View Full Version : Rovers to have Futsal team

23/01/2008, 10:41 PM
Reading in today's Sligo Post that we're entering a team in Futsal competition this season. In group with Derry, Monaghan and Harps. Games will take place over three weeks starting on Sunday, Feb 17th.

Two teams from each group advance to the quarter finals on Saturday March 15th, with the semi's and final the next day. Winner then goes on and represents Ireland at UEFA Futsal Championships...might be the only European trip we get:D

24/01/2008, 8:35 AM
Where will these games take place ?

dcfc_1928
24/01/2008, 8:41 AM
Some more info here:

http://www.derrycityfc.net/season/07/news/displaystory.php?storyid=236

"All the games in the group will take place at the AURA Leisure Complex in Letterkenny"

happydays97
24/01/2008, 8:42 AM
Fixtures

Sunday 17th February - Series 1 and 2
12pm Finn Harps v Derry City
1pm Sligo v Monaghan
2pm Finn Harps v Sligo
3pm Derry City v Monaghan

Saturday 23rd February - Series 3 and 4
12pm Finn Harps v Monaghan
1pm Sligo v Derry City
2pm Finn Harps v Derry City
3pm Sligo v Monaghan

Sunday 2nd March - Series 5 and 6
12pm Finn Harps v Sligo
1pm Derry City v Monaghan
2pm Finn Harps v Monaghan
3pm Sligo v Derry City

26/01/2008, 12:46 PM
Who is this team going to be made up of?

deecay
26/01/2008, 12:58 PM
Some of the u21s maybe,what a-side is it?How many subs?

26/01/2008, 3:07 PM
Some of the u21s maybe,what a-side is it?How many subs?5 players + up to 7 subs.

17/02/2008, 10:38 PM
Any news on how we did today?

17/02/2008, 10:42 PM
Wexford beat us by a point.

17/02/2008, 10:46 PM

Just found out we beat Harps 6-4 anyway. According to Harps forum it was our first team that played.

deecay
17/02/2008, 11:08 PM
Wexford beat us by a point.
POTM ?

18/02/2008, 1:13 PM
Thank you Deecay. One does one's best.

18/02/2008, 11:59 PM
According to Cook, we played a fairly strong team in this and won all our games comfortably enough. He said a lot of the players actually wanted to play in it, they enjoyed it. Think he said Faz played.

19/02/2008, 9:34 AM
A fairly strong team??? I saw your team sheet and it was basically your first team that took to the pitch against our team made up of some juveniles!!

19/02/2008, 2:14 PM
what was the team magicme

19/02/2008, 2:42 PM
Ya one of our players said it was a bit like men against boys but we did not have a choice because we do not have any youth players

21/02/2008, 2:48 PM
Sorry feo cant remember but did notice faz, raf, foy and cash on the list.

neutrino
22/02/2008, 12:55 PM
but we did not have a choice because we do not have any youth players

so is it a case of this futsal thing being mandatory ? just wondering why they'd bother otherwise. isnt futsal supposed to bring on youth players !!

22/02/2008, 3:22 PM
so is it a case of this futsal thing being mandatory ? just wondering why they'd bother otherwise. isnt futsal supposed to bring on youth players !!

its mandatory yes every LOI club must participate

23/02/2008, 7:00 PM
its mandatory yes every LOI club must participate
It's not, UCD didn't enter.

sligo23
23/02/2008, 7:45 PM
It's not, UCD didn't enter.

but ye are not a 'real' club anyway, so thats not important;):D

23/02/2008, 7:46 PM
He said club

23/02/2008, 10:20 PM
Rovers won one and lost one today. Lost 5-2 to Derry and beat Monaghan 8-6

deecay
24/02/2008, 12:19 AM
Last round on mothers day:mad:

Rovers fan
24/02/2008, 12:22 AM
Rovers won one and lost one today. Lost 5-2 to Derry and beat Monaghan 8-6

how many did ya score? Its not right that you, a rovers player should be posting on the forum. Its very unprofessional imo.

deecay
24/02/2008, 12:49 AM
By the above post I assume you were playing?Is this true and if so well done:ball:

24/02/2008, 1:54 PM
how many did ya score? Its not right that you, a rovers player should be posting on the forum. Its very unprofessional imo.

lol. Didn't score any unfortunately. came close once or twice. Seamie got 4 against Monaghan i think. Foy scored a penalty or two as well. Good craic.

24/02/2008, 2:28 PM
Our poor little boys!

26/02/2008, 2:23 PM
report on our match against you lot on our website or in the Mons notes in our forum here

deecay
26/02/2008, 3:48 PM
United’s 2nd game of the day was a real thriller against a Sligo Rovers team who had full time professionals such as Keith Foy and Gavin Peers, as well as Irish Under 21 International Seamus Coleman on their team. Rovers got off to a great start with two goals and it looked like United were in for a lesson in football from the professionals.

