View Full Version : Eamon Dunphy - misunderstood?

an_ceannaire
31/12/2007, 11:43 AM
Especially after watching the Charlton Docum.
Is Eamo in fact not just being controversial for the sake of it, could it be that this man really does care THAT MUCH about Irish soccer and really does always have the best of intentions? I have to say given his rare to see show of humility I really felt for him. I dont believe for a second they were crocodile tears. Maybe, just maybe Eamo really does care THAT much abour Irish Football.

31/12/2007, 11:51 AM
He cared so much about Irish football he was behind the Dublin Dons fiasco

31/12/2007, 11:55 AM
You have fallen hook line and sinker for one of the oldest tricks, where the interviewee/politician/ blank space gets himself into a manufactured emotional state where a tear actually appears. The design is to put on a show of 'I really care because I have a tear therefore what I have to say has sincerity because I really care and to show I'm sincere I am going to get crackly emotional '.
Fake to the core.

Drumcondra 69er
31/12/2007, 12:13 PM
You have fallen hook line and sinker for one of the oldest tricks, where the interviewee/politician/ blank space gets himself into a manufactured emotional state where a tear actually appears. The design is to put on a show of 'I really care because I have a tear therefore what I have to say has sincerity because I really care and to show I'm sincere I am going to get crackly emotional '.
Fake to the core.

Up there with Bertie's Dobbo interview!

an_ceannaire
31/12/2007, 12:52 PM
ye may be right lads but if thats the case we should NEVER believe any televised emotion??? I have a lot of time for Dunphy, think he is a lot smarter than most believe and is more often than not dead right. The way he almost single handely stood up for Keane post Saipan and convinced many people that Roys story was more fact than fiction will, for me, always stand to him.
I have always been of the opinion that Jack was a very lucky manager in the right place at the right time, and if we had a decent manager back then (paisley!!) with the creativity in that team that Jack scandolously ignored.....well....who knows.
I think Eamo thought the same and used a his public platform to promote those views.
Dunphy is far more sinned against than the sinner.
Eamo Rules :D

31/12/2007, 1:02 PM
You posted this already in the thread about the TG4 documentary about the Charlton years.

What has this to do with the International football team?

31/12/2007, 1:02 PM
ye may be right lads but if thats the case we should NEVER believe any televised emotion???
Why do feel you have to believe? just discriminate between the croaking cringers and the sincere.

an_ceannaire
31/12/2007, 1:06 PM
geysir, do you think Dunphy is basically an idiot with a big mouth and no idea what he is talking about? A mouthpiece for the premiership irish brigade and the Irish version of Brian Woolnough??

31/12/2007, 1:22 PM
I think he courts controversy just for the sake of it at times. But I think he's pretty knowledgeable about football, especially football politics.

He cares about the national team's performance, but I've never seen any evidence that he cares even a little bit about the domestic league.

31/12/2007, 1:31 PM
geysir, do you think Dunphy is basically an idiot with a big mouth and no idea what he is talking about? A mouthpiece for the premiership irish brigade and the Irish version of Brian Woolnough??

I like Dunphy more than the average Irish football supporter, but you can't forget how much he flip-flops on issues, or ignore that he's made a lot of money off of being Ireland's controversial pundit

an_ceannaire
31/12/2007, 1:50 PM
Jebus I think the vast majaroty of Irish Soccer fans, not Eircom League fans, just your normal Irish International fan on the street kinda fella really likes him. They love to slag him off, they love to abuse him, but more than anything else they love that he is there. If Eamo left most of us would miss him on tele. He is the Irish Football version of Kurt Angle :) They guy you love to hate, but more love than hate. In a completely non man love kinda way :) !!
It does make me laugh the way himself and Johnny are still almosy sadly holding onto the Ronaldo is useless gripe when deep down at this stage they know they are wrong. Johnny will turn on this issue before Eamo!

Drumcondra 69er
31/12/2007, 2:08 PM
ye may be right lads but if thats the case we should NEVER believe any televised emotion??? I have a lot of time for Dunphy, think he is a lot smarter than most believe and is more often than not dead right. The way he almost single handely stood up for Keane post Saipan and convinced many people that Roys story was more fact than fiction will, for me, always stand to him.
I have always been of the opinion that Jack was a very lucky manager in the right place at the right time, and if we had a decent manager back then (paisley!!) with the creativity in that team that Jack scandolously ignored.....well....who knows.
I think Eamo thought the same and used a his public platform to promote those views.
Dunphy is far more sinned against than the sinner.
Eamo Rules :D

Do you know what you're on about? it's generally accepted that (unbeknownst to people at the tilm) Paisley was beggining to suffer from the onset of Alhzheimers in 1986, it would have been a disaster had he been appointed.

