View Full Version : Newspaper coverage in Ireland for L.O.I

09/01/2008, 1:20 PM
I think it's getting ridiculous at this stage, i know the season hasn't started yet but there should still be more coverage of LOI football. nothing in the star today for example, jason byrne signed for bohs yesterday, a former irish international you'd think it'd be a big story in ireland with him coming back.

Which is the best for LOI, ive heard the daily mail is decent sometimes, never get it though.
there's always GAA stories in them though. whether there in season or not.

niallsparky
09/01/2008, 1:53 PM
I think it's gotten better tbh. The Indo is fairly good sometimes and a couple of the tabloids have a bit. The Irish Times carried the Fenlon being Bohs new manager story which is a start for them.:o

09/01/2008, 2:00 PM
well id probably only be looking at the sun or the star so it could be different with the broadsheets or some other papers

09/01/2008, 2:00 PM
Which is the best for LOI, ive heard the daily mail is decent sometimes, never get it though.
there's always GAA stories in them though. whether there in season or not.

The Daily Mail could start printing 30 page full colour LOI supplements every other day and I'd still buy a porno magazine or something to slip it into so noone would see me carrying it around.

stann
09/01/2008, 2:04 PM
Emmet Malone is one of the best hacks covering the eL, just a pity his paper doesn't follow suit. It is my paper of choice and all that, but the eL coverage is pathetic, apart from the (all too scarce) decent opinion and/or background pieces Malone does.
I've kind of gone away from papers a bit recently but, despite what ye variously may make of it, isn't The Star still the best national paper for eL coverage? Certainly has the most articles as far as I can see, also Pat Dolan's column etc. etc.
Going back over the years the Examiner was always the best for match reports when the league got going, but with the few decent websites up and running in latter times that's become less important.

09/01/2008, 3:22 PM
Surprised no one mentioned the Mirror. They had a good eL section a while back. Don't buy tabloids very often so don't know what they're like now

Tis-smeee
09/01/2008, 3:37 PM
All very intellectual im actually reading the collective works of james joyce , just thought id tell you ,btw the star is the best

09/01/2008, 3:41 PM
The Irish Times had a decent-sized piece on the Jason Byrne transfer yesterday, including a picture of the man himself.

09/01/2008, 4:12 PM
Has it been three months already since this thread last appeared?

09/01/2008, 4:29 PM
The Sun is the best imo. Anyway, there's not a big enough demand for the eL as it is and this is reflected in the media.

L37Ultra
09/01/2008, 4:47 PM
The Sun is the best imo. Anyway, there's not a big enough demand for the eL as it is and this is reflected in the media.

Ya but if they did have better coverage then it might encourage more people to follow the EL. By the way, even Sky Sports news had a bit about Jason Byrne joining Bohs from Cardiff

Only1Rovers
09/01/2008, 6:23 PM

on the money. if there was a demand there would be more column inches.

oldyouth
09/01/2008, 7:32 PM
I think there is a lack of demand, especially off-season, for the Nationals to cover LOI. However, regional papers should cover more about their local teams and perhaps this would generate more support. Our local papers in Wexford may as well be official GAA publications 'cos if you took their coverage out, there wouln't be enough paper left to wipe your a**e!

09/01/2008, 8:07 PM
Has it been three months already since this thread last appeared?

do ye always have to start stuff like that, who cares...i didnt know, all the UCD boys are the same

Billy Lord
09/01/2008, 9:32 PM
I think there is a lack of demand, especially off-season, for the Nationals to cover LOI. However, regional papers should cover more about their local teams and perhaps this would generate more support. Our local papers in Wexford may as well be official GAA publications 'cos if you took their coverage out, there wouln't be enough paper left to wipe your a**e!

The Tallaght Voice gives great coverage to Shamrock Rovers. Credit where it's due.

Paddyfield
09/01/2008, 10:05 PM
The Tallaght Voice gives great coverage to Shamrock Rovers. Credit where it's due.

Local newspapers are more important than national papers.

There are a lot of newspapers in Galway who give a lot of coverage to Galway United:

Galway First (Mondays) FREE
Galway Voice (Mondays)
The Sentinel (Tuesdays)
Galway Independent (Wednesdays) FREE
Galway Advertiser (Thursdays) FREE
Galway City Tribune (Friday)
(not to mention the county papers, the Connacht Tribune and Tuam Herald)

And there is a new paper coming out soon called the Galway Post!

