Danny
15/01/2008, 10:56 AM
from bulgarian site

http://bfunion.bg/downloads/256,1,

Danny
15/01/2008, 10:57 AM
if that link dont work go here

http://www.bfunion.bg/index.php?request=news&set_month=1&news_id=833 and select 1st link

Danny
15/01/2008, 11:02 AM
Georgia a 6/9/08
Montenegro a 10/9/08
Cyprus h 15/10/08
Georgia h 11/2/09
Bulgaria h 28/3/09
Italy a 1/4/09
Bulgaria a 6/6/09
Cyprus a 5/9/09
Italy h 10/10/09
Montenegro h 14/10/09

the ox
15/01/2008, 11:04 AM
On FAI website

6th September 2008: Georgia v Republic of Ireland

10th September 2008: Montenegro v Republic of Ireland

15th October 2008: Republic of Ireland v Cyprus

11th February 2009: Republic of Ireland v Georgia

28th March 2009: Republic of Ireland v Bulgaria

1st April 2009: Italy v Republic of Ireland

6th June 2009: Bulgaria v Republic of Ireland

5th September 2009: Cyprus v Republic of Ireland

10th October 2009: Republic of Ireland v Italy

14th October 2009: Republic of Ireland v Montenegro

15/01/2008, 11:04 AM
Bulgaria away in June will be fairly warmish I'm guessing!

AidoM
15/01/2008, 11:07 AM
On FAI site

FIFA World Cup 2010 - Group 8 Qualifying Fixtures

15/01/2008, 11:08 AM
[QUOTE]28th March 2009: Republic of Ireland v Bulgaria

6th June 2009: Bulgaria v Republic of IrelandQUOTE]

those fixtures decide it basically for us, before them points mean nothing. Afterwards, we will know if we are going to qualify or not or should do avoiding a stupid slip-up thereafter.

at least our last 2 games are at home, so its in our hands from that point of view.

15/01/2008, 11:11 AM
Paul we could be out of it by game 3! Those two first away games look intimidating.

Drumcondra 69er
15/01/2008, 11:11 AM
We'll need to get points on the board early, 4 of the last 6 games are against Bulgaria and Italy with an away trip to Cyprus thrown in and all.....

Would've sooner had Italy last game, they may need something from us in the second last one.

15/01/2008, 11:14 AM
Given that we had to play our first 2 games away, they're the two most people would have gone for.

Then with 3 games at home it's a real chance to actually hit the ground running.

Any points at all in Italy will be unexpected so that game on 28th March will be a big one.

I'm a little concerned that Montenegro might be harder to play away early just because of all the fuss and furore about entering a team for the first time etc.

I think if we can remain undefeated and have at least 3 wins in the bag by the time we get to Italy it'll be a good start.

15/01/2008, 11:15 AM
We'll need to get points on the board early, 4 of the last 6 games are against Bulgaria and Italy with an away trip to Cyprus thrown in and all.....

Would've sooner had Italy last game, they may need something from us in the second last one.

They may need to beat us to stay in it. don't be so sure Italy will top group. don't be surprised if we get the right manager and win the group

Dr. Ogba
15/01/2008, 11:18 AM
On FAI website

What a huge 3 fixtures in a row. We need a minimum of 5 points to have any chance of qualifying....anything less and we're done...

15/01/2008, 11:20 AM
Paul we could be out of it by game 3! Those two first away games look intimidating.We're a mediocre team - every game is intimidating!

Loads of marginal games there - games that are tough to call, but, let's be positive, they are winnable.

Both the two early away games are winnable, as are the next 3 home games. It's a big big ask, but I hope the new manager dopesn't adopt the conservative "draw away win at home" mentality. Every game is a cup final.

Dr. Ogba
15/01/2008, 11:20 AM
Paul we could be out of it by game 3! Those two first away games look intimidating.

spot on. Scotland lost away to Georgia when they were flying high and, well, Montenegro is just a complete unknown quantity so anything could happen.

