View Full Version : Lawrie Sanchez

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Steve Bruce
16/01/2008, 9:58 AM
Just one small fact:

Even without the benefit of any experimental friendlies, ie. having been chucked in at the deep end after Sanchez bolted, Nigel Worthington's record in charge of his first six Northern Ireland matches is superior to Sanchez's record in his first six games in charge.:eek::eek::eek:

Sanchez lacked conviction, confidence and patience.

Come on you cannot be serious.

How can you compare the two situations?

Sanchez took over NI when we where 120 in the world?

We didn't score in over 10 matches and the NI team was an aging team

Worthington took over a team full of confidence in a qualifying spot, a young hungry team who are having the time of their lives. 36th in the world or something like that.

You are obviously in the bitter camp. Say no more.

Not Brazil
16/01/2008, 10:15 AM
Come on you cannot be serious.

How can you compare the two situations?

You are obviously in the bitter camp.

I am serious, and I'm not in the bitter camp.

I quoted you a fact.

Sanchez got us three good results.

Steve Bruce
16/01/2008, 10:31 AM

I quoted you a fact.

Rubbish.

Sanchez was appointed manager of Northern Ireland with the NI ranked 124th in the world, with a 1,298 minute-long goal drought and had not won a game for nearly three years. Northern Ireland improved markedly under Sanchez, and by the time he left, Northern Ireland were top of their Euro 2008 qualification group and were ranked 33rd in the world, equalling their best ever position.

Right enough he got their with only 3 good results:rolleyes:

lionelhutz
16/01/2008, 10:46 AM

I quoted you a fact.

What about the 0-0 draw away to Denmark?

Another excellent result

Deckydee
16/01/2008, 10:52 AM
That's really not how it worked with NI under LS, since I simply don't recall our defenders hoofing it down the middle and certainly never the big guy (Quinn or Lafferty) ever "nodding it out to the wingers". (Granted, Taylor did set up a couple of goals for Healy via a quick punt down the field, but that was an ad hoc response to heavy pressure, where the opposition were caught forward, rather than a pre-planned tactic)

Sanchez relied heavily on wide players (Gillespie or Jones on the right, Elliott, Brunt or Sproule on the left), who hit a mixture of early crosses, through passes or pull-backs from the byline.

His centre midfield was usually a combination of a ball-winner (Johnson or Clingan) alongside a more creative player (Davis).

In all cases, they were instructed to get the ball forward quickly, but it was as often to Healy cutting in from either flank or timing a late run as it was to the big guy, it was as often via the wings as it was through the middle and it was more often along the deck than up in the air, since regardless of position, Healy was the usual target. As such, his goals were of every type (close-in, from distance, headers, either foot, through on the keeper, chipped from the edge of the box etc).

Therefore, the key was in Healy's mobility, perpetual work rate and accuracy, with the player on the ball to get it forward quickly and all the other players instructed to provide physical support and take defenders away from him.

As UEFA's stats show, Healy was actually flagged offside more times than any other player in the Euro qualifiers:
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/euro/statistics/players/typestat=o/index.html
For most players, you'd just say that he was inept, except that he scored more goals than anyone else:
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/euro/statistics/players/typestat=gs/index.html
He also had the 3rd highest number of attempts on target:
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/euro/statistics/players/typestat=sg/index.html
However, when it came to the number of shots off target, he was only 10th equal (alongside Robbie Keane!)
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/euro/statistics/players/typestat=sw/index.html

What this says is that Healy worked incredibly hard, forever pushing defences to the limit all along the front line, so that when he did get the ball away from a defender within scoring range, his extremely accurate finishing (i.e not just on target, but beyond the keeper) did the rest.

And the other significant statistic about Healy is that he played every one of the 13 scoreless games before Sanchez took over.

Therefore, it is clear to me that with NI, Sanchez quickly found a system to suit the players available to him, without that system being Route One (long ball).

Which is why I feel that if he were given the ROI job, he'd also have to work with the players available to him, and therefore have to find the system which best suited them.

Moreover, on the question of attitude, he'd quickly sort out those whose attitude is suspect, thereby concentrating on the players he trusted.

