View Full Version : Steve Staunton
05/10/2009, 1:51 PM
I was a huge critic of Stan when he first took over the ROI team. Basically because of his inexperience. I sincerely hope he does well at Darlington and goes on to have a long career as a manager. He was a great servant in his playing days and it shouldn't be forgotten.
Jicked
05/10/2009, 1:52 PM
I don't think the bolded bit is fair.
Why not?
His teams were woefully unprepared, to the point of hilarity, he took no time to actually consider the tactical side of things, from day one he very clearly had a problem with dealing with the press yet did nothing to improve his communication, his squad selections were lazy and based on what 3rd parties had to say (who usually had quite an obvious vested interest in a player's selection) and he achieved the most spectacularly awful performances in our history and across Europe in those qualifiers and did nothing to correct them (even explaining away San Marino as a good result), he got embroiled in a massive scandal thanks to Stephen Ireland's lies re: Grannygate and the entire thing seemed to play out over his head.
For me that's not someone working hard at his job.
youngirish
05/10/2009, 2:00 PM
I think his best one was some idiotic comment he made about San Marino being difficult to beat in February or something like that, cant remember exactly
He stated that San Marino would now be a handful for other teams in the group and they proved to be exactly that when they followed our result with a series of severe drubbings against the better teams in the group. What a tool that man was.
Den Perry
05/10/2009, 2:15 PM
He fleeced Irish football out of millions for a job he was never qualified to take, then he never even tried once in the job, and finally when his position was completely untenable he refused to walk away without a massive pay-off, despite being not being short of a few bob after a career with Liverpool and Aston Villa. Then after he left he was completely unrepentant. I certainly don't wish him any luck, I'll save my good thoughts for Darlington fans who are now guaranteed to be doomed to the Conference.
Couldn't agree more
05/10/2009, 2:31 PM
Why not?
His teams were woefully unprepared, to the point of hilarity, he took no time to actually consider the tactical side of things, from day one he very clearly had a problem with dealing with the press yet did nothing to improve his communication, his squad selections were lazy and based on what 3rd parties had to say (who usually had quite an obvious vested interest in a player's selection) and he achieved the most spectacularly awful performances in our history and across Europe in those qualifiers and did nothing to correct them (even explaining away San Marino as a good result), he got embroiled in a massive scandal thanks to Stephen Ireland's lies re: Grannygate and the entire thing seemed to play out over his head.
Lack of ability and inexperience explain all of that (well, what little which needs explanation - "he took no time to actually consider the tactical side of things" is libellous speculation) without resorting to casting any aspersions on the man's work ethic.
05/10/2009, 2:49 PM
Why not?
he finished his coaching qualifications while in charge of the national side, hardly taking no time to consider the tactical side of things
05/10/2009, 2:56 PM
He stated that San Marino would now be a handful for other teams in the group and they proved to be exactly that when they followed our result with a series of severe drubbings against the better teams in the group. What a tool that man was.
Drubbings at home?
I wouldn't call two subsequent single goal defeats to Cyprus and Wales, a drubbing. The Slovaks gave them a drubbing of sorts but the Czechs struggled to hit more than 2 goals.
05/10/2009, 3:08 PM
He was out of his depth. However I don't blame him for taking the job.
Who wouldn't fancy themselves if told we think you are the right man for the job? He shouldn't have got the job.
By waiting for the big payoff he did damage his credibility.
youngirish
05/10/2009, 3:19 PM
Drubbings at home?
I wouldn't call two subsequent single goal defeats to Cyprus and Wales, a drubbing. The Slovaks gave them a drubbing of sorts but the Czechs struggled to hit more than 2 goals.
Ah Geysir what you convienently chose to ignore in your smug retort was those all important words I used deliberately - the better teams. Neither Wales nor Cyprus could be quantified by anyone as one of the better teams in our group considering they finished 5th and 6th respectively.
As for the better teams I alluded to - The Slovaks gave them a drubbing not of sorts but a 5-0 one which is a severe, bummed up the ar*e and left with a lifelong limp, 100% drubbing. The Czechs also beat them 3-0 another hammering. Also the Slovaks beat them 7-0 at home straight after us and Germany hit 6 against them in their fixture but we'll let San Marino away with those because they were playing away.
