View Full Version : Ireland v Brazil Pre-match thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3

24/01/2008, 9:58 PM
i reckon clinton at the mo has far more credentials for starting place at this moment in time

24/01/2008, 11:28 PM
and no jamie o hara in this or u21 squad, has he been called up for england?
According to the BBC, he's inelgible for the North. So I would assume he's definitely ineligible for us.
From http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/7208162.stm
O'Hara could have qualified to play for Northern Ireland but because he is aged over 21, he is now ineligible as he has represented England Under-17s

Wangball
25/01/2008, 12:17 AM
Is O'Hara any better than the midfielders available to us rignt now anyhow??

I don't reckon so.....would rather see JJ O'Toole, McCann or Garvan given a crack ahead of him in any case

dr_peepee
25/01/2008, 2:07 AM
In fairness it's not Givens job to do this, it is just temporary, it was only probably in the last week confirmed to him that he was picking this squad. He was hardly going to go around scouting or anything. And it's not as if he left out someone who would be starting (YES all you Morrison fans)

Ah man!! I'm sorry (and drunk) but i have to disagree with you there.. Scouting?? The man has been an excellent servant to ireland. No scouting involved. Any banana that looks beyond the back page of any paper would note his form.

Givens role?.. Think about it... It's Brazil..It's essentially a meaningless friendly..But How many players get to play against Brazil.. .. So what's the next best level?.. Build a feel good factor.. NOt just for fans.. but the squad.. How can we turn this to our advantage.. Exclude a COMMITED servant that's one of THE in form players available to us?.. Include Daryl Murhpy (Admittedly on SOME form but) playing at left wing (more or less) and competing with Hunt & Duff... It's sh!te.. It's about being inclusive.. Letting everyone know they're involved in some cappacity, wether or not their in the squad.. I'm sick of the rubbish over the last few years where people like Dunne, S Reid, even Harte were excluded under Kerr and Stan without so much as a text as to why.. It's b0llix.. This authoritarian attitude.. It's about accountability.. Account for good form, account for bad forn, account for omission with communication... Sick of the hole lot I am..

livehead1
25/01/2008, 2:12 AM
Keane and Morrison should be upfront but instead the latter hasn't even made the squad. don't need to say too much about it as we have a new man coming in (hopefully) but maybe it onlines Given's ignorance!!!!

25/01/2008, 7:54 AM
I think we can build a good U21 side by playing our best players there until they're ready. Picking weakened sides and getting whipped is what'll demoralise them.

Playing the young lads when they're not ready and in Keogh's case out of position, is a dangerous game, one that was played by Staunton.

I do indeed hope a new manager will show more imagination with the squad but I hope he will look at in form seasoned players rather than taking outright punts on kids. If the kids show signs that they're ready then maybe. Stoke, Long and Garvan probably stand out. The delay in appointing the new man has cost us the chance of doing this in this one game but if they go for the right guy the cost won't be too great in due course.

I too dislike Miller and would have maybe gone for Garvan in his place.

He should have picked a 23 man squad, added Morrisson and Walters.

It's an "auto pilot" squad selection.

25/01/2008, 8:36 AM
A squad of 25 then Stutts. Goalkeepers are men too:)
Given that you can make 5 subs in a friendly he could have added at least 2 more.

Ireland4ever
25/01/2008, 8:43 AM
Ah man!! I'm sorry (and drunk) but i have to disagree with you there.. Scouting?? The man has been an excellent servant to ireland. No scouting involved. Any banana that looks beyond the back page of any paper would note his form.

Givens role?.. Think about it... It's Brazil..It's essentially a meaningless friendly..But How many players get to play against Brazil.. .. So what's the next best level?.. Build a feel good factor.. NOt just for fans.. but the squad.. How can we turn this to our advantage.. Exclude a COMMITED servant that's one of THE in form players available to us?.. Include Daryl Murhpy (Admittedly on SOME form but) playing at left wing (more or less) and competing with Hunt & Duff... It's sh!te.. It's about being inclusive.. Letting everyone know they're involved in some cappacity, wether or not their in the squad.. I'm sick of the rubbish over the last few years where people like Dunne, S Reid, even Harte were excluded under Kerr and Stan without so much as a text as to why.. It's b0llix.. This authoritarian attitude.. It's about accountability.. Account for good form, account for bad forn, account for omission with communication... Sick of the hole lot I am..

