View Full Version : Dave Mooney transfer rumour thread

23/01/2008, 1:39 PM
Alan Mathews interview on setantasports.com

http://www.setantasports.com/en/Sport/News/Football/2008/01/23/ELOI-Alan-Mathews-interview/?facets/sport-space/ireland-locale/article/football/

Sonic
23/01/2008, 2:41 PM
Doubt there is much chance of him going to Blackburn. He isnt near the standard of the premier league!

23/01/2008, 3:02 PM
Not a hope of getting a contract with them.

23/01/2008, 3:06 PM
Blackburn just signed Johnny Flynn from Ballymena, so I don't see why they would not look at Mooney. A lot of clubs will have seen what Reading have done and will be looking for bargain signings from these parts.

Steve Bruce
23/01/2008, 3:09 PM
Have you ever watched Johnny Flynn?

Buller
23/01/2008, 3:16 PM
Have you ever watched Johnny Flynn?

Nope! But did he score 19 goals in a higher standard league to the IL on a team that got religated?!
(I thought it was a pretty remarkable achievement)

23/01/2008, 3:23 PM
(I thought it was a pretty remarkable achievement)It was but I think he was extremely lucky last season. Seriously over-rated.

gilberto_eire
23/01/2008, 3:34 PM
It was but I think he was extremely lucky last season. Seriously over-rated.

19 goals isnt lucky, especially when you scored them for the 2nd worst team in the country!.

If your saying that on the basis of how he took his goals thats even worse, i think RVN proved you dont have to scored crackers to be a top striker(scored none or else 1 for man utd from outside the box, if it was one it was towards the end of his scoring sequence for them). Its more to been in the right place at the right time. Thats something you cant teach someone and that comes naturally!!.

Rocky77
23/01/2008, 3:41 PM
Mooney's a good player but he's far too light and misses too many chances. I'd love to see him make it big but i can't see it happening.

As for luck, that's nonsense. He worked really hard and played really well. He deserved everything he got.

Steve Bruce
23/01/2008, 3:50 PM
Nope! But did he score 19 goals in a higher standard league to the IL on a team that got religated?!
(I thought it was a pretty remarkable achievement)

So your basing your opinion on a player you haven't a clue about because he plays in the IL.

For a start he is a DEFENDER, hardly a fair comparison to compare goal ratios now is their?

Smart guy:rolleyes:

Drogman.
23/01/2008, 3:56 PM
Mooney's a one season wonder and as was said above if he put away even half the chances that he had then he would have ended up on 30 odd goals.

Also remember there was some pretty terrible defences last season, Waterford, Galway, Bray etc...

Fair enough 19 goals was great but he'll never make it in the Premier League over there. The EL is about his standard.

Buller
23/01/2008, 4:03 PM
So your basing your opinion on a player you haven't a clue about because he plays in the IL.

For a start he is a DEFENDER, hardly a fair comparison to compare goal ratios now is their?

Smart guy:rolleyes:

.......so how many goals did he score then?
Ah I see... Fair enough so! I assumed he was a striker for some reason...

23/01/2008, 4:38 PM
I don't don't Mooney can repeat last years success (if he signs for us) but to say 19 goals in relegated side is lucky is childish. In my lifetime I can never remember top score coming from side near bottom let alone the relegated side. BTW all forwards miss chances.

23/01/2008, 4:40 PM
I don't don't Mooney can repeat last years success (if he signs for us) but to say 19 goals in relegated side is lucky is childish. In my lifetime I can never remember top score coming from side near bottom let alone the relegated side. BTW all forwards miss chances.We'll see what you think of him at the end of this season[if he signs for ye, which he probably will because as was said, EL is his standard]

Gaillimh Al
23/01/2008, 4:57 PM
Also remember there was some pretty terrible defences last season, Waterford, Galway, Bray etc...

Was that the Galway defence that only let in 3 more goals than Cork and kept 6 clean sheets away from home, or are they one of the etc.

Anyway, i hope Mooney does well wherever he ends up, but I'd be surprised if it was Blackburn. Thought a mid table Championship squad would be more his level.

23/01/2008, 5:00 PM
Was that the Galway defence that only let in 3 more goals than Cork and kept 6 clean sheets away from home, or are they one of the etc.