05/10/2009, 3:33 PM
Ah Geysir what you convienently chose to ignore in your smug retort was those all important word's I used deliberately - the better teams. Neither Wales nor Cyprus were coudl be quantified by anyone as one of the better teams in our group considering they finished 5th and 6th respectively.
As for the better teams I alluded to - The Slovaks gave them a drubbing not of sorts but a 5-0 one which is a severe, bummed up the ar*e and left with a lifelong limp, 100% drubbing. The Czechs also beat them 3-0 another hammering.
Smug retort?
Do you have thin skin?
It's way past the time for you to mature and take a retort on it's factual merit without squealing like a puppy.
3 out of the 4 teams who went there after us struggled, the Czechs limp display included.
DeLorean
05/10/2009, 3:41 PM
Geysir are you actually implying that Staunton's statement was vindicated? So what if it turned out that Wales and Cyprus were even more rubbish than us, we knew that anyway. At the time Staunton made that comment SM were after losing 13-0 to Germany and 7-0 to the Czechs so there was absolutely nothing to suggest that they would be a handful.
Jicked
05/10/2009, 3:43 PM
Lack of ability and inexperience explain all of that (well, what little which needs explanation - "he took no time to actually consider the tactical side of things" is libellous speculation) without resorting to casting any aspersions on the man's work ethic.
Libel? Oh for god's sake. What next, "I thought Glenn Whelan had a shocker the other night" should be capable of grounding an action because you're casting doubt on his professional ability and the bad reputation may impact on his future earning ability, as opposed to the contract he'd be more likely to get if Jamie Redknapp says he was a top, top player?
It is neither lack of ability nor lack of experience to call up a player on the back of seeing clips on him on "the Sky" it's downright not being arsed. As for the claims he finished his coaching badges whilst in charge, can anyone suggest any game where we showed anything resembling a clue tactically? (his one good performance, Czech Rep at home was largely down to the shock of Nicosia and the players rallying themselves, and that's according to a player from the squad). Why not look at the great tactical work he did as defensive coach at Leeds.
The man is a walking joke, and he has only himself to blame for that. I know he's in a much smaller situation at Doncaster from a media point of view, but I hope he has learned some humility and respect for those he'll be dealing with in that job. Meanwhile, I wonder what odds you can get on Doncaster going down...
DeLorean
05/10/2009, 3:49 PM
Meanwhile, I wonder what odds you can get on Doncaster going down...
Don't know but Darlington are f*cked!!:D
05/10/2009, 3:50 PM
Libel? Oh for god's sake. What next, "I thought Glenn Whelan had a shocker the other night" should be capable of grounding an action because you're casting doubt on his professional ability and the bad reputation may impact on his future earning ability, as opposed to the contract he'd be more likely to get if Jamie Redknapp says he was a top, top player?
If you don't see the difference between 'I think X had a bad game' and 'X never does any work', good luck to you.
It is neither lack of ability nor lack of experience to call up a player on the back of seeing clips on him on "the Sky" it's downright not being arsed.
Citation please.
As for the claims he finished his coaching badges whilst in charge, can anyone suggest any game where we showed anything resembling a clue tactically?
I'm going to stop discussing this now. I already asked why you think this sort of thing is evidence that Staunton "never even tried once".
Jicked
05/10/2009, 4:02 PM
If you don't see the difference between 'I think X had a bad game' and 'X never does any work', good luck to you.
Citation please.
I'm going to stop discussing this now. I already asked why you think this sort of thing is evidence that Staunton "never even tried once".
I'm not arsed finding you a "citation" (don't we use the term link on the internet?), but when Caleb Folan was first called up it was because Stan the Man had never seen him play or met him before, but had seen bits of him on "the Sky" and he was a big awkward bugger who wasn't afraid to tread on people's toes.
My reasons for not thinking he was trying is the complete non-existence of anything resembling a tactical gameplan away to Cyprus, home to Cyrpus, away to San Marino, away to Czech Republic, away to Germany....
A team that was being coached, even badly, would at least have some sort of style of gameplan no matter how awful it is. Ireland went out in each of the above games and passed the ball around a bit and ran around for ages and tried not to let the other team score and then like, try to score themselves if they could. His squad selection showed no thought process, he called up anyone, anyone at all. He never bothered taking a look at a player before they were called up to see if they could, you know, play football, and Joe O'Cearuill has two international caps, amongst many others. He was quite happy to pick whoever, whenever either at the insistance of 3rd parties, or even more embarassing the time the media had to get him to call up Lee Carsley to play against Czech Republic after Stan, 3 days earlier, had considered him to not be in his plans for the foreseeable future, he suddenly became a regular in every Staunton midfield.
