View Full Version : Norway Away - 20th August 2008
The thought of currency just crossed my mind. How are they on the euro? Should I get some Krone?
14/08/2008, 3:51 PM
Just bring a pass card and you'll be fine.
14/08/2008, 4:57 PM
The thought of currency just crossed my mind. How are they on the euro? Should I get some Krone?
Ryanair bus only takes Norwegian currency and credit cards. Not sure about the rest of the country.
Apparently there are ATMs in the middle of Torp airport.
republic
15/08/2008, 8:36 AM
Quick question!
Has anyone confirmed the names/addresses of pubs where 'reasonably' priced drink can be found?
Thanks!
Paulie
15/08/2008, 5:04 PM
Quick question!
Has anyone confirmed the names/addresses of pubs where 'reasonably' priced drink can be found?
Thanks!
This was spoken about earlier in this thread. There's an area on the city called Gronland which seems to have a few bars where the prices are reasonable enough.
Anyway, I'm flying across on Tuesday so I'm off all next week. For those of ye going, have a safe trip and I might even meet you over there for a pint!
18/08/2008, 4:07 PM
Right,
We're away off tomorrow early BFS-EMA-Oslo so see you all out there.
In Dublin Airport at the mo, going to Oslo via Birmingham!
Still waiting on my refund from Ryanair for the direct flight home they rescheduled for a day later!!!!!
19/08/2008, 10:23 AM
Boo! Not going until tomorrow...
Sligo Hornet
19/08/2008, 11:07 AM
Boo!Boo!....not going AT ALL!!:(
19/08/2008, 5:33 PM
Leaving for the airport in half an hour, Sunny stanstead tonight and Oslo tomorrow morning. Half an inch of rain forcecasted to fall in Oslo tomorrow. It will be just like a home game.
19/08/2008, 8:07 PM
Have a good trip. Make sure yis get a win! :D
Torn-Ado
19/08/2008, 8:53 PM
Lashing down here all day and will be tommorow so I imagine it cant be too much different up the road.
Sligo Hornet
19/08/2008, 8:56 PM
Lashing down here all day and will be tommorow so I imagine it cant be too much different up the road.
It seems to be lashing down everywhere except the Sudan..........feckin' summer my ar*e!:mad:
Greenforever
20/08/2008, 10:04 AM
Greetings from Oslo, just like home, ****ing rain and expensive pints, worse than temple bar!! Crack is great though, can't be more than 100 / 150 here
stiofain
22/08/2008, 12:37 AM
FFS, i knew it would be expensive in Norway but over £7 STG a pint really took the **** (thank God for Gronland!) In comparsion, the three piece meals on offer at Burger King (burger, fries and coke) were a bargain at just £9.
Good enough performance by the lads in the first half, but the second was a write off due to the weather. Mental amount of rain in those two days!
Torn-Ado
22/08/2008, 8:33 AM
FFS, i knew it would be expensive in Norway but over £7 STG a pint really took the **** (thank God for Gronland!) In comparsion, the three piece meals on offer at Burger King (burger, fries and coke) were a bargain at just £9.
Good enough performance by the lads in the first half, but the second was a write off due to the weather. Mental amount of rain in those two days!
We were in a bar in Gronland called 'Choice'. Cheap as hell but full of alcoholics. I thought the town was fairly dead overall with not much happening anywhere. Maybe I just couldnt find the right spots.
My Ryanair refund for the direct Torp-Dub finally arrived today .... over 70 days since applying for it. Still wrecked, Left the hotel around 4.30am yesterday and just got back to Athlone at 8pm ... and straight over to Lissywollen for the 2nd half of the Ireland Spain U19 game :)
Good trip but mad expensive. 5 minute taxi trip from Central Station to my hotel worked out at around €25!
Met up with the lads from PeoplesFlag and Birmingham Irish on the plane, bit of a sing song on the bus from Torp to Oslo before the driver threatened to have the cops waiting to arrest everyone!
