View Full Version : Anybody on here ever written anything thats been published
18/12/2007, 3:23 PM
I'm working on my first novel and was wondering if anyone had any experience of the publishing game that might have some advice, Its a gritty/seedy crime Thriller set in Dublin's underworld ,
18/12/2007, 3:25 PM
Good luck with it.
18/12/2007, 3:30 PM
Cheers frank,
It's been on the boil for a couple of years now in various guises, the few chapters that I've actually got down bear no resemblence to what I envisioned at the start, the characters have kind of started writing themselves, as they've developed to the extent that I can ask myself what would he/she do in this situation, and I've the whole plot mapped out so it's just a case of getting it all down on paper/MSWord now. Hopefully going to start pimping it to publishers/Agents in the summer
18/12/2007, 3:31 PM
not my experience, but a friends experience -
Get an agent. Get somebody who's familiar with publishing, publishers and publishing-related contracts. Do not try to do it all yourself.
She had an awful time trying to do everything herself.
18/12/2007, 3:34 PM
not my experience, but a friends experience -
Get an agent. Get somebody who's familiar with publishing, publishers and publishing-related contracts. Do not try to do it all yourself.
She had an awful time trying to do everything herself.
Cheers for that, Was kind of leaning towards an agent but was kind of worried that I'd be paying out an agent even if the book is crap and publishers won't touch it, confidence issue I guess. I believe that it will be a good book and will be worthy of publishing but I suppose that somewhere at the back of my mind I terrified that everyone else will think it's pant's
18/12/2007, 3:42 PM
One other thing she did was to join some writing circle and find out from them how the whole process works.
EAFC_rdfl
18/12/2007, 4:03 PM
will it be along the lines of JGrisham kinda stuff?? I'll take a copy if it is!
18/12/2007, 4:30 PM
Good luck, and be sure to let us know if you get published BGR.
I thought about writing as a career, but I was put off by the financial prospects - making a living out of it is hard.
18/12/2007, 5:31 PM
Fair play to you for trying the novel, I'm doing my thesis at the moment and trying to keep all together is even a hard enough task, good luck.
KevB76
18/12/2007, 5:40 PM
I believe that it will be a good book and will be worthy of publishing but I suppose that somewhere at the back of my mind I terrified that everyone else will think it's pant's
Get a few people to test read it first before you go to all that trouble and expense, but only people who you know will give an honest opinion good or bad. That will give you some indication whether a wider audience would like it.
theleprechaun
18/12/2007, 5:45 PM
good luck with it. i am not trying to put you off, but it is really hard to get anything published first time. i recently wrote a novel there and sent it off myself to publishers and stuff. nobody was even vaguely interested in it. still i haven;t given up yet. i would certainly recommend an agent. as i said good luck with it.
18/12/2007, 6:09 PM
good luck with it. i am not trying to put you off, but it is really hard to get anything published first time. i recently wrote a novel there and sent it off myself to publishers and stuff. nobody was even vaguely interested in it. still i haven;t given up yet. i would certainly recommend an agent. as i said good luck with it.
Iain Banks had written three books before he was published. He's now one of the top writers in Scotland. I'm sure there are many such stories. Expect rejection.
kingdom hoop
18/12/2007, 6:23 PM
Get a few people to test read it first
I'd have no problem being an honest proof reader Sir Raptor. :)
Dieu know what, maybe we should set up our own co-operative publishing company here! I've recently noted that we seem to have a ridiculously disproportionate amount of people who've toyed with journalism, poetry, and writing generally so there is definite literary interest here. I like the idea of writing aswell (ye may have noticed my penchant for tapping the keys!) but the dedication of writing a full whole book thingy would seem like a leviathan oeuvre, (thanks to Leviathan NI for that word!) way outside my humble powers. Maybe I'll move to Provence for a year and write about that. :p
On the publishing thing, I haven't really a clue about it but presumably the problem is getting the book on the shelf in the first place, as opposed to getting it off the shelf once there? All I'm wondering is whether Gary Raptor (good pseudonym) would be worth a €20 investment from everyone. Alternatively, a few of us could rustle our own works up, see which is best in a BOTM competition, and really go at this hell for leather. :)
19/12/2007, 8:38 AM
Thanx for the encouragement, I'm trying to work a mention for foot.ie into the plot if adam's cool with that
will it be along the lines of JGrisham kinda stuff?? I'll take a copy if it is!