Tell me that's the work of a guy who sat down with a pen and paper (what's that Simpsons quote, "now children, let's take out our safety pencils and circles of paper") and actually spent five minutes thinking about a plan or design for his four years in charge.
youngirish
05/10/2009, 4:07 PM
Jicked I'm not sure it was a case that Staunton couldn't be arsed I think it was more the problem that he was the village idiot of International football management and all the effort in the world wouldn't have overcome this limitation.
Jicked
05/10/2009, 4:13 PM
But I could accept the village idiot explanation if he stuck by Jonathan Douglas claimining him to be the new Johnny Giles. but time and again he'd give caps to someone like Alan O'Brien on the assistance of Pat Devlin, despite never seeing him play.
If he was a crap manager he'd taken a look at O'Brien and thought he was Newcastle's youth team's very own Lio Messi, instead he doesn't watch him play, gives him 3 or 4 caps, see's that he's crap, drops him, then it's Joe O'Cearuill, ah sure his agent said he was great I'll have a look at him. Caleb Folan, he looks tall on the telly, whatever, I'll call him up, no harm in that. Ah sure maybe they're right Lee Carsley is a decent player, sure I'll call him back up and make him the fecking lynchpin of the team, no harm in that.
If he was a crap manager he'd have done his research on those players and got it wrong. He quite simply was never bothered to look at anyone, and was happy enough to take someone like Pat Devlin's word.
His tactical set-up was the same, ah sure just go out and play for a while and ye'll be grand. I even heard from one player in the dressing room in San Marino what his post-match team talk was, absolutely ridiculous carryon.
Paddy Garcia
05/10/2009, 7:13 PM
The really sad thing was that he was probably trying his best - if he couldn't have been arsed at least he would have had an excuse!
I do find it very hard to understand how Darlington could employ him. Also it must be harder to pass your cycling test than get your coaching badge if Stan achieved his when with us.
To be fair he did achieve a place in the all time 5 Live team last week - worst managers in history.
Den Perry
06/10/2009, 10:47 AM
I'm not arsed finding you a "citation" (don't we use the term link on the internet?), but when Caleb Folan was first called up it was because Stan the Man had never seen him play or met him before, but had seen bits of him on "the Sky" and he was a big awkward bugger who wasn't afraid to tread on people's toes.
My reasons for not thinking he was trying is the complete non-existence of anything resembling a tactical gameplan away to Cyprus, home to Cyrpus, away to San Marino, away to Czech Republic, away to Germany....
A team that was being coached, even badly, would at least have some sort of style of gameplan no matter how awful it is. Ireland went out in each of the above games and passed the ball around a bit and ran around for ages and tried not to let the other team score and then like, try to score themselves if they could. His squad selection showed no thought process, he called up anyone, anyone at all. He never bothered taking a look at a player before they were called up to see if they could, you know, play football, and Joe O'Cearuill has two international caps, amongst many others. He was quite happy to pick whoever, whenever either at the insistance of 3rd parties, or even more embarassing the time the media had to get him to call up Lee Carsley to play against Czech Republic after Stan, 3 days earlier, had considered him to not be in his plans for the foreseeable future, he suddenly became a regular in every Staunton midfield.
Tell me that's the work of a guy who sat down with a pen and paper (what's that Simpsons quote, "now children, let's take out our safety pencils and circles of paper") and actually spent five minutes thinking about a plan or design for his four years in charge.
Great post. I'm sure John 83 will be back on to try and pick holes in it soon enough though
koh
06/10/2009, 11:34 AM
Geysir are you actually implying that Staunton's statement was vindicated? So what if it turned out that Wales and Cyprus were even more rubbish than us, we knew that anyway. At the time Staunton made that comment SM were after losing 13-0 to Germany and 7-0 to the Czechs so there was absolutely nothing to suggest that they would be a handful.
Those type of games are like the Spanish inquisition, you never know when they will be a handful and we have had more than a few of them.
Stan was a very poor manager for us and made plenty of gaffes but if you can't see the obvious value of Europe's worst team subsequent home performances, then there is nothing I can say to explain it.
I dread those games, ever since listening to one on the radio against Malta through an earpiece while walking through Dublin, waiting until the injury time for a winner from Stapleton.
