View Full Version : ROI Vs England - Good Question
Deckydee
14/12/2007, 5:10 PM
Hi
Here is a question that has baffled me for years. For the European Championship Qualifiers in 1992 we were in the same group as England
I recently saw an interview between Tony O'Donoghue and Graham Taylor on the RTE website and I just wanted to see Grahams profile on wiki. When I checked it I noticed this:
England lost just once in Taylor's first 23 matches ( a 0-1 defeat to Germany at Wembley Stadium in September 1991)[3]. However, England struggled to qualify for Euro '92. In a group containing Turkey , Ireland, and Poland England were held to 1-1 twice by the Irish and managed just 1-0 wins home and away against Turkey. It was only a last ditch goal from Gary Lineker against Poland…….
I remember well the game in Wembly against England, I remember that it was a Steve Staunton deflection that gave England the lead and it was a superb Niall Quinn goal that gave us the equalizer. But I cannot recall for the life of me who got the goals in Landsdowne Road. I don’t think it was 1-1 was it? I thought it was 0-0
Could someone let me know? Any links to any site reports or youtube would be greatly appreciated.
Declan D
P.S - When will we ever play England again????
14/12/2007, 5:12 PM
Platt got englands goal i think
Deckydee
14/12/2007, 5:13 PM
But isnt it amazing though that it is not really talked about??
I can always remember seeing the game in Wembly but not this one and i pride myself in my ROI soccer knowledge :cool:
14/12/2007, 5:16 PM
Getting a draw away at Wembley is more memorable than a draw at Lansdowne I guess, plus I got my first blow job that night so I remember it fondly. Ah the old linden village......
Maroon 7
14/12/2007, 5:20 PM
Threw away qualification in that group from what I remember. Should have beaten England at Wembley and should have held on to win over in Poland.
We didn't play as well at home to England as we did over in Wembley though. Cascarino scored a header didn't he?
14/12/2007, 5:23 PM
Cascarino scored a header didn't he?
Mother Theresa
Sorry - that was in wembley
14/12/2007, 5:23 PM
I remember watching in it in school. Platt scored off a rebound I think, Cockney Cascarino scored a looping header from range. Sh1t game in sh1t conditions, Barnsley Mick almost scored with a wind-assisted free from his own half which hit the bar.
Deckydee
14/12/2007, 5:26 PM
Would love to see some highlights of that match.
14/12/2007, 5:26 PM
Threw away qualification in that group from what I remember. Should have beaten England at Wembley and should have held on to win over in Poland.
We didn't play as well at home to England as we did over in Wembley though. Cascarino scored a header didn't he?
It was a very dull game from what I recall - wasn't the big controversy that Taylor dropped Gazza? For that alone we deserved to be in the Euros ahead of them.
14/12/2007, 5:28 PM
It was definitely Cascarino, he came on as a sub, I remember George Hamilton screaming "and the substitution proves a master stroke" when he scored.
When Taylor was interviewed after the game, I think the interviewer said something like "Cascarino and Platt, both your lads", and he replied with "yeah, I'm proud of one of them" because he managed them both at Villa
Deckydee
14/12/2007, 5:31 PM
Where is Youtube when you need it! :mad:
Actually here is confirmation:
http://www.englandfc.com/nostal/eurochamps/ec1992.html
greendeiseboy
14/12/2007, 6:53 PM
Getting a draw away at Wembley is more memorable than a draw at Lansdowne I guess, plus I got my first blow job that night so I remember it fondly. Ah the old linden village......
typical woman..... do anything to distract a "lad" trying to watch the game
14/12/2007, 7:01 PM
typical woman..... do anything to distract a "lad" trying to watch the game
How do you know it was a woman?:D
beautifulrock
14/12/2007, 7:13 PM
Gordon Cowans played that day in Dublin in centre mid, also if I remmeber Tony Daley come off the bench and was afraid of my life that he would run the Irish back four off the pitch. He didnt as it happens and as said above a very poor game overall and we really blew that group.
Noelys Guitar
14/12/2007, 8:02 PM
Stan long curling ball from the left around the halfway line to Cascarino who outjumped Wright and headed it home. Horrible game.
