View Full Version : TheCursed Value Bet Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

27/03/2008, 2:40 PM
In all fairness, you should never back an away team in a friendly, they are always happy to draw games.

I know it's too late now, but you shouldn't really back friendlies. Better off keeping your dough for the virtuals :p

TheBoss
27/03/2008, 4:04 PM
all 4 where aways it was 13-1. I'm loosing money at a ridiculous rate gone from 400+ down to 163 now

Thats gambling, you have to take the good with the bad, thats why many give up in the end cause they can not stand the bad losses.

zenokelly
27/03/2008, 6:29 PM
I like the Czechs to beat Denmark (away) @9/5.

And I think Norway are way over-priced @ 5/6 becuse it's Montenegro's first???? international and their an unknown quantity. Isn't it?

Hopefully a nice double;)

Woohoo great luck last night!

Well I'm doing a double tonight in the darts:

Taylor @ 3/10
Wade @ 4/7

Works out at a little over evens. Should win my money back.

zenokelly
27/03/2008, 9:58 PM
Woohoo great luck last night!

Well I'm doing a double tonight in the darts:

Taylor @ 3/10
Wade @ 4/7

Works out at a little over evens. Should win my money back.

Never again shall I post a bet I place on this cursed thread:mad::p

TheBoss
27/03/2008, 10:28 PM
Saw the games, looking at Jenks in the first game, he was off pace and I would have thought that Taylor would have beaten him but surprises do happen and that is why bookies exist :D

27/03/2008, 10:48 PM
New tread title, might change the luck of posts in it:D.

anto1208
27/03/2008, 11:01 PM
Liverpool to beat everton i hope my bad luck keeps going untill 6 o clock sunday :D

gilberto_eire
28/03/2008, 12:22 AM
Not for another while yet but Galway hurlers at 8/1 is a great bet, i think Ger has finally got the lads sorted. This year added to the panel is the finest keeper in the country Skehill(seriously this lad is amazing) and a player who will retire as one of the all-time greats Joe Canning(can tell you for a fact Portumna while a decent team would'nt have won an AI club without him, he's as good as having a 16th player on the pitch)

bholg
29/03/2008, 12:17 PM
Gonna try this one...

Galway Utd v Shamrock Rovers Shamrock Rovers 5/4
Cobh Ramblers v Cork Cork City 4/6
Sunderland v West Ham Sunderland 13/10
Portsmouth v Wigan Portsmouth 8/11

Worried about porsmouths dodgy home form this season ... small stake.
Bet pays almost 14-1

Its time the curse was lifted..... :ball:

red bellied
29/03/2008, 1:37 PM
Just Shams and Cork double could be good tonight.

zenokelly
29/03/2008, 4:12 PM
Gonna try this one...

Galway Utd v Shamrock Rovers Shamrock Rovers 5/4
Cobh Ramblers v Cork Cork City 4/6
Sunderland v West Ham Sunderland 13/10
Portsmouth v Wigan Portsmouth 8/11

Worried about porsmouths dodgy home form this season ... small stake.
Bet pays almost 14-1

Its time the curse was lifted..... :ball:

Going well but I'd delete that post ASAP with the cursed thread that this is!;)

bholg
30/03/2008, 5:59 PM
Typical...

would have thought Cork the safest of the 4..... ho hum...the curse endures another week...

anto1208
31/03/2008, 8:55 AM
This thread is cursed first time i didnt post any of my bets and i win 90 euro !!

TheBoss
31/03/2008, 10:25 AM
In that the case, why do the bookies always win then ?

anto1208
31/03/2008, 10:39 AM
In that the case, why do the bookies always win then ?

Coz they dont post here ! :D

31/03/2008, 11:37 AM
Have to agree with you Anto, my 4 teamer was up this weekend at odds of 11/1. It seems if you want to win yourself some cash then the last thing you should do is broadcast your picks here :eek: The last time I did it I excelled myself by getting every single one wrong :D

TheBoss
31/03/2008, 1:29 PM
Have to agree with you Anto, my 4 teamer was up this weekend at odds of 11/1. It seems if you want to win yourself some cash then the last thing you should do is broadcast your picks here :eek: The last time I did it I excelled myself by getting every single one wrong :D

11/1 = 8.33% Chance of winning

swano
31/03/2008, 4:20 PM
Munster +3 away to Gloucester @10/11 in the Heineken cup next weekend with skybet.

