View Full Version : Rangers on RTE?

Pages : 1 [2] 3

12/12/2007, 8:51 PM
Most Protestants are.

I think the fact he's living in Dublin is what required the clarification, rather than his religion :p

stojkovic
12/12/2007, 8:51 PM
Between this, the latvians the blacks and the coke ...is this a catholic country anymore or what?

The most popular religion in Latvia is Catholicism.

99.9% of the cocaine comes from Colombia - a Catholic country.

12/12/2007, 8:53 PM

I'd like to rename you just plain "stoic".

stojkovic
12/12/2007, 8:53 PM
I think the fact he's living in Dublin is what required the clarification, rather than his religion :p

What, a Protestant living in Dublin, I'm shocked !

12/12/2007, 8:56 PM
What, a Protestant living in Dublin, I'm shocked !

No, I'm implying that he needed to clarify he was a decent guy because a lot of people living in dublin aren't.

I'm worried that I could be talking to the borg or something.

stojkovic
12/12/2007, 9:03 PM
No, I'm implying that he needed to clarify he was a decent guy because a lot of people living in dublin aren't.

I'm worried that I could be talking to the borg or something.

12/12/2007, 9:37 PM

Well that's my question answered then.

Thought Darchville ran into the ball he put over. He was unlucky but that's about all you can say he was unlucky with. Petulant piece of thuggery he got sent off for ...very silly carry on.

Rangers crossing, frees and corner-taking were consistently brutal and they'll have to work on it. Thought Lyon were okay but hardly champions in waiting. There's always a chance a team in the position Rangers found themselves in would slip up at the back when they need to commit forward.

Third goal was a peach though.

Enjoyed the coverage and novelty value of it all. Nice not to be saddled with watching the Mancs for a change.

kingdom hoop
12/12/2007, 9:52 PM

In a statistical sense a pretty big city will inevitably have "a lot" of people who won't be decent. But is Dublin particularly bad to merit you making a point of it? If so, who, why, where?

Of the hundreds of people in Dublin I personally know and the hundreds that I've briefly encountered (say 700 total) I can only think of very few, at most 10, who came across as not being decent people. Also, of that sample I'd estimate about 70 would be of oft-derided D4 stock.

I fret that the problem may lie more at your end dearest Gavin.* :(

Alternatively of course it could be that I'm such a decent person that people raise their performance when they meet me. :p

12/12/2007, 10:05 PM
In a statistical sense a pretty big city will inevitably have "a lot" of people who won't be decent. But is Dublin particularly bad to merit you making a point of it? If so, who, why, where?
Im afraid to say, it has. I dont like to harp on but its been all negative in my, admittedly limited, experience.

Of course, my first act upon touching down in Dublin is to sing the "you are a jackeen" song, gestures and all. That may set the tone for the excursion. Fortunately noone in "The Dandelion" appears to know what a jackeen is.

kingdom hoop
12/12/2007, 10:20 PM
Yeah the Dandelion would be a pretty upmarket spot alright.

You could well be right about Dublin. But of all the Dublin people I've actually met, not just looked at and judged, I must say I've no qualms in saying they are great people. Maybe it's the culchies coming to Dublin who get ahead of themselves and think they're brilliant for making it to Dublin that the problem lies with!

I think it's a broader societal thing though. Myself and your arch-nemesis have said it before, people just aren't friendly enough to each other. Particularly when you consider the minute chances of actually sharing the same time and place with that person. (I've been doing some deep thinking on foot of the 'life on other planets' thread. :))

12/12/2007, 10:22 PM
Particularly when you consider the minute chances of actually sharing the same time and place with that person. (I've been doing some deep thinking on foot of the 'life on other planets' thread. :))
I like my personal space-time.

kingdom hoop
12/12/2007, 10:41 PM
I like my personal space-time.

As do I. It reinvigorates me for the battle of going out and encountering dour, boring people like you when I go out on my daily chores, sapping the boundless energy and enthusiasm I daily exude.

(case in point here perhaps :()

EAFC_rdfl
13/12/2007, 8:48 AM
Thank God RTE showed that game after all!! it was a joy to watch :D and all I could say after the 2nd goal was ...... NUUUUTS !!!!!!!!!!!!! Anyone who knows Rangers could see there was a guaranteed red card on the way too, typical! anyone spot the Celts jersey in the Lyon stand? priceless!!! great home support too, really got behind their team :rolleyes: (booing at half time??)