Saying that, if we got 6 points from those we would already have a major advantage over our rivals...

Drumcondra 69er
15/01/2008, 11:21 AM
They may need to beat us to stay in it. don't be so sure Italy will top group. don't be surprised if we get the right manager and win the group

I'm not but there's a batter chance they'll have qualified before the last game then the second last, that's the point!

Saint Tom
15/01/2008, 11:24 AM
will be a disaster getting from tbilisi to podgorica

15/01/2008, 11:25 AM
What a huge 3 fixtures in a row. We need a minimum of 5 points to have any chance of qualifying....anything less and we're done...
From those games? Say we get 4 from Bulgaria and none aginst Italy? Even share the spoils with Bulgaria?

I can see us matching Bulgaria head to head, so maybe nicking a point from Italy could be crucial, but realistically it's maximising points from the lowest seeded teams that'll determine our fate.

15/01/2008, 11:27 AM
I typed the details for the Eastern Europe/Asia double-header into ebookers and the website LAUGHED at me :eek:

15/01/2008, 11:27 AM
I'm not but there's a batter chance they'll have qualified before the last game then the second last, that's the point!
which would mean that the best we can hope for is a playoff. I don't know I rekon we can do enough to win the group assuming Italy and Bulgaria take points off each other and possibly georgia taking points off bulgaria If we stay un-beaten against the bulgarians and italians (four draws would nearly do it) and win the rest we can qualify directly. I know it's not easy but it is doable, I'm sure we were one of the least favorable 3rd seeds to be drawn with. no one fancies playing us away ,even cyprus

Torn-Ado
15/01/2008, 11:28 AM
Those fixtures aren't too bad at all. The first three games will be pivotal. If there is a chance we can get maximum points (and the quality in our squad should be able to achieve that) from them we'll be doing exceptionally well.

But this is Ireland so I'm not brimming with confidence.

lionelhutz
15/01/2008, 11:29 AM

Isnt the optimism wonderful??

I think the fixture list will suit us very well. If we could get a win in Georgia in the 1st game - which is a very tough place to win, ask Scotland - confidence will be sky high and i think we'd win the next 3 games. 12 points from 12 going in to the game against Bulgaria at home and the atmosphere will be electric. I believe its all about getting a win in Georgia and things could take off from there.......

I'm really looking forward to it now......

15/01/2008, 11:31 AM
We're a mediocre team - every game is intimidating!

Loads of marginal games there - games that are tough to call, but, let's be positive, they are winnable.

Both the two early away games are winnable, as are the next 3 home games. It's a big big ask, but I hope the new manager dopesn't adopt the conservative "draw away win at home" mentality. Every game is a cup final.

There isn't one 'gimme' in our group and it's a group that will go right down to the wire IMO because there isn't a San Marino or Andorra which in theory would be a guaranteed 6 points for the other decent sides. Montenegro are the dark horses - an unknown quantity but at least we'll get to see em play Bulgaria before we meet.

At home we aren't a bad side (Cyprus exempt) but our away form needs to improve for us to have any chance. Like you say I hope the new manager changes our mentality when playing away. If we are to qualify we need away wins in every destination bar Italy (and probably Bulgaria) where a draw would be an excellent result.

Maroon 7
15/01/2008, 11:32 AM
Well first thing is if we could get 4 points from the first two away games it would be a decent start. Three home games in a row after that and those home games all have to be won. That would leave us on 13 points at the half way stage but with the two games against Italy and the away trip to Bulgaria to come in the more difficult second half of the fixtures. Not to mention the away trip to Cyprus.

aidz1
15/01/2008, 11:34 AM
grand fixture list

going to give the georgia game a miss.
will book montenegro shortly i think..

wont be able to book any of the games for 2009 for another 6+months

15/01/2008, 11:38 AM
I know they play us second but does anyone know who Montenegro pop their competetive international cherry against?

lionelhutz
15/01/2008, 11:39 AM
From those games? Say we get 4 from Bulgaria and none aginst Italy? Even share the spoils with Bulgaria?

