View Full Version : Favourite Advert as a Kid????
11/06/2003, 3:59 PM
on another post i just mentioned telly spongers (anyone remember those?) and it got the mind going....
Pandas roller skating for KitKat,
'my name's fat frog and i live in a swamp...'
The hamburglar
The weetabix gang
does anybody remeber the tune for the ad for um bongo (a drink if you're very young)
...or did i just watch way too much TV as a kid??:eek:
11/06/2003, 5:02 PM
The ad with the nun shouting BA into some poor unfortunate's ear still jumps into my head on occasion, making me LOL in odd places.
How about the Safe Cross Code: "Remember ONE, Look For A Safe Place; TWO don't hurry, stop and wait...".
And here's another one to get the nostalgia flying:
After 'im!
Heh, I'm so old.
11/06/2003, 5:40 PM
Ah yeah memories there! my faves:
Weetabix gang
Them bones them bones need calcium
The Harp ads, a pint of Harp and a packet of dates please!
Kia Ora, "Ill be your dog!!!"
Classic!
12/06/2003, 12:05 AM
Originally posted by Vetinari
How about the Safe Cross Code: "Remember ONE, Look For A Safe Place; TWO don't hurry, stop and wait...".
Yeah ... but did you ever get a "Judge" badge. :)
and the ...
"Just read the tag, sounds like a robot ... but sure wouldn't you just die if anything happened to them"
*In a thick Dublin voice*
And the fire alarm one. The whole family would meet in the hallway and practice the fire drill, all wearing those dodgy pollar neck wooly jumpers and duffle coats, i mean ... what planet were they on like :D
You could just picture you passing your brother or sister in the kitchen saying "Fire Drill in the hallway ... Two O'Clock" and you both wink and nod the head.
Who remembers the Eletricity Station and the young lads frisbe
(spelling??) .... You could see him playing outside, it cuts to the frisbe being nearly 50 feet up in the station, cuts to a dodgy electric/danger sign and then cuts to the boy lying on the ground with smoke rising from him. Pure drama like :)
12/06/2003, 12:46 AM
Yeah ... but did you ever get a "Judge" badge. :)
Course I did, it was blue with Judge in the middle. Wish I still had it actually, you could totally freak people out by wearing it to the pub.
And that in turn brings back memories of the Millennium, because Wanderley Wagon was on at about five in the morning on the first of January 2000. It was totally bizarre, I was watching it with a buddy with the two of us sharing the remains of the alcohol and shouting "HELLO CROW" at each other in Judge's voice. Happy days.
Seriously though, O'Brien was totally gay. ;)
12/06/2003, 1:37 AM
i still have my judge badge:D and a weetabix gang one:o sad!
do you remember the excitement when a new episode of the gold blend add would come out? your man did alright out of it, going on to watch over buffy!
or milk tray adds, how did ian fleming not sue them
12/06/2003, 8:37 AM
Originally posted by tiktok
does anybody remeber the tune for the ad for um bongo (a drink if you're very young)
'They call it Um Bongo, they drink it in the Congo'... can't remember the rest alas... :(
And speaking of Fat Frogs I was working part-time in a sweet-shop when they were re-released a while back and the lad working with me used to refuse to sell them to the kiddies unless they sang the song for him first. Ah... twas funny! :D
does anybody remeber the tune for the ad for um bongo (a
rink if you're very young)
Dont ask how I remember parts of this but as far as I can
remember, it goes something like ...
Way down deep in the middle of the congo, the python picked
the passion fruit the guava and the mango,
<the something something something something-go>
they put it all together and he danced the <something tango>
and the lion said "I know ... we'll call it Um Bongo"
Um bongo Um bongo they drink it in the congo (repeat to fade)
Jaysus I need a drink :o
What about ...
the red car and the blue car had a race,
all red wanted to do was stuff his face,
he ate everything he sees, from trucks to *****ly trees,
but smart old blue he took the Milkey Way
Thanks folks, I'll be here weekdays till 5 ;)
yur man
12/06/2003, 11:41 AM
early eighties i tink, the song went :
style with the mile in the metro, the metro
ease without squeeze in the metro, the metro
it had loads of people lovin their metros, the nuns were the best in it
that ba add was bad stuff. we (brothers and me) got given out to by our dad the first time we saw it cos we laughed at it. then, each time it came on after it we would shakin like mad tryin to keep in the laughin. could never stop laughin at that :o
eoinh
12/06/2003, 12:26 PM
i still remeber when they used to have normal ads and then they would have pictures with someone talking over it.
There was a great one about some injection for cows
learned a load of new sayings from it
bovine flu, sucking worbels, sarcoptic mangemites.
The picture was of a cow with an injection gun in its mouth..... lovely at dinner time
12/06/2003, 5:58 PM
The red car and the blue car had a race.
All the red car wanted to do was stuff his face.
And then the red car jumps a gorge but falls in because he's too fat and the blue car wins!
Ah, Milky Way!!