If I were Delaney, I'd instruct the Selection Panel to camp out on Sanchez's doorstep every night until he signed, since he's proven with NI that he can transform an underperforming team at international level, and with the better basic talent available to him in the ROI squad, I think he'd be as good a bet to qualify as anyone esle who is realistically available.

But as I say, I doubt if he'd accept ;)

So Ealing I see that you like him then. I agree. I think he would be good for the ROI

RogerMilla
16/01/2008, 11:22 AM
Interesting stuff EG and all in all a resounding yes from you and steve bruce. I will just say that i will not be disappointed if he is announced as our new manager.

EalingGreen
16/01/2008, 2:15 PM
Interesting stuff EG and all in all a resounding yes from you and steve bruce. I will just say that i will not be disappointed if he is announced as our new manager.

Don't get me wrong, I think there are better managers than LS (e.g. Allardyce, Deschamps, Houllier etc), it's just that as we saw with Hodgson, I doubt whether the FAI will be able to persuade them, even with the big salary on offer.

Jicked
16/01/2008, 2:20 PM
Did the FAI try to persuade Hodgson? I thought they just met with him, never got back to him as they had a load of dummies to interview, and he quite understandably took the Fulham gig rather than wait to see about Ireland?

Sanchez would be a big dissapointment for me.

16/01/2008, 2:24 PM
Did the FAI try to persuade Hodgson? I thought they just met with him, never got back to him as they had a load of dummies to interview, and he quite understandably took the Fulham gig rather than wait to see about Ireland?

I've a feeling they knocked him back. Don't know it was just the way he said it in the interview "I met with the selection committee, but was not offered the Job" is that not just a polite way of saying "I was knocked back"

16/01/2008, 2:29 PM

i heard from a decent enough source that hodgson was met twice by the FAI prior to Christmas and was very nearly our manager. i've no proof but i heard that just before he was offered the fulham job and before hodgson made it known publically that he had met the FAI. he has had a flat in london for a while now and made it known that a return to london was his preference

the time to get him was before he was appointed finnish manager. hardly heard him mentioned as a possible manager when kerr was let go

EalingGreen
16/01/2008, 2:45 PM
In over 30 years of watching Northern Ireland, the home defeat by Iceland under Sanchez was one of the most tactically inept managerial performances I have witnessed.

You may recall the Sanchez "hissy fit" when the media here had the audacity to call the performance for what it was - absolutely abysmal.

No doubt that Sanchez give us Norn Iron fans some nights to remember - but some of us don't forget the days and nights under Sanchez when things weren't quite so fantastic.

A quick look at his managerial record with Northern Ireland will reveal some absolute howler results, hidden in amongst the three really good ones.

As someone who has been watching NI for nearer 40 years, I believe in taking the long view, rather than "a quick look"! And no matter how you view it, Lawrie's record as NI manager was excellent - exceeded only by Bingham (imo).

The Statistics bear this out:
http://nifootball.blogspot.com/2006/08/northern-ireland-managers.html
Northern Ireland: The Managers
Manager.............First Game..Last Game........All Games..........Goals...Success
.................................................. .......... Pl...W....D....L.....F : A........Rate..
Committee...........18/02/1882..12/05/1951..174...29...27..118..198:.559..21.8%
Peter Doherty.......06/10/1951..09/05/1962...51....9...14...28...67:.119..26.8%
Bertie Peacock......10/10/1962..12/04/1967...28...11....4...13...46:..54..44.0%
Billy Bingham.......21/10/1967..22/05/1971......20....8....3....9...24:..22..45.0%
Terry Neill.........22/09/1971..30/10/1974......20....6....6....8...16:..18..40.0%
Dave Clements.......16/03/1975..14/05/1976.....11....3....2....6....7:..15..33.3%
Danny Blanchflower..13/10/1976..21/11/1979...24....6....5...13...19:..37..31.9%
Billy Bingham.......26/03/1980..17/11/1993...98...32...32...34...92:.107..43.5%
Bryan Hamilton......23/03/1994..11/10/1997...31....8....8...15...34:..41..34.4%
Lawrie McMenemy.....25/03/1998..10/10/1999...14....4....3....7....9:..25..35.7%
Sammy McIlroy.......23/02/2000..11/10/2003...29....5....7...17...19:..40..25.3%
Lawrie Sanchez......18/02/2004..28/03/2007...32...11...10...11...35:..42..44.8%
Nigel Worthington*..22/08/2007..21/11/2007... 6... 2... 1... 3... 7:.. 7..38.8%
TOTAL............................................. ....513..127..114..272..545:1049..32.1%