Met a gang(s) from Bray, Tullamore, Carlow, Dublin and Wexford in the Dubliner and then went on to the Bohemian cos the Dubliner was fairly dead, and went from there to the match. I was expecting the ref to abondon the game int he middle of the 2nd half, it was terrible conditions.
reder
22/08/2008, 12:57 PM
Well that was one expensive place. Good laugh but the bus journey from Torp to Oslo was awful. Yesterday morning I was just fuming that i hadnt forked out the extra cash and flown into the main airport.
The price of food really got me. Something as simple as a pizza was €20. I have to say that the travel organisation after the game was something to behold. We stayed til the end and walked out in the main crowd but were back in the city centre in no time. Officials and planners, take note for the new Lansdowne!
22/08/2008, 1:04 PM
20 euro's for a pizza?!
22/08/2008, 1:26 PM
20 euro's for a pizza?!
It was only €18 in the Scotsman for a pizza. :D there was I complaining and it seems like I got a bargain. You could get 2 pints for that price as well. :(
Definitely no way that Dublin is the most expensive city in Europe anymore. I was expecting it to be dear but it was ridiculous. Most things were double the price Eddie Hobbs rightly goes mad about. Glad I stayed in the hostel too when I saw the hotel prices.
The bus journey to/from torp was a nightmare. there were lots standing on our bus. Two buses left at 6am - one 95% full, the other looked 50% full. Our bus was the one that stopped to pick up passengers along the way most of whom had to stand.
City was nice, ground was nice and infrastructure in Oslo is excellent. It was easy to get to/from the stadium.
The bus journey to/from torp was a nightmare. there were lots standing on our bus. Two buses left at 6am - one 95% full, the other looked 50% full. Our bus was the one that stopped to pick up passengers along the way most of whom had to stand.
Yeah, what was the story with that? Seeing as the other bus left before ours I
expected that would have done the pick ups!
22/08/2008, 3:39 PM
I have to say that the travel organisation after the game was something to behold. We stayed til the end and walked out in the main crowd but were back in the city centre in no time. Officials and planners, take note for the new Lansdowne!
Aye - got the T-Bane arrangements down to a tee - they always have about 4 or 5 extra trains waiting a little further up outside Ullevaal Stadion Station to cater for the crowds.
One tip I should have mentioned was getting on the trains going in the other direction (where the platform is less crowded - and just riding the "Ringen" line - which goes all the way round to the City Centre in the same time as the other service) :D
Have to say the Oslo transport system of Buses, Trams and the Metro is one of the best in the world.
Met a gang(s) from Bray, Tullamore, Carlow, Dublin and Wexford in the Dubliner and then went on to the Bohemian cos the Dubliner was fairly dead, and went from there to the match. I was expecting the ref to abondon the game int he middle of the 2nd half, it was terrible conditions.
What did you think of the Bohemen? One of my usual spots when I'm over - as the beer is fairly cheap (42kr-ish per 0,5l)
newrynyuk
22/08/2008, 3:58 PM
Have to say the Oslo transport system of Buses, Trams and the Metro is one of the best in the world.
What did you think of the Bohemen? One of my usual spots when I'm over - as the beer is fairly cheap (42kr-ish per 0,5l)
Oslo was a really expensive because of the high taxes in Norway. But to be fair, you could clearly see where the money goes. The city was spotlessly clean, there was no traffic congestion, and as you say, Oslo had one of the best transport systems.
As for the Bohemian bar, top place. The beer was cheaper than anywhere else in the area (only 38Kr during the daytime!) and had several big screens. We were only going to pop in after the match for a quick pint but, you've guested it, stayed the whole night. They had England v Czech Republic, Sweden v France, Denmark v Spain and Germany v Belgium showing simultaneously. Only drawback was they didn't do grub.
Anybody identify what year that Irish team photo in the corner was from? 1974 is my guess.
Greenforever
22/08/2008, 7:03 PM
I reckoned it was 72 or 73, and settled on 72. The text at the bottom of the photo indicated that it was taken at Old Trafford prior to Irelands game against Russia.