12/06/2003, 5:59 PM
Originally posted by Ash
What about ...
the red car and the blue car had a race,
all red wanted to do was stuff his face,
he ate everything he sees, from trucks to *****ly trees,
but smart old blue he took the Milky Way
Yep, that's the one!
Really shoud read the whole of a thread before posting...:o
12/06/2003, 9:57 PM
Way down deep in the middle of the Congo,
A hippo took an apricot, a guava and a mango.
He stuck it with the others, and he danced a dainty tango.
The rhino said, "I know, we'll call it Um Bongo",
Um Bongo Um Bongo, They drink it in the Congo.
The python picked the passion fruit, the marmoset the mandarin.
The parrot painted packets, that the whole caboodle landed in.
So when it comes to sun and fun and goodness in the jungle,
They all prefer the sunny funny one they call "Um Bongo".
:rolleyes: i had to go look it up, the tension was killing me:D
Classic Stuff tiktoc
I would have looked it up but was too busy
trying to remember the We all adore a kia ora
ad with the talking crows :)
17/06/2003, 1:26 PM
Originally posted by Ash
Classic Stuff tiktoc
I would have looked it up but was too busy
trying to remember the We all adore a kia ora
ad with the talking crows :)
"It's too orangy for crows, it's just for me and my dog!"
=> "I'll be your dog, woof, woof, woof, woof"
And does anybody remember the Yoplait ad with the King tasting food from different people. A couple of them presented the King with substandard rubbish so he dropped 'em through a trap-door. The Yoplait guy got off scott free...
Originally posted by sadloserkid
"It's too orangy for crows, it's just for me and my dog!"
=> "I'll be your dog, woof, woof, woof, woof"
Excellent :)
Originally posted by sadloserkid
And does anybody remember the Yoplait ad with the King tasting foot from different people.
Tasting foot!!! What kind of dodgy stations were you watching :p
Ah no, I remember the Yoplait one alright, the taster would take
a bite out of apples, pears etc and say they were grand but
when the yoplait he couldnt be sure till he finished the pot :D
Was that Tony Robinson (aka Baldrick) who played the part of
the taster?
17/06/2003, 1:38 PM
Originally posted by Ash
Tasting foot!!! What kind of dodgy stations were you watching :p
Why whatever are you talking about Ash? ;)
Heh-heh, who'll suspect that I used the editor!
And I think that we're talking about different Yoplait ads (though yours is good too!)
God bless the Edit button, saved blushes from my rubbish
spelling many a time :)
Cant remember another yoghurt add with a King and food/foot ;)
Another annoying one was the parrot saying ...
Dont say Yes, Say YOP
Having said that, All Hail Strawberry Yop,
King of all hangover cures ... that and solphadine ;)
The Sheliban
23/06/2003, 3:12 PM
"I'd like to teach the World to Sing" - Coke.
"Everyone's a Fruit and Nutcase" - Cadbury's Fruit and Nut.
"You do the Shake and Vac and put the freshness back" - Shake and Vac.
"There's more dog taste to the ounce in Bounce" - Bounce Dogfood.
Those Hamlet ads, and the Clement Freud ads with his bloodhound, Henry.
Not forgetting, mid-nineties, John Otway's Weetabix Delilah ad "I felt the spoon in my hand, and she laughed no more." Classic.
Originally posted by The Sheliban
"You do the Shake and Vac and put the freshness back" - Shake and Vac.
Possibly the most successful tv advert ever. Its so good i'd be surprsied anyone can name 1 let alone 2 other carpet fresheners.
Apparently sales trebled ever time it was shown on tv.
23/06/2003, 5:40 PM
Originally posted by Conor74
Or how about the anti-drowning one showing an old one sitting on a deck chair by the river and suddenly the camera goes back to the chair and it's empty. Or the kid in the barrel in the farmyard, which was pretty effective.
there was loads of those public service type adds, you can drown in three inches of water,
or don't lose yopur frisbee up an esb pylon and think it's a good idea to climb up and get it back.
or for unplugging appliances at night,
"John, did you put the cat out"
used to hate that.
what about the one where the husband puts the dog out for the night and he goes off and joins the gang of other dogs and they go killing sheep
How about John Fenton, Joe Rabbite use Ivomec to stamp out scour:D
23/06/2003, 8:30 PM
Originally posted by joe
what about the one where the husband puts the dog out for the night and he goes off and joins the gang of other dogs and they go killing sheep
jeez yeah, that was a great ad actually, ran for ages, i can still see where he's running with the other dogs and the lip (do dogs have lips) turn down and he goes wild.
and as we're on kind of farming ones,
do you remember triple A, golden maverick, with the cowboys?
....cause this no time to take a gamble
*Deadly* :)
I think he fills a house of bullets to win the poker game, a classic:cool:
I used to mix the stuff into buckets for my uncle, cousin swore he new a fellow who drank some:eek:
24/06/2003, 7:51 AM
Remember that Northern Ireland TV ad about not leaving the lights on at night? It was a mad two minute song and dance thing.... anyone remember?