The phrase 'Tired and Emotional' springs to mind!! ;)

dr_peepee
25/01/2008, 8:54 AM
The phrase 'Tired and Emotional' springs to mind!! ;)

Just a little bit... :o:o

25/01/2008, 9:07 AM

It's only a 21 man squad atm. 20 when Reid pulls out.

25/01/2008, 9:07 AM
Given that you can make 5 subs in a friendly he could have added at least 2 more.I thought it was a 21 man squad he named.

25/01/2008, 8:29 PM
You're spot on (as usual)
I suppose if it was the new manager then he would have called up the full quota plus a few more.

Diarmo
25/01/2008, 9:10 PM
Would have hoped to have seen Walters or Tabb in to see how they'd do on the right side of midfield.
I wonder who'll be called up when Andy Reid drops out. Knowing Givens, we'll probably be talking someone like Gibson or Potter, it's unlikely he'd take a risk on Garvan, McCann or anyone like that.
By the way, is Shane Long still eligible for the u21s? If so, I would've put him in that squad and called up Morrisson (and maybe Lee) instead...

jmurphyc
25/01/2008, 10:01 PM
By the way, is Shane Long still eligible for the u21s?

Yes. He just turned 21 so he's eligible for another season.

Diarmo
26/01/2008, 1:31 AM
I see. Well then, it would have made sense having him in the u21 squad considering his club form as of late. However, come to thinnk of it, I've can't seem to remember much of Long playing at u21 level though.... has he a good record?

27/01/2008, 3:52 PM
Would it wise to consider Stephen Hunt for the middle of the park? He's played there a few times for Reading this season. It would give us an opportunity to see how Murphy would fair out on the left with Duff on the right>
I wouldn't mind seeing this team:

Given
Kelly
Andy OBrien
Dunne
Kilbane
Murphy
Reid (S)
Hunt
Duff
Keane
Doyle

And if Joey O'Brien was to consistently get Premiership time in central midfield, I wouldn't mind seeing him there in a friendly either. Based on the squad picked obviously.

eagleforlife
27/01/2008, 3:56 PM
I see. Well then, it would have made sense having him in the u21 squad considering his club form as of late. However, come to thinnk of it, I've can't seem to remember much of Long playing at u21 level though.... has he a good record?

He's never played at U-21 level before.

30/01/2008, 10:23 AM
Article on Charlton's website about Andy Reid's call up to the squad: http://www.cafc.co.uk/newsview.ink?nid=31872
Doesn't say anything about him dropping out, but he didn't play against Stoke, and is still a doubt for Stockport this weekend.

DeNiro
30/01/2008, 10:25 AM
Would it wise to consider Stephen Hunt for the middle of the park? He's played there a few times for Reading this season. It would give us an opportunity to see how Murphy would fair out on the left with Duff on the right>
I wouldn't mind seeing this team:

Given
Kelly
Andy OBrien
Dunne
Kilbane
Murphy
Reid (S)
Hunt
Duff
Keane
Doyle

And if Joey O'Brien was to consistently get Premiership time in central midfield, I wouldn't mind seeing him there in a friendly either. Based on the squad picked obviously.

That's a midfield of three left footers! If Andy Reid was there it would be interesting. Play going all one way!

30/01/2008, 10:26 AM
That's a midfield of three left footers! Shouldn't that be in the "Spotlight" thread?

I'll get my coat...

30/01/2008, 5:17 PM
That's a midfield of three left footers! If Andy Reid was there it would be interesting. Play going all one way!
Off the top of my head Chelsea would have an entire midfield of right footers.

01/02/2008, 11:04 AM
Andy Reid and Joey O’Brien have withdrawn from the Ireland squad for next week’s international against Brazil at Croke Park
Reid, who moved yesterday to Sunderland, has a knee injury while O’Brien is ruled out after picking up a hamstring injury in Bolton Wanderers’ recent game against Fulham.

Caretaker manager Don Givens has drafted in Wolverhampton Wanderers duo Kevin Foley and Darren Potter as replacements.

A small number of tickets in different categories for next Wednesday’s game and the May 24 fixture against Serbia have become available and are on sale through Ticketmaster.

There are a number of Premium tickets which are only available on a two-match package basis for Brazil and Serbia plus a quantity of general admission tickets for the Brazil game only. Brazil have not taken their full allocation of tickets for the game.

From the FAI.ie website.

01/02/2008, 11:55 AM
Andy Reid and Joey O’Brien have withdrawn from the Ireland squad for next week’s international against Brazil at Croke Park
Reid, who moved yesterday to Sunderland, has a knee injury while O’Brien is ruled out after picking up a hamstring injury in Bolton Wanderers’ recent game against Fulham.