You realise our defence was absolutely appalling last year? It's nothing to boast about to conceed more than us

23/01/2008, 5:52 PM
cant see mooney joinin blackburn we are expecting a cheque of 26,500 euros if he moves to a club here!! cum on dave u know u want to!!:D

gilberto_eire
23/01/2008, 6:14 PM
Mooney's a good player but he's far too light and misses too many chances. I'd love to see him make it big but i can't see it happening.

As for luck, that's nonsense. He worked really hard and played really well. He deserved everything he got.

In relation to that:

''Too light'' = Well he can hit the weights to iradicate that problem.

''Misses too many chances'' = If he improves his finishing so he could be unstoppable??

In fairness the lad is still young enough, maybe not premiership standard but who knows unless he's given the chance!

gufcfan
24/01/2008, 12:40 AM
It was but I think he was extremely lucky last season. Seriously over-rated.

What sort of a comment is that?

If you have nothing sensible to say dont open your mouth at all.

How the hell was it lucky?

He played for a team that got relegated and still managed to be top scorer in the league. How many players, EVER, could say they did that in the top division of a national league.

Im not going to get involved in the debate of whether he is good enough to go across the water to Blackburn, but, please explain to me how he was lucky?

Steve Bruce
24/01/2008, 8:42 AM
What sort of a comment is that?

If you have nothing sensible to say dont open your mouth at all.

How the hell was it lucky?

He played for a team that got relegated and still managed to be top scorer in the league. How many players, EVER, could say they did that in the top division of a national league.

Im not going to get involved in the debate of whether he is good enough to go across the water to Blackburn, but, please explain to me how he was lucky?

Fabrizio Ravenelli(sp?) :D

gufcfan
24/01/2008, 9:33 AM
Fabrizio Ravenelli(sp?) :D
Ravanelli scored a lot of goals for Derby the season they were relegated, but he was not the league top scorer.

Hitman
24/01/2008, 9:53 AM
Ravanelli scored a lot of goals for Derby the season they were relegated, but he was not the league top scorer.

I think Hasselbaink was for Atletico Madrid the year they went down. I'm not entirely sure that's in any way on-topic though.

24/01/2008, 9:57 AM
Dave Mooney on trial at Blackburn

What's he charged With ?:D:D:D

Ozymandias
24/01/2008, 10:15 AM
heard he played in a friendly match yesterday for sunderland reserves..however no confirmation of that just that tere was an Irish lad on trial during the game

24/01/2008, 10:18 AM
heard he played in a friendly match yesterday for sunderland reserves..

What's he looking at for that? 10 years for crimes against football?

Tenderloins
24/01/2008, 10:27 AM
heard he played in a friendly match yesterday for sunderland reserves..however no confirmation of that just that tere was an Irish lad on trial during the game

There was a triallist playing centre back so unlikely that it was Mooney.

http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=14049

Steve Bruce
24/01/2008, 10:42 AM

I'm talking about when he was at middlesbrough.

I could have sworn he was highest goal scorer. but open to correction.

24/01/2008, 10:46 AM
There was a triallist playing centre back so unlikely that it was Mooney.Isn't there a few Cobh lads over there at the moment?

Sonic
24/01/2008, 10:57 AM
Eh may i add mathematically we were not relegated!! What is this with the second worst team in the country!!

Ozymandias
24/01/2008, 11:56 AM
Eh may i add mathematically we were not relegated!! !

YOu can say it..enjoy the virtual trips to kildare, monaghan and limerick in the mathematical first division.

deecay
24/01/2008, 5:56 PM
Very over-rated player

24/01/2008, 6:40 PM
He worked very hard over last pre-season and it paid off for him. He was much stronger and fitter. He could be very good with full time coaching and training. I would think he'll be in Ireland this season though. He's back in Dublin at the moment, not in Blackburn though I think he was over for a short while. Someone I know was speaking to him today. He hasn't fully made up his mind yet but "it'll all be sorted by the end of the week". Sounds like Cork to me.

Rocky77
24/01/2008, 6:52 PM
He worked very hard over last pre-season and it paid off for him. He was much stronger and fitter

Mathews' famous quote — 'When we got Dave, he was more worried about his darts and his bingo than his football, such was the regime at Shamrock Rovers at the time.'

How do you like that, Roddy?

Keen2win
24/01/2008, 7:00 PM
I hope he does well but can't see him making it big in England.

LeixlipRed
24/01/2008, 10:45 PM
Mathews' famous quote — 'When we got Dave, he was more worried about his darts and his bingo than his football, such was the regime at Shamrock Rovers at the time.'