06/10/2009, 12:44 PM
Those type of games are like the Spanish inquisition.
Because nobody ever expects them?
I'll get me coat..
06/10/2009, 1:18 PM
I'll get me coat..
Taxi for one to Berlin please!
06/10/2009, 1:32 PM
I'll get me coat..
But I didn't have to say it in order to imply it :p
06/10/2009, 3:47 PM
ever since listening to one on the radio against Malta through an earpiece while walking through Dublin, waiting until the injury time for a winner from Stapleton. A back heel I think. I was fixing my bike, a bundle of nerves throughout.
Somehow I think you can sense when a goal will come and when it won't. I sensed it would then, and I sensed it would in both Bari & Cyprus recently. I think I'm able to distinguish between sensing and hoping, but maybe not. I also sensed an equaliser in Rome in 1990.
DeLorean
06/10/2009, 3:58 PM
A back heel I think. I was fixing my bike, a bundle of nerves throughout.
Somehow I think you can sense when a goal will come and when it won't. I sensed it would then, and I sensed it would in both Bari & Cyprus recently. I think I'm able to distinguish between sensing and hoping, but maybe not. I also sensed an equaliser in Rome in 1990.
I know what you mean. I think confident teams are the ones that get the late equalisers or winners. It's all about belief really. If those games in Bari and Cyprus were in the last qualifying campaign I wouldn't have held out much hope.
Noelys Guitar
10/10/2009, 2:37 PM
"Darlo' 2-0 down after 30 mins
Den Perry
12/10/2009, 11:34 AM
[QUOTE=geysir;1244733]Those type of games are like the Spanish inquisition, you never know when they will be a handful and we have had more than a few of them.
Stan was a very poor manager for us and made plenty of gaffes but if you can't see the obvious value of Europe's worst team subsequent home performances, then there is nothing I can say to explain it.
I dread those games, ever since listening to one on the radio against Malta through an earpiece while walking through Dublin, waiting until the injury time for a winner from Stapleton.
I remember that game as well...listening on Radio as RTE couldn't or wouldn't show it live. He scored with a back heel didn't he? what campaign was that in? qualifiers for Euro 84? Think we won the return leg 8-0 Chris Hughton got one?
12/10/2009, 11:45 AM
[QUOTE=geysir;1244733]Those type of games are like the Spanish inquisition, you never know when they will be a handful and we have had more than a few of them.
I remember that game as well...listening on Radio as RTE couldn't or wouldn't show it live. He scored with a back heel didn't he? what campaign was that in? qualifiers for Euro 84? Think we won the return leg 8-0 Chris Hughton got one?
We won the return 8-0 in Dalymount all right. Hughton didn't score according to wikipedia
Lawrenson 25', 63'
Stapleton 28' (pen)
O'Callaghan 35'
Sheedy 74'
Brady 76', 88'
Daly 86'
I can't remember him scoring for Ireland but would need to check a reliable source.
I was listening to the Malta game at home in Limerick and was leaping around the kitchen when Frank scored the last gasp winner. Philip Greene was commentating if I recall correctly. It was painful stuff.
PaulB
12/10/2009, 11:49 AM
From memory Hughton scored at home to Malta, 25 yarder from outside the box
Den Perry
12/10/2009, 12:11 PM
[QUOTE=Den Perry;1248329]
We won the return 8-0 in Dalymount all right. Hughton didn't score according to wikipedia
Lawrenson 25', 63'
Stapleton 28' (pen)
O'Callaghan 35'
Sheedy 74'
Brady 76', 88'
Daly 86'
I can't remember him scoring for Ireland but would need to check a reliable source.
I was listening to the Malta game at home in Limerick and was leaping around the kitchen when Frank scored the last gasp winner. Philip Greene was commentating if I recall correctly. It was painful stuff.
I think it was Gabriel Egan that commentated on it - think I remember the relief in his voice when we scored. However, I could be wrong...
12/10/2009, 12:55 PM
Despite a record of 3 narrow one goal victories by Spain in that group against the 2 minnows, they suddenly discovered their goal touch in the last game against Malta and knocked in 9 in the second half to pip Holland on goal difference.
'twas indeed a miraculous recovery, of Lazarus proportions.
12/10/2009, 1:05 PM
How many times have we played Malta in competitive matches? We must have some kind of record for it at this stage, though Cyprus seem to have become their replacement as "and once again, drawn in the same group as Ireland".