FAO Pineapple_Stu: hard luck mate theres always the UEFA Cup

13/12/2007, 8:52 AM
Went to the pub which showed both Arsenal and Rangers during the earlier reverse fixtures but last night they had Arsenal and United on.

I watched the last 20 mins of Rangers back at home and thought the Darcheville miss was a shocker, bobble or no bobble. Good technique would have taken the bounce out of the equation. I saw Rooney score a similar goal last year - he got his foot over the ball and hammered the ball into the ground and over the line - instinctive, simple but also a footballing mind at work.

The sending off was a nothing incident, no? A push that the Lyon guy made a meal of. A red card under the rules, but a yellow would have fit the crime better.

13/12/2007, 9:47 AM
Daragh Maloney got it spot on immediatly, something about Ronnie Rozenthal being a more relieved man.
I was just transfixed for that danger here moment, while the ball made itīs way across the box, for that helpless space in time when an inevitable score is about to happen in slow motion, then Darcheville does the impossible. It was almost as good as Celtics last minute winners.

13/12/2007, 11:19 AM
As do I. It reinvigorates me for the battle of going out and encountering dour, boring people like you when I go out on my daily chores, sapping the boundless energy and enthusiasm I daily exude.

(case in point here perhaps :()

Dour?! :O thats the first time anyones called me that

i think i like it

13/12/2007, 6:08 PM
FAO Pineapple_Stu: hard luck mate theres always the UEFA Cup
Didn't think it was necessary to note that I was joking...

OldKentRoad
14/12/2007, 12:44 PM
[quote=geysir;837486]Is there another one?
The imbecilic website of the Dublin RSC hasn't been updated in 3 years :)

is that right Mr Knowall?

http://www.dublinloyal.com/

14/12/2007, 12:58 PM
[quote=geysir;837486]Is there another one?
The imbecilic website of the Dublin RSC hasn't been updated in 3 years :)

Quality site that, well run and easy to navigate, hats off to whoevers running it. Enjoyed all their stories of run ins with 'Septic fans' (ROFL) too!

15/12/2007, 8:53 AM
Agreed. I've been toying with the idea of taking up following Rangers, just to see how many people I can wind up that way. Might use tonight as a springboard for that idea.

(Though more than likely not...)

yeah i often thought about doing that too for the craic
In my town there are a few hardcore loyalists and people dont seem to give a sh it and rightly so. I think it was good that RTe showed rangers, considering there was something to play for, etc.
I dont mind rangers actually. I like teams like that......."everybody hates us we dont care" attitude, tough team with tough supporters, not PC, etc........like Millwall, Feynoored, Schalke..........teams that give it up to you
Unlike Celtic who are just another (bad) version of Manure United, and there fans sicken me.

But when i heard "Rule Britannia" for about the fifth time it was nice to see Lyon hammer them

15/12/2007, 9:01 AM
Anyway what moral obligation do you think RTE has to show the children of Ireland, French, German, Italian, Spanish or other nations football? Their Italian program in the 90s was dropped because of poor ratings, despite it being the best football magazine show around, so the 90s kids had little interest, and this was in the days before the internet made football highlights readily available.

actually that programme had very good ratings at the start, likewise the one on Channel Four, and it did create an initial buzz, but eventually the viewer was worn donw by the negative tactis of italian football. Most of the games were boring, and you would be lucky to get a game with 3 goals or more, despite the excellent commentary of Brackley, Jordan, and that QPR fella who i cant remember at the moment!
But i would love to see a few more live games involving spanish teams

15/12/2007, 10:35 AM
[QUOTE=OldKentRoad;838779]

Quality site that, well run and easy to navigate, hats off to whoevers running it. Enjoyed all their stories of run ins with 'Septic fans' (ROFL) too!

I'd say an 'informative' (if a little retentive) rather than quality site. It's very tidy and all that but would it break their hearts to just copy the navigation bar html from the home page into all of the other pages? ...Rather than having to go everywhere via the homepage?

anyway ...my work is done here ..captain nitpicker up, up and away!