How do you like that, Roddy?

But Roddy had them playing great darts and bingo. As he said himself,
"Look, I had that lad on my darts team in Stevie's pub back in the day. He was ****e then and I could have brought him in to hit the tricky doubles when I was with Rovers but I knew he was ****e and I told everyone who'd listen that he was ****e and that Roddy was the only one who could see how ****e he was. When I was with Carlisle. that's Carlisle in England btw the lads over there could hit the doubles in their sleep. And he was still ****e. The problem with Parkhouse is is that he's fat and lazy. Oh and he can't hit a double for the life of him"

Wangball
24/01/2008, 11:48 PM
Being cynically inclined.....is Pat Devlin Dave Mooney's "Advisor" by any chance? He has pretty strong connections with Blackburn and it does seem a bit odd that a lad who was being strongly linked with Cork City, Dundee Utd, Bohemians, Ipswich etc etc is suddenly being trialled by a premiership side with (realistic or not) champions league ambitions

I seen Mooney play once last year & he is undoubtedly a good player but he's not premiership good....was thinking maybe he agents or whatever got somehow cajoled him a trial at Blackburn to drum up interest in the upper echelons of the chamionship or spl

thats my drunken/conspiritorial slant on it.....whoever he ends up with good luck to the lad

irishultra
05/07/2008, 12:39 AM
Mooney's a one season wonder and as was said above if he put away even half the chances that he had then he would have ended up on 30 odd goals.

Fair enough 19 goals was great but he'll never make it in the Premier League over there. The EL is about his standard.

Sorry for the bump but :rolleyes:

05/07/2008, 1:15 AM
He could be very good with full time coaching and training. I would think he'll be in Ireland this season though.

*pats self on the back for his wisdom* :).

Ah no, pleased to see him carrying on where he left off last season. Class act.

05/07/2008, 8:32 AM
Very over-rated player

Insightful as usual.

brianw82
05/07/2008, 9:55 AM
Mooney is a machine. Best striker in the EL by a mile. His days in the league might be numbered. Hope Cork have him on a 2-year deal (at least) so they'll get a decent fee for him.

Rocky77
05/07/2008, 10:48 AM
Did someone say sell-on clause? ;)

05/07/2008, 11:21 AM
He's on a three year deal.

Lots of Scouts came to watch him last night

05/07/2008, 11:22 AM
He's on a three year deal.

Lots of Scouts came to watch him last night

Do you know where from?

05/07/2008, 11:58 AM
Do you know where from?

Mostly the First Cork Troop I think.

There was a group of Bridginis there as welll - throwing chips and giggling in the corner

05/07/2008, 1:38 PM
3 year deal, thank god.
He's in better form than Doyle was, although Doyle was doing it for a season and a half.

I reckon he'll be gone very soon.
Too good.

He's also similar in manner to Doyle and in how they dealt with the City fans.
Role models.

05/07/2008, 1:38 PM
Mostly the First Cork Troop I think.

There was a group of Bridginis there as welll - throwing chips and giggling in the corner

Ha ha, dib dib dib !! :p

charliesboots
07/07/2008, 10:24 AM
Mooney is a machine. Best striker in the EL by a mile. His days in the league might be numbered. Hope Cork have him on a 2-year deal (at least) so they'll get a decent fee for him.

He's a class act but Mark Quigley is as good if not better than him IMO.

It's a pity we didn't get him, they'd have been some combination this season.

07/07/2008, 10:45 AM
Looking like most prolific striker we have ever had as Pat Morleys club record of 20 league goals in in his sight now. Not seen finishing like it since O'Flynn in his prime. Better finisher than Doyle or O'Donovan although does not have the all round game of Doyle or the pace of O'Donovan. Looks to be working really hard & doesn't have the ego of some other players.

He is on a long term contract & one of the highest earners at the club so nothing less than top Championship club would tempt him. Realistically any bid would need to be 1m+ as he will get better as fitness & strength improve.

bigmac
07/07/2008, 12:17 PM
Realistically any bid would need to be 1m+

Doubt that to be honest. If a good Championship club offered half a mil for him are you saying that Cork would turn it down?

pateen
07/07/2008, 12:23 PM
Doubt that to be honest. If a good Championship club offered half a mil for him are you saying that Cork would turn it down?

I think they would. Its only cause they do have good business heads behind the scenes and they know mooneys is worth a lot more