24/06/2003, 7:58 AM
A classic was also the ad for ESB with the song in the background "Im think im going back to the things I know so well" this guy driving in his car, passing a nightclub or something, and ending up down his ma's place.....
or the Lyons Tea ad with all dem minstrel lads "Drink Lyons Tea, do-do-do-do-do-do, Lyons Tea, do-do-do-do-do-do, Lyons Tea, do-do-do-do-do-do, Lyons the Quality Tea!!"
or even better MAURICE PRATT and them Quinnsworth ads!!! Where is that man now?
25/06/2003, 7:40 AM
The fellow going home was that fool Alan something or other who went on to present some tripe like Talk About on RTE and then disappeared into morning telly on TV3.
****! That Alan Hughes plonker on TV3 AM or something, was that really him?.... and I remember TalkAbout, the cheapest, shoddiest gameshow in RTE history!!! and those bow-ties still induce flashbacks...
25/06/2003, 7:40 AM
The fellow going home was that fool Alan something or other who went on to present some tripe like Talk About on RTE and then disappeared into morning telly on TV3.
****! That Alan Hughes plonker on TV3 AM or something, was that really him?.... and I remember TalkAbout, the cheapest, shoddiest gameshow in RTE history!!! and those bow-ties still induce flashbacks...
25/06/2003, 5:07 PM
wasn't that ian dempsey, was that the one where dictionary's were the prize??
06/07/2003, 1:05 PM
Yep, that's the one. Think Ian replaced him, or vice versa.
Almost as bad as Mailbag, with your unfunny host Arthur Murphy. Crap. Dire. Horrific. Letters about RTE on an RTE programme.
Ah yeah remember Arthur Murphy and the stupid theme music.... yeah memories! Speaking of crap game shows, anyone remember Rapid Roulette and the mighty Where In The World?
07/07/2003, 10:44 AM
Originally posted by PAURO 7
Speaking of crap game shows, anyone remember Rapid Roulette and the mighty Where In The World? Never heard of Rapid Roulette but Where In The World was a classic of the genre! What was the name of your woman that presented it?
07/07/2003, 1:53 PM
Originally posted by Schumi
Never heard of Rapid Roulette but Where In The World was a classic of the genre! What was the name of your woman that presented it?
Theresa Lowe was the lass in question! Fine in her day! but she probably looks like Twink now....
Dricky
07/07/2003, 2:27 PM
Free a nipper ruuuuoit
Cityace
08/07/2003, 12:46 AM
50/50 CASH BACK,50/50 CASH BACK20
Dricky
08/07/2003, 2:01 PM
Mummy my Tummy hurts
mmmmmmmmm Milk of Magnesia
Leave the fückin Vodka alone so ye Slag
08/07/2003, 9:17 PM
Originally posted by PAURO 7
Speaking of crap game shows, anyone remember Rapid Roulette and the mighty Where In The World?
i remember the name, but what was rapid roulette, can't get a picture in my head.
and do you remember
"you can't sing, you can't dance, you look awful,
you'll go a long way"
The Sheliban
09/07/2003, 7:45 AM
i remember the name, but what was rapid roulette, can't get a picture in my head.
and do you remember
"you can't sing, you can't dance, you look awful,
you'll go a long way"
I actually enjoyed the song, "Alien Invasion ( What on earth are we gonna do?)
Thought they should have released it.
09/07/2003, 9:56 AM
Rapid Roulette was hosted by Maxi I believe?
The Donie Forde
09/07/2003, 10:34 AM
Big Dom, Big Dom,
Big BAD Dom...
Domestos ad...
Donie
The Donie Forde
09/07/2003, 10:36 AM
Actually, there was another agricultural one on the radio yonks back went like this:
*serious bog accent* -
"Chinounction - 'tis a qware name, but great shtuff!"
Jeez knows what twas actually for...
Donie
09/07/2003, 5:15 PM
Anyone remember those old Telecom Eireann ads about wrecking phone booths... it went the old Pink Floyd ad... hey stupid leave that phone booth, and Bob Geldof going "PHONE WRECKERS ARE IDIOTS!"
09/07/2003, 5:16 PM
What the fook, i meant "Hey stupid, leave that phone alone"
think before i type, think before i type.....
10/07/2003, 12:04 PM
I vaguely remember that, didn't remember that it was Geldof though.
Aberdonian Stu
19/07/2003, 1:00 PM
Anyone remember that ad for 'Maverick' it was some kind of farming product (the ad was so bad I've forgotten) where a bunch of guys were supposedly cowboys, despite looking like they were a bunch of dubs en route to a halloween party, playing poker trying to be cool and then one of them gets four aces or something because he uses Mavverick, utterly dire. It ran for years (it was still going 3 or 4 years ago having been around from the early 80s).
Probably too recent but it needs to be said "Fly fishing by JR Hartley" for the yellow pages, legend!