Handicap was put up after the last round which was months ago. Since then Gloucester have been woeful, even losing to Worcester last weekend with their strongest team. Munster have been improving all season and should do a number on the gloucester forwards.

TheBoss
31/03/2008, 5:25 PM
Away games in Rugby are often hard, You would have to be really certain it will happen if you were to put a bet on.

swano
31/03/2008, 5:31 PM
So you're telling me you are really certain when you put up 10 football matches over a day or two:confused:

I think the price is wrong as it was priced up after the last round. Form since then suggests that Munster should not be getting a 3 point start so that is why i have backed them. You can never be "certain" about any bet, but if the match is priced up wrong then it is a good value bet.

anto1208
01/04/2008, 1:01 PM
Right one last time i will chance it man Utd V Roma 0-0 7/1

01/04/2008, 1:07 PM
People sticking 4 teams in an accie and calling it value?

01/04/2008, 7:25 PM
And people thinking that by posting in the thread their selection will lose? :D

TheBoss
01/04/2008, 10:58 PM
It will come good soon, this thread just needs a few winners and the luck will spread to all :D

anto1208
02/04/2008, 8:17 AM
And people thinking that by posting in the thread their selection will lose? :D

Well ive started winning again as soon as i stopped putting them up here !!!

bholg
02/04/2008, 9:12 AM
People sticking 4 teams in an accie and calling it value?

Depends on the prices i suppose... you can see value in a big priced accumulator if it is not 6-10 results priced at 1/7 or 2/5 etc.. Four teams to pick isnt impossible by any stretch... I know my last weekends pick came a cropper, so no need to remind me.

If you are willing to take lower returns for yer cash you can do a yankee or something similar.. means you can usually get the stake back when 1 result lets you down.

With football betting unless you are putting large stakes on the only way to win a few quid is to pick a few results..

gilberto_eire
03/04/2008, 1:08 AM
Dun Doire in the Grand National on Saturday. Was cut from 33-1 to 25-1 but i've only looked at Ladbrokes might still get 33's somewhere!.
Did'nt get the ground last year and was left for dead as he's a very slow chaser but he can has bags of stamina(hence needs soft ground which it was'nt last year!)

He's as good as a cert to get around as you'll find, as his jumping is brilliant. Been following him for 2 years(he won 8-9 handicap races in a row, i had most of them and from that he became my fav. horse). His preparation last year was better, has'nt run well in his prep runs but i think he's too well priced to pass over!

bholg
03/04/2008, 8:56 AM
You will get him at 37/1 on betfair at the mo... just to up the value:)

Just looking at his form.. ran twice at aintree... fell and pulled up.... longest race he has won is 3m2f a long way off 4 1/2 miles... second recently over this distance on soft ground to -in the loop-... but he beat point barrow, who is a much shorter price

If it was to stay dry, I like Butlers Cabin - he seems to need good ground though..

Can we talk about this in another thread... not that Im superstitious or anything!!!

swano
03/04/2008, 10:51 AM
Depends on the prices i suppose... you can see value in a big priced accumulator if it is not 6-10 results priced at 1/7 or 2/5 etc.. Four teams to pick isnt impossible by any stretch... I know my last weekends pick came a cropper, so no need to remind me.

If you are willing to take lower returns for yer cash you can do a yankee or something similar.. means you can usually get the stake back when 1 result lets you down.

With football betting unless you are putting large stakes on the only way to win a few quid is to pick a few results..

In a single bet on an eircom league game the bookies price it up to 111%. On occasion they will price up a game wrong and one of the selections will be good value. They will never price a load of games wrong. By doing an accum you are multiplying the margin with every selection you add so the actual odds of winning the bet are much higher than the odds you will be getting.

Eircom league is one area where some people on here will know more and have better info than some of the bookies. If you pick your best bet every week and just put a bet on that match you will have a much better chance of being in profit at the end of the year.

