View Full Version : What are counties actually famous for?

padjoe
19/12/2007, 5:27 PM
Hello my good people i come to you for help again.
I'm doing a bit of work on a piece of the above title. I have what counties are famous for and another line bout what they are actually known for......for example...

Cork

Famous for: Shandon tower, Murphy's, hurling and Roy Keane. Michael Collins, the guy who won us our independence or the ******* who sold the republic down the water and called in British guns to purge his former allies... depends on who you listen to really.

Actually famous for: Whinging players, who strike over a roll of toilet paper. People's Republic of Cork. Funny accents.

Cavan

Famous for: Paul Brady, World Handball Champion, Golf courses and Coarse fishing

Actually famous for: Potholes and people who are so tight they can peel an orange in their pockets.

I'm from cork myself so please no one take offence its only a bit of fun.

can i get help on this

19/12/2007, 5:33 PM
Limerick

Gangland Violence.

There, just saved someone the bother :)

Tir Oilean
19/12/2007, 5:49 PM
Galway: The obvious one is Galway United!

Three in row All Ireland titles.
Landin spot of the first transatlantic flight
Galway Races

That should get you started.

19/12/2007, 6:03 PM
Galway: The obvious one is Galway United!

Three in row All Ireland titles.
Landin spot of the first transatlantic flight
Galway Races

That should get you started.

.... add dirty water to your list ;)

Limerick

Gangland Violence.

There, just saved someone the bother :)

Angela's Ashes and rugby. Although knives and stabbings are the first things that come to mind

19/12/2007, 6:05 PM
Dublin

Being the ACTUAL CAPITAL CITY of the Country and being the only county in Ireland where Irish grown vegetables are produced . You can drink the tap water. Stealing the Stab city crown from Limerick :D
Having Ross O'Carroll-Kelly types and other West Brits !

19/12/2007, 6:23 PM
Sligo-Aine Chambers!

Soon to be renamed Slagho.

gilberto_eire
19/12/2007, 6:27 PM
.... add dirty water to your list ;)

*yawn* that is seriously old now, and every county has had water problems!!

Tir' left out some important ones..... Claddagh/Claddagh Ring, Connemara

dont sligo also have W.B Yeats?

19/12/2007, 6:31 PM
dont sligo also have W.B Yeats?
Yeah, but surely Aine is way more famous by now.

19/12/2007, 6:34 PM
Dublin: Being the ACTUAL CAPITAL CITY of the Country...For now... for now

19/12/2007, 7:52 PM
Sligo-Aine, Westlife, Yeats, lovely scenery too;), oh and Rovers of course:D.

DaveyCakes
19/12/2007, 8:07 PM
Carlow...uuuum, well there's..ah

I'll get back to you

Kildare Lad
19/12/2007, 8:39 PM
Kildare - Horses & inventing Guinness

19/12/2007, 8:52 PM
Kerry - Football , Ring of Kerry, Austin Stack, Jokes.

19/12/2007, 10:23 PM
Donegal - Daniel O'Donnell, Packie Bonner, Shay Given, Margo, Enya, McDaids football special, Oatfield sweets, and well thats pretty much it.

actually famous for, choking GAA team, GAA players fondness for the aul pint or two and bugger all else.

20/12/2007, 6:53 AM
Sligo = Yeat's country

Waterford = glass and hurling.