Caretaker manager Don Givens has drafted in Wolverhampton Wanderers duo Kevin Foley and Darren Potter as replacements.

A small number of tickets in different categories for next Wednesday’s game and the May 24 fixture against Serbia have become available and are on sale through Ticketmaster.

There are a number of Premium tickets which are only available on a two-match package basis for Brazil and Serbia plus a quantity of general admission tickets for the Brazil game only. Brazil have not taken their full allocation of tickets for the game.

Shouldn't you quote your cut and paste source??

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2816

01/02/2008, 12:14 PM
Owls was it necessary to quote the FAI´s press release for a second time? :)

I guess that Stephen Ireland didn't make that phonecall to the FAI, he would have been called up.

01/02/2008, 12:21 PM
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=431900&postcount=2

01/02/2008, 12:26 PM
If Givens has called in Potter to replace O'Brien, does that mean he sees Joey as a midfielder, rather than a full back?

<edit>

Actually never mind, Potter replaces Andy Reid, Foley replaces O'Brien

Bondvillain
01/02/2008, 12:26 PM
Andy Reid and Joey O’Brien have withdrawn from the Ireland squad which was low in numbers and understrength to start with, due to The Don's apparent lack of awareness of in-form players for next week’s international against Brazil at Croke Park.
Reid, who moved yesterday to Sunderland, has a knee injury which came as a terrible shock to , well nobody except Don Givens, really, as the gimp obviously hasn't glanced at a sports page since December while O’Brien is ruled out after picking up a hamstring injury in Bolton Wanderers’ recent game against Fulham. Which is grand, as seemingly, from the cut of the replacements, The Don was going to let him wallow in midifeld. Lucky escape there...

Caretaker manager Don Givens seemingly in a daze, driven by bile, bull-headedness and ignorance, and quite possibly an intense personal dislike of Clinton Morrison has drafted in Wolverhampton Wanderers duo Kevin Foley and Darren Potter as replacements, and is due to make another unnecessary and unhelpful pontification on the Stephen Ireland situation shortly, which should sucessfully make the player's eventual return that little bit more difficult and uncomfortable when Givens finally p!sses off and the real manager takes over.

A small number of tickets in different categories for next Wednesday’s game and the May 24 fixture against Serbia have become available and are on sale through Ticketmaster. And no doubt, a gansai load of Serbia ones will "miraculously" become available as soon as the new manager is announced, giving the Occasionals a good reason to turn up to a match they would otherwise be quite happy throwing the Sky eye onto, if they bothered at all....

There are a number of Premium tickets which are only available on a two-match package basis for Brazil and Serbia plus a quantity of general admission tickets for the Brazil game only. Brazil have not taken their full allocation of tickets for the game. In Feb? In sub-zero temperatures? Against a Don Givens select XI? No sh!t...

From the FAI.ie website.(Clean this up before release lads, eh? Press dept. )

There. That's more like it.

the doc
03/02/2008, 2:21 PM
The worry for me is that Givens will end up advising the new manager on what players to pick, how can we ever move on and progress when we have someone such as Givens involved.

stojkovic
03/02/2008, 5:00 PM
Hope he plays on Wednesday.

Looking forward to seeing the boy.

Forget your CRonaldo's, THIS boy is the future.

Memories of Maradona at Lansdowne in 79.

03/02/2008, 8:31 PM
Pato scored the only goal for Milan tonight. 4 goals in his 3 games for them I think. Hopefully himself and Kaka start on Wednesday.

eekers
04/02/2008, 6:59 AM
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0204/brazil.html (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0204/brazil.html?rss)
both have pulled out of the squad

04/02/2008, 7:22 AM
Injury my arse.

04/02/2008, 9:21 AM
gutted that those two are missing.

ParkLife
04/02/2008, 11:23 AM
Any ideas on what kind of team Brazil will be bringing? Ronaldinho? Robinho?

04/02/2008, 11:30 AM
feck it anyway, the 2 lads would've been main attractions.

Brazil named their squad very early with some big names in it. Perhaps at the request of the FAI in order to shift some tickets before they pulled out?

04/02/2008, 11:33 AM
Sure while we are at it lets blame the FAI for the London bombings, Madelaine McCann and a few other things.

04/02/2008, 12:44 PM
Alex Bruce called into the squad to replace Andy O'Brien: http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2833

Givens admitted following this morning’s squad training session at Gannon Park in Malahide that he has yet to receive confirmation from Andy O’Brien that he has retired from International football.