His "Success Rate" is highest of all (just!);
He is our only manager to have won as many as he lost;
He took over when the team was argably in its worst state in decades;
Granted he never qualified for a Finals (though had he stayed he might have). Then again, he never had the quality of players available to Doherty (e.g. Gregg, Blanchflower, McIlroy, Peacock, McParland) or Bingham (e.g. Jennings, O'Neill, Best, Whiteside, Donaghy), nor was their era so competitive for Finals places for the European region;
During his tenure, he had 10 players who each gained 20 or more caps. Every one of these bar Steven Davis was available to his predecessor, who couldn't buy a goal, never mind a victory. Yet LS was denied top Division players available to McIlroy either due to retirement (Taggart, Magilton, Lennon) or age (Lomas, Hughes);
McIlroy managed 5 wins in 29 games - 3 against Malta and one each against Liechtenstein and Iceland. (Two of these were friendlies, btw)
Under McIlroy, Healy scored 8 goals in 29 games; under LS the same player got 21 in 27;
As LS gained more experience (and got the team playing his way), results and performances showed clear improvement. Whereas with Hamilton, McMenemy and McIlroy, results and performances got noticeably worse as they went on.

But I'll give you the "hissy fit" with the Press; I mean to say, it's one thing beating the likes of Spain, Sweden and England, but anyone who takes the hump at such literary and footballing luminaries as Stephen Beacom clearly has no right being in the job...:rolleyes:

Not Brazil
16/01/2008, 5:04 PM
Sanchez was appointed manager of Northern Ireland with the NI ranked 124th in the world, with a 1,298 minute-long goal drought and had not won a game for nearly three years.

We scored a goal (hip hip hurrah) in a 4-1 home gubbing by Norway.

We got a friendly win away to the mighty Estonia, before drawing with a crack Barbados side.

We struggled then to beat a couple of mountains called St Kitts and Nevis, and got a decent win in Tobago.

To be blunt, it didn't take a genius to achieve any of that.

When the real action started, Poland tore us apart at Windsor Park.

His WC Qualifying campaign was nothing special - bar a home win against a, grossly overrated, England team.

Canada, Malta, Azerbaijan results/performances seem to be easy forgotten.

He took over when the only way to go was up.

When it came to the bit, he lacked the conviction, confidence and patience to see him complete a job he had started well in the Euros.

Mixed memories for me.

Not Brazil
16/01/2008, 5:15 PM
by the time he left, Northern Ireland were top of their Euro 2008 qualification group and were ranked 33rd in the world, equalling their best ever position.

We've kicked on then, under Nigel, setting new highs.

Currently ranked 32nd.;)

EalingGreen
16/01/2008, 6:42 PM
We scored a goal (hip hip hurrah) in a 4-1 home gubbing by Norway.

We got a friendly win away to the mighty Estonia, before drawing with a crack Barbados side.

We struggled then to beat a couple of mountains called St Kitts and Nevis, and got a decent win in Tobago.

To be blunt, it didn't take a genius to achieve any of that.

When the real action started, Poland tore us apart at Windsor Park.

His WC Qualifying campaign was nothing special - bar a home win against a, grossly overrated, England team.

Canada, Malta, Azerbaijan results/performances seem to be easy forgotten.

He took over when the only way to go was up.

When it came to the bit, he lacked the conviction, confidence and patience to see him complete a job he had started well in the Euros.

Mixed memories for me.

Not so much "mixed" memories, as selective ones.

If the wholesale transformation he achieved wasn't immediate, nor without stumbles along the way - progress usually is "Two steps forward, one step back" - the overall picture is nonetheless undeniable:
1. As many wins as defeats (unprecedented);
2. A 44.8% "Success Rate";
3. An unprecedented rise in the FIFA rankings of over 80 places;
4. The majority of credit for finishing 3rd with 20 points in a tough Euro Group, when his predecessor had seen us finish bottom with 3 points (below Armenia on seven!) and not even a goal, in an easier Euro Group just four years earlier;
5. The greatest surge in optimism and pride amongst the support since the days of Bingham.

