View Full Version : Kilkenny confirmed as gone

Pages : 1 [2]

Bunny Kelly
18/01/2008, 6:22 PM
The plan is to remain in the U-20 league as far as I'm aware but I don't think they'll be able to take Sporting Fingal's place in the A championship.

I'm curious what will the facility be for teams wanting to enter the A championship at future dates?

Red Army
18/01/2008, 6:51 PM
Oh my god they killed kenny:eek:

Sad to see them go:(

oldyouth
18/01/2008, 7:47 PM
Kilkenny was my 1st away game last year and it was great craic. We ripped the **** out of the home support with a chant of 'nice stand but you got no fans'. It seemed funny at the time but sad now.
As for Sporting Fingal joining the league, well I know nothing about them. More feckin Dubs in the league (and I was born and reared there 'til I saw the light)

Woody
18/01/2008, 7:54 PM
City by name bog trottin hicks by nature.

May the stick waving mutants burn in hell for letting this happen.

Bunny Kelly
18/01/2008, 8:43 PM
is there some irony in that comment coming from a Limerick 37 fan considering how well that area is able to run a club?

18/01/2008, 8:46 PM
is there some irony in that comment coming from a Limerick 37 fan considering how well that area is able to run a club?

Ah but you're forgetting the one crucial difference in this tale of two clubs...........

We're from Limerick :o

18/01/2008, 8:51 PM

is there some irony in that comment coming from a Limerick 37 fan
:D :D

18/01/2008, 9:05 PM
:D :D

I always liked to think we were considered city folk, if only because of our rampant, rampant gangland crime??

18/01/2008, 10:14 PM
seemed as they progressing under scully when they went from being the worst team in the FD to winning alot of games the season scully was there. never recovered when he left! always sad news to see a team go under

18/01/2008, 10:55 PM
Sad news. Kilkenny was a club that tried to do things the right way (e.g. investing in facilities, rather than throwing money at player's wages), yet they were hampered by the fact there just isn't the support required for a senior football club in the town at the moment. Interesting to note the contrast between comments here and those for when Dublin City demised (a club who didn't try to do things the right way...!).

I hope they can regroup in Intermediate football and eventually return at some point via the A League and promotion. Would be a fitting way for them to return.

As for Sporting Fingal.... !!! :eek: Anyone geneuinly think they will turn out to be much more than Dublin City did ? It's hard to see it. Tullamore would've been a better replacement choice for me.

Neish
19/01/2008, 10:14 AM
Sad day for football when a local club can only get a couple of hundred(if that?) to their home games whilst the pubs in the town are probably packed with so called football fans sitting on their bar stools yelling at the TV showing games being played in a different country.

The Man Himself
19/01/2008, 12:04 PM
its a sad day for irish football when the nobheads in the fai hands a nobhead like terry venables a million quid a year and leave an irish club go out of buissness for the sake of a few grand.

Den Perry
19/01/2008, 1:53 PM
Sad news - but best to withdraw for a short while now than in the throes of a winding up order.

I suppose it'll be Sp Fingal in to replace them - that's all we need for the League - another Dublin club

Good point, thought the FAI mght have tried to help a bit more

Den Perry
19/01/2008, 1:54 PM
Sad day for football when a local club can only get a couple of hundred(if that?) to their home games whilst the pubs in the town are probably packed with so called football fans sitting on their bar stools yelling at the TV showing games being played in a different country.

I couldn't agree with you more. Some locals should be ashamed

Den Perry
19/01/2008, 1:57 PM
[QUOTE=Bunny Kelly;857176]There wasn't much to support either though, for all the prudence off the pitch there wasn't enough done on the pitch. I'm sure many people here will go on about supporting a team through thick & thin but when you have year after year dross on the pitch it can wear the best of fans down.

When Kilkenny beat Limerick in August it was the first time in over a year they had won at Buckley Park & they managed just 3 wins in the last 2 seasons at home. Also Pat Scully's side is the only one in the last 6 seasons that averaged more than a point a game, with records like that over a consistant time every club will be hurt by fallen attendences.

It's too easy to just blame people in Kilkenny for not going to matches

All the work off the pitch? I 've seen players doing warm ups in a variety of tops, none provided by the club...that is not the players or team management fault, and you may say its a small thing but its no good for morale

Keen2win
19/01/2008, 1:59 PM
Sad day:(

nedder
19/01/2008, 7:56 PM
I couldn't agree with you more. Some locals should be ashamed

which locals should be ashamed more that others???

19/01/2008, 8:02 PM
sad to see kilkenny go.. it was a ground da town had a mixed record in( ie fai cup 2003 kilkenny knocked us out in buckley park in fai cup) but I always enjoyed the trip...

strange timing that I was about to read jim rhattigans book.....:(

Sonic
19/01/2008, 8:02 PM
Another Dublin team just what the eircom league needs:rolleyes:

Den Perry
19/01/2008, 11:33 PM
which locals should be ashamed more that others???

Those that sit watching football in the pub instead of supporting their local League side

oriel
20/01/2008, 6:01 PM
Very sorry to see Kilkenny drop out. I used to love my trips down there, been about 3 or 4 times, first time was 94/95 season.

Slightly off topic, but for this cup game we signed an unkown english striker as you did in those days for the cup, anyway it was his debut and he scored a couple, his name...........tony loughlin, now keane's ass mgr in sunderland. (i`ve no idea what he has done since leaving us to re-emerging at sunderland + i`m fairly certain sure sund`d fans had never heard of him)

anyway - buckley park was a great little ground, loved the new stand behind the goal, but the location was crazy so far outside of the city.

