View Full Version : RTE Comedy: Roaring Twenties etc...

Pages : 1 [2]

17/01/2008, 11:14 AM
Better for all involved had someone in comissioning took the lads aside and said :

"Look, we cant broadcast this. It's bloody awful. You've already been paid, so we'll chalk this up to experience, there is some evidence of talent there , so maybe we'll work on another script for yez, ok?"

Television network vaults around the world are full to the brim with pilots that never got aired, many made by talented people. Thats what should have happened here. If it had, I wouldn't have had to watch this muck, and the creators of the show wouldn't have 99% of the country calling them talentless eejits, simply because no-one at Rté had the balls to say "Sorry lads, Not good enough, no airtime for you with this. Try again with something else..".
RTE saw the first half an episode and greenlighted the rest. Clearly they misjudged it.

Bondvillain
17/01/2008, 12:58 PM
Oh dear.

Someone should point out to the Rté finance dept that Red biro on the submission sheet saying "Better than the English Class" was not a ringing endorsement, but rather the only "nice" thing the person assessing it could have said about such a disaster.

Torn-Ado
17/01/2008, 2:44 PM
The Big Bow Wow...

I remember that. Christ that was awful.

17/01/2008, 2:50 PM
A two episode commission is very short for a half hour show. Most comedies, irrespective of how bad they are anticipated to be, get a six episode run. If the show is doing badly they might double up over the last two weeks to end it sooner but will still result in the full six being shown.

6 episodes would seem to be standard 1st series run. Very difficult to establish a series in 2 episodes which probably reflects RTEs confidence in it. Maybe something else did not pan out & they needed a filler.

Aberdonian Stu
17/01/2008, 4:46 PM
the big wow wow..jaysus....
I remember Eoghan Harris bigging it up as being quality cause he runs some writing course and yer man who wrote it was on his course.

Harris was one of The Big Bow Wow's creators http://imdb.com/title/tt0401913/

17/01/2008, 4:50 PM
Harris was one of The Big Bow Wow's creators http://imdb.com/title/tt0401913/

Roaring twenties already has a profile (http://imdb.com/title/tt1121919/) :)

Bondvillain
17/01/2008, 9:29 PM
Roaring twenties already has a profile (http://imdb.com/title/tt1121919/) :)

Im very surprised that it hasn't yet reached the five votes necessary to be rated. (You woulda thought the two "10" ratings from the filmakers, along with my "1" would have upped the chances of it being scored by now....)

anto1208
18/01/2008, 11:05 AM
Seen a pic of the writers in the paper lost all feelings of sympathy for them.

Any one with a moustache like that deserves all the ridicule he gets :D

22/01/2008, 11:17 PM
I caught about one minute of the Katherine Lynch show earlier on. It is tripe. A waste of the money from the taxpayers. Patrick Kavanagh must be spinning in his grave.

anto1208
22/01/2008, 11:27 PM
I said it before and ill say it again women are not funny

23/01/2008, 6:55 AM
Feckin hell that Ray Foley is the biggest waste of air time there has ever been!
He's woeful bad.

Like Superfrank, I caught the first 10 minutes of Katherine Lynch show
last night and all I can say is that useless unfully waste of space robbed
me of 10 minutes of my life.

Saw a bit of Makin Jake the night before ... this must be the end of that lads
"comedy career".

RTE should refund licence fees until they start earning them!

23/01/2008, 12:15 PM
RTE should refund licence fees until they start earning them!

RTE should be made show where the licence fee money is being spent. It is ridiculous that it just gets dumped into large pool. Maybe TV3 have tried this already but I am sure they would like to know if licence fee money being spent to price them out of commercial bids. Would anyone be happy if licence fee money being paid to Katherine Lynch... :eek:

anto1208
23/01/2008, 12:39 PM
RTE should be made show where the licence fee money is being spent. It is ridiculous that it just gets dumped into large pool. Maybe TV3 have tried this already but I am sure they would like to know if licence fee money being spent to price them out of commercial bids. Would anyone be happy if licence fee money being paid to Katherine Lynch... :eek:

I remember i think it was Q&A where they where talking about the licence fee and the guy from TV3 said that RTE offer much cheaper airtime to advertisers undercutting TV3 who have to charge full price as they dont have a licence fee to beef up there funding.

cheifo
23/01/2008, 1:50 PM
Somebody in the house was watching that crime against comedy Katherine Lynch programme last night so endured about 10 minutes of it before heading of to read a book.Really patronising to the viewer the way she resorts to extremely crude lines in the absence of wit.

anto1208
23/01/2008, 3:13 PM
Somebody in the house was watching that crime against comedy Katherine Lynch programme last night so endured about 10 minutes of it before heading of to read a book.Really patronising to the viewer the way she resorts to extremely crude lines in the absence of wit.