12/10/2009, 2:10 PM
How many times have we played Malta in competitive matches? We must have some kind of record for it at this stage, though Cyprus seem to have become their replacement as "and once again, drawn in the same group as Ireland".
Am I forgetting some? Euro84, Italia90 & Euro2000 are the only 3 campaigns I can think of when we have drawn Malta.
Den Perry
12/10/2009, 2:37 PM
[QUOTE=Den Perry;1248329]
Lawrenson 25', 63'
Stapleton 28' (pen)
O'Callaghan 35'
Sheedy 74'
Brady 76', 88'
Daly 86'
Actually, Hughton might have scored when we beat Cyprus 6-0 at home in a previous campaign?????
12/10/2009, 2:41 PM
[QUOTE=gspain;1248334]
Actually, Hughton might have scored when we beat Cyprus 6-0 at home in a previous campaign?????
wikipedia has him as scoring in the 65th minute. Can't remember exactly but when you said it it sounds right.
09/11/2009, 4:51 PM
Not going too well at Darlington. Knocked out of the FA Cup and one win in 6 :o
http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/chrisbevan/2009/11/staunton_left_with_survival_sc.html
Paddy Garcia
09/11/2009, 9:16 PM
What on earth was that Chairman thinking. Very odd appointment.
irishfan86
09/11/2009, 9:35 PM
You can't judge him on his rough start: He's got a 4 year plan which will require patience from all quarters at Darlington!
10/11/2009, 9:22 AM
You can't judge him on his rough start: He's got a 4 year plan which will require patience from all quarters at Darlington!
Is that a serious comment or tongue in cheek? You tell me! ;) No manager is ever allowed the luxury of a "4 year plan", especially if the first year results in his club falling out of the league.
I wish Stan all the best and hope he succeeds but somehow I fear this could be the last we'll see of him as a manager.
10/11/2009, 12:24 PM
they were bottom when he joined them so id say the quality of his players is poor enough. he should be given till the end of the seaon to prove himself. i hope it works out for him
irishfan86
16/03/2010, 2:31 PM
Staunton still building for the future:
”We’re building for next year; we know what’s in store. We’ve been building since January, getting our own players and hopefully we can keep them for next year wherever we are,” said Staunton.
”I’ve told the players that we need to finish the season strongly. I’ve been satisfied with the performances of the last few games but I’m not accepting this latest display. We’ve just got to battle on. There were a lot of positives. There are just one or two niggling problems that we will eradicate this season ready for next season.”
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=38264
16/03/2010, 3:37 PM
This all sounds so very familiar.
yapster
16/03/2010, 8:16 PM
The poor guy is not cut out for management
Lenny82
16/03/2010, 9:08 PM
He's actually picked up some decent results in recent weeks. He has no chance of avoiding relegation but that was obvious when they gave him the job and I hope he gets them straight back into the Football League!!!
prince20
21/03/2010, 11:36 AM
Stan relieved of his duties
http://www.darlington-fc.net/page/NewsDetail/0,,10339~2000768,00.html
Drumcondra 69er
21/03/2010, 12:13 PM
Unfortunately for Stan he's just not cut out for management, it was a disgrace that he ever managed us, Delaney's part in that farce should never be forgotten.
EastTerracer
21/03/2010, 4:43 PM
Hopefully he'll take a long hard look at his managerial aspirations now. Based on what he did for Ireland as a player I hope he finds some role in the game where he can make a contribution but it will be very hard for him now to get another managerial position.
poor ol Stan. Should be remembered for the great days he had as an Irish player and as one of the best left fulls in English football in the 80's and 90's. One of the greats.
seanfhear
21/03/2010, 5:07 PM
He took the Irish job when he should'nt (but then he was offered it)
On a bit of a hiding to nothing with Darlington especially as he did not have any previous success as a manager on his CV if it went tits up.
Best of luck in the future Stan with whatever you decide to do. Stan was a great player for Ireland in a long and distinguished international career as a player. I do not ever remember there being any dodgy reasons for not turning up for international duty for example.
21/03/2010, 5:53 PM
I'm surprised Darlington are able to tell the difference between the shocking outfit they were before he took over and the shocking outfit they are now. Can't imagine a club with no money to buy players and no chance of survival can afford to sack their manager like that either.