14/12/2007, 8:51 PM
Horrible game, gale force wind, poisonous atmosphere. There was as much menace among the travelling English in the West Upper that night as there was in '95.
I'll never forget the look on Gary Lineker's face when he missed an early chance and he walked back to half way with the South Terrace, virtually to the last man, giving him the fingers.
Was it Staunton's ball to Cascarino or was it Alan McLaughlin's? Superb header. Woods was beaten all ends up. Partiality aside, it was as good a header as you'll ever see. There was no pace at all on the cross yet the power and the placement of the header made it unsavable.
Sheridan, well remembered the McCarthy free kick from over 50 yards!
I think there was a Dessie Ellis march in O'Connell street that evening just to spice up the atmosphere.
Noelys Guitar
14/12/2007, 9:24 PM
Horrible game, gale force wind, poisonous atmosphere. There was as much menace among the travelling English in the West Upper that night as there was in '95.
I'll never forget the look on Gary Lineker's face when he missed an early chance and he walked back to half way with the South Terrace, virtually to the last man, giving him the fingers.
Was it Staunton's ball to Cascarino or was it Alan McLaughlin's? Superb header. Woods was beaten all ends up. Partiality aside, it was as good a header as you'll ever see. There was no pace at all on the cross yet the power and the placement of the header made it unsavable.
Sheridan, well remembered the McCarthy free kick from over 50 yards!
I think there was a Dessie Ellis march in O'Connell street that evening just to spice up the atmosphere.
Yes. Definetely Stan. I bought my ticket for the match from the English FA(was living in London) and ended up in the amongst the England fans. I had my tricolour wrapped around my neck and sharpish made it down to the front of the stand. Eventually got moved to the North terrace. Took off my flag on the terrace and saw it was full of holes from cigarette burns. The only reason the blighty's didn't riot that day was the large presence of the Guards behind them in the stand.
Paddy Garcia
14/12/2007, 9:27 PM
Totally agree.
My memory is that it was an absolutely fantastic header.
14/12/2007, 9:52 PM
We should have had a penalty in the first half when Andy Townsend was horsed off the ball by Lee Dixon (I think!). Ronnie Whelan also nearly scored from a free kick.
In the second half Platt scored from a Dixon cross which McCarthy should have cut out. Cascarino's headed equaliser came from Staunton's cross, after McLoughlin gave Stan a great ball down the line.
We could have won it near the end when Ray Houghton had a chance. Coincidentally, Houghton could have also won the return game in Wembley when he poked the ball wide after being put through by Cascarino. In fairness, the Wembley chance was the harder of the two.
billydoneit
14/12/2007, 11:20 PM
That performance in Wembley was right up there with our best ever.......... I remember Jimmy Hill on the beeb afterwards saying 3 - 1 to us would have been a truer reflection of the game, ah, as I said, up there with the USSR game in '88 for me, memories............
Maroon 7
15/12/2007, 12:45 AM
That performance in Wembley was right up there with our best ever.......... I remember Jimmy Hill on the beeb afterwards saying 3 - 1 to us would have been a truer reflection of the game, ah, as I said, up there with the USSR game in '88 for me, memories............
Yeah we were definitely the better side at Wembley and really should have won the game. Their goal came through a big deflection off Stan and we missed a couple of chances as well.
That campaign was a missed oppertunity. We were definitely the best side in that group at the time but some silly moments really cost us.
15/12/2007, 12:59 AM
That campaign was a missed oppertunity. We were definitely the best side in that group at the time but some silly moments really cost us.
I still haven't forgiven the ref for not giving us a penalty against Poland at home when Niall Quinn was held back by a defender and pretty much kicked to the ground.
