View Full Version : Finnan retires from International Football

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

22/01/2008, 3:43 PM
Anyway mods - apologies for being dragged off topic, i will now utilise the ignore button for the first time ever on this forum...

I read that so much it's lost all meaning

Ireland4ever
22/01/2008, 3:46 PM
#Cough cough#

I'll stick to my six thanks ;) :D

Anyhow..regardless of his reasons, he is still playing football at a high level, which means he can still be talked round to playing for the ROI again. I still don't understand how a player could turn their back on their country.

Unless of course they moved club from leicester to celtic and were subjected to a bunch of bigots mascarading as fans that is!

livehead1
22/01/2008, 3:48 PM
I read that so much it's lost all meaning

Maybe that should tell you something...

LeviathanNI
22/01/2008, 3:49 PM
Of course, they could play for Rangers and be booed.. or play for Israel and have your players attacked..(see what I did there?)

Lets not go down that very well trodden path ffs..

Morbo
22/01/2008, 3:52 PM
What an idiotic comment.

Neil, Jebus (or anybody else) doesn't have to explain to you (or anybody else) why they post in this forum.

It's clear you disagree with his opinions, as do I, but there is no need for the kind of comment I've quoted.

Lighten up, I was born in Limerick but it didn't offend me

mackannovic
22/01/2008, 3:53 PM
He could have the inside track on the new manager and absolutely despise his brand of football or has a very poor working relationship with the man.

There's one for you conspiracy theorists.

danonion
22/01/2008, 3:57 PM
I never rated him for Ireland anyway but it just makes me mad when our pampered lot pull stunts like this. I remember 2001/02 season when a 37 year old R. Baggio was playing his heart out in Serie A to get a call up to the Azzurri. This is pathetic and he should be ashamed.

carloz
22/01/2008, 4:01 PM
Absoultly gutted by this, in my opinion we have lost by far our most consistent right back, and one of the top 5 in Europe(I say this as a Man United fan). Bit disapointed he wouldnt stay around for another campaign as he still has plenty of time on his side. A bit of me thinks it is similar to Scholes in England, he is ****ed off of being played out of position. he has probably played more games in other positions than he has at right back. When you have the best right back in the Premiership you ****ing play him at right back, you dont try to make up for failings in other areas by playing him left back or right wing. A player that deserved to play on the bigger stage with Ireland more often. Thanks for the times Steve

I never rated him for Ireland anyway

this kind of comment really ****ed me off. He was every bit as consistent as Irwin was for Ireland and gave just as much going forward. Just becuase a player is often quite in a game(as he often was) doesnt mean he is having a bad game. Other than the 5-22 drubbing in Cyprus he has rarely had a bad game

Éire Óg
22/01/2008, 4:07 PM
Thats a b0ll0x statement and you know it. Ledley King was out on Saturday for Spurs against Sunderland but he's playing tonight 3 days later. What a lazy tw@t eh? And he's a senior player. Should be ashamed of himself.

How can you compare Spurs resting King(and Keane) before a semi final and Finnan supposedly being injured and unable to play for his country but yet fit to play for his club 3 days later.

22/01/2008, 4:08 PM
Absoultly gutted by this, in my opinion we have lost by far our most consistent right back.......A player that deserved to play on the bigger stage with Ireland more often. Thanks for the times Steve
Agree with this. Very under rated while playing for us, just got about his business. Sure he had a handful of bad games but who doesn't.

The most concerning aspect for me is that Finnan's absence is likely now to extend O'Shea's tenure in our back four. More fu*king imminent disaster :eek:

Morbo
22/01/2008, 4:14 PM
Did anyone really not see this coming a mile away?
I got slated here for stating that I thought he could have played against the Czechs since he played for Lpool 2 and a half days later from the gullible idiots who believed he genuinely was unable to play in that game.
Finnan represents everything that is wrong with the modern game, his excuses were utter BS and insulted every Irish fans intelligence, I'd have more respect for him if he just admitted he couldn't be arsed

Maroon 7
22/01/2008, 4:28 PM
If I was him I wouldn't be in a rush back going by some of the nonsense on here.

Played for Ireland for nearly a decade and all he gets is abuse.

Says as much for the modern football fan as it does the modern football player.

lofty9
22/01/2008, 4:30 PM
How old were Paul Mc Grath, Ray Houghton, Andy Townsend John Giles when they retired for Ireland. This trend of retiring when you are 31 is a joke. Finnan never really reproduced his club form for Ireland and he had some shocking performances for Ireland most notably in Cyprus twice. In addition he had great performances in the 2002 World Cup. Gone down in my book but maybe he can be persuaded to come back by the new manager.

Agreed, great in the WC, then had one of the worst games ever away to Russia. I was never convinced of his performances in a green shirt, in position or out of position.

