View Full Version : Willie Doyle

21/12/2007, 1:50 PM
Has started working as the football development officer for Co Wexford. He's out injured at the moment, the article seems to suggest he'd be more than happy to join up with the Youths if Monaghan are willing to release him.

It may just be idle speculation, but it's very quiet in here lately. It would be a fair trek up to Monaghan for training now that he's based at home. Here's a bit of the article from the Wexford Echo and a link to the rest of it:

THE NAME Willie Doyle will be a familiar one to local League of Ireland fans.
The Gorey born striker was one of the goal scorers for Monaghan United in their odd goal in five eircom League First Division win over Wexford Youths at Newcastle in September.
Willie (23) is now back in Wexford in a completely different footballing role.
He began work last month as the county’s Football Development Officer after being appointed to the job by the FAI in conjunction with Wexford County Council.
And who knows, with his new ‘day job’ in Wexford, the Magic Mons goal ace might even consider a switch to the local LOI club if agreement is reached by all parties involved!!
Full Article (http://www.wexfordecho.ie/news/story/?trs=cwidcwaugb&cat=sport)

passerrby
21/12/2007, 2:06 PM
but would he give up his professional status and get no money is that not the situation.....or do wexford pay more in expenses than some clubs saleries

21/12/2007, 2:28 PM
but would he give up his professional status and get no money is that not the situation.....or do wexford pay more in expenses than some clubs saleries

I'd imagine his role with the FAI is a paid one, add to that expenses from Wexford Youths and he'd probably make a tidy sum. I don't imagine he's on huge money in Monaghan and the travelling would be a nightmare.

kopite
03/01/2008, 7:47 PM
Saw this one coming.Was at the ground just before Christmas and was talkin with Mick,when i was leaving i spotted the F.A.I. car parked at the complex.His new job with the Fai is as a community developement officer,which would have made travel to monaghan difficult,the hours are not exactly 9-5.The wages are E40,000 p.a. can't be any worse than our present strikers? i also believe paul murphy from kilmore has signed,anyone know?

04/01/2008, 9:48 AM
If these two were confirmed it would be a huge boost to the club. Both have league experience and plenty of ability.
I wouldn't be surprised if Paul was released by Pat's as he didn't really look like making a break through there. If he can be kept focused and gets fit he'll be an excellent addition.
It would certainly increase our fire power dramatically.

04/01/2008, 10:01 AM
Its not really a case of us releasing him as far as I'm aware. His contract was only a 1 yr deal but he had said he would train with our lads in Dublin as soon as the Doctor oked it and see from there.

Would he be able to move to Wexford considering his 3 clubs in a year thing from last year though?

Congrats to him on the job, delighted for him, a lovely young lad.

04/01/2008, 10:04 AM
Willie had one brilliant season with UCD in 2004 in the First Division. If he even comes close to that again in the future he will be an asset to any team. He has had very inconsistent form since. And even a return to Belfield didn't turn things around for him.

04/01/2008, 10:05 AM
Would be a pity if that prevented him from moving. With his injury at the moment, and his new job, I don't suppose he'd mind hanging around for an extra few months if he had to.

monutdfc
04/01/2008, 10:09 AM
Fair play to Willie on his new job. A good signing for Wexford Youths too if it happens - a player with a decent bit of league experience is what they need; but as Magicme says he would be up against the 3 clubs rule again if that mess happens again this season.
However, he has some major fitness work to do, needing to lose at least a stone and I think injuries have taken their toll on him, he looked very sluggish for us all season. I hope he does regain full fitness, because at his best he was a very very good player.

04/01/2008, 10:12 AM
Thats true. From what I heard he wont be allowed to kick a ball until April at the earliest so who knows.

05/01/2008, 5:38 PM
Bloody decent player when he's fit.

I fear he may be crocked though.

If not he'll walk on to your team :ball:

half_full
05/01/2008, 8:34 PM
Wonder would he be coming back to the RSC...he seemed to be treated very poorly by Reynolds when he was manager. I remember Doyle scoring a class free kick early in the 2005 season Vs. Bohs:)

Youths4Ever
09/01/2008, 8:47 PM
when the three club now gone hopefully brings things a step closer or at least a little easier

Aaron
09/01/2008, 9:02 PM
Any other transfer going ons at WY?

kopite
13/01/2008, 8:02 PM
the news is willie has not signed and there is no on-going talks,the same applies to paul murphy.

14/01/2008, 10:19 AM
the news is willie has not signed and there is no on-going talks,the same applies to paul murphy.

That's disappointing. Did this come direct form Wallace?

mrmurphster
14/01/2008, 3:11 PM
He will be training with the team when pre-season starts up. No more info as of now.

dublin_owl
14/01/2008, 4:07 PM
He will be training with the team when pre-season starts up. No more info as of now.