There were reports on Sunday that the Bolton Wanderers defender had hung up his boots for Ireland but Givens is awaiting clarification from the player himself.

O’Brien had been included in the original squad but owing to his absence, Bruce has been called up.

“I haven’t been able to make any contact with Andy O’Brien, so I’ve called in Alex Bruce and he’ll arrive in this afternoon,” said Givens.

04/02/2008, 1:05 PM
Steven Reid is unlikely to be involved
RTE sport (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/0204/ireland.html)
Pity.

04/02/2008, 1:07 PM
I hear Robbie is carrying a knock too.

04/02/2008, 1:17 PM
Carsley-Miller looks to be the only option for midfield.

04/02/2008, 1:25 PM
I really dislike Miller as many of you know by now but I saw a bit of Liverpool vs Sunderland on Saturday and he impressed me, not for the first time this year. Busy on the ball, linking play, always looking for it.

04/02/2008, 1:41 PM
He seems like a new player this past month or so.

Dr. Ogba
04/02/2008, 1:47 PM

Miller is a man of perpetual false dawns....every time that he seems to be "recapturing his old form" he earns his start for Ireland and then proceeds to play absolute muck. I'd sooner have the likes of McCann/Garvan/Potter in the team ahead of him...

dr_peepee
04/02/2008, 3:04 PM

He does. He's playing well enough and the Sunderland fans seem happy with him. But there's something missing. It's like he's always just a tad late getting to someone, and a bit slower. And at least once a game he gets cought in possesion cos he hasn't got rid soon enough.. I'm not comparing to A Reid and Ireland technically, but like them I think he really only excels with 5 in the middle. I'll give him his due though, cos for someone so small I've seen him leave bigger payers on their @rse after a shoulder.

bohsRap
04/02/2008, 3:12 PM
Miller is a man of perpetual false dawns....every time that he seems to be "recapturing his old form" he earns his start for Ireland and then proceeds to play absolute muck. I'd sooner have the likes of McCann/Garvan/Potter in the team ahead of him...

You're right and I'm not a big fan of him either but I think he was played on the right wing in our last game against Wales.

Mayo_Bhoy
04/02/2008, 4:30 PM
Is Brazil game live on RTE? If not where si it on?? Thanks

Topman
04/02/2008, 5:00 PM
MARTIN ROWLANDS.......COME ON DON WHAT HAS HE DONE WRONG?:confused:

YOU SHOULD BE GIVING HIM A CHANCE

hamburg paul
04/02/2008, 8:14 PM
its a disgrace that morrison is not included. he is on fire at the moment.
Whats so disgraceful about this ?He got his chances and did not take them !so just lets put this rubbish to bed and get on with what we have ,Clinton is only good enough for the Championship put him in the premiership and hes found out!;)

04/02/2008, 8:36 PM
Whats so disgraceful about this ?He got his chances and did not take them !so just lets put this rubbish to bed and get on with what we have ,Clinton is only good enough for the Championship put him in the premiership and hes found out!;)

Certainly no more found out than Shane Long or Daryl Murphy, who aren't scoring. If nothing else, Clinton is in form and playing well. Murphy has being playing better recently, out left and only recently notched his second of the season. Long has barely finished 4 games in total, in terms of minutes played this season, and rarely gets more than 10 minutes at the end of a game.
You're going to have to do a lot better than that to convince anyone Clinton does not deserve his place in the squad.

Bondvillain
04/02/2008, 8:39 PM

What's disgraceful about it is that seemingly a striker on a run of 13 goals is not in good enough form to be selected in an understrength friendly squad (Why only name a squad of 21 for a friendly? Trying to prove a point of omission?) by a caretaker manager who is either unaware of form, or cares not for it.

While its accepted that Keane will definately start, one way or the other, one of Doyle, Long or Murphy will also. While all three are noble servants with decent qualities, I defy anyone to argue that their current form is more impressive than Morrisons right now. What are friendlies for if not to reward in form players by recalling them to see how they can do?

Morrison is scoring goals, has played well in the past with our recognised no1 choice striker, and is acknowledged to be popular and well liked by both the older & younger players, and for these reasons alone he should be in this squad.

This "He's had his chance" argument is a load of my arse. Do you mean to say that if this was the first qualifier instead of a friendly, he should be ignored in favour of a hot-and-cold out of form 'one for the future' player, clogging away with a relegation battling team simply because Morrison as a striker has "had his chance" ?

Fair enough, Mr Givens....:rolleyes: