View Full Version : Why the rivalry with Wexford Youths?

inchicore_saint
08/01/2008, 12:47 PM
I work with a Wexford lad and he is allways saying how his mates in Wexford go to the Wexford Youths vs Limerick 37 match just to give the knackers from Limerick a good kicking, his words not mine.Is there a rivalry between the two counties or just the clubs.

08/01/2008, 12:50 PM
I work with a Wexford lad and he is allways saying how his mates in Wexford go to the Wexford Youths vs Limerick 37 match just to give the knackers from Limerick a good kicking, his words not mine.Is there a rivalry between the two counties or just the clubs.

It may be related to some alleged graffiti in the toilets when Wexford played down in Limerick. Oh and the fact that Lim til I die never has anything nice to say about us :p

08/01/2008, 12:50 PM

It sounds like it's just one child blowing steam tbh. There's never been any trouble at any Limerick-Wexford game that I've been at. There might be some resentment at their end because we seemed to play them about 573 times last season and I'm not sure they ever beat us (and everybody else beats us, even Kilkenny had the better of us last season!) :)

Wexford Youths barely register on the horizon of almost all Limerick fans. Galway, Dundalk, Shamrock Rovers and Cobh would be the clubs there'd be a bit of a split with in my opinion (except for LTID who seems to loathe everybody but UCD and Kilkenny :))

Monkfish
08/01/2008, 1:39 PM
If by a good kicking you mean giving a slack jaw stare while we cover half their ground with flags then yes they do. :) other then that id suggest the 14 year old bebo type's should go away and amuse themselves with some form of sharp object.

08/01/2008, 2:09 PM
If yer man is talking about actual violence and not just a bit of verbal banter then I'd say he's more than likely a liar or an exaggerator of extreme proportions. It would be a terrible pity if the little scum bags of Wexford started attaching themselves to the club and trying to cause trouble.
Especially with the lovely Limerick people, who will be finishing below us in the league this year (I honestly think we'll finish fifth or sixth with a very similar points total to ye).

Monkfish
08/01/2008, 2:13 PM
Ya i agree, with the lack of aggro that is.:)

08/01/2008, 2:39 PM
Rivalry with Who??

08/01/2008, 2:41 PM
Wexford Youths vs Limerick 37 match just to give the knackers from Limerick a good kicking

LMFAO.

May I suggest he sticks to inbreeding and being pitch capped by the local yeomanry.

If by a good kicking you mean giving a slack jaw stare while we cover half their ground with flags then yes they do.

We better watch ourselves next time :eek: :D

08/01/2008, 2:41 PM
If yer man is talking about actual violence and not just a bit of verbal banter then I'd say he's more than likely a liar

He'd be a liar either way tbh.

08/01/2008, 4:25 PM
I think the rivalry comes from Limerick's link up with Hellas Verona and the hatred they have for all the Wexford Youth's players being lined up to be poached by Juventus. :rolleyes: Oh how they laughed in Wexford, or at least would have if they hadn't 4 arses for a face

08/01/2008, 4:43 PM
I think the rivalry comes from Limerick's link up with Hellas Verona and the hatred they have for all the Wexford Youth's players being lined up to be poached by Juventus. :rolleyes: Oh how they laughed in Wexford, or at least would have if they hadn't 4 arses for a face

And I though you guys were just misunderstood...
You've gone and hurt my feelings now. I've only two arses for a face due to a tragic slurry spreader accident :(

08/01/2008, 4:50 PM
And I though you guys were just misunderstood...
You've gone and hurt my feelings now. I've only two arses for a face due to a tragic slurry spreader accident :(

I hear they're deadly alright, I obviously wouldn't know, given that I live in post-potatoe blight Ireland

Den Perry
08/01/2008, 10:30 PM
I hear they're deadly alright, I obviously wouldn't know, given that I live in post-potatoe blight Ireland

How could anybody with a wexford accent be taken seriously....it has to be the worst, whiniest accent of all time. Anybody agree? The Wexford Ultras "quare hard"...

4tothefloor
09/01/2008, 2:01 AM
LMFAO :p:p

09/01/2008, 10:20 AM
I think the rivalry comes from Limerick's link up with Hellas Verona and the hatred they have for all the Wexford Youth's players being lined up to be poached by Juventus. Oh how they laughed in Wexford, or at least would have if they hadn't 4 arses for a face

:D :D

except for LTID who seems to loathe everybody but UCD and Kilkenny

Just for the record the following clubs fall under the LTID couldn't be ar$ed rainbow:

UCD
Kilkenny
St. Pats
Bohs
Monaghan
Drogheda
Finn Harps
Longford
Athlone
Shels
Wexford Hoof
Sligo

The rest are evil. :)

09/01/2008, 10:24 AM
Especially with the lovely Limerick people, who will be finishing below us in the league this year (I honestly think we'll finish fifth or sixth with a very similar points total to ye).