Cork = langers and people who go home from World Cups :p

20/12/2007, 6:57 AM
Longford -

ehm. Bogland. Albert Reynolds (even though he's technically a Rossie), Luigi's chips, Pat the Baker (even though he's brown bread), Longford Town FC

20/12/2007, 7:17 AM
On another board someone asked us to put down the first thing that came into our heads about the 31 counties that you don't consider your home. Made for interesting reading (all of then, not just mine). Some are obviously going to be personal and useless in the original context but here's what I put down

Antrim - belfast
Armagh - snipers
Carlow - rasta looking GAA jersey
Cavan - thriftiness
Clare - the burren
Cork - langers
Derry - Londonderry
Donegal - Finn Harps
Down - Up down
Galway - stag do(s)
Kerry - gaelic football
Kildare - horse racing
Kilkenny - hurling
Laois - portlaoise prison
Leitrim - nothing at all
Limerick - stab city
Longford - Longford Town FC
Louth - Dundalkkk
Mayo - westport beach
Meath - Naaaaavan
Monaghan - My dad's home
Offaly - BIFFO
Roscommon - A showjumper I was with in Rooskey
Sligo - Sligo Rovers
Tipperary - Tipperary water
Tyrone - red hand
Waterford - Tramore
Westmeath - being stuck for 4 hours in kinnegad
Wexford - Rosslare
Wicklow - mountains

20/12/2007, 8:18 AM
Monaghan: Barry McGuigan, Kevin McBride, Jonathon Douglas, Patrick Kavanagh, Eugene McCabe, John Deighan, Thomas Bracken, beautiful rolling hills, Castle Leslie & the wonderful Sir Jack, Golf, Fishing, Rally School of Ireland, Pat McGuigan (Barry's da who was in eurovision), Big Tom, The Flaws, Charles Gavin Duffy, Don Juan McKenna, Carrickmacross Lace and Clones Crystal, Mushrooms, Furniture and Bill Clinton's family are from just on the border between Monaghan and Fermanagh.

First county to elect a Sinn Feinner to the Dail, and just this week, first county to have a Sinn Fein Chairperson of a VEC.

Monaghan used to also have the highest number of luxury cars per captita but not sure it still does.

We are now, thanks to recent news stories, also famous for oil smuggling and political beatings.

Now to play Dodge's game:

Antrim - giants causeway
Armagh - sainsbury's
Carlow - a mate throwing up on the back of my neck with projectile vomit while I was driving
Cavan - tight feckers with a high percentage of mentlers
Clare - the burren
Cork - Hen night
Derry - Halloween
Donegal - Letterkenny - party town!
Down - Yuri (russian mate used to be called Yuri County Down coz of Newry county Down)
Galway - Favourite place in Ireland
Kerry - only county I have never been in.
Kildare - Oxeygen
Kilkenny - Anna, my sisters godmother
Laois - where babydaddy lives
Leitrim - does it exist?
Limerick - my fella
Longford - Flansiro
Louth - Louuud - Fusion niteclub
Mayo - Foxford Debs
Meath - necessary evil on route to Dublin
Monaghan - Home sweet home
Offaly - it was offaly nice of you to start this game Dodge
Roscommon - Mates wedding
Sligo - Yeats Village appartments & partying with Sligo Rovers players.......
Tipperary - The trip to Tipp - Feile
Tyrone - My mammy and childhood trips to the bog with my Grandad (RIP)
Waterford - Crystal
Westmeath - The Dog & Duck
Wexford - Kilmore Quay - summer spent there
Wicklow - Dustin singing "arkla arkla county wickla"

20/12/2007, 9:06 AM
its funny i think londonderry too.

20/12/2007, 9:17 AM
Laois: The only county which borders other counties that have no coastline!

20/12/2007, 9:20 AM
Donegal - Daniel O'Donnell, Packie Bonner, Shay Given, Margo, Enya, McDaids football special, Oatfield sweets, and well thats pretty much it.

actually famous for, choking GAA team, GAA players fondness for the aul pint or two and bugger all else.