I think of it more of a cross between Ian Rankin and Shaun Hutson
Very Gritty and VERY! Graphic
Synopsis:A Dish Served Cold
Plot Summary
The body of a small time drug dealer is discovered, hands and feet bound, in a shallow river bed, in a working class Dublin suburb. When the autopsy report shows that the victim died of Carbon Monoxide poisoning from car exhaust fumes, Detective Garda John Higgins is convinced that the death is something more than just another Gangland slaying. When his investigation’s turn up the victims lurid past and questionable sexual preferences, Higgins is drawn deep into Dublin’s underworld of organized criminals and sexual predators. As the Investigation develops so does Higgins relationship with the State Pathologist Dr. Lucy Pender as it grows into something more than mutual professional Interest, the case of the body in the river seems to have hit a dead end until, tragedy strikes. Lucy is badly injured in an assassination attempt and his vow to find whoever is responsible leads him to re-visit many of the people and places from the murder investigation. Can the assassination attempt and the body in the river really be linked? and if so how? and why? John Higgins will risk his career, the relationship with the woman he’s grown to love, and eventually his life to find answers and to have his revenge.
**Note ** character names likely to change
All I'm wondering is whether Gary Raptor (good pseudonym) would be worth a €20 investment from everyone. Alternatively, a few of us could rustle our own works up, see which is best in a BOTM competition, and really go at this hell for leather. :)
was toying with the Idea of a pseudonym but think I'll just go with my own First Name, Middle Initial, Surname
19/12/2007, 9:01 AM
Published a book of my mother's writings. She used to be a feature writer in the Evening Press and after she died I got the articles together and published them in a book. So called "vanity" publishing and it was mostly for family and friends although Amazon picked up on the book:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Telling-Summer-Sins-Mount-Melleray/dp/0953015513
Colour Books in Dublin did the publishing and we only printed about 500 copies (all gone) but I can't remember what it cost us (the family) but it was well worth it.
I know you want a publisher to pick up the tab for yours so it's a different story but good luck.
cheifo
19/12/2007, 9:49 AM
Block G Raptor, sounds like you have an interesting plot.Sometimes I think a lot of modern writers dont bother with strong plot devices to keep reader hooked.Best of luck with it.
A few years back an english lady friend of mine was encouraging me to write and wanted to help me do it.I posted her some plot summaries which she felt were good ideas.My old foe procastination meant nothing concrete was done and she lost patience with me.She is a real doer and got down to the last six of the mann booker prize a couple of years back.
Sligo Hornet
19/12/2007, 10:41 AM
Thanx for the encouragement, I'm trying to work a mention for foot.ie into the plot if adam's cool with that
I think of it more of a cross between Ian Rankin and Shaun Hutson
Very Gritty and VERY! Graphic
Synopsis:A Dish Served Cold
Plot Summary
The body of a small time drug dealer is discovered, hands and feet bound, in a shallow river bed, in a working class Dublin suburb. When the autopsy report shows that the victim died of Carbon Monoxide poisoning from car exhaust fumes, Detective Garda John Higgins is convinced that the death is something more than just another Gangland slaying. When his investigation’s turn up the victims lurid past and questionable sexual preferences, Higgins is drawn deep into Dublin’s underworld of organized criminals and sexual predators. As the Investigation develops so does Higgins relationship with the State Pathologist Dr. Lucy Pender as it grows into something more than mutual professional Interest, the case of the body in the river seems to have hit a dead end until, tragedy strikes. Lucy is badly injured in an assassination attempt and his vow to find whoever is responsible leads him to re-visit many of the people and places from the murder investigation. Can the assassination attempt and the body in the river really be linked? and if so how? and why? John Higgins will risk his career, the relationship with the woman he’s grown to love, and eventually his life to find answers and to have his revenge.
**Note ** character names likely to change
was toying with the Idea of a pseudonym but think I'll just go with my own First Name, Middle Initial, Surname
Best of luck BGR....sounds intriguing!:)
p.s......was it the Butler?;)
19/12/2007, 10:50 AM
p.s......was it the Butler?;)
Damn was it that obvious
20/12/2007, 8:06 PM
Good luck with it Block. Keep us up to date on any progress - I'd be very interested to hear how the process works.
Who knows in five years time this could be made into a feature film starring Leo (in irish accent mode) and directed by Scorsese!!!
