View Full Version : Next Season

seanog2001
18/12/2007, 11:02 AM
What do we need to do to improve our chances of pushing for a promotion place next season, does anybody think that dermot lennon will be the man to lead us to the promised land once again

18/12/2007, 6:04 PM
assume paul mcgee will be a serious contender for the athlone town job...

19/12/2007, 7:05 AM
What do we need to do to improve our chances of pushing for a promotion place next season, does anybody think that dermot lennon will be the man to lead us to the promised land once again

Dermie is the cheapest option so expect him in the hotseat unless he turns
it down.

And no, to be honest I cant see us making it to the Premier in my lifetime!
Too many clueless committee members who have enough money to stay on
the committee.

Although it could be worse .... we could have Aaron O'Callaghan!!!!

seanog2001
19/12/2007, 9:14 AM
any sign of some good preseason friendlies been lined up or the new site going online

sorbothegreek
19/12/2007, 10:00 AM

Yea, he'd probably expect you to pay him..:o

Battery Rover
19/12/2007, 10:09 AM
any sign of some good preseason friendlies been lined up or the new site going online

No friendlies announced as of yet and the website will be up and running but it will be close to the start of the season. I am trying to get a few more other than myself involved on the content side of things

seanog2001
19/12/2007, 11:20 AM
No friendlies announced as of yet and the website will be up and running but it will be close to the start of the season. I am trying to get a few more other than myself involved on the content side of things

what kind of help would u be after might be able to lend a hand if needed

19/12/2007, 5:43 PM
Dermie is the cheapest option so expect him in the hotseat unless he turns
it down.

And no, to be honest I cant see us making it to the Premier in my lifetime!
Too many clueless committee members who have enough money to stay on
the committee.

is this the same dermot lennon that would have played with us ten years ago under mickey o connor?

19/12/2007, 5:48 PM
Who's left in Athlone squad wise??

I'm just trying to guage who'll be worse than us next year :)

Battery Rover
19/12/2007, 6:01 PM
Who's left in Athlone squad wise??

I'm just trying to guage who'll be worse than us next year :)

Well no one as signed for any other club yet but all players were free agents come the end of last season. So if you look at it that way we have no players or a manager yet

19/12/2007, 9:35 PM
Well no one as signed for any other club yet but all players were free agents come the end of last season. So if you look at it that way we have no players or a manager yet

Ha.

We've a manager and 6 U-21s :p

20/12/2007, 10:14 AM
is this the same dermot lennon that would have played with us ten years ago under mickey o connor?

Same lad.
Managed Monksland Utd in Roscommon & District League
before joining out management team.

02/01/2008, 1:21 PM
Dermie Lennon confirmed as manager for the 2008 season.

02/01/2008, 6:08 PM
whats your opinion of dermot lennon (ash)???:confused:

02/01/2008, 7:20 PM
Any players signed??

02/01/2008, 8:18 PM
whats your opinion of dermot lennon (ash)???:confused:

Dermie is a nice lad and didnt seem to be any bullsh!t with him any time I spoke to him.

Would have him in a management team but would have preferred if he was assistant to someone else.

Playeres had little or no respect for him last year or so I've been told!

chopper harris
08/01/2008, 4:42 PM
Mr Lennon is a grand lad and I don't know any grand lads who have done well in serious football management. My hopes for the coming EL Div one and ATFC are not even in the same area of my cortex. ATFC and their comit eee have not achieved in the last 15 years and I don't expect things to change to be honest. As the playing budget has been cut to a reported 50% of last years, are ticket prices going to be cut pro rata? I doubt it. Will the "standard" of footbal be improved upon this time round? The future is bright........... Jim Royle would say My Arse!!

stann
09/01/2008, 12:40 PM
Playeres had little or no respect for him last year or so I've been told!

If he goes around calling himself Dermie I can see why! :D

How is the money situation this season Ash? I read last year that ye were expected to have a bit of cash left for another push again this year, but has that gone by the wayside then? Have ye many lads left on €1000 a week?

09/01/2008, 4:03 PM
If he goes around calling himself Dermie I can see why! :D

How is the money situation this season Ash? I read last year that ye were expected to have a bit of cash left for another push again this year, but has that gone by the wayside then? Have ye many lads left on €1000 a week?

We had 6 players on €1000 a week last year ... where as this season,
lets just say that single amount will pay almost 6 players :eek:

Olander
09/01/2008, 4:14 PM
We had 6 players on €1000 a week last year
jaysus, who?

09/01/2008, 4:30 PM
jaysus, who?

That was a basic of €800 ... plus appearence fees and travel expenses
(This might not be accurate, but from what I've been told)

Davy Byrne, Paul McTiernan, Colm Heffernan, Darren Young, David O'Dowd,
Memory fails me for the other 1 but I'll think of him later

Olander
09/01/2008, 8:14 PM
my god

no wonder o'dowd wasn't too shellshocked about being released.

09/01/2008, 8:28 PM
Eric Lavine was the other, ya?

10/01/2008, 7:32 AM
Eric Lavine was the other, ya?

Dont think so. AFAIK Eric was on a week to week, pay as you play deal.

EAFC_rdfl
10/01/2008, 8:17 AM
is Lavine around for this season? thats big wages even if it is only 6 players

10/01/2008, 8:32 AM
is Lavine around for this season? thats big wages even if it is only 6 players

He's in Barbados at the moment afaik, but had been in contact with
Longford before he went looking for a contract.

We didnt have a manager in place at the time so unless he's offered
a contract and signs straight away when he returns I'd expect our
crowd to at least talk to him.

Battery Rover
10/01/2008, 11:54 AM
my god

no wonder o'dowd wasn't too shellshocked about being released.

No player was told they werent being resigned this season as of yet even though they appear on the PFAI website. The manager is contacting them all with contract offers but from what I hear no big money will be getting paid out this season