I can see us matching Bulgaria head to head, so maybe nicking a point from Italy could be crucial, but realistically it's maximising points from the lowest seeded teams that'll determine our fate.

Agreed. if we can him at home against Bulgaria and beat the weaker teams early on - which is a massive ask for Ireland, i know, but should be achievable - then we're in a excellent position. Anything got in Italy is a bonus

15/01/2008, 11:40 AM
I know they play us second but does anyone know who Montenegro pop their competetive international cherry against?

Bulgaria at home - right before we play there.

15/01/2008, 11:42 AM
Bulgaria at home - right before we play there.

Balls. I'd have rathered they'd an easier ride first time out.

Noelys Guitar
15/01/2008, 11:43 AM
I wonder if our new manager whoever that may be had any input from a distance on the fixtures? Looking forward to the group kicking off and happy enough with our fixtures. We need maximum points from our first 5 games to have a real chance of winning the group.

Claret Murph
15/01/2008, 11:43 AM
I would say if we win the first two up it would give us a great lift , looking forward to it already .

15/01/2008, 11:45 AM
Will there be a friendly attached for the same week, or November? It'll be hard to sell tickets against Cyprus as a standalone fixture.

15/01/2008, 11:46 AM
I dunno. New manager, start of a campaign, clean slate and all that.

Drumcondra 69er
15/01/2008, 11:58 AM
Will there be a friendly attached for the same week, or November? It'll be hard to sell tickets against Cyprus as a standalone fixture.

It'll be sold within the package of qualifiers, you have to confirm numbers from the off and then pay them in installments, they won't be sold in pairs.

onephillyhughes
15/01/2008, 12:07 PM
Personally, would be delighted with 4 points from those first 2 games. Look what Georgia did to a high flying Scotland. We're notorious for struggling in the eastern bloc, so I'd have someones hand off if they handed me 4 points from those 2. Beating Cyprus is a must. They'll fancy it big time, our boys will have to be seriously fired up.

I'm struggling to be overly optimistic, hopefully the appointment of erm..Deschamps :D will change that.

15/01/2008, 12:11 PM
Bulgaria's full fixture list:

06.09.2008 Montenegro (a)
11.10.2008 Italy (h)
15.10.2008 Georgia (a)
28.03.2009 Ireland (a)
01.04.2009 Cyprus (h)
06.06.2009 Ireland (h)
05.09.2009 Montenegro (h)
09.09.2009 Italy (a)
10.10.2009 Cyprus (a)
14.10.2009 Georgia (h)

15/01/2008, 12:14 PM

11.10.2008 Italy (h)
15.10.2008 Georgia (a)
28.03.2009 Ireland (a)
01.04.2009 Cyprus (h)
06.06.2009 Ireland (h)
05.09.2009 Montenegro (h)
09.09.2009 Italy (a)
10.10.2009 Cyprus (a)
14.10.2009 Georgia (h)

You'd have to think Bulgaria will be happy with having us in june and finishing off with two quite winable games as well.

fergalr
15/01/2008, 12:15 PM
Balls. I'd have rathered they'd an easier ride first time out.
No - in fact its perfect that our main rivals get the banana skin fixture. We can go there and pick up three points while they are still hungover from their first ever competitive win.

15/01/2008, 12:15 PM
It could be all over or absolutely game on for either Bulgaria or ourselves after only 4 games.

citizenerased
15/01/2008, 12:18 PM
Good fixtures esp if get 3 pts in the first game...

lads nightmare to get to these games from a double header point of view goin to cost a bomb..

fergalr
15/01/2008, 12:20 PM

11.10.2008 Italy (h)
15.10.2008 Georgia (a)
28.03.2009 Ireland (a)

With optimistic hat on ....

Tough opening 4 games there - easy to see them dropping points. Hopefully us beating them at home will then open up a good gap which means that we can travel to Italy and Bulgaria knowing that getting anything from those two games will be a super extra bonus party.