Sure, you can point to horror stories like Iceland and Poland, but if you look back through the historybooks, that's the entire story of being an NI fan - even under Bingham.

But what LS also had was the ability to cancel these out with exceptional results in a way which only Bingham, Doherty (for a period) and Peacock (possibly) amongst our previous managers could be said to have achieved.

As for your assertion that he lacked "confidence", how can you say that when he was just about the only one who felt we could beat England at Windsor - for the first time since 1927? :eek:

Or that he lacked "conviction", when it was he who, before the Sweden game, produced a mock-up of what the Group Table would look like when (not "if") we beat them?

As for "patience" - who gives a stuff about that?

Fair enough, criticise him all you like for the manner and timing of his departure, but don't allow the frustration or anger to cause you to try to rewrite the record whilst he was in charge, in direct denial of what is plain to see. :rolleyes:

Not Brazil
16/01/2008, 7:03 PM
Fair enough, criticise him all you like for the manner and timing of his departure, but don't allow the frustration or anger to cause you to try to rewrite the record whilst he was in charge, in direct denial of what is plain to see. :rolleyes:

Like I said, three good results, in amongst some dross.

Lacked conviction - bolted at the first opportunity. Didn't see the job thru. Left it at the half way point, whilst in the lead.

Lacked confidence - if he really believed he could of got Northern Ireland to the Euro finals, he would have stayed on to reap the rewards of that success.

Lacked patience - first to wave a wad in front of his face and away he went.

I was neither frustrated, nor angry that he departed.

Then again, I never thought he was the dogs.:)

Good luck to him - six months is a long time in this game.:D

16/01/2008, 10:34 PM
Move this thread to the Irish league forum fast.
Arenīt you guys usually not allowed to argue amongst yourselves when out and about doing your PR missionary work in and amongst all the discussion boards of the world?

EalingGreen
17/01/2008, 10:42 AM
Arenīt you guys usually not allowed to argue amongst yourselves when out and about doing your PR missionary work in and amongst all the discussion boards of the world?

This thread, on an interviewee for the ROI manager's job, was started by an ROI fan.

Around a dozen ROI fans posted before any NI fan.

LS's recent record in charge of a comparable and neighbouring team is surely relevant to his prospects in the ROI post were he to get it.

Not Brazil & I (and Steve Bruce) were merely debating how successful he was (or otherwise) in the NI post.

Therefore our posts can hardly be deemed irrelevant/off-topic (at least no more than many on this Board)

I note from some of your other posts that you seem to have a real problem with NI posters who "dare" to express an opinion on anything on this Board - even where they are qualified to do so, maintain a moderate tone, and remain strictly on-topic. Or is it just me you object to?

Either way, you might as well get used to it.

macdermesser
17/01/2008, 11:09 AM
Enjoyed reading your posts on this thread Ealing Green .. you certainly make a very good case for Sanchez. Would prefer him to Venables, O'leary and a few other of the so-called front runners.

galwayhoop
17/01/2008, 11:12 AM
Like I said, three good results, in amongst some dross.

Lacked conviction - bolted at the first opportunity. Didn't see the job thru. Left it at the half way point, whilst in the lead.

Lacked confidence - if he really believed he could of got Northern Ireland to the Euro finals, he would have stayed on to reap the rewards of that success.

Lacked patience - first to wave a wad in front of his face and away he went.

i can only assume that you must be bitter (or at the very least upset) about his departure Not Brazil!

Ye offically had the worst record in international football (for not scoring a goal - 13 games), had a team (lets face it) made up mostly of nobodys.

were 128th in the world and going nowhere fast.

Sanchez came in and in an interview I remember he stated he had 3 objectives.
1. score a goal then
2. win a game then
3. overtake us in the rankings

he achieved all 3. when he left ye were in pole position to qualify and had some excellent results against really top teams during his tenure. he operated on meager resources but did what all good managers are able to do - made them perform better than the sum of their parts.

it is often said that success in management is leaving the team in a better standing than when you took it. he was mega-successful in that regard.

granted there were some really poor results thrown into the mix but unfortunately for the smaller countries that is par for the course.

obviously it would have hurt when he left - personally i would have been disgusted. but, unfortunately nowadays loyalty is rare in football and managers and players have to make moves when their stock is high. his was very high when he left and he got a premier league job from his time with NI. having come from Wycombe Wanders iirc that is a serious leap for him. As you say yourself 6 months is a long time in football and perhaps an offer like that may not have been there again.