Christ, it was that bad :D

23/01/2008, 4:40 PM
Christ, it was that bad :D

RTE make chiefo read book shocker! :eek:

cheifo
25/01/2008, 11:37 AM
Yeh and I was too tired to read it once I had finished colouring it in.

25/01/2008, 12:48 PM
Top 20 Programmes RTE 2
(Weekending 13/1/08)

3rd Makin' Jake Mon 9 295 3 :confused:

20th The Roaring Twenties Mon 4 128 16 :eek:

Roadend
25/01/2008, 12:59 PM
Top 20 Programmes RTE 2
(Weekending 13/1/08)

3rd Makin' Jake Mon 9 295 3 :confused:

20th The Roaring Twenties Mon 4 128 16 :eek:

I find it very hard to believe they got 295 viewers for that.

anto1208
29/01/2008, 8:24 AM
Was in a house on friday with no digital tv ( yes i was scared and confussed ) but saw that Lynch one on the Late late . Now while she isnt funny to me, she is just loud and annoying i think there is a market for her and as a public service broadcaster they have to cater for everyone.

She reminds me of the kind of woman that wears a GAA mayo jersey and is all ways "only having the craic" and thinks going "OOOO HO HO GOWAN" is funny.

Women are not funny if she was hot you might watch it but being old belted and fat doesnt make funny .

The english class roaring twenties makin jake dont appeal to anyone.

29/01/2008, 10:56 AM
The english class roaring twenties makin jake dont appeal to anyone.

What about the makers' mammies? I'm sure that they thought that they were great, even though they didn't really understand, they were sure that they were very good. Now they have to finish the ironing, so leave mammy be for a few minutes...

I find it very hard to believe they got 295 viewers for that.

Take away about 45 people related to the show (those involved, their parents, and their unfortunate close friends). (250 viewers)
Take away 30 people who fell asleep in front of the TV earlier in the evening without turning it off. (220 viewers)
Take away 28 people who leave the TV on when leaving the house to go to the shops, to discourage people from breaking in (202 viewers)
Take away the 21 people who turned it on and turned the volume down in order to look somethign up on Aertel (181 viewers)
Take away 20 people who's job it is to monitor RTÉ for adverts, quality of picture, etc. (161 viewers)
Take away the 19 people who passed in and out of an isolated pub that leaves on a TV showing only Irish channels with the sound turned down unless there is a match on (142 viewers)
Take away 17 people who went out to make the tea after the last show ended without turning the telly off and ended up playing with the dog / the cat / themselves (125 viewers)
Take away 16 people (including couples) who'd visitors in a bit before it started and just turned it down (109 viewers)
Take away 15 people still on a phone call on the landline in the kitchen that came through during the last programme who didn't turn off the TV (94 viewers)
Take away the 14 people either too stoned too realise or ODing before the show came on (80 viewers)
Take away another 12 who happened to be in the country in a hotel tired and just having thrown some "local broadcasting" on to acclimatise to the language (68 viewers)
Take away the 11 people visiting friends who are too ill-mannered to turn off the TV when they have a visitor in, and just turn it down (57 viewers)
Take away the 11 people visiting friends who are discovering that they have either constipation or diarrhoea (46 viewers)
Take away another 7 infants with parents that use the TV as a babysitter being traumatised by the fact that they don't have any access to a remote at times like these(39 viewers)
Take away the 6 people who died in front of their TV set earlier that evening (33 viewers)

So, if the RTÉ stats are correct, we now have an accurate figure (33) for people in Ireland who revel in seeing how bad RTÉ have become.

Bondvillain
29/01/2008, 10:16 PM
Jesus wept.

There are military coups that have been funnier than that abomination.

"I have a funny accent. Ha ha ha! You know, I talk funny! Ha ha ha!"

Aye. We couldn't help but notice, you noisy cow. Throw in an oul few jokes from this century if by some fluke or clerical error, you manage to get another gig, will ya?
There's a good muppet.

Now feck off.

29/01/2008, 10:36 PM
Was in a house on friday with no digital tv ( yes i was scared and confussed ) but saw that Lynch one on the Late late.

