View Full Version : Steve Finnan a "role model".
25/01/2008, 11:59 AM
And in fairness to Kelly, he's probably played more at left back for us than right back. I wasn't impressed with O'Brien at right back vs Sweden but that was a long time ago now.
Wolfie
25/01/2008, 12:19 PM
Put our best players in their best positions, or find a system for our best players. Kelly for right back. Megon used Joey in midfield against Newcastle and I'd be interested to see if he stays there. He's a midfielder by trade, who filled in at right back
Thought O'Brien looked completely out of his depth in midfield against Cyprus - although the entire team had a nightmare that night.
I think O'Brien is a solid full back who can play at centre half. I don't think he's the answer for us in midfield.
25/01/2008, 12:22 PM
Thought O'Brien looked completely out of his depth in midfield against Cyprus - although the entire team had a nightmare that night.
I think O'Brien is a solid full back who can play at centre half. I don't think he's the answer for us in midfield.
whatever about how he played that against Cyprus, everyone has their own opinion and thats cool, but he isn't a centre half, and anyone who has coached him see's him as a midfielder.
25/01/2008, 12:24 PM
Carr's case was different. He was strongly rumoured to have been disruptive during Kerr's time in charge and never gave the impression that he was really fully committed to playing international football. He was one of the first of the newly wealthy Irish footballers to have become too big for his boots. The Irish public never cared for his attitude, and rightly. Finnan seemed more level headed and down to earth and that's why this is all the more disappointing.
I'd have preferred if he'd waited to hear the new manager's plans.
Rumours and strong rumours are just fodder for begrudgers and not supported by the evidence of the long succession of club/national managers who chose of their own free will to select Carr on a consistant basis, even when 1/2 fit.
Rather, some of the evidence points to fans making Carr a scapegoat for the non selection of Finnan (Managers choice!) and a scorned media who think they know his every thought.
Not every player has the effortless unfazed personality of a John O'Shea.
In 6 months or so, the new manager should make an approach to Finnan and make a strong persuasive case for a return.
Wolfie
25/01/2008, 12:25 PM
whatever about how he played that against Cyprus, everyone has their own opinion and thats cool, but he isn't a centre half, and anyone who has coached him see's him as a midfielder.
Well then the future is bleak for him - he's not an international class midfielder.
25/01/2008, 12:31 PM
He's also a kid. He's only played about half a dozen professional games in that position.
Wolfie
25/01/2008, 12:46 PM
He's also a kid. He's only played about half a dozen professional games in that position.
Not trying to rubbish O'Brien completely - as you point out Stuttgart - he's not got major experience playing there and I do rate him as a defender.
What concerned me was that he has no "instinct" for the right ball to play from midfield.
The midfield instinct can't be taught and tends to be acquired from playing there since childhood. The correct ball is played from midfield without hesitation and with total assurance, particularly at the highest level.
John O'Shea is another who was converted to midfield but he never looks comfortable there as he doesn't have the acquired instinct of those around him.
Armando
25/01/2008, 2:19 PM
Ye, that was Staunton final moment of madness...O'Brien had just put in a sterling performance at centre-half against the Germans and what does Staunton do a few days later?...Move him into centre-mid, where he has to try prove himself all over again. I flagged this up before the Cyprus game even kicked off....felt so sorry for the lad on the night.
25/01/2008, 2:47 PM
O'Brien had made his name as a defensive midfielder when he was coming through the ranks. When he was on loan with Sheffield Wednesday, he and Glen Whelan formed the central midfield partnership, and Wednesday only lost three games in the 2 months he was there.
He was moved to right back at Bolton after an injury to Nicky Hunt meant he was needed there.
He played on the right of a 3 man central midfield recently for Bolton
jmurphyc
25/01/2008, 2:56 PM
Ye, that was Staunton final moment of madness...O'Brien had just put in a sterling performance at centre-half against the Germans and what does Staunton do a few days later?...Move him into centre-mid, where he has to try prove himself all over again. I flagged this up before the Cyprus game even kicked off....felt so sorry for the lad on the night.
In fairness to Staunton he was our only player that could play as a holding (or defensive if that term annoys people) midfielder in the squad. Although this does beg the question why didn't Staunton bring more into the squad knowing that Carsley was one yellow away from suspension.
25/01/2008, 3:56 PM
What concerned me was that he has no "instinct" for the right ball to play from midfield.
The midfield instinct can't be taught and tends to be acquired from playing there since childhood. The correct ball is played from midfield without hesitation and with total assurance, particularly at the highest level.
John O'Shea is another who was converted to midfield but he never looks comfortable there as he doesn't have the acquired instinct of those around him.
Yeah, I too buy into the central midfielder's "instinct". O'Shea doesn't have it, Kilbane doesn't have it, Steven Reid does. I've been watching Didi Hamaan at City lately, what a master, always turning awy from trouble, effortlessly taking hard passes and then playing easy passes. A delight to watch.
A pal of mine over here, an oldish (55+) London east ender, knew Bobby Moore. He asked BM what the most important thing in football was. "Always know your out ball" was the reply.
I was at QPR vs Sunderland last year. Before the game Sunderland made a square out of cones, bibs vs no bibs, and played one touch possession at a high tempo. Graham Kavanagh was a master, always finding an accurate oblique pass and flummoxing the tackler. Liam Miller was a disaster, Stephen Elliott interestingly did quite well.
Joey O'Brien: I forgot about his spell at Wednesday. I remember eirebhoy nearly wetting himself when he & Whelan were playing CM together live on SKY one Friday about 3 years ago :)
His performance against Cyprus? Rabbit in the headlights, I charitably put it down to nerves which in that position is understandable.
28/01/2008, 7:48 AM
On Saturday's evidence maybe Finnan is no loss!
29/01/2008, 11:22 AM
O'Brien had made his name as a defensive midfielder when he was coming through the ranks. When he was on loan with Sheffield Wednesday, he and Glen Whelan formed the central midfield partnership, and Wednesday only lost three games in the 2 months he was there.
Yes, Wednesday tried to sign him on a full time contract.
I remember eirebhoy nearly wetting himself when he & Whelan were playing CM together live on SKY one Friday about 3 years ago
As for eirebhoy nearly wetting himself at the performances, I needed a new nappy after every game :D O'Brien was class during his spell at the Owls.