Dunphy is entertaining but is forever contradicting himself and changing his mind on issues depending on the contest of the arguement. Right more often then not?? More sinned against then sinner??! :D Give me a break, seems to be you're blindly licking his hole over the stance he took alongside RK in Saipan rather then anything concrete he's consistently said or done.

31/12/2007, 2:14 PM
An Ceannaire, you've won me over, anyone who drops a Kurt Angle reference in the Irish football section is a legend in my book :)

Irish_Praha
31/12/2007, 2:15 PM
In recent years I have only seen video footage of him on youtube etc. I was back in Ireland for this documentary and saw my first clear pictures of him in years. I thinks it's disgraceful that someone with so much money and that appears regularly on TV has a brown set of bottom teeth. That's what really shows me that the man has no shame or self-respect.

an_ceannaire
31/12/2007, 3:22 PM
Oh its true Jebus...........its damn true!
Pass the milk ;)

31/12/2007, 3:25 PM
He is the Irish Football version of Kurt Angle :)
Is this the same Kurt Angle that wrapped his car around a tree recently and is alleged the real reason he was left go from the WWE is because he is up to his tonsils in painkillers just so he can wrestle, thus violating their wellness policy?

31/12/2007, 3:29 PM
Is this the same Kurt Angle that wrapped his car around a tree recently and is alleged the real reason he was left go from the WWE is because he is up to his tonsils in painkillers just so he can wrestle, thus violating their wellness policy?

Thats the legend alright

an_ceannaire
31/12/2007, 3:37 PM
jesus us 3 Limk boys are up to date on the ol WWE arent we :D
there is just so damn much to do in this town !!!

31/12/2007, 4:26 PM
geysir, do you think Dunphy is basically an idiot with a big mouth and no idea what he is talking about?
I think you could be describing your own posts in this thread :)
You are all over the place in this thread like a jack in the box.

Dunphy´s utterings are not worthy of a comment.
This is what you wrote,
´I have to say given his rare to see show of humility I really felt for him. I dont believe for a second they were crocodile tears. Maybe, just maybe Eamo really does care THAT much abour Irish Football.´
I just dont fall hook line and sinker for the corny cráp that Dunphy comes out with, as he clears his throat and clenches his mouth for a second, with a flicker or two of his eyelashes he looks a little to the side of the camera with mournful eyes, like a pet dog hanging around the dinner table and then finds that spot where he has some emotion.
Even as acting goes, it's píss poor.

Seano
31/12/2007, 4:31 PM
Have any of you's met Dunphy in real life? I have and found him to be a sound fella and quick witted. I do think many of his views are clouded and unbalanced, but I would have no reason to ever dislike him. And on international football itself I would judge him as very passionate.

Maroon 7
31/12/2007, 4:39 PM
I don't mind Dunphy even though he's more an entertainer than a serious football analyst. It's hard to take anyone seriously that contradicts himself as much as Eamo does.

His rants are quality though.

hoopy
31/12/2007, 4:40 PM
Dunphy is entertaining but is forever contradicting himself and changing his mind on issues depending on the contest of the arguement. Right more often then not?? More sinned against then sinner??! :D Give me a break, seems to be you're blindly licking his hole over the stance he took alongside RK in Saipan rather then anything concrete he's consistently said or done.

Well said. On a more personal note he always backed Kilcoyne on Milltown, unforgiveable in my eyes. It is sad though that those who love Dunphy seem to do so because of Roy Keane/Man Utd.

Seano
31/12/2007, 4:52 PM
Does any know know if he ever took legal action against that bouncer that tried to stitch him up? That was a disgraceful incident.

If the case is still ongoing, then please ignore this post :p

31/12/2007, 8:31 PM
He wrote one good book on football.. '' Only A Game'' which was a diary of his season with Millwall when they narrowly missed out on promotion to what you would now call the English Premier League back in the 1970's. He has made an entire career out of that and has rarely equalled the quality of that piece of work.