I actually saw some of that & it was so bad I had to watch it. Pat Kenny thought she was hilarous (lets be honest he could not fake a smile) what with all her cursing & such. :rolleyes:

Top 20 Programmes
(Weekending 20/1/08)
1 Desperate Housewives Tue 16 537k
2 Katherine Lynch's Working Girls Tue 8 250k
3 Home And Away Thu 7 237k

Surely this was the numbers for Week One & so many people watching because it is so bad? The more likely reason it is getting a piggy back from the Housewives on before it :confused:

Bondvillain
29/01/2008, 11:01 PM
Surely this was the numbers for Week One & so many people watching because it is so bad? The more likely reason it is getting a piggy back from the Housewives on before it :confused:

It was. Jan 8. And it goes to show that despite them advertising the bollicks out of it, and pegging it into a prime timespot for the genre ( immediately post the stations Highly rated Female-aimed comedy import ) over HALF of the 537 thousand Housewives viewers disappeared before it even started..

04/02/2008, 10:53 PM
It was. Jan 8. And it goes to show that despite them advertising the bollicks out of it, and pegging it into a prime timespot for the genre ( immediately post the stations Highly rated Female-aimed comedy import ) over HALF of the 537 thousand Housewives viewers disappeared before it even started..

I know that but still high enough rating. Maybe half the Housewives viewers left their TVs on afterwards. ;)

Latest figures.

(Weekending 27/1/08)
1 Desperate Housewives Tue 14 474 1
2 Katherine Lynch's Working Girls Tue 8 248 3
3 Home And Away Thu 7 234 6

Bondvillain
05/02/2008, 1:06 AM
Alright. Fair enough.

My only hope now is that Neilsen gave their Rating boxes to complete fúcking morons.

Thats my only explanation.

Bondvillain
09/02/2008, 1:40 PM
Hmmm... Curiouser and curiouser....

1 week ago ( on imdb : http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1121919/ ) Irish sitcom "The Roaring Twenties" had 3 negative text comments - including one from me : I very much enjoyed factually dissecting it's faults in print. Im funny like that - and 3 visible user ratings of 1 star (out of ten)

This week, 2 of the three negative comments have been removed (including mine) for "Abuse" , and 3 anonymous IMDB members have suddenly appeared and voted it 10 stars out of 10, which has had the effect of increasing its score from 1 star to 5.9 stars...

To be honest, I'd been trying to forget about the whole shambolic exercise, but the 'removal for abuse' email has piqued my interest again....It's bad enough that they've created one of the most terrible television programmes ever made, but to attempt a Stailinesque purge of any negativity surrounding it has made me even more determined to spread the word....

11/02/2008, 10:16 AM
Heard that Katherine Lynch show has been commissioned for 6 more episodes!

11/02/2008, 10:32 AM
Heard that Katherine Lynch show has been commissioned for 6 more episodes!
Haha! Now that's some proper comedy from RTE.

21/07/2008, 8:02 PM
I just saw the ad for The Panel...it's about the funniest thing RTÉ have ever made. :rolleyes: ;)

22/07/2008, 9:09 PM
I like the panel. Think it is the funniest thing RTE have done, by a mile. Some of the stuff on Nighthawks used to be OK. THe 60's RTE continuity annoucer for instance. (Blaithin ?)

Billsthoughts
23/07/2008, 8:08 AM
I think the best thing they ever done was sit com called "Flatheads". Had Joe Rooney and the other guy who was in fair city as token refugee number 3. Was v funny.

23/07/2008, 7:57 PM
I think the best thing they ever done was sit com called "Flatheads". Had Joe Rooney and the other guy who was in fair city as token refugee number 3. Was v funny.

Yeah, I remember that Bill. (Storrree John:D) Funny stuff alright. Paul Tylak was the other guy. It wasn't a show in it's own right, if my memory serves me right. It was an insert into another programme. (Was it Nighthawks ?)

Billsthoughts
24/07/2008, 1:29 PM
Yeah, I remember that Bill. (Storrree John:D) Funny stuff alright. Paul Tylak was the other guy. It wasn't a show in it's own right, if my memory serves me right. It was an insert into another programme. (Was it Nighthawks ?)

yeah it was Paul Tylak - apologies.....decent comedian in his own right. It was part of one of the programmes were rte tried to get a whole years worth of "yoof" progamming into an hour. presented by that ruane guy who used to do the saturday morning thing. name of it totally escapes me....The show was pretty rubbish but you would watch it just for Flatheads.....

25/07/2008, 1:34 PM
Paths to Freedom, was top class but RTE did not make it as far as I know.

28/07/2008, 10:08 AM
Anyone recall Perfidia? I think it used to be on The End when RTE experiemented with having late night TV.