IMO Over rated based on his Ireland performances.

22/01/2008, 4:38 PM
If you're really proud to play for your country then you do not retire from international football.

WembleyGreen
22/01/2008, 4:47 PM
What dissappointing news, Finnan was one of our better players and we will miss his experience. That means we have 1 player in the top 4 premiership teams and Stan did'nt want to pick him! (I have deliberately ignored O'Shea so don't even go there) Don't be surprised if you don't see a couple more come out and 'retire' before we start our qualifying games. Sad to say, but for some players these days Internationals have become more of a chore than an honour. Still, thanks for effort Steve and good luck with the handicap!

Hibernian
22/01/2008, 4:59 PM
This man has turned his back on his country and all ye have sympathy? Why?

I hope we get to the world cup and stuff it down his troat. Imagine the reaction when Keane did it.!!!

I hope he rots in the Liverpool reserves.

livehead1
22/01/2008, 5:07 PM
I have always had the greatest respect for Steve Finnan but he's alienated himself from a hell of a lot of people by doing what he has done.

22/01/2008, 5:17 PM
Perhaps Finnan's just fed up with the farce that is the FAI?

he doesnt play for the FAI he plays for us.... or at least thats the way he should look at it. its just too much bother for these overpaid players to play international football these days. it should be a huge privilage to someone to play for his country. compare the over paid panzies that currently play football with the likes of anthony foley dragging every last ounce out of his body to play at the highest level of rugby that he can for as long as he can

maybe we should follow the french policy of "we'll decide for you when you are retiring from international football and it wont be before that"

dr_peepee
22/01/2008, 5:27 PM
I'm dissapointed but I have to say in my heart of hearts I don't blame him.. The timing of this is very telling if you ask me.. Where was these sentiments after the Cyprus game. To me it sounds like he was committed then... But committment works both ways and blind commitment to anything in any walk of life is folly. What has he seen from those cowboys in the FAI since to warrant him jepardising the remainder of his club career at one of the biggest clubs in the world... It works both ways lads. I'm all for patriotism and passion and players retiring early really grinds me gears. But everyone has to be pulling in the same direction.... To me it's a side effect of the ballsology goings on in the FAI.

22/01/2008, 5:32 PM
Eh if the FAI appoint Houllier tonight and Brady as performance director will we all say that the process was rubbish etc. No. Dont blame the FAI until the process is over.

dr_peepee
22/01/2008, 5:41 PM
I was once like you... An optimist... But the weight of this has crushed my spirit...

I think it's gonna get dragged out til everyone of pedigree officially withdraws any interest, and EL TELs appointment is gonna be justified because no one else wanted it..

Believe me man, I'm not afraid to admit I'm wrong and if what you say materialises I'll gladly eat my own words... I just don't see it happening though.

kingdomkerry
22/01/2008, 5:46 PM
I have no time for anyone who turns their back on their country shame on you Steve. Im disgusted with him!

22/01/2008, 5:56 PM
I was afraid this would happen and find the timing a bit odd considering its been a while since we played our last game. Am hoping the new manager will get him to change his mind. i think SF is in danger of losing his place at liverpool, arbeloa now appears to be first choice right back and this may have affected his decision. Dont have a bad word to say about the lad, he was a consistent performer for us,particularly under Mick. Disappointed he's retired so soon because he had plenty to offer us but I've no doubt he's situation at liverpool and his hopes of extending his stay there as long as possible is behind this.

Morbo
22/01/2008, 6:02 PM
If I was him I wouldn't be in a rush back going by some of the nonsense on here.

Played for Ireland for nearly a decade and all he gets is abuse.

Says as much for the modern football fan as it does the modern football player.

So we are supposed to be grateful that he us a favour with the tedious task of playing for his country for a few years, give me a break, if you are capable of improving your countrys chances of qualifying for a major tournament but choose not to do so then you are letting your country down, end of story

Hibernian
22/01/2008, 6:10 PM
Big thanks to Finnan, he really did us proud.

The FAI let him down, they put him in a pressure situation where he had to decide if he wanted to make himself available for the next 2 years before the Brazil game with no knowledge whatsoever about who the next manager will be.

Maybe if it's Houllier, MAYBE we could see Stevie back. Otherwise thanks a million Finnan you're the best right back we ever had. :)

**** you the FAI, killing the sport slowly in the country. Soon you'll have your wish, there'll be no expectations because nobody will care.

Best right back my ass, you for real??

He was never anymore then average when he played for Ireland can anyone remember a Man of the Match performance by him I cant!!!