Club management is a far more attractive proposition today than international management and NI were victims of an ambitious and successiful manager, as were Scotland. I mean 20 years there is no way on God's earth that a Scotland manager would leave his post to take the reigns at Birmingham!!!

galwayhoop
17/01/2008, 11:14 AM
... you certainly make a very good case for Sanchez. Would prefer him to Venables, O'leary and a few other of the so-called front runners.

Totally agree here. Especially prefer him to TV. LS wouldn't be my first choice but much better than some of the driftwood we are being associated with.

RogerMilla
17/01/2008, 11:17 AM

we asked them for their opinion and they gave it , all completely relevant to lawrie sanchez

17/01/2008, 11:22 AM
So EG, you are allowed to rubbish another OWCerīs opinion on a "foreign" board when discussing some matter related to NI.
I hadnīt seen that before.
The tabernacle discipline isnīt what it use to be.

EalingGreen
17/01/2008, 11:46 AM
So EG, you are allowed to rubbish another OWCerīs opinion on a "foreign" board when discussing some matter related to NI.

Not Brazil and I agree on a number of matters and disagree on others, on this forum and elsewhere. Surprise, surprise, it's neither "allowed" or "disallowed", rather it's just what football fans tend to do.

As for your reference to "tabernacle discipline", I've never been in a tabernacle [sic] in my entire life. In fact, other than the occasional baptism/marriage/funeral, I haven't been in any* place of worship, of any sect or creed, since I was sixteen, so would you like to be a bit more specific as to what exactly you meant by your reference? :confused:

* - I tell a lie; when I am on holiday, I occasionally visit cathedrals, mosques, synagogues etc, often disused or converted to museums, but never to partake in a service. Surprise, surprise, it's what tourists tend to do.

17/01/2008, 1:29 PM

Give it a rest for ****s sake.

This is relevant to the national side, as Sanchez is apparently being interviewed for the job, and 2 posters who have first-hand knowledge of one of his spells of management are providing some information.

irishfan86
17/01/2008, 1:53 PM
Yeah I'll throw my support behind the NI lads here, cheers for the information both positive and negative on Sanchez.

He wouldn't be my first choice, but I wouldn't be unhappy with his appointment either.

17/01/2008, 1:57 PM
You donīt do irony very well Osarusan, the athmosphere of OWC concurrance on the Ireland forum being shattered by the outbreak of rubbishing of each others posts.

17/01/2008, 2:07 PM
I'd be underwhelmed by Sanchez. Sure, he'd be a lot better than Stan but I'm holding out for someone with more experience and failing that someone who actually has an affinity for our team.

17/01/2008, 2:10 PM
You donīt do irony very well Osarusan, the athmosphere of OWC concurrance on the Ireland forum being shattered by the outbreak of rubbishing of each others posts.
don't read too much into it. Two posters disagree on Sanchez's abilities. What they do on OWC, or in the "Eligibility" thread is irrelevant in this thread.

galwayhoop
17/01/2008, 2:11 PM
I'd be underwhelmed by Sanchez. Sure, he'd be a lot better than Stan but I'm holding out for someone with more experience and failing that someone who actually has an affinity for our team.

i'll agree with you there Stuttgart but if the alternative is El flippin Tel then i'd take Sanchez in a heart beat. However if the alternative was Deschamps or Houllier then i'd go for either of the latter.

17/01/2008, 2:21 PM
I'd actually take Venables over Sanchez.

Paddy Garcia
17/01/2008, 2:23 PM

me too.

lionelhutz
17/01/2008, 2:31 PM

Agreed. Don't think Sanchez is anywhere near Venables in terms of coaching ability, experience and knowledge of the game.

I think he did an excellent job for NI but believe that he worked best with under achieving players who wanted to prove a point and did everything he told them. Fortunately, or unforunately depending on how you look at it, the majority of our players have been playing at the top level for the most part and believe themselves to be top players - and therefore i think they'd start questioning his methods from the off whereas they'd have great respect for Venables.

