View Full Version : Foot.ie Going to G-G-G-Galway at Easter

21/01/2008, 12:38 PM
We talked about this in the run up to the Christmas meet, at it, and then shortly afterwards for a bit. Are we up for it?

Pros:
Nice city, good place for a break as most of us don't live there, so there is the chance of an almighty session
Easier for the Limerick Massive to make it
Reasonable rates at Hotel GT & Babysis
Cheaper drink
Looonnnggg time to next major away international
League just started, so early travellers / long stayers might be able to get to a game before or after (especially pertinent for the international brigade)
Comparatively good rail, bus and air(:eek:) links to Galway from East coast, and fairly manageable from Waterford and Cork (cannot speak for the rest of the country, I'm afraid)

Cons:
Almost always wet in Galway
Easier for the Limerick Massive to make it;)
Hangover on train / bus / plane home, three days after the event
Galway time not like real time
Galway gets busy at Easter (I'm told)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Saturday 22nd March

Current likely attendees...
Babysis
Paddyfield
Sligoman
Tetsujin

21/01/2008, 12:45 PM
Pros:
Nice city, good place for a break as most of us don't live there, so there is the chance of an almighty session
Cheaper drink
League just started, so early travellers / long stayers might be able to get to a game before or after (especially pertinent for the international brigade)
Comparatively good rail, bus and air(:eek:) links to Galway from East coast, and fairly manageable from Waterford and Cork (cannot speak for the rest of the country, I'm afraid)I might be able to make it[depending on what date it's on]...that's definitely a Pro, surely?:D

21/01/2008, 12:46 PM
Pros:
Cheaper drink
Comparatively good rail, bus and air(:eek:) links to Galway from East coast, and fairly manageable from Waterford and Cork (cannot speak for the rest of the country, I'm afraid)

Cons:
Hangover on train / bus / plane home, three days after the event
Galway time not like real time
Galway gets busy at Easter (I'm told)
Mrs Raptor will be Due to give birth to mini-raptor mark 2 that week so not a hope in hell of BGR making it
or maybe that should be in pro's

21/01/2008, 1:21 PM
I'll wait until the promotional DVD is presented to give us an idea
as to why Galway should be deemed worthy of hosting such an
event

:p

Babysis
21/01/2008, 3:10 PM
Funnily enough we have just had a practice run for this meet up - Gang of mates from London came over for the weekend. After a 3 day sesh I might just be able for drink again by Easter. Galway is great fun and if people dont mind sleeping where they fall then there is plenty of room at mine and GT's.

Claret Murph
21/01/2008, 3:16 PM
I'll wait until the promotional DVD is presented to give us an idea
as to why Galway should be deemed worthy of hosting such an
event

:p

Ash you have to get the Galway chip off your shoulder ;)

Lets face it the city is a top place and I sure you will all have fun .

Try and make it when Galway United are playing at home , that will give you something to talk about good or bad .

21/01/2008, 6:01 PM
Funnily enough we have just had a practice run for this meet up - Gang of mates from London came over for the weekend. After a 3 day sesh I might just be able for drink again by Easter. Galway is great fun and if people dont mind sleeping where they fall then there is plenty of room at mine and GT's.

Jaysus, I forgot about that offer of ours:D

Paddyfield
21/01/2008, 6:51 PM
Cons:

Almost always wet in Galway me ar$e.

It is always raining in Galway.

That's why we all have such lovely complexions.

Also, there are flights into Galway Airport [it's a shed beside a straight bit of road] from Dublin, Cork, Waterford and Belfast. There are none from Athlone as of yet as there is no airport there. :D

Look up www.galwayairport.com for details.

21/01/2008, 7:19 PM
It mite be a runner for me. Depends on work, kids, football and money but put me on the possibly list.

gilberto_eire
21/01/2008, 7:21 PM
Almost always wet in Galway me ar$e.

It is always raining in Galway.

That's why we all have such lovely complexions.

Also, there are flights into Galway Airport [it's a shed beside a straight bit of road] from Dublin, Cork, Waterford and Belfast. There are none from Athlone as of yet as there is no airport there. :D

Look up www.galwayairport.com for details.

So its just Galway it rains in?.

I was under the impression we were all from ireland on here?.:D

Babysis
21/01/2008, 7:41 PM
So the tentative list then is:

Babysis
Sligoman

Any more??

21/01/2008, 8:49 PM
Ash you have to get the Galway chip off your shoulder ;)

Lets face it the city is a top place and I sure you will all have fun .

Try and make it when Galway United are playing at home , that will give you something to talk about good or bad .

We're in Terryland for pre-season so I'll be there at least once this year

21/01/2008, 9:01 PM
Pros:

Cons:

Galway?!?!

I'll try to pull a few strings with the Massive but I'd say Mars would be a safer bet :p

Paddyfield
21/01/2008, 9:02 PM
So the tentative list then is:

Babysis
Sligoman

Any more??

What's the format? Where? When? Why? How? etc

Count me in anyway.

21/01/2008, 9:04 PM
Hmm. I just might make this one.

Unless I forget.

Or just don't bother. :)

Paddyfield
21/01/2008, 9:10 PM
Hmm. I just might make this one.

Unless I forget.

Or just don't bother. :)

Just don't bother A ;)

21/01/2008, 10:35 PM
I might be able to make it[depending on what date it's on]...that's definitely a Pro, surely?:D

or maybe that should be in pro's

I think ye two boys are mixing up your pros with your cons;)

21/01/2008, 10:36 PM
Put me down as definite maybe. Depending on the day, place, etc, I might be along.