Mayo_Bhoy
15/12/2007, 3:30 AM
Ahh, the memories , i remember Cas' goal like it was yesterday. In the South Terrace packed in and when he scored the place went mental, the whole end turned left and pointing at the Upper West Stand where the Brits were..."You'll never beat the Irish"...... hey not a bad chant to get going again, if we ever actually beat anyone that is:rolleyes:
KildareFan
15/12/2007, 6:50 AM
For match report click here (http://www.soccerscene.ie/sssenior/matchdetails.php?id=267)
to see evey Irish game click here (http://www.soccerscene.ie/sssenior/opponentlist.php)
to see a match report click on the score line in any game
15/12/2007, 8:40 AM
Man that was one campaign we threw away
In wembley we def should have won> How did Houghton not score when straight infront of the posts, and in the second half we were camped in their box for at least 15 mins of non stop pressure..............was great stuff to watch
The home game was terrible, very windy, and a draw was a fair result
The game against Poland was a joke, and Bonner really messed up
As for the hooligan element, there was an irish guy stabbed in london and some irish pubs were attacked by football "fans" or the BNP
And in Dublin there was a few street battles.
So it wasnt all love and peace
Drumcondra 69er
15/12/2007, 10:56 AM
Ahh, the memories , i remember Cas' goal like it was yesterday. In the South Terrace packed in and when he scored the place went mental, the whole end turned left and pointing at the Upper West Stand where the Brits were..."You'll never beat the Irish"...... hey not a bad chant to get going again, if we ever actually beat anyone that is:rolleyes:
Was just about to type the same thing, had only moved back home from London the previous month, went to the game on my own, most of my mates were still working abroad, bumped into a lad I used to go to college with on the way in so pair of us went to the usual spot in the middle of the South Terrace halfway up. Place went mental when Cas scored alright, remember that instant swing to the left and chant straight after the goal and all, next thing it was raining down with coins, cigarette lighters, the lot! Very heavy uniformed police presence in the West Upper that day, that was the mistake they made in 95, the only reason there was no trouble in 90 was down to the cops being out in force.
Went into town after and wound up in the Daniel O'Connell off O'Connell Bridge, had a couple of pints and were about to leave at around 7, made our way to the door only for the barman to say 'I wouldn't go out there if I were you lads, they're rioting on O'Connell St!'. '2 more pints so!' we replied! Fell out of the boozer after midnight, great day!
Reckon we could have won Euro 92 had we qualified, really blew that group between missed chances at Wembley and throwing that 3-1 lead away in Poland, sick.
15/12/2007, 1:27 PM
Ahh, that game at Wembley. At one stage England couldn't get the ball out of their half and ball after ball was pumped in to the goal mouth area to huge roars from the Irish crowd. I probably have the game on video someplace. But I'll always remember it for Houghton being through on the keeper in the last minute and scuffing the shot side. :(:(:(
Mayo_Bhoy
15/12/2007, 1:47 PM
I remember after the game on BBC Jimmy Hill giving out stink about Ireland's style of play and how we were lucky. I think it was Venables who rounded on him and asked him was he watching the same match. Tel was full of praise for us.:D
stojkovic
15/12/2007, 5:13 PM
There was at least 40,000 Irish in Wembley that night. You could see how it affected the England players when they heard the Irish national anthem being sung so load.
Got bottles thrown a us walking up Wembley High Street. North London was a battle scene that night. Underground stopped running for a while.
We were the best team in Europe in 91-92 and I dont think too many would argue with that. Maradona was very impressed in Seville in 92, especially with Keane.
15/12/2007, 11:19 PM
I probably have the game on video someplace. I did until, in an act of charity, I lent it to a poster here but despite giving my address I never got it back.
Houghton's miss was a horror but wasn't in the last minute as far as I can remember. Late but not that late. Shame because it was a total annihilation. I was never so relaxed 1 down in an away game as I was then. Quinn's equaliser was as inevitable as it was good.
15/12/2007, 11:59 PM
Out him now Stuttgart so nobody else falls into the same trap.
theworm2345
16/12/2007, 5:02 PM
Short Highlights from the Wembley game...I did need to watermark them as I know many people enjoy taking them as their own and slapping them on YouTube. The audio is a bit off, though it was like that when I got them.
Two Choices
AVI
http://www.sendspace.com/file/vqx8w4
WMV
http://www.sendspace.com/file/5nyrm7
Wolfie
17/12/2007, 8:59 AM
England at home was quite a dour game and the tension in the second half was unbearable. I was on the North Terrace and spent half of the second half feariing that England would break our then, 6 year unbeaten home record in qualifier games.