Is that you Paul? I mean are you him, is he you? :)

Blue-Army
14/01/2008, 4:20 PM
Wonder would he be coming back to the RSC...he seemed to be treated very poorly by Reynolds when he was manager. I remember Doyle scoring a class free kick early in the 2005 season Vs. Bohs:)I remember that myself...some free kick...wouldn't mind having him back...If Bemingham is injured as much as last year we'll need him..

ForzaWexford
17/01/2008, 12:29 AM
I heard today that Willie is definitely going to be involved. Haven't a clue about Paul Murphy.

ForzaWexford
17/01/2008, 11:39 AM
Forgot to say, we're on the lookout for a keeper too. Seemingly!

Footsoldier
17/01/2008, 12:39 PM
I think a keeper is the one position where Mick should go out and sign someone from outside the county with LoI experience. I thought Russell and Doyle did a decent job but I just feel that getting someone with experience would add that little bit to the backline. The last few games showed us that the backs were growing in confidence. Rossi looks the biz. Calm as fcuk!

An experienced keeper and Doyle for this year would be great. Doyle could learn bucket loads. I'm basing that on the presumption that Russell isn't coming back though. If he is - Apologies Jayo!

17/01/2008, 12:55 PM
An experienced keeper would definitely be a bonus. I've noticed Mick criticising Doyle a few times about his attitude and concentration, he'd definitely benefit from a few seasons as understudy to someone experienced. Most keepers don't really mature until late twenties.

ForzaWexford
17/01/2008, 6:54 PM
Yeah he's fairly young, still U-18.

Aside from a keeper, I think we need someone with eL experience to play a holding role in midfield. Someone to slow the game down and try dictate the play a bit. Conor and Patsy did very well last year but if we had a little more cuteness about us a lot of those 1-0 and 2-1 defeats might have ended in draws.

Think it was around 12 games which we lost by 1 goal last year.

ForzaForth
17/01/2008, 10:32 PM
Would like to see big centre-half who can dominate in the air. We gave away far too many headed goals last year. Rossi or Anto could sweep behind him. Rossi looks the better organiser.

oldyouth
17/01/2008, 11:33 PM
My opinion is that Russell is a better (but not by far) keeper than Pa, but a back line can make a keeper look bad when it is not his fault. We need to sort out the set pieces as a defensive UNIT!!!

18/01/2008, 10:02 PM
I think a keeper is the one position where Mick should go out and sign someone from outside the county with LoI experience.

Just on this how would Wexford fans feel about players being signed from outside the county to bring success

Do you think it would adversly affect the crowds or would they pick up anyway if the team was better

18/01/2008, 10:09 PM
Just on this how would Wexford fans feel about players being signed from outside the county to bring success

Do you think it would adversly affect the crowds or would they pick up anyway if the team was better

Personally no problem as long as the players in question are willing to move to Wexford and commit to the club.
As long as it was selective and measures are in place to ensure local players will remain central to the club. It's about finding a balance between community club and competitive league of Ireland team. The team will need to be competitive to keep people interested, more fans will come out to see a successful side with some 'outsiders' than a local side getting hammered every season.

oldyouth
18/01/2008, 10:19 PM
Totally agree with passinginterest and the longer you go without breaking your own self imposed rule, the more difficult it becomes to change things. My opinion is that you look locally first but if you don't succeeed in finding a key player, then look outside. However, no journeymen need apply!!!!

18/01/2008, 10:31 PM
It's about finding a balance between community club and competitive league of Ireland team.

That's exactly it.

There's many the provincial side that packed the team full of Dubs and did Ok but no one went to watch them.

You have to tread carefully

18/01/2008, 10:34 PM
Just thinking - Wexford Youths appear very similar to UCD when we first entered the league in 79. Amateur team, all local (or from college, in our case). We had to change to have any hope of competing, and I reckon Wexford will in due course, but we've kept the core focus the same, which I'd imagine Wexford could do too (core of local young players with some experienced heads too). Only difference is that our "locality" isn't as restricting.

ForzaWexford
19/01/2008, 1:00 AM
I'd have to agree with everything which has been said so far.

We have a load of 18-20 year olds at our disposal who will hopefuly have come on a bit from last year. I know most of them personally and you can see - in the dedicated ones at least - a complete change in lifestlye. Not just towards their training, but eating properly, staying off the drink, going to the gym etc. They're still foing to be quite "raw" though which is why I would definitely be in favour of bringing 1 or 2 new players in. As I said earlier, someone to try dictate the play a little more from the middle would be ideal for us.