Genuinely not Wexford bashing (perish the thought)

But what if anything do you base this on??

09/01/2008, 11:06 AM
Genuinely not Wexford bashing (perish the thought)

But what if anything do you base this on??

Basically, last season had very little preparation, and a team pulled from junior clubs.

This year the core of the team all have 20 plus league games behind them, they will have a full pre-season, they know the standard that's required. Some of the players were only starting to show real quality towards the end of last season, attacking players like Liam O'Loughlin and Johnny Flynn O'Connor stared to look very good in the later games. Add to that the possibility of Willie Doyle and Paul Murphy in the squad next season, Doyle a proven goal scorer at this level and Murphy a player with cross channel and Eircom Premier experience (limited as it is), and I see reason for optimism.

The squad will be a lot more settled than the vast majority of other, so getting to know each others shouldn't be an issue. Looking at the results from last season most of the games we lost were by a single goal, it wouldn't take a massive leap to start taking more points from these games.

Maybe it's just blind optimism, but I really don't see much to be scared of in the division. I don't think it's dreaming to think we could finish ahead of Kilkenny, Kildare, Monaghan, Athlone, Limerick and possibly Longford if they don't start signing players.

I think whoever finishes bottom this season will be relegated, because by the sounds of things Sporting Fingal are putting together a very strong side. I don't think it'll be Wexford Youths at the bottom.

09/01/2008, 11:32 AM
This year the core of the team all have 20 plus league games behind them, they will have a full pre-season, they know the standard that's required.

Experience can only count for so much though.

Bad players are bad players regardless.

Bad management is bad management regardless.

Even with our problems we still have far more quality at the club than you lot.

Lo
oking at the results from last season most of the games we lost were by a single goal, it wouldn't take a massive leap to start taking more points from these games.

Even the most revisionist Wexford fan would surely admit this is because you played most of your games with 14 men behind the ball

I don't think it's dreaming to think we could finish ahead of Kilkenny

Don't be too suprised if Sporting Fingal take their place before the season

Kildare

I'd have my doubts.

Have some fairly strong players.

Monaghan

Not a hope in hell

Athlone and possibly Longford if they don't start signing players.

Pure speculation

09/01/2008, 12:00 PM
You're most likely right, but I really think you'll see a big improvement from us this year.
Wallace was never going to send out a young, inexperienced side to play swashbuckling, attacking football and get beat 5-0 every week.

The football will still be fairly conservative as long as Wallace is in charge, that's his style, don't conceded too many and take your chances at the other end. I think experience can't be underestimated for defenders and we'll concede less and score more this year.

09/01/2008, 12:28 PM
Wallace was never going to send out a young, inexperienced side to play swashbuckling, attacking football and get beat 5-0

D'oh (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=72758) :D

inchicore_saint
09/01/2008, 12:32 PM
My Wexford mate was taking the **** out of me about the violence end of things but he is at a loss why some Limerick fans hate Wexford Youths.

09/01/2008, 12:32 PM
D'oh (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=72758) :D

I knew I should have said 6! :D

09/01/2008, 12:52 PM
:D :D

Just for the record the following clubs fall under the LTID couldn't be ar$ed rainbow:

UCD
Kilkenny
St. Pats
Bohs
Monaghan
Drogheda
Finn Harps
Longford
Athlone
Shels
Wexford Hoof
Sligo

The rest are evil. :)

Yes - we made it into the elite!

Den Perry
09/01/2008, 7:06 PM
My Wexford mate was taking the **** out of me about the violence end of things but he is at a loss why some Limerick fans hate Wexford Youths.

maybe its the fact that their players are not averse to dirty tricks such as over exxagerating injury and quite often on at refs to book / send off opposition players...and please do not deny this Wexford fans...

Youths4Ever
09/01/2008, 7:43 PM
maybe its the fact that their players are not averse to dirty tricks such as over exxagerating injury and quite often on at refs to book / send off opposition players...and please do not deny this Wexford fans...

Den can I ask how many Youths game you saw? Cause to be honest I don't think Youths were worse than any other team that I saw last season for such carry on for the record is not on by any team.

I think "hate" is a strong word between the clubs. Lot of the interest between the two as because someone said played each other so often last season.

Also from this wexford fan point of view personally the fact some I stress some of the Limerick fans seem hell bent at slagging off the club at every opportunity and most every other clubs as well to be honest.

L37Ultra
09/01/2008, 10:34 PM
I dont think there is any hatred between the two clubs whatsoever. Its just a bit of friendly rivalry between the two new clubs in the League, and the fact that Limerick played Wexford seven times last season (including the abandoned game) Ive been at 6 of those games and 3 of them were in Wexford and I found the Wexford fans extremely friendly and welcoming, though very innocent ;) They even clapped the Limerick fans after the FAI Cup replay. We have more things to worry about than Wexford to be honest, they hardly pose a threat to Limerick. :D

KevB76
10/01/2008, 8:01 AM

The only dirty tricks I witnessed from Wexford was their cunning ploy to wear a black kit and forget to switch the floodlights on, which seemed to be working for them but the ref couldnt see them either :D

Theres no rivalry I'm aware of other than that described by L37Ultra, nothing sinister at all.