All his stupid excuses are a joke wish we never had him in first place now

Torn-Ado
22/01/2008, 6:20 PM
So we are supposed to be grateful that he us a favour with the tedious task of playing for his country for a few years, give me a break, if you are capable of improving your countrys chances of qualifying for a major tournament but choose not to do so then you are letting your country down, end of story

Don't you know about the modern football fan? They actually have the sheer gall to criticise players and managers for sh*t performances and dissapointing them after spending half their life savings following their team... :eek: The cheek.

I'd like to know what it was like before the modern football fan came into fruition. When teams got horsed off the pitch by other crappier teams, did the pre modern football fans clap them off the field and say 'jolly good game chaps. Its all about takin part'.

As for Finnan, would he have been a Liverpool player and earning loads of cash if he wasn't given his chance at international level? Who knows. But he should give us one more campaign.

22/01/2008, 6:26 PM
ya i mentioned this before, i didnt mention a source as i didnt want to name it, but he had said it before the last game of the euros, actually i think it was before the germany game even.....

The same fella told me a funny story about what keane said to finnan about robinson during their game at anfield.
Yeh the guy on Newstalk said he pretty much told them before the last 2 games that he was retiring.

22/01/2008, 6:37 PM
It is sad he is he retiring but the good news is he will be becoming out of retirement every week to play for Liverpool :D

Your still thinking about the bad news aren't you? ;)

HolylandsMan
22/01/2008, 6:53 PM
Very disappointing. Basically discarding his international career for whatever perceived slight advantage he thinks it will have for his Liverpool career. Thought it was poor in September when he played twice in a few days for Liverpool just after missing 2 vital Ireland matches.

Still a very good player for us. At least Stephen Kelly seems to be in good form so hopefully by September he'll have matured enough to do a good job for us.

chuckie
22/01/2008, 6:57 PM
In fairness, hes been injured nearly every second week for Liverpool this season so maybe thats got something to do with it. and as for the Makelele situation the manager should respect his decision especially becaues he already came out of retirement once when it looked as though they wouldnt make the world cup

LeviathanNI
22/01/2008, 6:58 PM
Wait a minute.. forget about the FAI (I know it is hard, we try to do the same with the IFA).. when you play for your country, you aren't playing for them, you are playing for your Country! Every single person, every single club..every single footballer and every single supporter. When you pull on the shirt, you inspire kids to continue the dream of doing so. When you walk on that pitch and see everyone in unison, regardless of club affiliations.. that is what it is all about!
I know clubs pay the wages, but clubs can sell you.. your Country can never do that.. and yet it seems that players are quite happy to sell their country, and all those that have supported them at home, for what? Will he be a better player? No! Will he be a worse player? I doubt it as all the best players in the world manage to do it, and do it with pride!
All he has done is sold his country down the drain and give everyone the two fingered salute.. not the FAI, you the supporter.

Hmm...see Spurs just scored..

Sligo Hornet
22/01/2008, 7:14 PM
Steve has probably found out that Del Boy definitely has got the job, and can't think of himself playing for T.I.Ts;)

shanman2
22/01/2008, 7:21 PM
I'd like to wish Steve Finnan all the best with his retirement. It is sad to see him go but Ifor one will always remember his performances at the world cup in 2002. It's obvious he is worried about his Liverpool career. He aint the first he certainly won't be the last. Step forward Joey O' Brien. I seen him against Sweden in his first international and very impressed with him. I know his performances of last in the Green have been critisised but I think right back is ideal for him at international level.

SUB of the day
22/01/2008, 7:23 PM
Wait a minute.. forget about the FAI (I know it is hard, we try to do the same with the IFA).. when you play for your country, you aren't playing for them, you are playing for your Country! Every single person, every single club..every single footballer and every single supporter. When you pull on the shirt, you inspire kids to continue the dream of doing so. When you walk on that pitch and see everyone in unison, regardless of club affiliations.. that is what it is all about!
I know clubs pay the wages, but clubs can sell you.. your Country can never do that.. and yet it seems that players are quite happy to sell their country, and all those that have supported them at home, for what? Will he be a better player? No! Will he be a worse player? I doubt it as all the best players in the world manage to do it, and do it with pride!
All he has done is sold his country down the drain and give everyone the two fingered salute.. not the FAI, you the supporter.

Hmm...see Spurs just scored..
Leviathan for Mayor!!!

hamburg paul
22/01/2008, 7:42 PM
Best right back my ass, you for real??

He was never anymore then average when he played for Ireland can anyone remember a Man of the Match performance by him I cant!!!

