View Full Version : Dalymount Days Documantary
14/12/2007, 9:01 PM
I see there's a documentary "Liam Brady's Dalymount Days" on RTE2 next Friday, 21st December.
If anyone can stick it onto a DVD for me I'll be very grateful.
15/12/2007, 12:53 AM
I see there's a documentary "Liam Brady's Dalymount Days" on RTE2 next Friday, 21st December.
There's a decent chance it'll be available on rte.ie, RTE have been very good at streaming their stuff online lately.
15/12/2007, 5:45 PM
If no one else does then Iīll put it on a DVD for you.
You do realise that your joy at seeing this on the RTE schedule should be tempered by the possibility that this is buttering up the Irish soccer public into accepting Brady as the next manager.
Wolfie
18/12/2007, 3:22 PM
The Sunday Tribune Preview:
With Dalymount Park set to be the next heritage site to blink out of existence Liam Brady's Dalymount Days is a timely look back at the glory days of Irish soccer's spiritual home. Brady hosts proceedings himself and has persuaded virtually every luminary the game has produced in this country . . . Johnny Giles, Don Givens, Mark Lawrenson, Charlie Hurley et cetera ad infinitum . . . to reminisce with him on the good ould days and the bad ould days (which actually don't seem so bad from a distance).
And the various tales have great charm, from Mick Martin fondly remembering the day he kept Pele in his pocket for 90 minutes, to Don Givens and Eamon Dunphy running through the various ways you could gain admittance to the ground without paying. One particularly striking story is that of England's heartbreaking last-minute equaliser in 1957.
Every Irish person that was present seems to a photographic memory of that goal, as though it played out before them in slow-motion and seared itself into their memories. They don't just remember how it looked but how it sounded, as a deathly silence fell over all of Dublin as the goal went in, "a silence that could be heard at Nelson's Pillar." The one English person interviewed about the goal, Tom Finney, recalls little or nothing about it.
And he gave the decisive pass. Typical.
As good as the various stories are, where the documentary really outdoes itself is in some astonishing archive footage (much of it movie newsreel complete with Mr Chumley-Warner's hilarious voiceover) from the Irish Free State making its bow on the international stage to Germany's 'Heil Hitler' salute in 1936, and right through to Givens' hat-trick against the Soviets and Gullit/Van Basten turning on the style. Ideal viewing for those who know Irish soccer didn't start with Jack Charlton, and required viewing for those who don't.
Metrostars
18/12/2007, 5:45 PM
Did anyone get this?
http://www.dvdsales.ie/shop/soccer___chippy_%3a_the_liam_brady_story_%28new%29 .417.14.10204.sports.html
18/12/2007, 10:18 PM
With all the big talk about a new stadium in Tallaght being the salvation of Irish football I can't help but think the league will be a lot poorer for losing Dalymount. Of course it should never have been left to fall apart like it was.
DeNiro
20/12/2007, 11:24 AM
Folks,
Would anyone be able to make a DVD copy of Dalymount days for me this Friday. I'm away at the moment and can't Sky Plus it. I'll cover all costs or can send you the DVD to record it on if possible. Mods sorry if this is in the wrong place.
Please pm me and I'll send on costs / materials for this.
Thanks,
De Niro
21/12/2007, 4:07 PM
Reminder to tune in your recorders this evening for Liam Brady's managerial promotional documentary on RTE called "Dalymount 1974" - the first step on the ladder to the top job in Irish Football.
28/12/2007, 9:41 AM
Was it any good?
28/12/2007, 12:14 PM
There is a thread in the EL forum about it.
Rovers fans liked it :) a few Mick Leech specials does that trick. And Pats did win a FAI cup, post WW2.
There is a nice balance between chat and footage. The protagonists seem to remember every important play and every divot as if it was yesterday.
Mick Martin looks like Brady's older brother.
Charley Hurley and Joey Haverty are in a nostalgic euphoric state.
Giles was in his element, it was as if he was talking about his first love affair.
It's the first time I saw footage of the 2 - 3 Holland game with the brilliant Stapleton setting up the goals as well as the goal against Italy.
Overall itīs a nice tribute to the "spiritual" home of Irish football and you are left with a feeling that something big has been lost.
I have it recorded on dvd, just say the word.
28/12/2007, 12:41 PM
I would love a copy of it, Just watching the ten mins on You TUbe that BOHS TV put up brought a tear to the eye.
28/12/2007, 12:51 PM
I recorded the live stream off rte.ie, I missed about 2-3 minutes of the first part though, I'll see if I can stick it on rapidshare, or megaupload or one of those
You will need to install RealPlayer from real.com though
28/12/2007, 1:01 PM
you are left with a feeling that something big has been lost. Aren't Bohs being challenged by some crowd who claim they own part of the ground, and hence Bohs aren't within their rights to sell?
Thanks Tets. Neil, my brother was under orders to stick it on a DVD. If he did I'll get a copy and send it on in the new year.
28/12/2007, 3:41 PM
Fair play Stutts cheers for that.
28/12/2007, 4:25 PM
I recorded the live stream off rte.ie, I missed about 2-3 minutes of the first part though, I'll see if I can stick it on rapidshare, or megaupload or one of those
You will need to install RealPlayer from real.com though
Total file size is 160 MB, far too big for broadband at home, I'll upload it when I get back to work
07/01/2008, 12:21 PM
I recorded the documentary from the live stream on RTE.ie over Christmas and I've uploaded it to here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=A45OJWOG
You'll need to install RealPlayer from http://uk.real.com/player/ to watch it though.
The quality isn't bad, but it can get a bit fuzzy in places. I missed a few minutes in the first part of the program as well, sorry about that.
The file is quite large (163 MB!) so I'd recommend downloading it in work!
ShamrockIreland
11/01/2008, 11:38 AM
Lads I was just interested to know do any off you know will it be shown again or where I can see this online? I missed it before Christmas and I'm furious I didn't see it.
ShamrockIreland
11/01/2008, 11:44 AM
Sorry joined a while ago but new at posting here and I just realised I should have posted this thread elsewhere. Apologies move it moderator if you'd be so kind.
11/01/2008, 11:57 AM
Wrong place wrong time, I know the feeling
here is the link coutesy of Tets
I recorded the documentary from the live stream on RTE.ie over Christmas and I've uploaded it to here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=A45OJWOG
You'll need to install RealPlayer from http://uk.real.com/player/ to watch it though.
The quality isn't bad, but it can get a bit fuzzy in places. I missed a few minutes in the first part of the program as well, sorry about that.
The file is quite large (163 MB!) so I'd recommend downloading it in work!