What about Tweed Suits that make you break out in a rash

20/12/2007, 9:32 AM
Antrim - giants causeway
Armagh - Crossmaglen sniper at work
Carlow -Driving Ban:(
Cavan - Loughg Sheelin and the lovely Rosie(a long time ago)
Clare - the burren
Cork - Wheres the feckin' road signs
Derry -Free Derry Corner :)
Donegal - Letterkenny - Nice Hotel
Down - Beat us in the all Ireland
Galway - Ayre Square traffic
Kerry - Stoopid People
Kildare - Curragh
Kilkenny - Party!!
Laois - Portlaoise Prison
Leitrim - Dinosaurs
Limerick Feuds
Longford - LTFC
Louth - nearly at the border
Mayo - or Honey Mustard...the choices the choices
Meath - Lost my Virginity
Monaghan - See Louth
Offaly - in the middle
Roscommon - Looks like a hairdryer
Sligo - Speed Trap on that big sweeping bend on the dual carraigeway leaving the town
Tipperary - Spring Water
Tyrone - Your On Yer Own
Waterford - Crystal
Westmeath - Where?
Wexford - squashing coins on the train tracks when i was a nipper
Wicklow - Mountains

lionelhutz
20/12/2007, 9:58 AM
Antrim - belfast
Armagh - Oisin McConville
Carlow - coke heads
Cavan - Hector/Tommy Tiernan
Clare - the caves
Cork - the fillet of munster
Derry - the RUC
Donegal - Letterkenny FC
Down - Bad gaelic footballers
Galway - **** ups, the skeff
Kerry - dingle peninsula
Kildare - the lilywhites
Kilkenny - stags
Laois - ................
Leitrim - ..................
Limerick - drugs and gangs
Longford - ...................
Louth - im the gaffer
Mayo - Sam maguire will never come home to mayo
Meath - Dublins little brother
Monaghan - .............
Offaly - the Dooleys breaking our hearts in 94
Roscommon - mate of mine from college lives there
Sligo - ............
Tipperary - Thurles
Tyrone - Mickey Harte - the GAA one
Waterford - John O'Shea
Westmeath - Meaths little brother
Wexford - Bas***ds broke our hearts in 96!
Wicklow - mountains

20/12/2007, 10:16 AM
Cavan - Hector/Tommy Tiernan

both of them are from Navan, in Meath

20/12/2007, 10:21 AM

Spotted that but couldn't be bothered pointing it out

20/12/2007, 10:25 AM
Whilst avoiding the football references, here is my list:

Antrim - Belfast
Armagh - Orange
Carlow - Vacant Lot
Cavan - Keee-aaaaww-vunnnn
Clare - New Years' Day dip
Cork - Gaeltacht
Derry - Stroke City
Donegal - Isolated
Down - Mountains of Mourne
Dublin - Home for years
Galway - "I don't have a Galway accent" (said in a ridiculously Galwegian accent)
Kerry - Summer Holidays
Kildare - Flat
Kilkenny - Ould Enemy
Laois - Passed through when going somewhere
Leitrim - Beautiful but empty
Limerick - Bad reputation
Longford - Dog Food
Louth - Dundacccchhhhhhhhh
Mayo - Choke
Meath - Rough and Tumble
Monaghan - Sexy accent
Offaly - Jammy Hurlers
Roscommon - Nobodies' destination
Sligo - A town I like visiting
Tipperary - Buying Shoes in Carrick
Tyrone - Yer on yer own
Waterford - Much of my focus these days
Westmeath - Endearing ex girlfriend
Wexford - My home county
Wicklow - Arkla

You do all know that by cutting and pasting Dodge's list you are all leaving out Dublin and (in many cases) talking about your own home county?

20/12/2007, 10:27 AM
Whilst avoiding the football references, here is my list:

You do all know that by cutting and pasting Dodge's list you are all leaving out Dublin and (in many cases) talking about your own home county?

Doh! Ok Dublin: Best years of my life.

20/12/2007, 10:47 AM
Roscommon - Nobodies' destination

F OFF! its my destination this evening :P

citizenerased
20/12/2007, 10:50 AM
Meath -

Formerly the 5th province of Ireland
Hill of Tara where the High resided(ala the royal county)
Tommy Tiernan/Hector/Dylan Moran
Pierce Brosnan(navan man himself)
Francis Beaufort(invented the beaufort windscale)
Best land in the country
Boyne Valley
Great GAA Teams

lionelhutz
20/12/2007, 11:09 AM

Daw to me anyway - i knew that - sorry, had the office xmas party last nite so im a bit shook and obviously the brain isnt working!