Wolfie
15/01/2008, 12:22 PM
will be a disaster getting from tbilisi to podgorica

On FAI website

All first games are important but the Georgia game could really set the tone. If we could get to Christmas 08 with 9 points from 9 it would be the first part of the job done. Concentrate on the first three and take it from there.

15/01/2008, 12:27 PM
Fair play to any fan who makes both the first 2 games. Maybe one of the agents will charter a trip, otherwise it's a mare.

Anyway, there's little that announcing the fixtures changes that we didn't already know. We have to play one world class team, a very good European team and 3 of the toughest mid-low seeds. Bar Italy and Bulgaria away however there is not one game that we can not reasonably expect to win with a good performance. With everyone fit, well organised and motivated we can do this.

These are no games for the Andy Keoghs, Shane Longs. Experience can be critical here, especially at the back.

fergalr
15/01/2008, 12:28 PM

I thought I read that the agreement for the use of Croker was for 2 games in Oct 07, one in Mar 08 and two in Oct 09. Are we sure that the Gaaliban are lettting us in for this date too?

SuperDave
15/01/2008, 12:42 PM
It could be all over or absolutely game on for either Bulgaria or ourselves after only 4 games.

well, it will hardly be over for bulgaria after four games, given our patented ability to feck up monumentally.

we could win our first five, then lose the next four on the bounce. lets not pretend its not a serious possibility.

galwayhoop
15/01/2008, 12:44 PM
Are we sure that the Gaaliban are lettting us in for this date too?

it actually annoys me that were it not for the GAA then ALL of the fixtures would be away from home yet some still find it in their narrow minds to keep poking fun at them.......

ANNNNNNNNNNNNNYYYYYWAAAAAYYYYYYYYYY

i think that the delegation who went over to sort out the fixtures got it about as good as they could. With us having to play away for our first 2 fixtures our hands were fairly tied but at least we are not playing Italy or Bulgaria first (a tactic which has rarely worked). It will allow the new manager to play against middling opposition in very winnable games as he is only getting used to the players (assuming he is appointed by then :o).

it is a tough group with no 'gimmes' but at least we are playing the last 2 games at home.

credit where it is due to Delaney and his cohorts on this couple of days work, for once ye didn't make a mess of the situation and deserve credit for what was achieved. Now will ye ever get the manager sorted out before I go potty with all the speculation.........

TheBoss
15/01/2008, 1:01 PM
I think the fixtures are great, we have arguably the 2 most bogey games first 2 and that could help us for once instead of playing them 3rd or higher, Beat Cyprus at Croker and followed by Georgia, we realistically could have 12 points going into the Bulgaria game.

15/01/2008, 1:25 PM

agree, having montenegro in one of their first ever home qualifiers will be very very tough

WembleyGreen
15/01/2008, 1:38 PM
Interesting sequence of fixtures Bulgaria(h) Italy(a) Bulgaria(h) those 3 games are where the men will be sorted from the boys and it could go either way, a home win followed by a draw in Italy and a draw in Bulgaria would make me happy. Then followed by a trip back to the nightmare of Nicosia, a win here is a must this time around. Away to Georgia? it'll be no picnic but with a new man at the helm and some renewed confidence and fresh start, we might even bag the 3 points and that would get us off to a flyer. Montenegro? These are the unknown unknowns, most of these Balkans are pretty good technically and being new kids on the block they will have plenty of fire in their belly much akin to their Macedonian neighbours, need I say anymore? Someone will have to some extensive homework on them and gauge their ability, somehow I don't think they're gonna be another San Marino! Yeah I know! For travelling purposes the away games (apart from the first 2) are doable so not bad from that point of view. Fair play to Delaney and co, I think they did the best they could on this one given the restrictions on home games.

WembleyGreen
15/01/2008, 1:39 PM
oops I meant Bulgaria(a)

irishfan86
15/01/2008, 1:44 PM
I feel like I'm in some sort of bizarro dream world: Delaney's name has been attached to something and not ONE person is baying for blood?!?!