After the relief of Cascarino's goal, I've fond memories of Cascarino being engulfed in celebration by a gang of "impartial" stewards :D.
The Wembley game was one of our best ever performances, particularly given the awful start.
The extended pressure we exerted on England on the lead up to the goal was a joy to watch. It was relentless.
Houghtons late chance is fresh in the memory. There was 8 minutes to go as I recall it.
My brother attended an FAI soccer school that Summer and Ray Houghton was a coach at it. At one stage, there was a "question and answer" session where Ray fielded questions from the kids.
One Kid asked "Ray, how did you feel when you missed the opener against England?"
Even Houghton had to laugh. :D
Deckydee
17/12/2007, 11:33 AM
Rioting??????? Where??? On O'Connell street?????!! Was it bad?
Be god an they wouldnt do it today!
johnnyc
17/12/2007, 11:55 AM
I have the full game of this on vid at home. I have tons of Irish vids, to be honest. Even obscure stuff like games vs. Latvia and Lithuania...!
This was a brilliant game and in some ways (for me anyway) the highlight of our times under Jack. I remember watching this with my dad on a 14" portable in the kitchen. I can still remember McGrath calling for the ball from Houghton before crossing for Quinn. "Yeah, Ray..!" can clearly be heard.
Hamilton's "Yes! It's there!" was said in such brilliant way. Such a "we all knew that was coming" tone in his voice.
Wolfie
17/12/2007, 12:21 PM
I think there would be a decent level of interest in previous documentary's / highlights packages originally released on VHS being available on DVD.
I think some of these were made independently of RTE or possibly in conjunction with them - which may explain why they were never issued on DVD later on:
Que Sera Sera (Documentary on how we qualified for Italia 90)
The Road to Italy (No frills highlights of all the 1990 qualifiers)
The Road to America
McCarthy's Park was originally screened on TV but appears to be of interest.
Deckydee
17/12/2007, 12:46 PM
maybe someone should tell the fai to put all those dvds into one of those 'james bond' kind of thingies. They would make plenty of money from it.
Wolfie
17/12/2007, 12:53 PM
Rioting??????? Where??? On O'Connell street?????!! Was it bad?
Be god an they wouldnt do it today!
Charlie Bird reported from O'Connell Street that evening.
"As I speak, a bottle has narrowly missed my head" :rolleyes:
Drumcondra 69er
17/12/2007, 1:20 PM
Charlie Bird reported from O'Connell Street that evening.
"As I speak, a bottle has narrowly missed my head" :rolleyes:
Sure he didn't say "As Charlie Bird speaks, a bottle has narrowly missed Charlie Bird's head"!!! :)
Hate that habit of speaking in the third person he has!
Wolfie
17/12/2007, 1:32 PM
Sure he didn't say "As Charlie Bird speaks, a bottle has narrowly missed Charlie Bird's head"!!! :)
Hate that habit of speaking in the third person he has!
Yeah - I think he ended the report with:
"Charlie Bird has neither confirmed nor denied that he has a headache. Charlie Bird. War torn O'Connell Street."
Drumcondra 69er
17/12/2007, 1:36 PM
Yeah - I think he ended the report with:
"Charlie Bird has neither confirmed nor denied that he has a headache. Charlie Bird. War torn O'Connell Street."
LOL. :D:D
Deckydee
17/12/2007, 2:02 PM
I find that hard to believe, not the Charlie Bird thing but the rioting.
17/12/2007, 2:08 PM
I went down to have a look. Tension, maybe. Rioting? Not that I saw.
There were a load of Sinn Fein heads marching to free Dessie Ellis as far as I can rembember. I think it was that night.