15/12/2007, 12:06 PM
actually that programme had very good ratings at the start, likewise the one on Channel Four, and it did create an initial buzz, but eventually the viewer was worn donw by the negative tactis of italian football. Most of the games were boring, and you would be lucky to get a game with 3 goals or more, despite the excellent commentary of Brackley, Jordan, and that QPR fella who i cant remember at the moment!

No, another channel just bid more for them. And the Italian league has the most goals per game of thee top leagues and has done for years.

15/12/2007, 1:33 PM
I'd say an 'informative' (if a little retentive) rather than quality site. It's very tidy and all that but would it break their hearts to just copy the navigation bar html from the home page into all of the other pages? ...Rather than having to go everywhere via the homepage?

anyway ...my work is done here ..captain nitpicker up, up and away!

Ah come on now, for a site thats run by fans for the Dublin Rangers Supporters Club and nothin else that really is nitpicking! :p

OldKentRoad
17/12/2007, 1:45 PM
[I dont mind rangers actually. I like teams like that......."everybody hates us we dont care" attitude, tough team with tough supporters, not PC, etc........like Millwall, Feynoored, Schalke..........teams that give it up to you
Unlike Celtic who are just another (bad) version of Manure United, and there fans sicken me.

well said, a man after my own heart. I hate clubs whose fans are always telling us how great they are - the self acclaimed best fans in the world - pass the sick bag

17/12/2007, 1:59 PM
Interesting site. Had seen an older version of it and a report in the ST some years back about the club. They also had a banner in the Linfield end at the 2005 Setanta Cup final in Tolka Park.

Sad really that a Rangers SC in Dublin have to keep the identity of the bar they are drinking in a secret.

10-15 years ago you would see the odd Rangers shirt on the street in the Republic but I haven't seen one for quite a few years now (well JJB in Tallaght had them for sale).

OldKentRoad
17/12/2007, 2:37 PM
[quote=gspain;840254]Interesting site. Had seen an older version of it and a report in the ST some years back about the club. They also had a banner in the Linfield end at the 2005 Setanta Cup final in Tolka Park.

Sad really that a Rangers SC in Dublin have to keep the identity of the bar they are drinking in a secret.

I have no feelings towards rangers either way but I get the impression that the Dublin Loyal are quite happy to go about things in secret. I think it adds to the whole mystique about them. I am in the process of writing a book on football and have emailed them on numerous times in the past and haven't got a reply. So, I really think they're not interested. The best of luck to them though.

17/12/2007, 3:30 PM
[quote=gspain;840254]Interesting site. Had seen an older version of it and a report in the ST some years back about the club. They also had a banner in the Linfield end at the 2005 Setanta Cup final in Tolka Park.

I have no feelings towards rangers either way but I get the impression that the Dublin Loyal are quite happy to go about things in secret. I think it adds to the whole mystique about them. I am in the process of writing a book on football and have emailed them on numerous times in the past and haven't got a reply. So, I really think they're not interested. The best of luck to them though.

I assume they are keeping things quiet for their own safety. That's the sad part. Now having said that on my flight back from Cardiff last month one of a group of Irish fans was getting a slagging from some of his mates about Rangers and giving as good as he got. I actually know one of his crew quite well and indeed pretty sure I know the Rangers fan "to see". whatever about on a plane I don't think it would be safe to walk around Dublin in a Rangers jersey anymore.

17/12/2007, 9:29 PM

Yes it is right or close enough, the imbecilic web site
http://members.lycos.co.uk/dublinrangers/
(the link given earlier in the thread) hasn't been updated in 3 years.

17/12/2007, 9:46 PM

Why exactly would they be updating some dinky little thing on a lycos free account?

OldKentRoad
18/12/2007, 8:59 AM

whatever you boring old fart.....zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

EAFC_rdfl
18/12/2007, 9:15 AM
whatever you boring old fart.....zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Enjoy the UEFA cup!!

18/12/2007, 9:40 AM
Enjoy the UEFA cup!!

Enjoy permanent residence in the first division :confused:

EAFC_rdfl
18/12/2007, 10:04 AM
Enjoy permanent residence in the first division :confused:
eh?? that makes a lot of sense!?

18/12/2007, 10:06 AM
eh?? that makes a lot of sense!?

