PM
If you work for Fingal Co. Council do you have to support the franchise?

26/01/2008, 9:51 PM
I'd like to be the first offical fan of sporting fingal! might aswell because my home town team (athlone town) wouldn't get a kick in a stampede!! and probably won't be able to get a kick in the league because they owe something like a hundred grand including players wages and they can't sign any players until they can pay it, which is unlikely.

Just beaten to it by Sniffa - you will now, in our eyes, always be Sporting Fingal's number two.

That makes two if yis, and seeing as SF replaced Kilkenny in the league, so by my reckoning the pair of you fill their old fan quota of two on here. Sorry to any other would be Fingalistas.

Woody
26/01/2008, 10:12 PM
Scabs!

26/01/2008, 10:16 PM
Continuityhomefarmwillneverdiefc Hope we get adecent allocation for the away end in March. :D

Greenforever
27/01/2008, 12:30 AM
A replacement for Dublin City??? The election of Sporting Fingal to the league is a disgrace and an insult to all established clubs who may have considered applying for membership. Also if Fingal County Council want to provide sporting facilities for an Eircom League Club thats grand, build a stadium and lease it out to an existing club, but don't get involved in seting up a club or backing a new club with no players, fans etc.

gufcfan
27/01/2008, 6:43 PM
Fair enough.

I count google as my internet eyes. If it doesn't see it, I don't believe it exists.

haha, ditto!

L37Ultra
28/01/2008, 1:16 AM

:eek: They have more fans than Kilkenny already!! I like these guys :p

inexile
28/01/2008, 1:36 PM
they will be my second team i think, but ill make more of their games that i do of limericks.

28/01/2008, 4:27 PM
Will Sporting be playing at Morton Stadium?

28/01/2008, 4:31 PM
Will Sporting be playing at Morton Stadium?Yes..

28/01/2008, 4:33 PM
Yes..

A ground possibly worde than the Jacks

Well, I never thought I'd see the day :)

roversman
28/01/2008, 8:12 PM
should have given the place to a mayo team

LeviathanNI
28/01/2008, 8:20 PM
I'll make this team my Republic of Ireland team, to go with my English team, Folkestone Invicta :-)

boovidge
29/01/2008, 11:30 PM
my mum lived in Portmarnock, County Fingal so i guess i'm obliged to make Sporting Fingal my irish side then! ;) Might be able to catch a few games when im over in the summer too.
I can't wait to lead them to European glory in Football Manager :D

rovers77
30/01/2008, 12:23 AM
How were Sporting Fingal chosen?

Bondvillain
30/01/2008, 1:01 AM

Three man committee led by Don Givens.

They were interviewed in 2001.

30/01/2008, 10:26 AM
Three man committee led by Don Givens.

They were interviewed in 2001.

FOMCL!

RogerMilla
30/01/2008, 11:45 AM

they beat mervue in a behind closed doors playoff

30/01/2008, 11:59 AM
How were Sporting Fingal chosen?They lost a playoff to Dundalk.

Larry 'da' Wyse
01/02/2008, 11:56 AM
If you work for Fingal Co. Council do you have to support the franchise?

Yes. Not only that but if you live in Fingal you will also be required to mosey along to Morton Sdadium at least twice a year. I wonder if the new bin charges of €110 pa include a season ticket?

Does anyone know how much Fingal Co Co are putting into the team? I read they are developing pitches etc in Donabate to the tune of €10m but I wonder how much if any is going towards the EL team?

The Lilywhites
03/02/2008, 8:51 AM
They lost a playoff to Dundalk.

No they didn't, the prize for such a defeat is Premier Division football.

TheFingallian
05/02/2008, 7:52 PM
Thanks for the welcome. I'm looking forward to my first season to support the Eircom League properly. It was after the influence of a Bohs fan that i got into the league. Originally i had agreed to become a Bohs fan until i heard of Sporting Fingal and decided to go with them as i live in Swords and wanted the task of supporting a team trying to make their way up through the leagues. Getting out of the A Championship was easy enough anyway hey?!

My choosing of this team means one of two things. The team can be a success and attract fans, or another Dublin club in the league is cutting into potential growth in previously existing teams' followers.

Here's looking forward to the new season! :ball: :ball: :ball:

TheFingallian
05/02/2008, 8:26 PM
After the great welcome, I welcome you to check out this small wikipedia article all about Fingal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fingal

We spoke our own language until the mid 1800's when it became extinct. It was a mixture of old English and Old Norse with Gaelic influences. Fingal was originally named by the Vikings and was populated by a mix of Norsemen and Irish at the time.

There is an identity out there to be tapped and awakened. It isn't 250,000 as many of that number are migrants and new arrivals, but it's still pretty big.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sporting_fingal

You gotta love our history section!

05/02/2008, 11:32 PM
You shall be called "Sheridan 2".

06/02/2008, 12:11 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sporting_fingal

You gotta love our history section!

I was more interested in the squad - ye'll be playing an adventurous 3-4-2 I see.

Have ye played any friendlies yet?

TheFingallian
06/02/2008, 9:19 PM
I was more interested in the squad - ye'll be playing an adventurous 3-4-2 I see.

Have ye played any friendlies yet?

None. That i know of...

It's hard to hear anything about them. Hopefully this big launch their suppposed to be having Monday night in Corduff will reveal the final squad and a website!

They have begun training though.

07/02/2008, 12:21 AM
UCD in the Amateur League Complex on Sunday 17th at 2pm.