10/01/2008, 8:48 AM
I think "hate" is a strong word between the clubs. Lot of the interest between the two as because someone said played each other so often last season.

I think lots of interest is too strong a term tbh. :)

Also from this wexford fan point of view personally the fact some I stress some of the Limerick fans seem hell bent at slagging off the club at every opportunity and most every other clubs as well to be honest

If something deserves slagging it will be slagged.

The Eircom League should be one big happy family nonsense is nonsense

Youths4Ever
10/01/2008, 12:54 PM
The Eircom League should be one big happy family nonsense is nonsense

I never said Eircom League should be one big happy family.

Friendly banter and slagging fine not adverse to a bit of it myself. What annoys me the sheer determination to knock the fact by some that Wexford has a EL team.

I realise some wexford fans do have great ideas above where we actually are in terms of soccer ability and where we will finish this season but it is a soccer fan duty to dream :D.

GenerationXI
10/01/2008, 1:27 PM
We're just jealous of the fancy bus....if we still have a ground this year perhaps when you come to play it could be parked around the back - instead of right at the entrance...

10/01/2008, 3:12 PM
I think an element of our new support was pretty naive at times too tbh.

I'm completely indifferent to Wexford personally (they can take that any way they like but I'd like to think they won't care). There are clubs I dislike (Galway and Dundalk mostly) and clubs I even sorta like (Harps, UCD, Drogheda) but I don't really have much of an opinion just yet. They play horrible ball (with the worthy exception of Conor Synott who at least tries to play) and I think Mick Wallace should cut back on the rhetoric at times but as far as I'm concerned whatever rivalry Wexford Youths might feel with Limerick isn't reciprocated in the slightest. If Limerick have rivals it's Cobh and Galway for sure with Cork and Waterford lagging some distance behind them and inexplicable grudges with Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk in the mix too.

10/01/2008, 3:17 PM

Also I would imagine that people like your mate talking rubbish is at the top of why anybody would dislike Wexford Youths?!

Den Perry
10/01/2008, 10:18 PM
Den can I ask how many Youths game you saw? Cause to be honest I don't think Youths were worse than any other team that I saw last season for such carry on for the record is not on by any team.

Also from this wexford fan point of view personally the fact some I stress some of the Limerick fans seem hell bent at slagging off the club at every opportunity and most every other clubs as well to be honest.

four games...is that enough?

Youths4Ever
11/01/2008, 7:42 AM
four games...is that enough?

In my opinon Den four games is not really enough to be making assumptions on player behaviour but that just me

People like your mate are what is giving others reasons to slag the club and not helping Wexford soccer in the slightest.

11/01/2008, 6:53 PM
In my opinon Den four games is not really enough to be making assumptions on player behaviour but that just me

People like your mate are what is giving others reasons to slag the club and not helping Wexford soccer in the slightest.

I don't think Wexford were any worse than any other team in the league for gamesmanship.

Also kudos for your analysis on the Pat's fan's mate. You've just nudged Wexford one point to the good side of nuetral on my scale. :)

ramblersnb1
18/01/2008, 12:55 PM
how about when wexford came ta cobh got a lead early on and just began to waste time sinnot took a good 4 or 5 minutes to take the peno aswell..... they play the italian way and not the good italian way ie.tactically brillian the bad way ie. time wasting etc.

harpin
18/01/2008, 1:42 PM
I think an element of our new support was pretty naive at times too tbh.

Thats cos they're kids and to be deadly honest they are only reacting to some of the old support

Footsoldier
22/01/2008, 1:03 PM
There's no animosity between us and L37. Some of us get annoyed reading some of the crap (in our opinion) that certain members post about us on message boards. Likewise some of us (not me. Never me!) talk pure horsesh!te when we're talking about the Youths.

I never saw any trouble with the L37 fans in the 57 times we played them last year, although the birdie song nearly drove me demented at the cup replay!

22/01/2008, 1:14 PM
I never saw any trouble with the L37 fans in the 57 times we played them last year, although the birdie song nearly drove me demented at the cup replay!

The kids wrecked the Birdie Song

FACT!!

Footsoldier
22/01/2008, 1:23 PM
Maybe, but it was impressive the night you introduced it to us anyway!

22/01/2008, 2:06 PM
The kids wrecked the Birdie Song

FACT!!

Who would have thought that holding it for those moments when we led a game by one goal would prove so difficult! :o

And this footsoldier seems very sensible and level-headed for a Youths fan! :p

22/01/2008, 2:15 PM
Kids wrecked the Birdie Song

Words I bet we never thought we'd say in our lives a few years back