View Full Version : St Pats ground

Steve Bruce
17/01/2008, 3:47 PM
What is it like?

The reason why I'm asking is because last season, we went to do the Brandywell and we where restricted to a few hundred, the same at United Park,

Is this going to happen here as well?

17/01/2008, 3:50 PM
Any chance you could have either

a) used Google

b) posted it in the Pats Forum

Steve Bruce
17/01/2008, 3:53 PM

a) used Google

a) I thought this was an Eircom league site so thought it would be better asking here.

b) Team forums are not very activeon this site, so thought it was pointless.

But the most fascinating thing is you took the time to say all that rather than be a nice fella and give me an answer:rolleyes:

BillyG
17/01/2008, 3:54 PM
Visit here then

http://www.saintsforum.net/forum/

Danny
17/01/2008, 3:54 PM
its a great ground....
main stand about 2000 seats.
"shed" terrace behind 1 goal
Terrace on the other side facing the main stand.

Dont exactly know whats behind the other goal at the moment
There was 1000 temporary seats there for our european game and for our last few home games last season and the rumour was they were to stay in place for this season.
Away fans were put in the temporary stand so if thats the case you could get up to 1000 seats.

The club owns a pub just outside the stadium which will hopefully be open for away fans

www.saintsforum.net is our MB, post on there to keep the derry fans quiet :rolleyes:

sfc red
17/01/2008, 4:06 PM
What is it like?

The words "absolute" and "hole" come to mind.

The Man Himself
17/01/2008, 4:19 PM

a) used Google

the chap only asked a question,
some grumpy old sods on here :rolleyes:

Buller
17/01/2008, 4:21 PM

a) used Google

c) posted on a League of Ireland website.

17/01/2008, 4:25 PM
c) posted on a League of Ireland website.

There's never just A and B
there's Always C.

17/01/2008, 6:13 PM
Jesus ****ing christ lads...

Moved anyway.

18/01/2008, 12:21 PM

Hee hee. The words "Premier" and "Division" come to my mind for some reason....

To answer the original question. Richmond has improved a lot in the last few seasons. It's a fine compact ground by LOI standards now. The seats behind the goal still seem to be in place so I'd guess they're there for the season. Plenty of room for Linfield fans there I'd say.

Titan
18/01/2008, 12:36 PM
What is it like?

The reason why I'm asking is because last season, we went to do the Brandywell and we where restricted to a few hundred, the same at United Park,

Is this going to happen here as well?

Freaudian slip I hope!:eek:

Paddyfield
19/01/2008, 10:13 PM

Literally a hole.

There used to be a slope on the pitch which was rectified when St Pat's dug it up and sunk the pitch to make it more even. So it is indeed an absolute hole.

20/01/2008, 12:34 AM
Literally a hole.

There used to be a slope on the pitch which was rectified when St Pat's dug it up and sunk the pitch to make it more even. So it is indeed an absolute hole.

Thats not true at all. It was actually raised to the level it is now...

Patrick Dunne
20/01/2008, 4:37 AM
An elevated hole ?

20/01/2008, 11:20 AM
Nope, its called an amphitheatre.

LeviathanNI
22/01/2008, 4:22 PM
I doubt we will get 1000 tickets.. so how many do you reckon we will get? Apparently Portadown only got 300.. which is a bit ****e tbh..

22/01/2008, 6:44 PM
I doubt we will get 1000 tickets.. so how many do you reckon we will get? Apparently Portadown only got 300.. which is a bit ****e tbh..

They didn't even bring that many. You'll get one stand to yourselves (uncovered) but whether they have a section cordoned off for security or not I'm not sure (I'd guess yeah). That stand holds about 1,000

LeviathanNI
22/01/2008, 6:47 PM
We usually do bring a good crowd with us, and up to now there has been no trouble with us in any other games... but I am picking up some bad vibes about this one for some reason.. is there a reason why we should be aprehensive (not that it matters as we will be there regardless)?

Danny
23/01/2008, 9:54 AM
first linfield SSC game in dublin (bar the final v shels when there was a bit of trouble)
It'll be a big test for the security and our club to stop the sellthick/sf heads who fancy causing a bit of trouble.
you wont get any trouble from the majority of pats fans tho and hopefully it passes off peacefully.

portadown had a few issues but they were all with the gardai rather than the fans, in fact alot of them had a good few pints in the bar with us.

23/01/2008, 7:39 PM
in fact alot of them had a good few pints in the bar with us.

Which was mainly the cause of the aggro. Some were ridiculously drunk. And I say that as someone who enjoys being drunk at football.

Stato
18/02/2008, 2:17 PM

Portadown only got 300 tickets because:
a) the new stand wasn't built at the time
b) they told the club they only needed 300 tickets (and didn't sell anything like that amount)

The official capacity of the new stand is just under 1000 but your ticket allocation will probably depend on which part of the ground you're given and that will be down to the Gardai and not the club. The main problem with the ground is that there are only two entrances, the main turnstiles and the "archway" gate.

For instance, for the Portadown match the Gardai insisted on the eastern end of the main stand being allocated to Portadown fans so that their supporters' coaches could be securely parked in the Royal Hospital Kilmainham and they could be escorted by the Gardai to the archway entrance and be completely segregated from Pats fans.

The problem with the new stand is that both sets of supporters have to use the same turnstiles to access it so the likelihood is that the Gardai won't allow that.