Jim Murphy was not about to give in though and rallied his team and within 5 minutes, United were level with goals from Gerard McCrudden and a Jim Murphy spot kick. Sligo took the lead 3 minutes later from the spot and the United lad’s heads started to drop.

By half time United found themselves 5-2 down and could not cope with the speed and the skill from the U21 Irish international Coleman. He was unstoppable and was the main difference between the two sides.

Monaghan re-grouped at half time and the never say die spirit of this team shocked Sligo. United pulled it back to 5-4 with 2 goals from Charley McDonald only for Sligo to go 6-4 up with very slack goal.

Mark Mulligan pulled another one back for United and Sligo were all over the court with Monaghan hitting the post and side netting on several occasions. At 6-5 United had Sligo on the back foot only for Coleman to break Monaghan’s hearts again with a fine individual goal.

Aurimas Meidus scored a thumper of a goal with 5 minutes to go and United were back on track at 7-6. The Monaghan lads gave their all in the last few minutes but Coleman popped up again to wrap it up for Sligo at 8-6.

26/02/2008, 3:56 PM
Aurimas MeidusLocal lad is he Magicme?

26/02/2008, 3:58 PM
Local lad is he Magicme?

from carrickmacross i think

26/02/2008, 4:27 PM
from carrickmacross i think

No he is from the Emyvale direction. You are mixing him up with our ex goalie Vladimir Muntananananananau from Carrick.

10/03/2008, 5:13 PM
Away to Pat's in National Basketball Arena, Tallaght this Saturday @ 12pm

Can see us getting thumped now our first team won't be playing:D

90minutes
10/03/2008, 5:42 PM
pats have a team full of brazilian and polish players

Rovers fan
10/03/2008, 8:48 PM
Can see us getting thumped now our first team won't be playing:D

Eh hello red+white rover will still be there, nobody has a chance against us, he is tipped to be the Irish Kaka.

10/03/2008, 9:02 PM

The A Team is playing for them this week AFAIK.

Your right about the Kaka thing though!:cool:

Rovers fan
10/03/2008, 10:02 PM

The A Team is playing for them this week AFAIK.

I presume you won't be there so,your too good for them, might affect your chances of going to man u next year.

redtildead
10/03/2008, 10:31 PM

Your right about the Kaka thing though!:cool:

In hairstyle only Im afraid :p

13/03/2008, 3:53 PM
Finals weekend fixture list
Saturday 15th March, National Basketball Arena, Tallaght, Dublin 24.

12 noon Match A St. Patrick’s Ath. V Sligo Rovers

better bring about 15 sets of jerseys just in case they clash

13/03/2008, 6:47 PM
Finals weekend fixture list
Saturday 15th March, National Basketball Arena, Tallaght, Dublin 24.

12 noon Match A St. Patrick’s Ath. V Sligo Rovers

better bring about 15 sets of jerseys just in case they clash

I say we just demand that to see proof of the Pat's players legal status in the country.

Rovers fan
13/03/2008, 8:38 PM
I heard King Kev is managing them and Fitzaldinho will be pulling the strings in the centre. A great father son partnership!

redtildead
13/03/2008, 10:03 PM
Fitzaldinho

Or as he likes to be known "The White Kaka" :D

Fivesilver
14/03/2008, 10:18 AM
"The White Kaka" :D

I got that once, but it's okay - you can get tablets for it.

16/03/2008, 10:31 AM
Pats beat sligo 23-3 in quarter finals Report on LOI site (http://www.eircomloi.ie:82/the-divisions/futsal-league/match-reports/quarter-finals/index.xml)

clubman
16/03/2008, 11:30 AM
Pats beat sligo 23-3 in quarter finals Report on LOI site (http://www.eircomloi.ie:82/the-divisions/futsal-league/match-reports/quarter-finals/index.xml)

Pats .... not a Pat on the team!

16/03/2008, 11:54 AM
Good job yours was made up completely of blokes called Sligo so

90minutes
16/03/2008, 1:50 PM
have to feel sorry for foyzer and gary curran

clubman
16/03/2008, 2:28 PM
Good job yours was made up completely of blokes called Sligo so
;-) ..........

Guts&Glory
16/03/2008, 8:18 PM
Is it just me or does having a team of Futsal experts for the Pats team defeat the purpose of the Futsal being set up in the first place ?

With all due respect I cannot imagine many if any of the Brazilian and Moldovan lads getting into the Pats first team.

Wasn't the idea of the Eircom League bringing in the idea to improve the skills of our younger players that were just in or close to breaking into the first team ?