View Full Version : Foot.ie Challenge Cup summer games

15/06/2003, 4:58 PM
A few of us were having a chat about this yesterday and we reckon that it would be well within the bounds of possibility to get foot.ie Challenge cup games going every saturday at a regular time.
I'd be pretty sure that we would almost always be able to get at least 10 people willing to play.
It's good fun and good for our appalling but significantly improving fitness levels, however we don't play often enough.
So how about it folks, we provisionally say that we will have a game every saturday at whatever time (5.30 perhaps?) and stick with provided we have at least 10 players?

Sign your name below if you're interested...

15/06/2003, 6:09 PM
Judas is in

15/06/2003, 7:16 PM
Ya, I be well up for that as well.

One question though, who will play the "holding role up front"?

Ref
15/06/2003, 9:51 PM
Every Saturday @ 3:30pm

Leisureworld

Be there at 5pm and we'll try and start on time!

lets try and make it 6 v 6.

(longford game is a 2:00pm kick off.)

ARE WE ON FOR THIS SATURDAY 21st JUNE?

15/06/2003, 11:09 PM
Originally posted by Ref
ARE WE ON FOR THIS SATURDAY 21st JUNE?

I can't see why not

Mods
1. Colm
2. GWA

Non-Mods
1. SOCcfc

16/06/2003, 8:41 AM
go on so then stick me down also

Ref
16/06/2003, 10:39 AM
Mods
1. Colm
2. GWA
3. James

Non-Mods
1. SOCcfc
2. Ref

Can we make it 3:30pm k.o.?

would that be ok?

16/06/2003, 12:02 PM
Originally posted by Ref
Can we make it 3:30pm k.o.?

would that be ok?

Yeah, fine by me.

16/06/2003, 12:08 PM
3.30pm KO prob better given the tendancy of some city fans to end up in colemans park supporting queenstown of a sat night :)

16/06/2003, 5:32 PM
3.30 is too early seeing as some of us have a tendency to goto the pub after, and stay there. Id be more along the lines of 6.30. That way, people who are working saturday will mostly be finished.

However, im good any time on a saturday.

16/06/2003, 5:51 PM
Ah feck it! I'm actually in Cork this weekend but it's my last weekend with herself for the summer so I'll be demanned if I suggest heading off to play football on Saturday! Next time for sure! :(

17/06/2003, 11:46 AM
Eanna says he'll play also

Mods
1. Colm
2. GWA
3. James
4. Eanna

Non-Mods
1. SOCcfc
2. Ref

Non-Mods team is looking very bare, c'mon non-mods get ye're names down.

We'll stick with 3.30 for this week but in future a 5.30 or 6.30 KO would be much better because, as GWA said, some of us have a tendancy of going to the pub after and not leaving it for quite some time so the early kick offs might just make that situation even worse!:) :D

Real ale Madrid
17/06/2003, 8:47 PM
Mods
1. Colm
2. GWA
3. James
4. Eanna

Non-Mods
1. SOCcfc
2. Ref
3. Real ale Madrid

Ruairi
18/06/2003, 6:53 AM
Originally posted by GWA
3.30 is too early seeing as some of us have a tendency to goto the pub after, and stay there. Id be more along the lines of 6.30.

Agreed, seeing as how I work till 6 amost every saturday.

And for the record, I think this whole mods v non mods thing is getting a bit boring to be honest. We need to mix up the teams every week to freshen things up and make it more interesting.

Well, to tell the truth, I'm sick of beatin em' :D

Ref
19/06/2003, 8:50 AM
in future so we'll pick the names out of a hat and that'll be that.

i have 6 green bibs that could be used for one team to save all the hassle with jerseys?

pitch is booked for 3:30pm saturday.

AND WE NEED MORE PEOPLE!!

19/06/2003, 12:20 PM
Originally posted by Ref
in future so we'll pick the names out of a hat and that'll be that.

I dunno, I think that would be more boring. At least the way it is there is a slight competitive edge i.e. Mods always want to beat the Non-mods and vice versa.

19/06/2003, 12:46 PM
Keep is mods Vs Non mods for the time being.

Im sure @ndy will play for the non mod scum saturday anyways.

Ref
19/06/2003, 1:40 PM
mods v non mods it is so.

19/06/2003, 6:35 PM
Originally posted by Colm
We'll stick with 3.30 for this week but in future a 5.30 or 6.30 KO would be much better because, as GWA said, some of us have a tendancy of going to the pub after and not leaving it for quite some time so the early kick offs might just make that situation even worse!:) :D
Grrrrrr. Some of us have to work saturday nights. maybe we could alternate it or something? Say 3;30 one week and 6;30 the next or whatever?

19/06/2003, 8:28 PM
The Non-Mods have signed a deal with @ndy to sign for us on loan from UCD for the match.

19/06/2003, 9:30 PM
Ruairis cousdin Paul also wants to play. i said not a bother. So he ccan be another for the non mods i spose.

Seems to be filling up nicely!