We played the Soviet Union in 72, 73, 74, 75.
We played a German Olympic team in a friendly which may have been played in Old Traford in 72.
The Oct 74 game was the 3-0 win I think when Brady made his debut.
Anyone know for definite?
Must say the best football memoborila in any sports bar Ive been in, and great pub.
Was Mancini in the photo?? His first game was in 73.
22/08/2008, 9:29 PM
I reckoned it was 72 or 73, and settled on 72. The text at the bottom of the photo indicated that it was taken at Old Trafford prior to Irelands game against Russia.
We played the Soviet Union in 72, 73, 74, 75.
We played a German Olympic team in a friendly which may have been played in Old Traford in 72.
The Oct 74 game was the 3-0 win I think when Brady made his debut.
Anyone know for definite?
Must say the best football memoborila in any sports bar Ive been in, and great pub.
Was Mancini in the photo?? His first game was in 73.
We played a Man Utd (a Republic of Ireland XI) at Old Trafford in 1974. I think it was early 74/5 season. Assume that was photo. Never seen a photo of that team but have the programme OK.
Wish I'd found the Bohemian now. It was raining and the Scotsman looked OK. Nice pub but very very expensive.
Greenforever
22/08/2008, 9:47 PM
We played a Man Utd (a Republic of Ireland XI) at Old Trafford in 1974. I think it was early 74/5 season. Assume that was photo. Never seen a photo of that team but have the programme OK.
Wish I'd found the Bohemian now. It was raining and the Scotsman looked OK. Nice pub but very very expensive.
I reckon that was it then, Mancini was in the photo and he only played 5 matches, 1st being 73, and the Soviet Game was Oct 74, Bradys debut, and he was not in the photo.
Great pub, even had a framed photo of a Bohs LOI winning side from the 70s or even earlier, and a Rhyl scarf.
Scotsman was the biggest kip we were in, was in it on Tues after Bohemien on way to Karaoke bar!
antofact
23/08/2008, 8:59 PM
Correct.it was 74.We were sure it was 72,but checked it out.its a toss up between uruguay or chile 74.great snap alrite
reder
25/08/2008, 10:25 AM
It was only €18 in the Scotsman for a pizza. :D there was I complaining and it seems like I got a bargain. You could get 2 pints for that price as well. :(
I bought that pizza in the Scotsman. We went to TGIFs after the game cos we were starving and that was unreal. 110Kr for a cocktail (€14) and the pasta dish I got (chicken/tomato with a few chips) was a whopping 175Kr (€22). All steaks were €30+.
Hostel was the option. Our hotel was rubbish. They didnt even give us our alarm call and the breakfast was well below par.
25/08/2008, 10:40 AM
Greetings from Oslo, just like home, ****ing rain and expensive pints, worse than temple bar!! Crack is great though, can't be more than 100 / 150 here
Looking good on the TV after Keanes goal.
republic
25/08/2008, 12:32 PM
We were talking about the number of fans over during the match. Seemed to be perhaps 400-500? By all accounts more travelled to Norway than to the Denmark friendly this time last year.
Bloody expensive though. 64 Kr for a half litre in The Scotsman. Although the medium-sized pizzas were a 'reasonable' 18 euro! Just ask GSpain who was last seen tucking into one there.....
offaly16
25/08/2008, 12:41 PM
FAI officially sold 390 tickets for game
We were talking about the number of fans over during the match. Seemed to be perhaps 400-500? By all accounts more travelled to Norway than to the Denmark friendly this time last year.
Bloody expensive though. 64 Kr for a half litre in The Scotsman. Although the medium-sized pizzas were a 'reasonable' 18 euro! Just ask GSpain who was last seen tucking into one there.....
republic
25/08/2008, 12:47 PM
FAI officially sold 390 tickets for game
Thanks for the info. That sounds about right. There were a few Irish fans scattered throughout the stadium who weren't in the away end.
Greenforever
31/08/2008, 10:31 AM
Looking good on the TV after Keanes goal.
Shame about the bear beside me :D:D trying to block my ugly mug