As an aside, last summer i put a bet on Fulham to get relegated cause Sanchez was manager, he was signing NI players and his methods aren't suited to talented players

EalingGreen
17/01/2008, 3:00 PM
Sure, he'd be a lot better than Stan but I'm holding out for someone with more experience

He's actually got three and a half years highly relevant and recent experience in international football, with no small degree of success

failing that someone who actually has an affinity for our team.

Stan had total affinity, whereas Big Jack had little or none when he took over. If everything else was OK, I doubt whether the affinity of the appointee should really matter too much. Besides, Sanchez actually started his managerial career with Sligo Rovers, where I believe he did OK.

I guess what I'm saying is that whilst there are undoubtedly better candidates out there than LS (around whom there remain some questions), the FAI might have difficulty in attracting them, despite the big salary.

EalingGreen
17/01/2008, 3:13 PM
Agreed. Don't think Sanchez is anywhere near Venables in terms of coaching ability, experience and knowledge of the game.

Agree, but there is a clear question mark over TV's commitment and motives for wanting the job (and I'm actually a fan of TV, since his Spurs days!)

I think he did an excellent job for NI but believe that he worked best with under achieving players who wanted to prove a point and did everything he told them. Fortunately, or unforunately depending on how you look at it, the majority of our players have been playing at the top level for the most part and believe themselves to be top players - and therefore i think they'd start questioning his methods from the off whereas they'd have great respect for Venables.

Agree again, but isn't that "self-regard" a huge part of the reason behind ROI's underperformance? No doubt TV would massage the egos of the "Big Time Charlies" whilst he got their measure, whereas LS would be much more blunt* - "my way or the highway"

But whether a manager uses carrot or stick with them, if the players can't/won't perform for him, sooner or later they've got to go - regardless of their reputation. Or as Alex Ferguson always says: "What the players must never forget is that I'm not here to please them, they're here to please me!"

* - One of the reasons LS's results were patchy in the beginning was that it took him a few games to find the players to replace those senior players he fell out with early on - McCartney, Lomas, Whitley, Mulryne etc. In the short term it hurt us, but in the long term it was the best thing he could have done. Since ROI have a bigger/better squad, replacing the troublemakers should be an easier/quicker process than with NI.

17/01/2008, 3:19 PM
EG, your response is entirely consistent with the bits you've quoted!.

I'm holding out for someone with more experience: perhaps I should have said more and broader. My preferred candidates to date have been Houllier, Hodgson, Jol and, if it was feasible, Coppell. Hodgson, Houllier & Jol speak for themselves and despite Coppell's lack of international experience, his 20+ years in management speaks for itself. You may have noted that recently I have conceded that I'd prefer Venables over some other candidates.

failing that someone who actually has an affinity for our team: obviously not another total rookie, but if we're to get someone with less than the ideal level of experience I'd prefer it not to be an "outsider". For me Brady would be palatable despite being less than ideal.

For this reason I'm very sceptical about Deschamps for example.

17/01/2008, 3:19 PM
Another reason for not appointing him is this, would Newcaslte appoint Roy Keane, would Sunderland appoint Kevin Keegan, would Liverpool appoint Alex Ferguson and Man Utd appoint Dalglish or Arsenal appoint Glen Hoddle or Spurs appoint George Graham !!!!!! (sic).

17/01/2008, 3:22 PM
there is a clear question mark over TV's commitment and motives for wanting the job Doesn't the same apply to sanchez? If he's not committed to his own country how can he be committed to ours? Motives? A million euros plus bonuses is a nice motive, but what'd happen if another English club job came up?

irishfan86
17/01/2008, 3:23 PM
Another reason for not appointing him is this, would Newcaslte appoint Roy Keane, would Sunderland appoint Kevin Keegan, would Liverpool appoint Alex Ferguson and Man Utd appoint Dalglish or Arsenal appoint Glen Hoddle or Spurs appoint George Graham !!!!!! (sic).

That might have some relevance if we actually played against them competitively, but as it stands the soonest we could possibly play them is in the playoffs I believe?