On a kind of related note, disappointing to see Kilkenny's departure from the league. Not only was it "just up the road" as such but they would surely have been good for 9 or 10 points had they stayed in the division! I wonder how prepared Sporting Fingal are going to be. They have a fine set-up and a pretty big catchment area.

wexfordseagull
19/01/2008, 6:23 PM
bringing in a goalkeeper i can live with as it is a specialised position:D

oldyouth
20/01/2008, 9:46 PM
Met Willie today at the U-18 game, seems like a nice chap.
€7 to watch the young lads today.... a little steep I think
I heard Cork are coming down on 17th Feb. We seem to have a testing pre-season line up going on, looking forward to it

Footsoldier
21/01/2008, 10:18 AM
That's exactly it.

There's many the provincial side that packed the team full of Dubs and did Ok but no one went to watch them.

You have to tread carefully

I totally agree with you :eek:
We all know that we'll struggle while we have just the local junior players making the step up. However, I think Mick has it right by getting that "local" mentality into the club.

When Kilkenny City (RIP) won the league in '97, Alfie Hale had the team made up entirely from players from the South-East. Lads from Waterford, Kilkenny, Carlow and Wexford. The only player he had from outside the area was Ashley Stephenson, the keeper! An English lad who they had in as a pro. He moved to Waterford and played with them for a few years.

Derry have a good set-up, I believe. They'll sign in players from outside, but they have to move up to Derry. Having said that, it's easier to say that to pro's. Not sure how that'd work for us. They'd hardly move down for the beautiful women!!!!:D

kopite
21/01/2008, 5:59 PM
footsoldier,thought LTID was off yer mailing list? forgive and forget,eh? well you won't when the Lim lads find out we have a PINK jersey next season,yep a PINK jersey.the lads played like pansys last season, now they'll look like one.if the shirt fits.....

21/01/2008, 6:34 PM
Derry have a good set-up, I believe. They'll sign in players from outside, but they have to move up to Derry. Having said that, it's easier to say that to pro's. Not sure how that'd work for us. They'd hardly move down for the beautiful women!!!!:D
I don't know if that's correct. I think I've heard of Derry players training in Dublin. I may be confusing things though.

21/01/2008, 6:36 PM
Stephen Kenny was fairly insistent about his players moving to Derry. One of the reasons Clive left.

21/01/2008, 6:36 PM
Stephen Kenny was fairly insistent about his players moving to Derry. One of the reasons Clive left.
Okay - a Kenny thing rather than a Derry thing so.

21/01/2008, 6:39 PM
I think they kept it afterwards though, in fairness. And obviously I'd expect it's back in force now if it did go while Fenlon and Robertson were in charge.

22/01/2008, 1:22 PM
footsoldier,thought LTID was off yer mailing list? forgive and forget,eh? well you won't when the Lim lads find out we have a PINK jersey next season,yep a PINK jersey.the lads played like pansys last season, now they'll look like one.if the shirt fits.....

Is this true??

Classic :D

Footsoldier
22/01/2008, 1:57 PM
Which part, LTID? No, you'll never be off my mailing list but, Yes we are getting a pink jersey!!

It's not like ye need more ammo to take the p!ss out of us for, but here you go anyway!!

22/01/2008, 2:10 PM
Which part, LTID? No, you'll never be off my mailing list but, Yes we are getting a pink jersey!!

It's not like ye need more ammo to take the p!ss out of us for, but here you go anyway!!

The pink jersey bit!!

Personally I say fairplay

But our far right lunatic fringe is going to have a field day :p

oldyouth
22/01/2008, 7:41 PM
Lim til I die, forget about any lunatic fringe. Everyone will be ripping the urine out of us! Theres only one good place to see pink........... on the snooker table:(

dublin_owl
22/01/2008, 9:59 PM
Pink shirts, yikes! :o

I wonder is Mick adopting a "Boy Named Sue" type mentality! :confused:

Aaron
23/01/2008, 10:26 PM
I think they kept it afterwards though, in fairness. And obviously I'd expect it's back in force now if it did go while Fenlon and Robertson were in charge.

Yeah thats correct we did keep that. The board were insistent to Fenlon and Robertson that any player he is to sign should reside in the North-West, otherwise they wouldnt be signing. I think that may be part of the reason we struggle to get many Dublin based players, and the tax situation dosnt help. Keeny is currently scouting the IL and UK for players

Footsoldier
24/01/2008, 10:29 AM
And do the fans appreciate the fact that the players all live in the area?

passerrby
24/01/2008, 4:36 PM
And do the fans appreciate the fact that the players all live in the area?

only if hey are winning , that is the only thing that will please supporters. they will use it as a hammer to bludgeon you if your losing but if your winning hey who gives a flying fcuk where they come from

24/01/2008, 5:18 PM
An interesting quote from Wallace in the Wexford Echo (http://www.wexfordecho.ie/news/story/?trs=cwideyojql&cat=sport) this week:

“I’ll be sticking with basically local players and amateur status and running the club as a community project.”
It's a subtle change from "all local" to "basically local" but a significant one I think.

Sunny Jim
24/01/2008, 5:31 PM
Well he's going to need a bit of wriggle room if we're bottom of the table come June!