WoodquayBoy
10/01/2008, 7:10 AM
As OldYouth said about Wexford, the same applies to us - not sure if Sports Ed in City/Connacht Tribune knows there is such a thing as soccer, but if he does, he doesn't give a damn about it, its just GAA GAA GAA.
Will be interesting to see what kind of coverage Voice gives us, and the Post, next season, and in fairness can't go wrong with independent seen as the club chairman is their main sports contributor!!! while the son of the (former?) club secretary works for the Advertiser. I think we do okay out of the local rags, generally speaking

10/01/2008, 8:48 AM
Anyway, there's not a big enough demand for the eL as it is and this is reflected in the media.
Chicken and egg argument.
And if it holds, then why does American 'football' get the coverage it enjoys in The Irish Times?
My belief is that large swathes of Irish sporting media do not passively neglect Irish football: they are positively hostile to it.

Redie
10/01/2008, 9:12 AM
My belief is that large swathes of Irish sporting media do not passively neglect Irish football: they are positively hostile to it.

Totall Agree

nijboyle
10/01/2008, 10:28 AM
Post? Galway huh?

10/01/2008, 10:40 AM
I imagine they are just ignorant of it.

10/01/2008, 2:30 PM
Emmet Malone is one of the best hacks covering the eL, just a pity his paper doesn't follow suit. It is my paper of choice and all that, but the eL coverage is pathetic, apart from the (all too scarce) decent opinion and/or background pieces Malone does.
I've kind of gone away from papers a bit recently but, despite what ye variously may make of it, isn't The Star still the best national paper for eL coverage?

Going back over the years the Examiner was always the best for match reports when the league got going, but with the few decent websites up and running in latter times that's become less important.

Are we related somehow? I read that piece and other posts of yours on music and think
"Hmmm, I didn't write that"

Keen2win
10/01/2008, 7:56 PM
Maybe if you get a paper you could post in to say if or if not there is any loi coverage on it.

hedderman
10/01/2008, 8:28 PM
Regarding the Irish Times, Tom Humphries, excellent sports writer that he is, likes to occassionally mention that he went to a few Bohs games in the 70s and therefore he's interested in the league while exhibiting strong bias towards the GAA.

In the Hot Press Annual 2008, they have the Casa awards from Tony Cascarino. His awards include best owners (The Glazer family), best supporters (tie btwn Portsmouth, West Ham and Derby County) and best ground (White Hart Lane). This instead of the odd mention of the eL in the magazine? The mind boggles.

neutrino
11/01/2008, 12:42 PM
Ah media coverage.I remember chatting about this over 10 years ago. Fact is alot of people in this country like supporting clubs in a different country instead of travelling a few miles to support their own team and we will never get away from it.Sure in 10 years time we'll all be struggling to gauge our national identity. There is alot more wrong with the league than media coverage. The league will improve but only by virtue of the clubs doing it themselves.

KianD
11/01/2008, 3:45 PM
My local rag -used to- cover Kildare County, now they don't, and I've never quite figured out why. Paper is a small editor-is-the-owner operation that only recently discovered colour, mind.

For us, the Finn Valley Post actually seem to care quite a bit and theres decent coverage in the News and Democrat too.

stann
11/01/2008, 6:26 PM
Are we related somehow? I read that piece and other posts of yours on music and think
"Hmmm, I didn't write that"

And I notice you never see the two of us in the same room at the same time....

Just as regards local papers, I'd be surprised if there's more than a couple of locals ('cos there is always one or two) that don't give at least reasonable coverage to the resident eL sides, especially in the provinces. For one thing it's a cheap and easy way to fill out the sports sections. An opinion piece on how the local eL side is doing half-way through the campaign written at a comfy newsdesk would be a lot more appealling to your average local hack than travelling to the far side of the mountain in force 9s and sideways rain to see Ballinabuinnamuicka Rangers U-14s beat seven shades out of the auld enemy AFC Knocknahoolaboola. I'd imagine. :)

bray boy
11/01/2008, 6:43 PM
wicklow times do very good coverage on bray.....
the irish times has to be the most pathetic newspaper ive read in regards el coverage
was reading about jayson byrne in the metro on the way to school.....had a picture of ollie cahill i think......didnt know he chaged his name !!!!ha

12/01/2008, 1:54 PM
As sports editor of the DIT News, I do try and cover the el.

In the two issues we've done so far I've had a piece on student promotions in the el and an interview with Shay Kelly.

I don't know how much impact this has on the students though.

12/01/2008, 5:36 PM
Wrote my undergrad thesis under the title 'Has The Irish Media Failed The eircom League?' a few years back (2005 I think now). At the time The Star's coverage was the best by some distance but still pretty shocking compared to that afforded to the English and Scottish games. Compared to a paper like the Daily Record whose coverage of all four tiers of Scottish senior football is excellent the Irish print media do a lousy job.