If the 3 men believe he's the best man for the job then he should be given it based on their assessment of his ability to do the job, not useless sentiment.

irishfan86
17/01/2008, 3:26 PM
Doesn't the same apply to sanchez? If he's not committed to his own country how can he be committed to ours? Motives? A million euros plus bonuses is a nice motive, but what'd happen if another English club job came up?

To be honest after what happened at Fulham I really doubt he'd leave us mid-campaign.

Not saying it's impossible, but this is a decent paying management job by any standards, and he'd be foolish to travel down that road again.

What his career needs is some stability to build up his reputation again, and I'm sure he knows that.

Not Brazil
17/01/2008, 7:39 PM
[QUOTE=galwayhoop;855656]i can only assume that you must be bitter (or at the very least upset) about his departure Not Brazil!
QUOTE]

Not at all.

Just not as in love with Lawrie as some.

Not Brazil
17/01/2008, 7:42 PM
Not Brazil and I agree on a number of matters and disagree on others, on this forum and elsewhere. Surprise, surprise, it's neither "allowed" or "disallowed", rather it's just what football fans tend to do.

I agree with this.

(That's us back on the party line EG ;) )

18/01/2008, 8:59 AM
To be honest after what happened at Fulham I really doubt he'd leave us mid-campaign.

Not saying it's impossible, but this is a decent paying management job by any standards, and he'd be foolish to travel down that road again.

What his career needs is some stability to build up his reputation again, and I'm sure he knows that.Yep, that's probably true.

18/01/2008, 11:08 AM
Doesn't the same apply to sanchez? If he's not committed to his own country how can he be committed to ours? Motives? A million euros plus bonuses is a nice motive, but what'd happen if another English club job came up?
Are the Fai offering a fixed salary or a scaled type salary according to quality/experience?
If Houllier was worth a €1.1m p/a then imo Sanchez would be worth about €300,000.

18/01/2008, 11:10 AM
Lord knows.

EalingGreen
18/01/2008, 1:46 PM
(There's one bit in the following article which made me burst out laughing - you can probably tell which one ;))

John Laverty's take in the Belfast Telegraph ....

Our Lawrie can pull off yet another big surprise
Friday, January 18, 2008

It could never happen... could it? Well, in football they say anything can happen - and 'they' would normally be right.

Let me take you back to 19 years ago for instance, to July 10, 1989.

I remember the date vividly because it was the day I wrote the biggest 'scoop' of my journalistic career.

A friend, who had an uncle who was best friends with a director of Rangers - yes, it was that vague - told me that, later in the day, the Ibrox club would announce that they had signed striker Mo Johnston.

That the Scottish international player was a Catholic was sensational enough; that he was a former Huns-hating Celtic player... well, I suppose if you're going to shatter a tradition, do it in style.

The Belfast Telegraph put the story on its back page: 'Johnston to sign for Rangers.'

We knew it would get people talking.

What we didn't know was that the phones would virtually ring of the hook all afternoon, with furious Teddy Bears fans berating us for "making up lies " and equally furious Orangemen castigating us for "trying to ruin the Twelfth."

But the story was in fact 100 per cent true.

Early in the afternoon Rangers confirmed it, the headlines moved from our back page to our front page and so was another example of the maxim that, in football, anything can happen.

So don't for one second rule out the possibility that Lawrie Sanchez, once the darling of Windsor Park's Spion Kop, could in a couple of weeks' time be paraded as the new Republic of Ireland manager.

I know Lawrie pretty well. He's confident, assured - even arrogant.

That may have taken a bit of a knock when Premiership club Fulham - whom he upped sticks and left Northern Ireland for last year - sacked him a few weeks ago. But few people in the game are as good at selling themselves as Lawrie is.

And he's good at putting his money where his mouth is, too.

Anyone who read his recent book The Northern Ireland Years will know that he badgered the Irish FA into giving him an interview for the vacant international manager's job.

Like the Republic of Ireland media are doing now, the Ulster scribblers didn't give the man a hope of landing the role.

Remember, Lawrie was courting the IFA, not the other way round.

But it was a different story when the 48-year-old plumped himself down in front of the interview panel.

He told them he could organise a team, motivate them, get them playing the sort of football that gave them a chance of achieving some success.