All his stupid excuses are a joke wish we never had him in first place now

The best right back we ever had is now barely able to walk !The one and only Dave Langan, best of luck to you my friend you never got the treatment you deserved from the Blazers in merrion sq,it must be sad for you to see how some of your successors decide to jump ship at such an early age .:eek:

Armando
22/01/2008, 8:08 PM
I'd like to wish Steve Finnan all the best with his retirement. It is sad to see him go but Ifor one will always remember his performances at the world cup in 2002. It's obvious he is worried about his Liverpool career. He aint the first he certainly won't be the last. Step forward Joey O' Brien. I seen him against Sweden in his first international and very impressed with him. I know his performances of last in the Green have been critisised but I think right back is ideal for him at international level.

That line makes me laugh, it's not really one you'd use for a situation like this...it's not like he's actually retiring, just doesn't want to play for his country anymore

lowroadrover
22/01/2008, 8:41 PM
Sad to see him go,he's one of the best players we currently have . All this messing around by the FAI can't exactly be helping.That said 31 is way too early for him or any fit Pro to retire .

boovidge
22/01/2008, 11:13 PM
On the bright side maybe this'll encourage Stephen Carr to come out of retirement again. :D

jeff kenna?

sullanefc
22/01/2008, 11:26 PM
He has gone way down in my estimation. He has just turned his back on his country. Pathetic.

Traps Cat
22/01/2008, 11:33 PM
Very disapointed to hear this. Has at least two years as an international left. A great player for us , but in my opionion a bitter end to a solid international career - ducking out when we probably need him most. Shouldnt be asked to reconsider as his heart is obviously no longer in it. A shame.

lopez
22/01/2008, 11:35 PM

Hmm...see Spurs just scored..Well said! I was gonna nominate Neil's post about Sheffield and Limerick for post of the month (I've been to Sheffield not Limerick and the former is one hell of a dump), but I'll give it to the man who talks sense than the man who made me wet me panties.

Finnan is a t*sser. He get's no sympathy from me.

shanman2
22/01/2008, 11:41 PM
That line makes me laugh, it's not really one you'd use for a situation like this...it's not like he's actually retiring, just doesn't want to play for his country anymore

Do you know what makes me laugh "supporters" who openly critise players who serve our country with distinction. Which in my opinion Finnan has done and what does he get a nice send off of "just doesn't want to play for his country anymore". Thats absolute crap. If your looking for someone who "just doesn't want to play for his country anymore" I suggest you check out Stevie Irelands thread. Oh and the retiring thing, I don't recognise Liverpool as a football club more a soap opera and a bad one at that... So for me he is retiring from football.

Bottle of Tonic
22/01/2008, 11:56 PM
I always had my doubts about Finnan.
I don't watch liverpool.

Still, an important player for us in the circumstances and a loss to the team..

disgusted with him, don't get the mentality, but we move on.

shanman2
22/01/2008, 11:59 PM
I always had my doubts about Finnan.
I don't watch liverpool.

Still, an important player for us in the circumstances and a loss to the team..

disgusted with him, don't get the mentality, but we move on.

Why are you disgusted with him? Why would you doubt him?

23/01/2008, 7:44 AM
Why are you disgusted with him? Why would you doubt him?Why don't you read the whole thread.

There are enough posts explaining why. You don't have to agree with them but I would've thought you may have grasped why people feel the way they do.

23/01/2008, 7:47 AM
The FAI let him down, they put him in a pressure situation where he had to decide if he wanted to make himself available for the next 2 years before the Brazil game with no knowledge whatsoever about who the next manager will be.

:confused: didnt affect other senior players like carsley, given and kilbane

as_i_say
23/01/2008, 8:03 AM
heh yeah it did-carsley retired! came back though. this is getting more posts because finnan is viewed as such a great player whereas at the time carsley wasnt. its never too late to change your mind and he may well change his.

Players annoucing retirement and then coming back is very popular these days. i'll reserve judgement till i know all the facts...

23/01/2008, 8:14 AM
heh yeah it did-carsley retired! came back though. this is getting more posts because finnan is viewed as such a great player whereas at the time carsley wasnt. its never too late to change your mind and he may well change his.

Players annoucing retirement and then coming back is very popular these days. i'll reserve judgement till i know all the facts...

In fairness to Carsley, his reasons for retirement were understandable, he has a young kid with down syndrome i think it is and he was spending a good deal of time away from the kid with Ireland whilst never getting a look again. When he was needed again, he answered to call and has said he will continue to do so. If anything Carsley should be more worried about his position at Everton than Finnan at L'pool.

23/01/2008, 8:54 AM
I thought Finnan's interview in the Indo today with Vincent Hogan was pretty fair.

The headline suggests it's a case of yet another player complaining of criticism but all he really said was that yes, the atmosphere is more critical but when it gets personal it has gone too far (presumably the "Stan is a Muppet" fiasco in the tabloids).

23/01/2008, 8:55 AM
On the bright side maybe this'll encourage Stephen Carr to come out of retirement again. :D

The laziest player ever to play for Ireland let hope not:D