13/01/2008, 3:34 AM
Wrote my undergrad thesis under the title 'Has The Irish Media Failed The eircom League?' a few years back (2005 I think now). At the time The Star's coverage was the best by some distance but still pretty shocking compared to that afforded to the English and Scottish games. Compared to a paper like the Daily Record whose coverage of all four tiers of Scottish senior football is excellent the Irish print media do a lousy job.

Is there any place I could find this thesis? It sounds interesting.

DRDoc
13/01/2008, 2:15 PM
i would like to read this thesis also

is it available at all?

stann
14/01/2008, 7:29 AM
I wouldn't mind a read of it either SLK. It already looks to be much more insightful than 'Who Stole Our Game'.

14/01/2008, 12:24 PM
Wrote my undergrad thesis under the title 'Has The Irish Media Failed The eircom League?' a few years back (2005 I think now). At the time The Star's coverage was the best by some distance ...

And the worst?

fergalr
14/01/2008, 12:26 PM
And the worst?

Sunday Tribune.

fergalr
14/01/2008, 12:31 PM
Regarding the Irish Times, Tom Humphries, excellent sports writer that he is, likes to occassionally mention that he went to a few Bohs games in the 70s and therefore he's interested in the league while exhibiting strong bias towards the GAA.

On the contrary, Tom the (fat) gom is a sworn enemy of the LOI and is happy to attack it in print (most recently with his infamous Tallaght stadium diatribe).

nijboyle
14/01/2008, 3:51 PM
The Star is quite spot on, and the sun apart from that i find most other nationals shocking..your better sticking with an EL site

14/01/2008, 4:10 PM
In the process of moving at the moment so while I'm sure that the old thesis is floating around in a box somewhere it could be a coupla weeks before I can dig it out again. If anybody who's interested in reading it drops me a PM I will get back to you about it again though it could be a little while...

And for the guy who asked which paper was the worst I only examined the The Star, The Mirror and the Independent in any real detail. The Indo was the worst of these three by some distance IIRC.

Sniffer
14/01/2008, 4:46 PM
The Star probably is best; although it's all relative. Our brethren up North are much better served in print than we are. 10 colour pages in yesterday's Sunday Life.

LukeO
14/01/2008, 5:23 PM
The Star probably is best; although it's all relative. Our brethren up North are much better served in print than we are. 10 colour pages in yesterday's Sunday Life.

Never understood why up north, the Sunday World give the Irish league 4/5 pages yet down here we're lucky if they give the LOI a small side column.

14/01/2008, 10:56 PM
The Star is quite spot on, and the sun apart from that i find most other nationals shocking..your better sticking with an EL site

With plenty of these sites taking their stuff from the papers.

L37Ultra
14/01/2008, 11:09 PM
I think the coverage of the EL by our newspapers is shocking to say the least. I wrote two e-mails to the two local newspapers in Limerick complaining about the coverage of Limerick at the start of last season. I got two very positive responses. One paper told me their sports editor was just over from Scotland so he was planning to change their sports section. Their coverage on Limerick37 was greatly improved last season. The second paper told me their resources were very limited to cover a team which would not exactly sell papers as much as say Limerick GAA or Munster Rugby. That was a fair enough point, so I offered my help. I have been writing pieces for the paper ever since especially for the away games which they cant attend. Just shows with a bit of effort things can change things

Redie
15/01/2008, 9:12 AM
Originally Posted by LukeO
Never understood why up north, the Sunday World give the Irish league 4/5 pages yet down here we're lucky if they give the LOI a small side column.

That is actually very interesting. I wonder is it because they believe that they are not as obssessed with the English Premier League in the North as we are in the South.

seand60
15/01/2008, 11:05 AM
Yes but at all the international games you see these guys from papers that never cover the Eircom league in attendance.

JC_GUFC
15/01/2008, 11:14 AM
One thing that really annoys me, and probably the journos, is that when you look at the main sports section of the broadsheets the front page football story is invariably a piece from one of the UK papers. The Guardian in the case of the IT or the Independent (I think) in the case of the Indo.

Surely a piece written by one of the papers' own journalists should be the main feature?

niallsparky
15/01/2008, 12:56 PM
On Bohs Media day yesterday - Press conference in which new kit and new signings were unveiled...

Good coverage coverage in the tabloids, the Indo and Times. The Herald have a full page on it.

Sniffer
15/01/2008, 1:11 PM
On Bohs Media day yesterday - Press conference in which new kit and new signings were unveiled...

Good coverage coverage in the tabloids, the Indo and Times. The Herald have a full page on it.

Damn you, we were just getting into our stride.:)