03/04/2008, 11:07 AM
Cobh at 3/1 Harps at 7/4 Drogs at 2/5 and Athlone at 7/2 gets my €2 acc. €138.60 for €2 is fine by me :p Prob won't happen though but a aul laugh if it comes in :D

bholg
03/04/2008, 12:11 PM
In a single bet on an eircom league game the bookies price it up to 111%. On occasion they will price up a game wrong and one of the selections will be good value. They will never price a load of games wrong. By doing an accum you are multiplying the margin with every selection you add so the actual odds of winning the bet are much higher than the odds you will be getting.

Eircom league is one area where some people on here will know more and have better info than some of the bookies. If you pick your best bet every week and just put a bet on that match you will have a much better chance of being in profit at the end of the year.

Makes perfect sense... its hard not to be a bit adventurous (greedy) though, especially - as I said, with small stakes

gilberto_eire
03/04/2008, 5:12 PM
You will get him at 37/1 on betfair at the mo... just to up the value:)

Just looking at his form.. ran twice at aintree... fell and pulled up.... longest race he has won is 3m2f a long way off 4 1/2 miles... second recently over this distance on soft ground to -in the loop-... but he beat point barrow, who is a much shorter price

If it was to stay dry, I like Butlers Cabin - he seems to need good ground though..

Can we talk about this in another thread... not that Im superstitious or anything!!!

Don't remember him falling there but the race he was pulled up was last year, he got left behind the main group as he's a slow horse, was jumping by himself a fence or two back was only pulled up because the jockey(can't remember who) knew he had no chance of catching the main group(was'nt like a normal pull-up where the horse is struggling). If he can keep up with the pace he will have a great chance at a big price(i backed him last year at much lower odds then that)

As i said, has'nt a hope unless the ground stays soft. Had a good win at Cheltenham last year(?) with Ruby on board came up the hill like a train and passed out about 10 horses to win(great stamina for a chaser) as i've said. That's at least two occassions i can remember him coming late like that and it's an indication he can last further

swano
04/04/2008, 5:44 AM
Makes perfect sense... its hard not to be a bit adventurous (greedy) though, especially - as I said, with small stakes

Agree with that. If you're only going to be betting a tenner a week it's easy to write off and the seldom occasion you click an accum will give you more pleasure than winning small money more often.

zenokelly
04/04/2008, 4:28 PM
Dun Doire in the Grand National on Saturday. Was cut from 33-1 to 25-1 but i've only looked at Ladbrokes might still get 33's somewhere!.
Did'nt get the ground last year and was left for dead as he's a very slow chaser but he can has bags of stamina(hence needs soft ground which it was'nt last year!)

He's as good as a cert to get around as you'll find, as his jumping is brilliant. Been following him for 2 years(he won 8-9 handicap races in a row, i had most of them and from that he became my fav. horse). His preparation last year was better, has'nt run well in his prep runs but i think he's too well priced to pass over!

Well there is no value in the Grand National, one reason I don't back singles!
But this may be more value: Dun Doire to finish the Grand National 11/10 with PP.

HE's bottom weight and Tony Martin is a very smart young trainer of handicap horses.

Rovers fan
04/04/2008, 4:56 PM
HE's bottom weight and Tony Martin is a very smart young trainer of handicap horses.

I would never bet on a Tony Martin horse,he can never be trusted.

TheBoss
04/04/2008, 5:08 PM
Ok, Here I go:

Friday
Bray vs Finn Harps -> Finn Harps @ 8/5

Saturday
Arsenal vs Liverpool -> Arsenal @ 1/1
Wigan vs Birmingham -> Wigan @ 1/1
Colchester vs Ipswich -> Ipswich @ 11/10
Plymouth vs Charlton -> Plymouth @ 11/10
St Etienne vs Le Mans - > St Etienne @ 1/1

Sunday
Athletic Bilbao vs Espanyol -> Athletic Bilbao @ 1/1

TheBoss
05/04/2008, 8:51 PM
Munster +3 away to Gloucester @10/11 in the Heineken cup next weekend with skybet.

Handicap was put up after the last round which was months ago. Since then Gloucester have been woeful, even losing to Worcester last weekend with their strongest team. Munster have been improving all season and should do a number on the gloucester forwards.

You got that right, see this thread is not cursed :D

07/04/2008, 9:23 AM
Not sure about that, my 4 teamer was up again :D There must be something in it :D

JC_GUFC
07/04/2008, 9:58 AM
Maybe you're just the one cursed Boss! ;)

I saw you tipped up Bilbao, backed them myself as I'd seen Espanyol play the last 2 weeks (0-4 A v Murcia, 0-3 H v Racing) but Bilbao were v lucky. It was all Espanyol in the second half and they even missed a penalty, I think some low flying aircraft may have been taken out by the penalty!