Thats why im browsing here - looking for inspiration to get the body and mind in action!!

Actually, on that note, does any1 here put in the work the day after being out on the lash?? I think its nigh impossible

20/12/2007, 11:19 AM
Wicklow - The Garden County, fast becoming Dublin's Dumping Grounds, The Wicklow Mountains, Glendalough, Meeting of the Waters in Avoca, Powerscourt Gardens, Seamus Costello, Dick Roche (unfortunately), James Joyce, Oscar Wilde (both lived in Bray for a time), Micko now the GAA manager, being the worst county in GAA.

Torn-Ado
20/12/2007, 11:19 AM
Galway - "I don't have a Galway accent" (said in a ridiculously Galwegian accent)

Galway accents don't exist.

20/12/2007, 11:53 AM
Limerick - The Cranberries (they did sell a shedload of records over in the States), Richard Harris, Angelas Ashes/Frank McCourt, King John's Castle, home of Munster Rugby and gangland feuds

EAFC_rdfl
20/12/2007, 12:24 PM
Daw to me anyway - i knew that - sorry, had the office xmas party last nite so im a bit shook and obviously the brain isnt working!

Thats why im browsing here - looking for inspiration to get the body and mind in action!!

Actually, on that note, does any1 here put in the work the day after being out on the lash?? I think its nigh impossible

never do a tap! like today!!

EAFC_rdfl
20/12/2007, 12:34 PM
Antrim - yellow jerseys!
Armagh - anger/hate - last 5-10 years gaa
Carlow - never been in!
Cavan - Miserable!
Clare - Christy Moore
Cork - annoying accent
Derry - shoppin
Donegal -
Down - hollywood
Dublin - avoid
Galway - the other half!
Kerry - Gaelic
Kildare - oxegen
Kilkenny - cats laugh
Laois - the liam
Leitrim - 10 minute drive going home!
Limerick - the shannon
Longford - up the road
Louth - M1 bridge
Mayo - knock
Meath - the pale
Monaghan - the border
Offaly - biffos
Roscommon - Sunday league
Sligo - half way home
Tipperary - huge county
Tyrone - the enemy
Waterford - nice town
Westmeath - home for now
Wexford - in the corner
Wicklow - glenroe

20/12/2007, 12:35 PM
Antrim - belfast
Armagh - francie bellew
Carlow -carlow it
Cavan - quinn cement
Clare -ennis
Cork - langers
Derry -city
Donegal - family
Down -james mccartan
Dublin - microsoft
Galway -supermacs
Kerry - gaelic
Kildare - maynooth
Kilkenny - stags
Laois -blue and white
Leitrim - rockin robins
Limerick - stab city
Longford - LTFC
Louth - dundalk
Mayo - work
Meath -navan
Monaghan - friends
Offaly - biffo
Roscommon -rossies
Tipperary -hurlin
Tyrone - p canavan
Waterford - dungarvan
Westmeath - mullingar station
Wexford - father ted
Wicklow - bray

citizenerased
20/12/2007, 12:46 PM
Meath - the pale

Not really as navan isnt in the pale at all....dooblin is though

20/12/2007, 12:53 PM
Antrim - Bushmills
Armagh - bandit country
Carlow - Cameroon flag tribute gaah jersey
Cavan - mean bastads
Clare - Cliffs of Moher
Cork - Roy Keane
Derry - Walls of Derry
Donegal - Bundoran
Down - Mourne mountains
Galway - Connemara
Kerry - GAAH
Kildare - horse racing
Kilkenny - hurling
Laois - Portlaoise prison
Leitrim - Carrick-on-Shannon
Limerick - Angela's Ashes, ****ing rain
Longford - Longford Town FC
Louth - (see Armagh)
Mayo - Westport
Meath - Tara
Monaghan - (see Armagh)
Offaly - Tullamore Dew
Roscommon - Borders Longford
Sligo - Westloife, Yeat's County
Tipperary - Its a long way
Tyrone - red hand
Waterford - Crystal
Westmeath - You'll never walk in Athlone
Wexford - Strawberries
Wicklow - Glenroe/Ballykissangel

20/12/2007, 1:11 PM
never do a tap! like today!!