Moreover, he reminded his inquisitors that he had a penchant for producing the sensational and the unexpected which was exemplified by his winning goal for Wimbledon against red-hot favourites Liverpool in the 1988 FA Cup final, and his managerial magic in steering no-hopers Wycombe to an FA Cup semi- final.

The rest, as they say, is history; Lawrie got the job - and Northern Ireland fans eventually got a team capable of beating England, Spain and Sweden in three never-to-be-forgotten nights at Windsor Park.

Believe me, those games will be mentioned when Sanchez is interviewed for the Republic job; the irony for Northern Ireland fans there for all to see.

If he gets it, he won't have left 'us' for 'them' and so quite a few members of the Green and White Army will wish him all the best.

But if 'they' are going well and 'we' - the team he left for the Fulham money when they were still in with a brilliant chance of qualifying for Euro 2008 - aren't, that's when the latent bitterness, the wringing of hands and the stories about what might have been will kick in.

Lawrie's catchphrase is: " Don't be surprised if there's a surprise" and another seismic event in the world of football this week would have added credence to that.

Admit it, football fans... if someone had told you a couple of weeks ago that Kevin Keegan - who has spent most of the last three years playing golf - would be named this week as the new manager of Premiership sleeping giants Newcastle United, you'd have laughed in their face.

But there he is, the Geordie messiah returning some 12 years after he left, citing that he had taken the club as far as he could.

It was only a couple of days ago that the Magpies chairman insisted, after the abrupt sacking of previous manager Sam Allardyce, that Newcastle were "looking to the future" in their pursuit of a new boss.

Instead, they looked firmly into the dim and distant past.

Like I said, in football anything is possible.

21/01/2008, 4:22 PM
I agree. Stranger things have happened.

For those on the FAI Board looking for the cheap option as opposed to the 7 figure sums mentioned for most of the other managers, "our Lawrie can pull off yet another big surprise" and get some support on the Board.

Just as I wasn't shocked at the Charlton appointment, I wouldn't be shocked by this one either.

21/01/2008, 4:39 PM
Please no.

21/01/2008, 4:53 PM
why not give Coleman an interview? As much as I respect Sanchez's achievements at Norn Iron I do not want him as manager. I'd rather have El Tel and it hurts to write that but I would.

Paulh
21/01/2008, 6:28 PM
why not give Coleman an interview? As much as I respect Sanchez's achievements at Norn Iron I do not want him as manager. I'd rather have El Tel and it hurts to write that but I would.

I totally agree. Sanchez did a terrific job with NI but he has only 1 system of play - long ball + a big target man. When that doesn't work, he gets found out as happened at Fulham.

With all due respect to NI, we have more skillful players. I see absolutely no evidence of Sanchez having the coaching ability to get the best out of very skillful players or improve the younger ones.

For all his faults, TV is a widely respected coach and tactician who is spoken of very highly by pretty much every quality player he has coached.

My concern about TV from day 1 has been his commitment to the job not his ability to do it. His recent track record makes me fear that he will be half hearted and, if it goes wrong, he'll gladly walk away with a big payout.

I firmly believe that, if Venables really wants to show that he's still got it and is willing to put the effort, he could get the best out of our players and make us a decent team. We don't need to be a long ball team and I doubt TV would go that way. I have no doubt that Sanchez would and thereby waste the talents of McGeady, Ireland, Reid(s), Duff etc.

Frankly, I wanted Houllier or Coppell or Jol because I am wary of TV. However, if it isn't going to be any of them, I'd much rather have TV (or Hoddle) than Sanchez.

I am confident that TV has the ability to do it, it depends on his commitment.

I'm afraid that Sanchez will have to rebuild his post Fulham reputation somewhere else before I'd consider him for our team.

At the end of the day, if it is TV, then we should get together and give him a chance. It will be clear soon enough if he really cares - if not, then we can have a fair go at him.

However, I think giving him a hard time before he's had a chance would be both unfair and unhelpful to the team.

Qwerty
22/01/2008, 1:15 AM
There is a big difference between being #1 and being #2. I don't think the #2 position suited him with England, he undermined McClaren to a certain extent. He is a good coach with a good record, he will be able to deal with our media quite easily and he'll be able to deal with the FAI. I think the Ireland job is perfect for his ego, he is a pefect match in many ways, baggage notwithstanding.