KianD
20/01/2008, 6:13 PM

Was possibly more (non Harps) people watching the EPL game in the one pub we congregated in before the match than Kilkenny fans at the game - their last senior game as it ended up being...

21/01/2008, 3:04 PM
Sad news. Kilkenny was a club that tried to do things the right way (e.g. investing in facilities, rather than throwing money at player's wages), yet they were hampered by the fact there just isn't the support required for a senior football club in the town at the moment. Interesting to note the contrast between comments here and those for when Dublin City demised (a club who didn't try to do things the right way...!).
Absolutely. Some of that is because Kilkenny has long been perceived as harmless, but whatever the reason, there's a lot of affection here for the club.

I hope they can regroup in Intermediate football and eventually return at some point via the A League and promotion. Would be a fitting way for them to return.
I think nearly everyone would agree.

As for Sporting Fingal.... !!! :eek: Anyone geneuinly think they will turn out to be much more than Dublin City did ? It's hard to see it. Tullamore would've been a better replacement choice for me.
Hard to say. There seems to be investment there - not just spending money they don't have. There also seems to be the intent to target one local in Dublin in sharp contrast with Continuity Home Farm's aspiration to be the Dublin club. Regardless, it's far from certain they'll be with us for long.

At the fans' forum on Saturday, Fran Gavin explained the decision. Last year there was (and will be every year from now) a call for applications to the A league. They got 5 replies. An IAG was let loose on those clubs. 4 passed, one failed. When Kilkenny dropped out, they offered the spot to the highest scoring team from the IAG. It might not be ideal, but at least it's fair - there were no sporting criteria to pick them on.

21/01/2008, 4:11 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4uyNaaCXHk

21/01/2008, 4:39 PM
Awful shame that Kilkenny are gone, one of the few grounds where you can openly have a few cans while watching the game. :) ;)

Jinxy
22/01/2008, 12:40 PM

May the stick waving mutants burn in hell for letting this happen.

I think you'll find a lot of people in Cork, Tipp, Galway, Limerick, Waterford, Clare, Offaly etc. are equally disgusted that the young men of Kilkenny have not developed a taste for soccer.:D

22/01/2008, 3:28 PM
At the fans' forum on Saturday, Fran Gavin explained the decision. Last year there was (and will be every year from now) a call for applications to the A league. They got 5 replies. An IAG was let loose on those clubs. 4 passed, one failed. When Kilkenny dropped out, they offered the spot to the highest scoring team from the IAG. It might not be ideal, but at least it's fair - there were no sporting criteria to pick them on.

Who failed the A League IAG process John ?

22/01/2008, 3:29 PM
Who failed the A League IAG process John ?
Gavin didn't say.

22/01/2008, 3:31 PM
Gavin didn't say.

Hmmmm - wonder who it was.

Somebody mentioned on a post that they thought Letterkenny Rovers failed to get a license, IIRC ?

22/01/2008, 6:18 PM
It was Letterkenny afaik.

22/01/2008, 8:26 PM
Hmmmm - wonder who it was.

Somebody mentioned on a post that they thought Letterkenny Rovers failed to get a license, IIRC ?

I remember posting something from an article before saying that a club had declined an invitation to apply for the A Championship. It was a Donegal club, either Letterkenny or Fanad.

Blanchflower
23/01/2008, 9:23 AM
next question what happens the ground, prime land will be kept or sold?

It just says they are resigning from the LOI - will they not be playing next season at a lower level?

23/01/2008, 10:06 AM
I remember posting something from an article before saying that a club had declined an invitation to apply for the A Championship. It was a Donegal club, either Letterkenny or Fanad.

So wonder who got refused then.... ?

23/01/2008, 11:40 AM
It just says they are resigning from the LOI - will they not be playing next season at a lower level?Rhatigan said on the radio that they hope to be playing in the under-20 league in Buckley Park.

23/01/2008, 4:02 PM
So wonder who got refused then.... ?

Letterkenny withdrew, Fanad applied but were refused.

Rob_the_cat
23/01/2008, 5:07 PM
Very sorry to see Kilkenny drop out. I used to love my trips down there, been about 3 or 4 times, first time was 94/95 season.

Slightly off topic, but for this cup game we signed an unkown english striker as you did in those days for the cup, anyway it was his debut and he scored a couple, his name...........tony loughlin, now keane's ass mgr in sunderland. (i`ve no idea what he has done since leaving us to re-emerging at sunderland + i`m fairly certain sure sund`d fans had never heard of him)

I remember that game, though not tony loughlin! That was in the infamous winless season.

Dundalk won 5-0, though my abiding memory of the game was of a group of boozed up Dundalk fans serenading our keeper Brian Murphy to the tune of Guantanemera - 'worst (insert expletive) goalie!

For another bizarre aside Brian, who was a former Kerry minor, subsequently moved to play with Naomh Barrog in Dublin, and ended up on the Dubs panel. I could not believe my eyes on the day the Dubs played Armagh in the 2003 qualifiers to see him coming off the bench after Stephen Cluxton was sent off!

Thanks for the memories lads.

Den Perry
23/01/2008, 9:58 PM
Rhatigan said on the radio that they hope to be playing in the under-20 league in Buckley Park.

Don't know where they'll get the players....

amjl
24/01/2008, 8:08 AM
Don't know where they'll get the players....
They should be able to get a team of young lads together, as they were able to get a team for the U-21 league the last few seasons. Most of the U-21's ended up on the first team for the 2nd half of last season when Breandan & then Tommy left leaving to Noel to looking after things.