Wolfie
17/12/2007, 2:21 PM
There were a few isolated incidences of scraps breaking out. That was about it. A few lads in my class in school got caught up in it.
galwayhoop
17/12/2007, 2:22 PM
we were walking down o'connell street as some loon in an ingurlund jersey and union jack style bandana ran past us with a bottle of wine (i think) in his paw.
he smacked one of our group with the bottle in the face, smashing the bottle but thankfully not too much lasting damage to my friends face. we gave chase and the british thug turned onto talbot st (i think). as he turned the corner a paddy wagon pulled up right in front of him (rabbit in the headlights type of thing) and the gardai piled out, my other friend caught up with our british friend but the gardi interviened pulling the thug to the back of the paddy wagon, as the last of about 6 gardai piled in after the thug one of them turned to us and said 'we'll take care of it from here lads!!!'. the crash, bang, wallop from the back of the paddy wagon was quickly drowned out by the screams of the british tourist and the cheers of the on-looking crowd!!!! :D:D:D
maybe it wasn't a full blown riot but there were a fair few flakings up and down o'connel street that evening/night.
Deckydee
17/12/2007, 2:27 PM
Hi Galway and up the tribesmen
I am going to go one better than that :)
I am going to let the cat of the bag or so to speak in this post. This is something that I have been told 2 or 3 times. I don’t know if it is not true and if it is not then well sorry :o
We all remember ROI vs England in 1995; it was an awful night and something that we shall all never forget. I was told that when the Gardai had rounded up the main ‘leaders’ if we can call them that, of the rioters, they put them all up against the wall at the docks. The Garda that was in charge told one of the young Gardas to get a saw and go down to O’Connell Street and cut down 20 branches about a meter long and about 5 cm thick. He told the young Garda that he had to cut them down from O’Connell Street and nowhere else. The young Garda duly obliged and returned shortly with the sticks. Each of the 20 experienced Garda that were on duty that night each took and stick in their hands and ordered their younger counterparts to pull down the trousers of the rioters. Once the trousers were down the Gardai wailed the rioters on the backs of their thighs over and over again. The guy who witnessed it said he never saw anything like it in his life. When the boat had finally arrived to pick up the rioters (as arranged) they beat them onto the boat as well, across the head, arms, anywhere they could get a clean shot
- Never mentioned in the papers
- Never mentioned amongst any ranks of the Gardai
- They never came back
- I have a new found respect for the Gardai since that day.
Believe what you like
17/12/2007, 2:32 PM
Believe what you like
I appreciate that you've said you were not there, and it is a second-hand story, but....
To be honest, I believe it is a complete fabrication. It would never have stayed secret.
Wolfie
17/12/2007, 2:37 PM
I am going to let the cat of the bag or so to speak in this post. This is something that I have been told 2 or 3 times. I don’t know if it is not true and if it is not then well sorry :o
We all remember ROI vs England in 1995; it was an awful night and something that we shall all never forget. I was told that when the Gardai had rounded up the main ‘leaders’ if we can call them that, of the rioters, they put them all up against the wall at the docks. The Garda that was in charge told one of the young Gardas to get a saw and go down to O’Connell Street and cut down 20 branches about a meter long and about 5 cm thick. He told the young Garda that he had to cut them down from O’Connell Street and nowhere else. The young Garda duly obliged and returned shortly with the sticks. Each of the 20 experienced Garda that were on duty that night each took and stick in their hands and ordered their younger counterparts to pull down the trousers of the rioters. Once the trousers were down the Gardai wailed the rioters on the backs of their thighs over and over again. The guy who witnessed it said he never saw anything like it in his life. When the boat had finally arrived to pick up the rioters (as arranged) they beat them onto the boat as well, across the head, arms, anywhere they could get a clean shot
- They never came back
Believe what you like
No way that happened.
Sligo Hornet
17/12/2007, 2:38 PM
I appreciate that you've said you were not there, and it is a second-hand story, but....
To be honest, I believe it is a complete fabrication. It would never have stayed secret.
More's the pity!!:(.......would have been great and swift justice!:)
Torn-Ado
17/12/2007, 2:45 PM
- They never came back
Believe what you like
I agree with Osarusan on this one. The more likely story was, a guard booted an English hooligan up the arse and shouted 'Ya little feckin toe rag' and the story snowballed ever since with every person adding little bits on.
Still though, deep down in our hearts, I suppose we can choose to believe it happened. :)