He was wrong about the Dublin Dons he was wrong about a lot of things.
I won't go into the whole Saipan thing, except to say, he was looking after his gig as much as anything because he was writing Keane's Biography at the time. Therefore he felt honour bound to back Keane regardless of the circumstances. That was part of the reason he would have supported Keane even if he had shot someone over there while drunk.

He has turned his back on the League of Ireland completely. He couldn't hack it as a player in 1979 he retired. He spent years bitching about the League in his so-called previews for a Sunday newspaper. Despite never going to games. He next reappeared as a pundit on TV and that was where he made his name as Mr. Controversy.

He next had a Radio show on Radio Ireland/ Today F.M. and was on Newstalk for a while and jacked that in , then came his
TV 3 chat show , which to be fair wasn't total sh1t , but was put out at a ridiculous time against the Late Late Show. If it had been shown on a Thursday or a Saturday it would have got a large share of the Late Late audience and been a great success. But no Eamo wanted to take on an institution. He is at times like Don Quixote tilting at Windmills... Over to you Sancho Panza

an_ceannaire
01/01/2008, 12:47 AM
now before i write this i think i should state that i am in fact...hammered :D
but.............For me, and many many other Eamon Dunphy is a legend, a god if you will. I worship at the alter, pay the fees and gloat about it. Dunphy is a voice of controversy and sanity mixed into one. The Noel Gallaher of Irish Football if you will. (so thats Kirt Angle amd Noel Gallaher, high praise indeed)
For me Eamon Dunphy cares as much if not more about Irish Football than Geysir, Dodge, Owls fan, Neil McD, Noley and many more combined. He is what you may call, as all legends are, misunderstood in his own time. History will judge him kindly. I for one stand and salure Eamon Dunpjhy, a genuine legend in his own time. Irish Football would be a lot poorer for his loss. Would you rather Ian Wright, Jamie Redknapp, Alan Hansen, Fat Pat or Clive Tylsdley????
Eamo Eamo Eamo
LEGEND!!!!

01/01/2008, 12:10 PM
Here's a little compilation of your hero that I have made

http://www.elfyourself.com/?id=1886850120

Only in Ireland would we embrace such a negative character and such a buffoon.

Ireland's answer to Ian Wright.

01/01/2008, 12:20 PM
Or if you prefer the whole RTE Panel of Jack Charlton Ireland fans

http://www.elfyourself.com/?id=1886927480

Okey dokey ?

01/01/2008, 1:44 PM
Those links don't work for me.

If you have a look at the Dalymount Years Docu. Dunphy refers to his hard street wise gurrier education, the real type, so called. He claimed he use to bunk into the Ireland games.
'Bunking in' to him was getting lifted over the styles :confused:
Brady asked him, 'Eamon, did you bunk into the Irl V Eng game?' Dunphy looks a bit startled, caught out, hesitates and mumbles no he couldn't get a lift over the styles.
Some spoofer, hadn't the guts to bunk over the styles himself.

01/01/2008, 6:53 PM
Have any of you's met Dunphy in real life? I have and found him to be a sound fella and quick witted. I do think many of his views are clouded and unbalanced, but I would have no reason to ever dislike him. And on international football itself I would judge him as very passionate.

I think Dunphy is great, and yeah sure he changes his mind now and again, but jeez we are irish arent we? The most fickle people on the planet!
Also he was right about Michelle Smith, the plank kenny, the Roy saga, and Ronaldo (wait till the later stages of the CL - as usual!!)
He is not bad at writing too!

God isnt Rte better than anything that you will watch on the BBc MOTD tonite?

02/01/2008, 8:49 AM
Also he was right about .....the Roy saga....

A lot of people wouldn't think so.

seanfhear
02/01/2008, 12:16 PM
the question to ask about dunphy is how much money he has made from irish football against how much he has contributed to it

02/01/2008, 12:28 PM
the question to ask about dunphy is how much money he has made from irish football against how much he has contributed to it

He has no trouble making ends meet. His foot is always in his mouth;). And do you know what really makes him look good: DISTANCE!

fergalr
02/01/2008, 12:41 PM
Dunphy was ever only interested in one thing and that's self-promotion. He's a one trick pony (and its a pretty well-worn trick at this stage). Apart from that he reaches the zenith of obnoxiousness when he gets into one of his periodic Smithers impersonations (most noticably with Kilcoyne - for this alone he deserves no suport from any Irish footie fan).