Babysis
22/01/2008, 8:22 AM
Ok, well the place would be Galway City - We are a 5min walk to Terryland.

The Easter weekend would be the obvious choice. Friday 21st March is good Friday, so Sat 22nd March would be my suggestion - May well need the bank holiday Monday to recover (plus my job gives me the tuesday off too as an extra bonus, so Im defo up for a sesh).;)

Paddyfield
28/01/2008, 7:16 PM
The Galway Comedy Festival is on Easter weekend.....
http://www.galwaycomedyfestival.com

Monkfish
29/01/2008, 4:32 AM
Galway?!?!

I'll try to pull a few strings with the Massive but I'd say Mars would be a safer bet :p

:)Too right, any nite out that includes the type of people who spend 2 months before and after the event talking about it aint for Mr Fish and his merry men! its a nite out, you get drunk, get over it! (only joking fellas, im sure it will be great);)

29/01/2008, 10:23 AM
:)Too right, any nite out that includes the type of people who spend 2 months before and after the event talking about it aint for Mr Fish and his merry men! its a nite out, you get drunk, get over it! (only joking fellas, im sure it will be great);)

Now Mr. Fish, surely you know that if you order your drinks this far in advance you can get up to 4.2% off the recommended retail price. By the way, I have this great joke I'll be telling at 20h17 - I've allowed 17 seconds for us all to chuckle at it.

While I'm here, I've done a deal with Supermacs - 24 chips each in the bag ok?

EAFC_rdfl
29/01/2008, 12:56 PM
Now Mr. Fish, surely you know that if you order your drinks this far in advance you can get up to 4.2% off the recommended retail price. By the way, I have this great joke I'll be telling at 20h17 - I've allowed 17 seconds for us all to chuckle at it.

and how many brawls do we get to see with that?! Cant beat Eyre Square S'macs!

29/01/2008, 3:13 PM
and how many brawls do we get to see with that?! Cant beat Eyre Square S'macs!

The fine people of Limerick beg to differ (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXvbeusGW6s&feature=related)

You can tell they're actually middle class by the way no one really gets hurt ;)

Monkfish
29/01/2008, 5:20 PM

Your German like planning would go down well with the 'Limerick massive':p

29/01/2008, 9:28 PM
Date: Saturday 22nd MarchFixtures are out, we're at home to Bohs. Rules me out. Ye can all rejoice now:).

Ye and yer fecking Saturday nights...I reckon a Friday would be better:D

Paddyfield
29/01/2008, 9:39 PM
Fixtures are out, we're at home to Bohs. Rules me out. Ye can all rejoice now:).

Pubs are closed Good Friday, Sligoman.

29/01/2008, 9:49 PM
Pubs are closed Good Friday, Sligoman.Forgot about that, fecking religion:o.

29/01/2008, 10:55 PM
Fixtures are out, we're at home to Bohs. Rules me out. Ye can all rejoice now:).

I know exactly what you mean - we're playing Athlone at Woolly Lizzy's that night - so close and yet so far...

Does Easter Monday float as an option B for anyone?

30/01/2008, 5:05 PM
Me and you anyway Bluebeard, a 2 man party:D.

30/01/2008, 6:14 PM
Why not Easter Sunday, Beardyboy you could stay in Athlone & head over next day or have it the Sat and go to Galway after game. I have done that before. Maybe I could collect you on my way through or I mite even go watch the match to get a measure of the competition we are facing!

31/01/2008, 11:39 AM
Why not Easter Sunday, Beardyboy you could stay in Athlone & head over next day or have it the Sat and go to Galway after game. I have done that before. Maybe I could collect you on my way through or I mite even go watch the match to get a measure of the competition we are facing!

Sounds good to me, your ladyship - let me know if you are still up for it, as the last train would be long gone; then Saturday night can be combined with the first trip to the new Smells! I'm going to hit Morton on the Friday night anyway, so it would be great to catch the Blues.

By the way, is that offer of a floor in Monaghan still good for the weekend of the last game of the season, by the way?

31/01/2008, 2:21 PM
The boys of foot.ie (http://www.jibjab.com/sendables/view/ZiGaEDxVB9CKic5W4cfSST6U) getting ready for the paaarrrttyy.

:D:D
Don't worry Bluebeard and Magicme, I spared ye, this time.

31/01/2008, 4:28 PM
Sounds good to me, your ladyship - let me know if you are still up for it, as the last train would be long gone; then Saturday night can be combined with the first trip to the new Smells! I'm going to hit Morton on the Friday night anyway, so it would be great to catch the Blues.

By the way, is that offer of a floor in Monaghan still good for the weekend of the last game of the season, by the way?

All being well I will see you at the game on Easter Saturday and we can continue forth to Galway!

I think since you are a nice guy I mite up grade you from the floor to the spare room bed or the sofa bed in the sitting room!

13/02/2008, 8:46 PM
Bumping this up to see if there is any more interest. I really need a good nite out, working hard and having no fun is wrecking my head so need something to look forward to. Trying to check out accommodation in the Galway area and so far lookin at bout €100 for myself and anyone who doesn't mind cheesy feet and wants to share.

Babysis
14/02/2008, 6:27 PM
Hello

We are really sorry, but it looks like the Easter meet up is going to have to be postponed:eek:. Now I know from the overwhelming response this thread has received that there will be many disapointed foot.ie members:rolleyes:, but myself and Green Tribe have family weddings right after Easter and its just a mental time for us. Sorry:o