View Full Version : At the moment I'm listening to...

04/06/2003, 12:09 PM
1. Something Corporate - Leaving Through The Window
Piano-punk from some horribly talented lads in their late-teens and early twenties. Glorious melodies, fantastic lyrics, the total package.

2. Cold - Year Of The Spider
Latest offering from brooding Floridans that still manages to pack a punch. And it's a novelty to hear a metal vocalist whocan sing as opposed to simply scream/rap. They may be New-Metal but they're certainly not nu-metal.

3. H.I.M. - Love Metal
Album number four for the perpetually gloomy Finns. Poppier than anything they've ever released before but still has moments of absolute genius.

4. A.F.I. - Sing The Sorrow
A.F.I. have arrived with this. Takes a few listens to really grab you but this is a huge album in scope with a massive, massive sound that genuinely moves you.

5. Therapy? - High Anxiety
Andy Cairns and sidekicks return with a new drummer and an old school rock n' roll album that hearalds a gnarled, twisted return to form after the lacklustre 'Shameless'

And the rest of you???

The Sheliban
04/06/2003, 12:54 PM
I've heard of Therapy. [though I couldn't tell you any of their songs] Never heard of the rest of them.
Listening to John Otway Greatest Hits [still]
Johnny Cash 70th Birthday CD
Rocky Horror Show Soundtrack

Looks like I'm stuck in that time-warp again.

04/06/2003, 12:54 PM
frames - set list
doves - last broadcast
the white stripes

and some weird coldplay remix some has done and put up on the network at work :D

EireBadBoy
04/06/2003, 2:03 PM
Cerys Matthews - CockAHoop.........Sad really. ;)

04/06/2003, 4:09 PM
Mark Geary - 33 1/3 grand street
The White Stripes - Elephant
Whipping Boy - Heartworm (found it in a bargain bin for a dollar, brilliant)

what's set list like james? in the states and can't get a copy.

04/06/2003, 4:12 PM
Turn's new album 'Forward'.
Air Moon Safari

Ref
04/06/2003, 4:13 PM
other voices - songs from a room

:cool:

deise deserter
04/06/2003, 4:19 PM
1. Goo Goo Dolls - Dizzy Up the Girl

2. Eve6 - Horrorscope

3. Something Corporate - Leaving Through The Window

4. Iron Maiden - Best of the Beast

5. Fuel - Something Like Human

04/06/2003, 4:25 PM
Originally posted by deise deserter
1. Goo Goo Dolls - Dizzy Up the Girl

2. Eve6 - Horrorscope

3. Something Corporate - Leaving Through The Window

4. Iron Maiden - Best of the Beast

5. Fuel - Something Like Human

Copied from me, copied from me, recommended by me, nothing to do with me! :D and a present from me if I've gotten that right! :cool:

deise deserter
04/06/2003, 4:57 PM
Correct actually ... um, strange .........

yur man
04/06/2003, 4:57 PM
not much at all cos me computer is in hospital :( hope to have it out by the weekend, when i will work it till break point again :p

04/06/2003, 6:09 PM
Originally posted by tiktok
Mark Geary - 33 1/3 grand street
gud album, as you're in the staes try and get your hands on his first album Mark Geary (apparently he was so poor he cudnt afford to get a name for the album :))

Whipping Boy - Heartworm (found it in a bargain bin for a dollar, brilliant)
great album, still one of my favourites after what 5/6 years or so

what's set list like james? in the states and can't get a copy.
set-list is good , just what you'd expect if you've seen the band live, the odd story a couple of covers thrown into the end and middle of frames songs

and btw the album has been shipped to the US very recently and will be available on overcoat/touch & go, records. The band will also have copies for sale for their upcoming US tour. details here (http://www.theframes.ie/v3/news/dates.asp)

oh btw anyone in cork on thursday night with nothing to do check out Turn playing the Cruiscin Lan (sp!) on Douglas Street for a good rock n roll show. Album of the bands debut album Forward

04/06/2003, 7:08 PM
cheers for that, i'll have a look out for the mark geary's 1st over here.