20/06/2003, 10:22 AM
cant make it this saturday lads
heading to killarney to see mr gray singing

beat those non-mod scum :D

20/06/2003, 10:30 AM

Ewwww!

20/06/2003, 10:32 AM
Originally posted by Vetinari

Ewwww!

When I got e-mail notification of this myfirst thought was "Huh, Vetinari is gonna take James' place!"

What was I thinking! :D ;)

20/06/2003, 10:43 AM
Originally posted by Vetinari

Ewwww!

ah come on i was given free tix's ok
some of which i'm still trying to offload btw??

Ref
20/06/2003, 11:05 AM
Originally posted by James
ah come on i was given free tix's ok
some of which i'm still trying to offload btw??

and we're going to believe that....

:p

joe
20/06/2003, 11:39 AM
i might be able to find a ringer or two if needs be. i'll check back later.

21/06/2003, 12:50 PM
I think we have at least 12.

GWA
Eanna
Guers
Ref
Chris
Paul
Vince
Vince buddy
Soccfc
Andy

and i could be forgetting one or two

Real ale Madrid
21/06/2003, 6:04 PM
Sorry about the no show! Looks like ye had enough to play anyway. Who won???

Ref
22/06/2003, 9:46 PM
Non-Mods 20 - 17 Mods

:cool:

Ref
24/06/2003, 11:15 AM
NEXT MATCH IS THIS SATURDAY 28-06-03

6:30PM K.O.

SAME TEAMS

24/06/2003, 11:43 AM
Originally posted by James
Thanks for the support James....

24/06/2003, 1:09 PM
yeah and btw macy
u were chit :)
sound was crap .. and u relied waay too much on covers to bring the crowd back to life after you lulled so badly

from memory 6 covers is pretty bad for a so-called big name act

Ref
25/06/2003, 10:55 AM
Are we OK for Saturday @ 6:30pm?

Ruairi
25/06/2003, 10:56 AM
I'm either starting a new job on saturday or working till 7. if i'm not starting the new job I'll try and get a swop, will know tomorrow

25/06/2003, 12:31 PM
Originally posted by Ref
Are we OK for Saturday @ 6:30pm?

We'll have enough people alright.

Ref
25/06/2003, 2:41 PM
i won't be there but i think James and Real Ale Madrid will be so there should be enough.

25/06/2003, 5:27 PM
Real Ale
Guers
Chris
James?
Vince?
SoC

Cant think of anyone else but im sure we will have at least 10.

Neil is feigning injury so he defo wont be playing!!!

Ref
26/06/2003, 10:30 AM
what about eoin something? the guy we thought was tom peppers.

and was there someone called dave last week?

amazing how well everyone can play when they haven't been out all night.

oh and everyone pay Colm this week. €5 as usual.

Real ale Madrid
26/06/2003, 9:39 PM
Sorry lads cant make it next sat.

Defo. count me in for the following weekend, if there's a game.

Slurms McKenzie
28/06/2003, 8:27 PM
I might go next week. Only if i can be on James' team?

07/07/2003, 4:23 PM
Saturday July 12th 5.30 pm sharp at Leisureworld.

Who is in. Ref? Real Ale? Both missing the other day.

Our regulars are
1. Gary
2. Eanna
3. Neil
4. James
5. Colm
6. SóC
7. Guersy

We need at least 3 more regulars. we always find a few extra, but id rather not be ringing 10 people at 4pm every Saturday.

So whos in?????

Just to re-iterate

Saturday July 12th 5.30 pm sharp at Leisureworld.

08/07/2003, 12:21 AM
Has anyone challenged Boards.ie (http://boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?forumid=151) to a game I wonder? It'd bring a tear to my eye to see Foot.ie whup their pansy asses...

09/07/2003, 1:01 PM
Well, anyone else????

Come on, most of ye could proabably do with the excersize.

09/07/2003, 6:23 PM
Originally posted by GWA
7. Guersy

RIP :)

Ref
09/07/2003, 11:01 PM
i could bring me and me cousin?

is there room for us?

10/07/2003, 12:08 PM
Originally posted by Ref
i could bring me and me cousin?

is there room for us?

There sure is.

11/07/2003, 2:38 PM
Right here's who we have so far for tomorrows game, if any of those listed below can't play could you please let us know and if anyone else wants to play just post your name below. It would be nice to have numbers sorted in advance, if only to save myself and GWA from wasting our saturday afternoons trying to find people to make up numbers.

1. Gary
2. Eanna
3. Neil
4. James
5. Colm
6. SóC
7. Guersy
8. Ref
9. Ref's cousin

*footnote: Despite tomorrow being the 12th of July, we will not be marching. As much as Eanna wants to go marching, we would much rather just spend the time playing footie ;) :D

11/07/2003, 2:42 PM
not even a quick march before the match like
i could play a holding role up front ... in the march that is :D

11/07/2003, 5:49 PM
Originally posted by Colm

1. Gary
2. Eanna
4. James
5. Colm
6. SóC