View Full Version : Waterford United new book

The Man Himself
20/12/2007, 4:17 PM
http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r54/gotaround/scan0001-1.jpg

[EDIT: See post below. --adam]

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
contents

1. MUD,SWEAT & TEARS - My struggle to get to EVERY home game in the 80/81 season despite my cheapskate uncles insistence not to pay for me.

2. SOMETHING IN RESERVE - Micheal Butler's account of the weekend players went on strike, the board had enough, and an entire reserve team went to Derry City. (1990/91)

3. Zero To Hero- The Rise Of Pat Flynn . Love him or hate him , you can't knock the man's effort. (2006-07)

4.Who's The Bald Guy In The Middle - Brilliant true story of how a Manchester fan I met in England happened to meet his idol Bobby Charlton - not in Old Trafford but in the ****ing rain at Kilcohan against Finn Harps in 75. (1975)

5. Managers & Characters - Matt Keane amusing look back at managers of the Blues over the past 40 years (1965-present)

6. A Year Of Sweet Delusion - My chapter about the 1988/89 season with a twist ending.

7. Bridge Over Troubled Water - Martin Colebert pens a chapter on his time as a director at the club. Watch out for the "2 grand of Blues bit".
2004/05

8. Once Upon A Time In The West - Dungarvan man Jackie Sandford writes about the formation of Dungarvan Utd, their link with the Blues, and his memories as a fan in Kilcohan. 1945-70.

9. Ohh - Wakka - Do- Wakka- Day - A homage to a time when one man drove his first girlfriend crazy with 0-0 draws against Home Farm and the huming of a certain Gilbert O Sullivan song. 1972-73

10. A Long Way From Clare To Here - Tommy Lynch's entry about his career which obviously takes in his time at the Blues. 1996-98

11. Sleeping With The Enemy - David Breen talks about his time on both sides of the fence - both here and up the road at Buckley Park 1997-2000

12. One Night In The Stag 1972 - Interesting chapter (wrote by Cork based playright and Blues fan Derek O Gorman - about the night of the 1972 epic league game against Cork Hibs in Flower Lodge.

13. Time Fly's When You're Having Fun - Prince Charles himself - Michael Walsh gives us a look back at his 44 years at the club. 1963- Present.

20/12/2007, 4:20 PM
this thread is gonna be sent to rubbish.

The Man Himself
20/12/2007, 4:22 PM
this thread is gonna be sent to rubbish.

why?

i got me hands on one last week and have to say its a very good read.

harpstilidie
20/12/2007, 4:27 PM
Like the cover! :D

20/12/2007, 4:28 PM
based on this rule - http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=431911&postcount=9

Unless you've already cleared it with Dahamsta, of course.

20/12/2007, 5:13 PM
Its an eircom League related book though.

stann
20/12/2007, 7:11 PM
Just to clue Adam and everyone in, this isn't the author plugging his own book! As far as I know the author doesn't even frequent this site, and certainly doesn't post here.
The chapter descriptions where it says 'My struggle...', 'My chapter...' and so on are the author/compiler's descriptions of the contents as written on the back cover of the book. They're written that way as the book is a series of chapters from a number of contributors rather than completely written by the one pen.
The address to send off to is not that of the author either, or The Man Himself, but that of one of the main men in the Independant Blues Supporters Club, who've an agreement with the writer Brian Kennedy to sell a number of the books to raise funds for the IBSC which in turn will be contributed to the Blues over the course of the season.
And it is a great read by the way. For me, it's just pipped Eamon Sweeney's effort as the best LoI book ever, though I might be a touch biased.

20/12/2007, 7:28 PM
this will be the fourth eircom league related book I have purchased over the last few weeks.

finn harps have released their new book, drogheda have launched their own new book, now brian kennedys ( book he had last year was excellent) and kilkenny citys history written by chairman jim rhattigan.

21/12/2007, 1:04 AM
fair enough, I jumped the gun.

Good luck with the book, it has a great cover, I'll say that.

21/12/2007, 8:35 AM
Out of interest did Waterford ever beat Shamrock Rovers 7-0 as on the cover? I don't think so. I know Cork City did in 1938.

The Man Himself
21/12/2007, 8:39 AM
Out of interest did Waterford ever beat Shamrock Rovers 7-0 as on the cover? I don't think so. I know Cork City did in 1938.

1956 ;)

21/12/2007, 11:35 AM
1956 ;)

You should tell the official Rovers website (I'd be amazed if it is wrong)

http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/honours.php

Record Defeat
0-7 v St James Gate, League 22/04/1937
0-7 v Cork City, Dublin City Cup, 31/08/1938

LukeO
21/12/2007, 5:57 PM
Can anyone tell me where I can get the other books too?