04/06/2003, 7:14 PM
goto www.half.com (http://www.half.com)
do a music search for mark geary and bingo theres his 1st album

gota few copies for friends last time i was over, v cheap circa $5 including postage and reliable service too.

can also pick up some early frames stuff quite cheap on that site also btw

04/06/2003, 7:21 PM
nice one, just had a look, i could be spending a lot of time there.:)

04/06/2003, 7:59 PM
Green Day - International Super Hits - most of their best work over the years

Tom Dunnes 30 Best Irish Hits- nice broad collection from U2 to the Sultans of Ping

eoinh
05/06/2003, 12:57 PM
at the moment im listening to a mixture of old and new.

My favs - The Very Best of Moby Grape. Wow what an album, what a group.

the Flaming Lips - Yosimi battles the Pink Robots

The Vines - Highle Evolved

Country Joe and the Fish - electric Music for the mind and body

the charlatans - the amazing charlatans

05/06/2003, 1:51 PM
Boomtown Rats - A Tonic For The Troops

The Eagles - Best Of

The Beatles - Red Album (Tape 2)

Another time-warper...

06/06/2003, 1:36 PM
Feeder "Comfort in Sound"
The Streets "Original Pirate Material"
Doves "the last broadcast"

07/06/2003, 12:07 AM
Abdoujaparov (Formed by one of Carter USM) - "Air Odeon Disco Pub"

Rammstein - "Mutter"

Sigur Rós (Very good Icelandic Group) - "Ágætis Byrjun"

Cynmya
19/06/2003, 10:12 PM
Bad Brains, I against I

Ruairi
20/06/2003, 11:16 AM
CLT -

Mogwai - Happy songs for happy people

Jetplane Landing - Smalltown America

Audioslave - Audioslave
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

there's nothing happy about those Mogwai songs! Though the CD has a demo of Cubase SX on it, along with the individual tracks of the opening track "hunted by a freak", so you can remix em to your heart's content.

Jetplane landing are good, the singer's from derry (lives near my grandparents actually) and they sound a bit like refused/at the drive in.

Audioslave rocked like a muthafukka at the point on wednesday night, and the album's a cracker too.

Also been listening to Mickey harte's new single, "never wanna let U down", been playing it a lot on Campus Radio as it gives me an excuse to say "Mickey" every two seconds. The song's sh!t, but then again, you don't need to hear it to know that :rolleyes:

20/06/2003, 11:18 AM
You mean there's two At The Drive-In fans on this board!!! :eek:

Ruairi
20/06/2003, 11:26 AM
Jesus, the world's going to end!!:eek: :D

20/06/2003, 11:27 AM
Originally posted by Ruairi
Jesus, the world's going to end!!:eek: :D

Yes... with a transmission from a one armed scissor! ;)

20/06/2003, 11:31 AM
substance demos and Katell Kaenig Its a beautiful day you can download them all on the interweb

bleedin deadly like!

20/06/2003, 11:33 AM
Originally posted by wws
you can download them all on the interweb

Not in the eyes of Metallica you can't you bloody pirate! ;)

20/06/2003, 11:01 PM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
You mean there's two At The Drive-In fans on this board!!! :eek:

make that three, one of the better bands i've seen live, mad gang, weird stage presence though. is it true that they are no more and have gone their separate ways?? haven't heard anything about them in a while.

21/06/2003, 11:30 AM
Originally posted by SÓCcfc
Tom Dunnes 30 Best Irish Hits- nice broad collection from U2 to the Sultans of Ping
been looking for that to copy- i'll ring ya on it when I get back.

21/08/2003, 2:06 PM
is it true that they are no more and have gone their separate ways?? haven't heard anything about them in a while.

Yes, At The Drive In are no more...

NigeSausagepump
21/08/2003, 2:59 PM
1. Interpol - Turn on the Bright Lights
2. Flaming Lips - Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots
3. Polyphonic Spree- The Beginning Stages of...
4. Ash- Intergalactic Sonic Sevens
5. Suede - Dog Man Star (been in my CD player since 1994)

21/08/2003, 3:55 PM
at the mo in my car cd changer are

nora jones
train
john mayer
lemon jelly
relish
70's disco collection ( for when i'm in a disco stu mood )
nirvana greatest hits
robbie williams latest
aerosmith greatest hits
johnny cash

weird selection i know

Supersonic_779
21/08/2003, 4:15 PM
oasis live at the point 5th March (i was at that!, bootleg CD)
Foo fighters- one by one, theres nothing left to lose
the revs-sonic tonic, suck
Red hot chilis-By the way, Californication

