View Full Version : Help urgently needed
17/01/2008, 8:20 PM
I need to try get my dad home from Florida as quickly as possible and the only flights I seem to be able to get wont have him home til saturday. Does anyone know of any airlines that fly from florida to here or UK or how you go about getting home in an emergency??
Any help would be appreciated as am going off my head here.
17/01/2008, 8:48 PM
bump...........
17/01/2008, 8:58 PM
thats from the oneworld website.
Star Alliance (http://www.staralliance.com/flightSearchAction.do?language=en&fromAirportCode=JAX&toAirportCode=DUB&returnTrip=true&From=Jacksonville+FL+%5BJAX%5D%2C+United+States&fromLat=&fromLon=&departureDay=18&departureMonth=01&departureYear=2008&To=Dublin+%5BDUB%5D%2C+Ireland&toLat=&toLon=&returnDay=24&returnMonth=01&returnYear=2008)Just realised they're all Saturday arrivals.
The Star one there arrives at Dublin 10.15am.
Best bet is to tell him to go to the airport now as flights can be bought at airport on the day but online only the day before.
Paddyfield
17/01/2008, 8:59 PM
Look up www.ebookers.ie which is a reliable fligh search engine which will consider multuple stops.e.g. via NY or try American website www.travelocity.com.
Keep in mind that if one of the sites suggests, say Delta, to fly via NY, then go to the official airline website for a marginally better price and maybe more options.
17/01/2008, 9:03 PM
Thanks guys.
Armando
17/01/2008, 9:08 PM
Early Sat morning into Dublin if you can't find anything sooner:
Jetblue
Fri, 18 Jan 08
Flight 56
11:45 AM Depart Orlando, FL (MCO)
2:10 PM Arrive New York, NY (JFK)
Aer lingus
Fri 18 Jan
Flight 104
17:40 PM Depart NY(JFK)
05:10 AM Arrive Dub
Edit: Jetblue also fly from 7 other Florida airports all to JFK pretty regularly, I think?.... Just in case he's not near Orlando.
17/01/2008, 9:15 PM
Thanks Armando.
My granny had a heart attack at about 7.30 this evening but she is now apparently awake and joking with my mum and aunt. Still not out of danger but we are a bit more hopeful so dad will prob come home tomorrow. Will let him know about that flight.
Thanks everyone.
xxx
All the best to your gran magicme, hope shes home again soon.
Armando
17/01/2008, 9:27 PM
Hope she continues to improve and makes a speedy recovery.
Take care:ball:
17/01/2008, 9:28 PM
She will be 86 in 2 weeks time and I hope we are helping her blow out the candles on her cake.
stojkovic
17/01/2008, 9:29 PM
Also if he can get himself to Atlanta (nearest hub) he will have a better choice of flights.
What date? My own nan is 90 in two weeks ! any chance her name is Bridget?
I asked her what she wanted for her birthday?
She replied " well people get E21 for their 21st birthday, so why cant I get E90 ?"
17/01/2008, 9:35 PM
Ha ha. Sweet. Her birthday is on the 2nd of Feb and her name is Theresa! I dont know whether I should go to sleep and hope for the best or stay up and if she is ok be totally wrecked in work tomorrow.
get some sleep for yourself, those women are as tough as nails and shes in the right place to be at the moment.
17/01/2008, 9:47 PM
I am scared to sleep. when my other granny died I was out partying and felt so guilty about not being there for my dad until next morning.
17/01/2008, 10:11 PM
Ha ha. Sweet. Her birthday is on the 2nd of Feb and her name is Theresa! I dont know whether I should go to sleep and hope for the best or stay up and if she is ok be totally wrecked in work tomorrow.
My birthday is 2nd of Feb too!
Do get some sleep though, I remember when my nan was ill in hospital a few years back and I was the same as yourself, and she came out of it grand and gave me a clip across the ear for worrying so much, so hopefully your nan will get to do the same Magicme
17/01/2008, 10:19 PM
Thanks. Right think I will sleep. Havent done much of it this week coz was so stressed bout new job and some other things. Been one rough ride of a week.
gilberto_eire
17/01/2008, 11:16 PM
sorry to hear.:( prayers with ya!!
god i think anyone would give there right-arm for that many years!!.
18/01/2008, 8:54 AM
All the best magicme, hope she's better this morning
stann
18/01/2008, 10:30 AM
Just saw this now Magicme. Sorry to hear it girl, fingers crossed, hope your Gran's better today.
18/01/2008, 10:32 AM
Fingers crossed this side of the water too, MM, hope she is getting better.
18/01/2008, 12:40 PM
It looks like all the crossing of fingers and prayers have helped. She was sitting up picking out of the nurses today and is making a great recovery. There is still some damage done and will know better later today how much but she is her old irrepressible self!
She had an oxygen mask on and commented "I'm like a dog with a muzzle". Another good thing is that her mind lets her forget stuff so in a few days she wont even remember being sick!
Thanks for all the help and good wishes people. Funny how when I was stressed I turned to you lot and got what I needed! xxx
ramsfan
18/01/2008, 12:43 PM
just read the thread sorry to hear about your gran, hope she is up and about soon:D
18/01/2008, 12:52 PM
well she hasnt been able to walk for a few years now so wont be much up and abouting but she will hopefully be back to herself pretty shortly.
thanks.
18/01/2008, 1:32 PM
That's great news .Is your dad still coming over ?
18/01/2008, 5:15 PM
No he decided to stay. He is trying to do some business over there and its best he doesnt come home unless he is really needed. As she seems to be coming along nicely he is going to sit tight.