View Full Version : Specific Legal Advice

3 Heroes
07/01/2008, 2:19 AM
I was forcibily ejected from a well-known Limerick night club tonight for no reason I can think of and I want both financial compensation for the sullying of my character and also certain individuals to be releaved of their duties - where do I stand from a legal viewpoint?

07/01/2008, 2:33 AM
I was forcibily ejected from a well-known Limerick night club tonight for no reason I can think of and I want both financial compensation for the sullying of my character and also certain individuals to be releaved of their duties - where do I stand from a legal viewpoint?
Outside?

07/01/2008, 6:32 AM
Ask a solicitor.

07/01/2008, 8:07 AM
They have the right to remove you as long as its not on discrimination grounds (i.e. race, colour, gender, sexuality, disability, traveller etc)

07/01/2008, 8:17 AM
Correctimundo I'd say Magicme.

I was walking onto a dancefloor in Clonmel a few weeks ago and was grabbed out of the blue by 3 fat people and fecked out.

I expect some sort of hassle if I'm going to a club in Ireland.(That was my first time in 2 years.) Realistically, you surrender all your rights and any sense of self-esteem when you join the queue for a club.
Best just put down to experience as frustrating as that sounds.
Get an interest in better music and go to a pub or gig instead.

anto1208
07/01/2008, 8:41 AM

Pretty much they can do what they like, just think they did you a favour now you have a reason not to go back there ever again saving yourself a fortune in time and money. There are no good clubs in limerick its a shocking place for a night out.

If everyone that they threated badly did the same instead of queing up the next week again they would get a shock very quickly and change there policy but at the moment they dont care if you dont come back there are hundreds more dummies queing up to be treated like rubbish and to fork over 15 euro for the privilage.

I think if they refuse you entry they have to give a reason.but not if they kick you out.

If its the club im thinking of ( and it prob is ) go back thursday night "ladies night" when they charge you an entry fee, refuse to pay they will kick you out then sue for sexual disscrimination. it netted one of the lads over 2 grand a few years back and a smug sense of satisfaction :cool:

07/01/2008, 10:07 AM
I can't hurt either to phone the venue and ask to speak to the general manager, tell them exactly what transpired and see if you get any satisfaction that way. If they stonewall you it's all grist to your mill if you decide to take a civil action or whatever against them.

Do it quickly though while they still have security tapes etc..

07/01/2008, 10:50 AM
anto, ive wanted to do that for years. delighted to hear that someone actually took that and won :)

07/01/2008, 12:15 PM
There is a great club in Limerick! LTID tell me the name of it once more, I promise will try to remember!!!

Plays loads of deadly stuff (Stone Roses, Pixies etc)

kingdom hoop
07/01/2008, 12:22 PM
Studio 37?

Jebus' house?

Probably Dolan's (Warehouse) you're thinking of though. :)

07/01/2008, 12:40 PM
No not Dolans! I was trying to go there the last time I was in Limerick but my "friends" wouldnt let me go see the Flaws. :mad:

Pretty sure it was neither of your other suggestions either but then again was rather drunk so cant be 100% :D

kingdom hoop
07/01/2008, 12:46 PM
Funny, Jebus seemed pretty sure when recounting the tale. :p

anto1208
07/01/2008, 12:48 PM
No not Dolans! I was trying to go there the last time I was in Limerick but my "friends" wouldnt let me go see the Flaws. :mad:

Pretty sure it was neither of your other suggestions either but then again was rather drunk so cant be 100% :D

Has to be costellos not quite a club in the normal meaning but if you where drunk and it played good music and you had fun it can only be costellos !!! ( really dirty but the only place to go )

07/01/2008, 12:49 PM
Thats the spot and despite me being a total glamourpuss (you that know me shut the hell up or will hunt you down and remove your balls) enjoyed the grubby yet entertaining venue called Costellos!

lim abroad
07/01/2008, 12:51 PM
a friend of mine was refused entry to a club in limerick over xmas for being too drunk despite the fact that he's never touched a drop in his life!

07/01/2008, 12:54 PM

Any witnesses? Otherwise it would be your word against the club - even if you get security camera footage it wouldn't be too difficult for them to come up with something a camera can't prove - abusive language for example.

07/01/2008, 2:35 PM
this reminds me of something that happened a friend of mine, someone reminded me of it over xmas. A mate of mine was sitting down chatting to this girl, the bouncers came over to me and asked did i see anyone take a wallet, i said no i dont think so, but then this other/random person said they thought it was my friend ( it wasn''t and i knew well it wasn't him, as he is not like that at all) so i said "ah cathal will ye just give it back", laughing like, not expecting anything to happen then all of a sudden the two bouncers lift him out of the chair and off the ground and throw him out of the niteclub, the niteclue has a long wide passage to the exit doors so watching him looking at us and the bouncers saying "what did i do wrong?!" was awful funny. He didnt even know what he was being lifted for :D Btw it was a local niteclub so I knew nothing was going to happen to him.

Sligo Hornet
07/01/2008, 2:40 PM
a friend of mine was refused entry to a club in limerick over xmas for being too drunk despite the fact that he's never touched a drop in his life!

....was it a "reformed Schlooooomp" ? :D

inexile
07/01/2008, 3:47 PM
if you feel you were assaulted contact the gardai and make a statement of complaint, if you are just unhappy with their behaviour contact the establishment firstly i would recommend then if you do not get any satisfaction i would contact my solicitor and see what s/he has to say

anto1208
07/01/2008, 4:24 PM
if you feel you were assaulted contact the gardai and make a statement of complaint, if you are just unhappy with their behaviour contact the establishment firstly i would recommend then if you do not get any satisfaction i would contact my solicitor and see what s/he has to say

Talk to the solicitor first if you really feel like you need to take it further.