Ruairi
21/08/2003, 4:18 PM
CLT:

Jane's Addiction - Strays

Me mam telling me to clean the kitchen

21/08/2003, 4:29 PM
at the moment i'm istening to women screaming on the phone :( bah

21/08/2003, 4:39 PM
Originally posted by Réiteoir
Abdoujaparov (Formed by one of Carter USM) - "Air Odeon Disco Pub"
"

Hey Réiteoir, what are Abdoujaparov like, ya gypo pox? Great name. It's Fruitbat from Carter USM AFAIK.

Had the misfortune to read the NME the other week and then saw the NME chart show. Good God! Must we throw this filth at the kids? Hundreds of lame ass wannabe rock n roll bands not fit to lace the boots of The Lurkers not to mind real rock n roll bands.

In case anyone's interested, I'm currently listening to Hank Williams, QOTSA, Fats Domino, The Who, the Clash and Minor Threat's complete discography CD. Mind you that's what I'm always listening to!

21/08/2003, 4:43 PM
Abdoujaparov?

Do they have anything to do with the famous Tour De France sprinter of the same name??:D

21/08/2003, 4:51 PM
Yeah, they got their name from him. :D

Anyone remember the Delgados? Named after the great Colombian climber Pedro Delgado. They even had an album called Domestique. **** band though.

I already miss the Tour de France and it's only just over. :(

21/08/2003, 4:57 PM
Pedro Delgado was Spanish WAR....

Best Tour in a long time this year IMO....

The Delgado's had one excellent song, but the name totally escapes me at the mo - prob their biggest hit....

21/08/2003, 5:03 PM
Well spotted Macy. :) What made me think he was Colombian? Memory not what it was.

You're right though, great Tour this year.

NigeSausagepump
21/08/2003, 5:04 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Pedro Delgado was Spanish WAR....

Best Tour in a long time this year IMO....

The Delgado's had one excellent song, but the name totally escapes me at the mo - prob their biggest hit....

Saw them playing support at Brixton Academy last year. There were about 20 punters on stage and half of them didn't have a clue what they were meant to be doing.

21/08/2003, 11:06 PM
Originally posted by max power
at the mo in my car cd changer are

mine are an equally strange mix

Hot Hot Heat - make up the breakdown
White Stripes - elephant
Aimee Mann (mainly) - Magnolia soundtrack
Townes van zandt live
damien rice - o
new Kings of Leon e.p.
norah jones
dave matthews band - crash
andy williams greatest hits
the ravonettes

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/06/2015, 12:50 AM
Paul Simon - Crazy Love Vol.II

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y8ZWaMn6mEg

15/06/2015, 4:52 AM
Wild Country - Wake Owl

sOl-xR_laLk

15/06/2015, 12:00 PM
mine are an equally strange mix

Hot Hot Heat - make up the breakdown
White Stripes - elephant
Aimee Mann (mainly) - Magnolia soundtrack
Townes van zandt live
damien rice - o
new Kings of Leon e.p.
norah jones
dave matthews band - crash
andy williams greatest hits
the ravonettes

That's like the craziest flashback to my music choices at that time! JAYSUS!

Make up the Breakdown... what a cracking album.

TheOneWhoKnocks
26/06/2015, 2:40 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLkmDt3HBLM

26/06/2015, 3:42 PM
Metric- Fantasies

Supremely mental flashbacks to Canada 2012 happening. Saw them at Bluesfest in Ottawa. Such crap they were. Le sigh. But album is savage.

stann
27/06/2015, 1:06 AM
Two songs on almost obsessive rotation this weather, the first from my absolute favourite band these last couple of years, the brilliant Rudimental.
Can't wait for the new album, not out 'til September!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=COoOHM4NbFc

stann
27/06/2015, 1:09 AM
Also this one, the band recommended a good while ago, on here I'm sure. Got their current album a while back, it's nearly worn out now.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3MrrVb_pf3w

stann
27/06/2015, 1:29 AM
On a bit of a nostalgia trip this week also, back to me indie jangle-pop days, C86, Fire Records, all that.
This is one of the very best of the bunch.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2WF9TqBWRs