21/12/2007, 7:01 PM
Can anyone tell me where I can get the other books too?

well lukeO,

hope u are gettin over the sean connor scandal.drogheda utd book can be ordered through easons there is nothing up on droghedas website. finn harps history of can be ordered on finn harps website. kilkennys city history of can be ordered from jim rhattigan,7 cedarwood close, loughboy, kilkenny. available at ten euros plus postage. two euros extra should cover the cost.

happy xmas,

martinho II

LukeO
21/12/2007, 7:48 PM
Cheers.

21/12/2007, 8:24 PM
Please clear items like this with me in future, or don't post the commercial information. I don't care whether the OP is the author or not, we're not running a shopfront here.

The Man Himself
23/12/2007, 4:38 PM
You should tell the official Rovers website (I'd be amazed if it is wrong)

http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/honours.php

Record Defeat
0-7 v St James Gate, League 22/04/1937
0-7 v Cork City, Dublin City Cup, 31/08/1938

the shield in 1956 kilcohan park,
waterford 7 shamrock rvs 0,
wasnt really that important of a match.

24/12/2007, 9:49 AM
the shield in 1956 kilcohan park,
waterford 7 shamrock rvs 0,
wasnt really that important of a match.

According to Niall McSweeney's excellently research LoI results history Shamrock Rovers defeated Waterford 7-1 at Milltown on September 30th 1956 in the shield. They did not meet in the shield at Kilcohan in 1956.

The Man Himself
24/12/2007, 1:45 PM
According to Niall McSweeney's excellently research LoI results history Shamrock Rovers defeated Waterford 7-1 at Milltown on September 30th 1956 in the shield. They did not meet in the shield at Kilcohan in 1956.

they did, 2nd leg, waterford won 7-0.
8-7 on agg

LeixlipRed
24/12/2007, 2:05 PM
The maths don't quite add up there

HarpsinDublin
24/12/2007, 7:49 PM
8-7 on agg

The Shield was played on a League basis that year. Each team in the League played each other on one occasion and Waterford played Shamrock Rovers at Milltown losing 7-1. The Hoops won the Shield that year finishing top of the League losing only once against Cork Athletic by two goals to nil in the Mardyke.

Would therefore have to throw some doubt on the above scoreline. Maybe some Waterford or Hoops historian could find a match report.....

The Man Himself
25/12/2007, 4:23 PM
must have been 1955 then.

27/12/2007, 5:14 PM
8-7 on agg

This is absolute crap. Please stop spouting such rubbish. I thought you were just ill informed but it appears you are just deliberately spouting crap now. Unfortunately for you such things are very easy to check.

The Man Himself
27/12/2007, 5:28 PM
This is absolute crap. Please stop spouting such rubbish. I thought you were just ill informed but it appears you are just deliberately spouting crap now. Unfortunately for you such things are very easy to check.

here you are http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waterford_United_F.C.

Waterford F.C. 1930-1982

Waterford first participated in the league in the 1930-1931 season finishing ninth and again from 1931-1932 before dropping out of the league for two seasons. Waterford re-entered the league in the 1935-1936 season along with Sligo Rovers. Waterford FC won the Shield in their first season.

Waterord won the FAI cup for the first time in their history in 1937 beating St. James's Gate F.C. and also won the Shield.

The club were league runners up in 1937-1938 season and again in the 1940-1941 season. Both Waterford and League winners Cork United finished on equal points but Cork were awarded the title as Waterford were unable to compete in the play-off due to a dispute regarding payment to players. Waterford won the Shield again in the 1952-1953 season and were again runners-up in the League this time to St. Patricks Athletic in the 1954-1955 season and again in the 1962-1963 season.
Match programme from Waterford v Manchester Utd (1968).

waterford went on to record a record score of 7-0 win over shamrock rovers in the shield compitition in 1955,

The club eventually won the league title for the first time in the 1965-1966 season and this was the beginning of a hugely successful spell for the club domestically. The following season they played in the preliminary round of the Champions cup against Vorwärts Berlin, an East German and Army side, losing 6-1 at Dalymount Park and 6-0 in East Berlin.

They won the Shield once again in 1968 -1969 season. Waterford won the league title three times in a row, in 1968,1969 and in 1970. The title was won by Cork Hibernians in 1971 but returned to Waterford in the 1971-1972 season and again in the 1972-1973 season. The following season Waterford won the FAI League Cup, however failed to regain the league title. They won the FAI Cup in 1980 beating St. Patricks Athletic and this was the clubs final honour as Waterford F.C.

Waterford's success in the league brought European football playing against massive clubs such as Manchester United and Celtic.

27/12/2007, 6:05 PM
Subtle (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Waterford_United_F.C.&diff=180462129&oldid=180037658). :D You probably should have used capital letters and proper spelling to make it look more believable.

27/12/2007, 8:27 PM
Nice one for reverting Schumi. The Man Himself, pull that crap on Foot.ie again and the suspension will turn into a ban.

LeixlipRed
27/12/2007, 11:02 PM
The hilarious thing is that he thought he'd get away with it :D Anyway, I have to get back to altering my own Wikipedia page so it correctly reflects my recently acquired abilities to fly and spit fire through my nostrils