Oi ... back to work you!!!! ;)

20/12/2007, 1:16 PM
Good way to stir sh!t Dodge :D

1.Antrim - Belshaft
2.Armagh - Joe Kernan
3.Carlow - father in law to be is from there
4.Cavan - Clones so many memories both bad and good.
5.Clare - Johnnos in Ennis
6.Cork - Roy Keane
7.Derry - Muckers and queens head
8.Down - and out?
9. Dublin - favouritism
10. Fermanagh - Enniskillen
11.Galway - Angels :D
12.Kerry - Spilanne (the cnut)
13.Kildare - Horse racing at the curragh
14.Kilkenny - Hurling
15.Laois - Portlaois invasion by Harps fans
16.Leitrim - blink and ya miss it.
17.Limerick - have nothing original for this one so ill not write anything
18.Longford - Declan Nerney (don't ask, REALLY don't ask)
19.Louth - Dundalk away games always eventfull
20.Mayo - Ciaran McDonald
21.Meath - Navan Man
22.Monaghan - Mon dogs
23.Offaly - Brian Whealahan
24.Roscommon - Family ties my second home in Athleague
25.Sligo - loothers with crap tashes and twisted baseball caps.
26.Tipperary - Water
27.Tyrone - Katy Dalys
28.Waterford - Chrystal
29.Westmeath - many, many drunken nights in Athlone
30.Wexford - Mick wallace and that mad hair.
31.Wicklow - Biddy ;)

20/12/2007, 1:29 PM
i couldnt be arsed typing all them out so ill just go with these few:

dublin - sh1thole.
galway - great place for a **** up ( but no longer ) and ensure you are wearing the correct "attire" - on that point im going tomorrow so it should be good craic when i wear my black canvas shoes to see if i can get in anywhere other than cuba or that other place beside it.
mayo - i like it
cork - loud people
kerry - arrogant people
cavan - definitely tight people
donegal - (ex)girlfriends ( thats 3! over 5/6 years :D)

RogerMilla
20/12/2007, 1:34 PM
seems to me mayo is expressly defined by its gaelic football , jaysis cant we just win one sam in the modern era and let croagh patrick , ceide fields , achill or any other bloody thing come to the fore!!

20/12/2007, 1:34 PM
1.Antrim - Lagan+Patterson the hurling keeper
2.Armagh - Orchards
3.Carlow - Mad GAA jersey
4.Cavan - Mrs Ash works there
5.Clare - The Burren
6.Cork - Ramblers
7.Derry - Badgers Bar
8.Down - Up
9. Dublin - Scobie
10. Fermanagh -Shopping in Enniskillen
11.Galway - Balinasloe Fair
12.Kerry - Paudi O'Se
13.Kildare - Curragh
14.Kilkenny - Hurling/Missing the turn for Buckley Park 4 times in 1 trip
15.Laois - Portlaois Prision
16.Leitrim - Manorhamilton Rangers
17.Limerick - Jackman Park
18.Longford - Pure Hatred :p/Killashee/Marty Stapo
19.Louth - Dundalk away on a Thursday
20.Mayo - Crossmolina-Deel Rovers
21.Meath - Graham Gerathy
22.Monaghan - Mon dogs
23.Offaly - Brian Whealahan
24.Roscommon - Sheep steelers
25.Sligo - Sligo RTC (good times)
26.Tipperary - Nicky English
27.Tyrone - Work mates bird
28.Waterford - The Forum
29.Westmeath - Athlone Town
30.Wexford - Mick wallace/Martin Storey
31.Wicklow - Wannabe Dublin (DART in Bray)