20/12/2007, 8:31 PM
Dr Lucy Pinder?
http://laceillusions.com/lingerie-2/lucy-pinder-corset-2.jpg
21/12/2007, 8:05 AM
You know gavinzac it never even dawned on me :o as I said above though the names are likely to change, I see the SP as a more scholarly type that scrubs up well, if you know what i mean, think uma thurman in Paycheck
green army
23/12/2007, 5:29 PM
spotted the lucy pinder name meself...plot sounds good. would be interested in reading it
24/12/2007, 7:39 AM
Good luck with the novel. I did a creative writing course when I was unemployed ( yes young people such a word actually exists) back in the 1980's ( when Everyone Irish, of a certain age, was either unemployed or had emigrated). Here's a tip on sending it to a publisher or an agent.
Only send Chapter 1 and an outline of the rest of the story. In other words summarise each chapter's events in a series of bullet points or short sentences. If they want more they will ask you for more. You can then write the finished version of chapter 2 as far as you are concerned and take it from there. And that way you can be finishing the final draft while you are sending out feelers to publishers. And tips you get from one publisher can be incorporated into re-writes down the line.
The other thing I would advise is read true books about the criminal underworld in Dublin if you haven't already to get a feel for the sort of thing that is actually happening. It will help bring a gritty realism to the thing. One other idea as regards a pseudonym try a combination of the following First name, mothers birth surname. Middle name , real surname . Take two football players you admire use the first name of one and the surname of the other. Take two musicians names you admire and do the same as with the football players ( Don't knock it , worked for Pink Floyd!)
The only reason I haven't done novels myself is this one .I tend to go for cheap laughs when I am inventing characters . So all of their names are sort of jokes. I used to write sketches with some friends, back in the 1980's a collection of some of them were incorporated into a stage show and performed at the SFX back in 1988 and 89, and some of that residual is still in there. I never got a penny in royalties come to think of it.
Gavin Zac
Dr. Lucy Pinder = Post of the century :D
Metrostars
24/12/2007, 1:43 PM
Had a letter to the Irish Voice(NY) published when I complained about Cathal Dervan.
24/12/2007, 2:13 PM
Had a few songs published and recording contract.
Best advise I can give? I'm not so sure the same applies for literature as music but in music it's considered best practice to retain your publishing rights for as long as possible. A great idea and a noble concept but alas you can't eat either of them.
If and when a contract arrives get the best legal advice you can afford ...and try to find a specialist firm. If you can't afford specialist legal advice or any legal advice for that matter there's a handy tip I was once given.
1. photocopy several copies of the contract ...this might need a few runs.
2. take a highlighter pen, go through your contract and highlight every sentence that contains the word 'ALL'.
3. take a notepad and write out each of those sentences and write below each one a short paragraph stating what you understand the sentence in the contract means. By the time you've completed this you'll have translated much of the substantive content of your contract from legalese into plain English.
4. Back to the 'ALL's ...they are the battleground of your contract. You'll be wanting to get as many of them as possible deleted or replaced with a phrase like "certain specified" or "certain defined". The person/institution offering the contract will want as many as possible retained.
Hope this is some help.
24/12/2007, 3:15 PM
Had a letter to the Irish Voice(NY) published when I complained about Cathal Dervan.
That reminds me. I had my voice on national tv when I called in to "Mailbox", or whatever the show was where viewers could call in or write in to complain about/commend RTE.
I never actually saw the show, but my relatives called me up all excited after they saw it.
04/01/2008, 1:06 PM
Looks Like I'm Gonna have to go with a pseudonym after all as Someone with the same name and remarkably same age as me has recently been published- by a Cork based company -to some acclaim
Discovered it when I Googled my own name, strangely also discovered several artists with the same name as me (I'm a Graphic artist in my spare time)
I had a letter, giving out about RTE, printed in the Ireland on Sunday once ...
Still waiting for the cash to come rolling in :D
Just on the subject of writing ... I had several notions of writing a book based
on true events, just wondering how would you go about changing details that
might be seen by some as slander?
If it ever made it to the big (or small) screen ... I'd defiantly be played by Brian Denehy :D
07/01/2008, 1:08 PM
Just on the subject of writing ... I had several notions of writing a book based
on true events, just wondering how would you go about changing details that
might be seen by some as slander?
Some of the anecdotal stuff in my novel is based on real events, basically changed the names, and as the novel takes place in a fictional area of Dublin the locations are obviously different