You should have a look around for better odds though, Bilbao were available at 5/4 in places, likewise Harps were as big as 15/8. You're doing yourself out of money by backing at short odds...

http://www.bestbetting.com

is a good odds comparison site, there's also a tab on it to let you know what free bets each company offer. I know it's hassle to open accounts with 5 or 10 different bookies but it's worth it in the long run...

JC_GUFC
07/04/2008, 11:04 AM
Just a midweek bet I like the look of.

Airdrie at home to Ross County in Scots Division 2 @ 11/8.

Ross County won the league on Saturday so have obviously been on the **** all weekend. Airdrie are in second place in the league so will be looking to win to guarantee their playoff spot.

Ross County are obviously the better side but with nothing to play for away at the second best side in the division 11/8 with Betfred looks a bet to me.

Actually just on the note that I made above I had to open an account with them to get the bet on. They're offering a decent value free bet. They'll match your first bet up to €75 and then after 5 more bets of €15 or more they'll give you another €75 free bet.

TheBoss
07/04/2008, 1:04 PM
I usually use oddschecker but I just give a guide price, I know you can get better value but you probably need 10 accounts, and 1 will just do me :D

10/04/2008, 11:31 PM
Just a midweek bet I like the look of.

Airdrie at home to Ross County in Scots Division 2 @ 11/8.

Ross County won the league on Saturday so have obviously been on the **** all weekend. Airdrie are in second place in the league so will be looking to win to guarantee their playoff spot.

Ross County are obviously the better side but with nothing to play for away at the second best side in the division 11/8 with Betfred looks a bet to me.

Actually just on the note that I made above I had to open an account with them to get the bet on. They're offering a decent value free bet. They'll match your first bet up to €75 and then after 5 more bets of €15 or more they'll give you another €75 free bet.

Good tip there, thanks. :)

ForzaWexford
13/04/2008, 11:08 AM
Tyrone to beat Mayo at 5/6 with Ladbrokes. I put too much on but sure you only live once.

ForzaWexford
13/04/2008, 6:07 PM
Tyrone 0-15 Mayo 0-13. Happy Days.

TheBoss
13/04/2008, 10:08 PM
Things are changing :D

14/04/2008, 8:53 AM
Got combined odds of over 8.5/1 for Swansea, Man Utd and Portsmouth which I thought was decent enough value. Obviously Pompey let the side down to make it 3 weeks running but they were all around the evens mark.

On a side note following Anto's advice, I'd noted that Lescott hadn't scored in a few games so made a mental note last week to put some cash on him as first and anytime goalscorer for the last few league games.....

then completely forgot about it when I was in the bookies on Saturday. Chance lost now I'd say :mad:

ForzaWexford
14/04/2008, 11:22 AM
JC_GUFC reckons Drogheda are a good price at 4/5. I can only get 8/11 with Boyles.

Won 25 points yesterday on the Gaa bet, 6 of them going on the Drogs now and maybe 5 more closer to kick-off depending on team news.

anto1208
14/04/2008, 12:59 PM
Got combined odds of over 8.5/1 for Swansea, Man Utd and Portsmouth which I thought was decent enough value. Obviously Pompey let the side down to make it 3 weeks running but they were all around the evens mark.

On a side note following Anto's advice, I'd noted that Lescott hadn't scored in a few games so made a mental note last week to put some cash on him as first and anytime goalscorer for the last few league games.....

then completely forgot about it when I was in the bookies on Saturday. Chance lost now I'd say :mad:

Your not the only one that forgot to do that. Ive had such a bad run im down to 50 euro in the account i wont put any more in so my bets are gone very small. left off that lesscott one this weekend !!

14/04/2008, 5:33 PM
Small bet on Cork/Drogheda double tonight.

ForzaWexford
14/04/2008, 6:44 PM
Ok, so...

10 points Drogs 8/11
1 point Drogs -1 15/8

Tempted to put a bit more on, or maybe a double with Cork, but the amount of times I've won money 1 day and lost it all the next is stupid...