Your location

EAFC_rdfl
18/12/2007, 10:12 AM
people should engage brain 1st!! I may be LIVING in Athlone, doesn't mean I'm FROM Athlone :cool:

For Example: Check out my avator ????????

I await an apology!!! :p

18/12/2007, 10:13 AM
I'd say his avatar would be a better clue.

EDIT : He got there first.

seanog2001
18/12/2007, 10:15 AM
Da town bashing needs to stop we need just three or four quality players and we'll be challenging for promotion this year

18/12/2007, 10:19 AM
people should engage brain 1st!! I may be LIVING in Athlone, doesn't mean I'm FROM Athlone :cool:

For Example: Check out my avator ????????

I await an apology!!! :p

Alright, didn't have avatars turned on. Sorry.

Enjoy next years relegation battle.

EAFC_rdfl
18/12/2007, 10:32 AM
We'll see about the relegation battle, it'll be good fun either way!! Seanog you are spot on, getting 3 or 4 quality players mightn't be that easy though!! Im sure the town supporters will keep singin regardless

seanog2001
18/12/2007, 10:37 AM
We'll see about the relegation battle, it'll be good fun either way!! Seanog you are spot on, getting 3 or 4 quality players mightn't be that easy though!! Im sure the town supporters will keep singin regardless

Songs like these

O ATHLONE TOWN, O ATHLONE,
IS WONDERFUL, IS WONDERFUL,
O ATHLONE TOWN IS WONDERFUL,
ITS FULL OF TITS FANNY AND PORTER,
O ATHLONE TOWN IS WONDERFUL.

cheifo
18/12/2007, 10:39 AM
So here it is merry Christmas, everybodies having fun,look to the future now its only...:p:)

OldKentRoad
18/12/2007, 10:40 AM
[quote=EAFC_rdfl;840718]people should engage brain 1st!! I may be LIVING in Athlone, doesn't mean I'm FROM Athlone :cool:

you'd want to practice what you preach then - just because I dson't slag off Rangers or their fans doesn't mean I support them....

seanog2001
18/12/2007, 10:43 AM
you seem to be dyslexic like rangers fans

18/12/2007, 10:48 AM
you seem to be dyslexic like rangers fans

3 posts in and you're already generalising and nitpicking spelling.

Welcome to Foot.ie

seanog2001
18/12/2007, 10:51 AM
3 posts in and you're already generalising and nitpicking spelling.

Welcome to Foot.ie

thanks for the welcome

EAFC_rdfl
18/12/2007, 11:02 AM
[quote=EAFC_rdfl;840718]people should engage brain 1st!! I may be LIVING in Athlone, doesn't mean I'm FROM Athlone :cool:

you'd want to practice what you preach then - just because I dson't slag off Rangers or their fans doesn't mean I support them....

just felt your response to geysir was a bit annoying. He made a good point about the website http://members.lycos.co.uk/dublinrangers/ - it is obviously not a real supporters club website and is full of imbecilic content. He was only stating the obvious, yet you accuse him of being a "boring old fart"
My tongue-in-cheek response was only because I couldn't be bothered getting into a rant (like this!)
I felt my response that you have quoted was very valid, as I was wrongly accused off being an athlone town supporter :o:o even though I've a Harps badge (and I didnt know you can view these pages without avators)

18/12/2007, 11:08 AM
even though I've a Harps badge (and I didnt know you can view these pages without avators)
You can switch on or off viewing images, avatars and signatures in your options menu.

Bottle of Tonic
18/12/2007, 4:44 PM
Typical foot.ie response from a few on here. "Oh great site", "I'm thinking of supporting rangers", "terrible they can't walk around Dublin in rangers jerseys/have to hide their pubs" etc etc.

Does the "Dublin Loyal, behind enemy lines" banner not say anything to ye?

Prob not, actually. The apologists will surely find a way to explain it (celtic is the enemy, dublin is celtic or something) and then go on about how great rangers are, or how equally bad they are compared to Celtic.

You'd swear non-scottish football supporting Irishmen were experts on the subject.

18/12/2007, 5:11 PM
You'd swear non-scottish football supporting Irishmen were experts on the subject.
Mostly they just don't care. The rest are bloody sick of hearing about Scottish football.