ollie
20/12/2007, 1:42 PM
1.Antrim - Falls Road/Belfast
2.Armagh - Garvahy Road
3.Carlow - Fruit pastiles Ice lolly
4.Cavan - Lakes and Slieve Russell Hotel
5.Clare - The Burren
6.Cork - Home
7.Derry - Savage Accent
8.Down - Up Down
9. Dublin - Home Farm(my mother's home place)
11.Galway - Ros na Rún (Cá bhfuil mo Sensor Excell?)
12.Kerry - The enemy
13.Kildare - The curragh and it's flat land
14.Kilkenny - Hurling
15.Laois - By Pass and the feeling you're not long from Dublin
16.Leitrim - Carrick On Shannon and sparsity
17.Limerick - The Lodge
18.Longford - Longford Arms. (balls of county to put in when doing the jigsaw of ireland when I was younger-that and carlow!)
19.Louth - United Park
20.Mayo - Ballina
21.Meath - Colm O Rourke
22.Monaghan - Drumlins
23.Offaly - 4 minute final(or was it 3?)
24.Roscommon - Shane Curran and those Kicking tees
25.Sligo - Sigerson Cup
26.Tipperary - Rock Of Cashel and Munster Final Day in Thurles
27.Tyrone - Aidan McAnespie's(What a lovely bunch;))
28.Waterford - An Rinn
29.Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
30.Wexford - Strawberries
31.Wicklow - Micko
Just noticed I missed one: Donegal - Gaoth Dobhair and Next years Comortas Peile Na Gaeltachta being held in the county. session on!

GuisaSaigon
20/12/2007, 1:59 PM
Monaghan: Mushrooms

That explains a lot :D

EAFC_rdfl
20/12/2007, 2:04 PM
ok Ash whatever you say! You didnt include Donegal in your list, must be the jealousy of the harps coming out!!:D
didnt know the comortas is up home next year!

GuisaSaigon
20/12/2007, 2:12 PM
1.Antrim - Titanic
2.Armagh - Bandit Country
3.Carlow - Worst GAA shirts ever
4.Cavan - Cyavan
5.Clare - The Burren
6.Cork - Langers
7.Derry - Bogside
8.Down - Up
9. Dublin - Skangers
11.Galway - Races
12.Kerry - Jackie Healy Rae
13.Kildare - The curragh
14.Kilkenny - Hurling
15.Laois - Prison
16.Leitrim - Tumbleweed
17.Limerick - Drug Wars
18.Longford - Tractors
19.Louth - Maxi
20.Mayo - Immigration to Galway
21.Meath - Drogheda United
22.Monaghan -Stony Grey Soil
23.Offaly - Offaly Sorry
24.Roscommon - Ming the Merciless
25.Sligo - Beastiality
26.Tipperary - Trip To Tipp
27.Tyrone - That mechanic in Coronation Street
28.Waterford - Crystal ( to glass not the stoned horse)
29.Westmeath - Farmers
30.Wexford - Mick Wallace
31.Wicklow - Bray (Tuam Beside the Sea)
32. Donegal - Rally freaks.

20/12/2007, 2:19 PM
it appears donegal is "the forgotten county" by most.....just the way they like it!

20/12/2007, 2:21 PM
ok Ash whatever you say! You didnt include Donegal in your list, must be the jealousy of the harps coming out!!:D

Doh, I just copied the county list from another post ...
Away in Ballybofey is deffo the Donegal thought ... that and the pub
with the pint of Heiniken painted on the side wall :D

ollie
20/12/2007, 3:09 PM

Yeah its on in Gleann Cholm Cille. What's that part of the county like?