View Full Version : Pre-season Friendlies

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Finlay Harp
09/01/2008, 9:38 PM
Happy days. Away to Newry is as good as a home game for me!

exiled_gufc_fan
10/01/2008, 5:37 AM
Two home friendlies announced by Limerick:

v Galway United, 1 Feb
v Cobh Ramblers, 16 Feb

Source: http://www.limerickleader.ie/3420/Mike-Kerley-39We-need-to.3654955.jp

10/01/2008, 9:34 AM
Two home friendlies announced by Limerick:

v Galway United, 1 Feb
v Cobh Ramblers, 16 Feb

Source: http://www.limerickleader.ie/3420/Mike-Kerley-39We-need-to.3654955.jp

Yay :)

10/01/2008, 10:28 AM
Good to see that there are a few clubs going away to the nice warm holiday spots for training - both Rovers off to Marbella for a week, then Bohs arriving arriving there two days later...

Does anyone else think... Nah, I must be just a little nit too conspiratorial.

Meanwhile, the Waterford United team building trip away will also be to a very popular resort town in a warmer southern coastal town, known for it's sandy beaches and the chance to get away from it all.

Yes, it will be an afternoon in Tramore.

stann
11/01/2008, 6:34 PM
Careful! Say one bad thing about Tramore, Beardy, let's see what happens! :mad:

11/01/2008, 8:54 PM
Careful! Say one bad thing about Tramore, Beardy, let's see what happens! :mad:
Gosh, I've just realised how that must have sounded. Sorry. Tramore is WAAAAAAAYYYY better than Marbella any day. No choice in my mind over the two. Tramore every time;)

niallsparky
11/01/2008, 9:02 PM
http://shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=802

There is no Feb 30th :D - it's down for the first of March

Oops :o

ramblersnb1
12/01/2008, 11:35 AM
ramblers are supposedly on the way to nottingham forest for preseason

ramsfan
12/01/2008, 1:18 PM
yet to be confirmed

12/01/2008, 8:00 PM
yet to be confirmedHe did say supposedly.

GreenStar
16/01/2008, 5:29 PM
2008 Pre Season Arrangements

07 Jan 2008.
The pre season arrangements for the Shamrock Rovers squad will include a week long training camp in Marbella as well as a series of friendly matches against first division opposition in February. The squad will be in Marbella from 9th - 15th February with two friendly matches both against Polish Premier Division opposition. First up is a game in Benahavís on Mon 11th Feb at 4pm v's Górnik Zabrze with the second match in Sol Andalusi on Thurs 14th at 4pm v GKS Belchatów (runners up Polish league 06-07). The Gornik game will bring back memories of our UEFA Cup clash in the 1994/95 season.
UPDATE 16th Jan: The series of games in Ireland, all in February and at the away venues, are: Tues 5th v Longford at 8pm, Fri 8th v Kildare County at 7.45pm, Thur 21st v Dundalk at 7.45pm, Sat 23rd v Waterford Utd at 2pm, Tues 26th v Athlone Town at 7.45pm and finally Fri 29th v Wexford Youths at 8pm.

oldyouth
17/01/2008, 12:29 PM
Youths V UCD at Ferrycarrig on Sat Feb 9th at 2pm. On the official site

17/01/2008, 12:34 PM
Good to see that there are a few clubs going away to the nice warm holiday spots for training - both Rovers off to Marbella for a week, then Bohs arriving arriving there two days later...

Does anyone else think... Nah, I must be just a little nit too conspiratorial.

Havn't you heard Bohs and both Rovers have been invited to join la Liga

Bohs in negotiations with a coca-cola championship club for friendly at Dalier on the 29th Jan

17/01/2008, 12:37 PM
any news yet of bohs friendlies???

Bohs Friendlies (http://www.bohemians.ie/index.php/fixtures/friendlies-latest1.htm)

23/01/2008, 12:27 PM
http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=812

exiled_gufc_fan
23/01/2008, 12:40 PM
Galway United:

http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/match-previews/galway-united-announce-pre-season-friendlies.html

Also pre-season training and friendly in Ipswich (friendly is on 20 Feb).

23/01/2008, 1:09 PM
Scroll down a bit and you can see our confirmed friendlies here:
http://www.freewebs.com/wysfc/ (http://www.freewebs.com/wysfc/)

23/01/2008, 1:22 PM
Our friendly against Donegal Celtic has been cancelled. I assume the one against Sporting Fingal will be too if they get into the first division.

23/01/2008, 1:44 PM
Galway United:

http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/match-previews/galway-united-announce-pre-season-friendlies.html

Also pre-season training and friendly in Ipswich (friendly is on 20 Feb).

Details on the Ipswich trip here http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/match-previews/galway-united-pre-season-training-camp-in-ipswich.html

Battery Rover
23/01/2008, 5:34 PM
We have three confirmed friendlies if we still have a club

Galway United vs Athlone Town Friday 8th February 7.45PM in Terryland

Athlone Town vs Sligo Rovers Monday 18th February 7.45PM in Athlone Town Stadium.

Athlone Town vs Shamrock Rovers Tuesday 26th February 7.45 PM in Athlone Town Stadium

Hopefully good crowds will travel to the games to see the new ground if they haven't already.

23/01/2008, 5:54 PM
Athlone Town vs Sligo Rovers Monday 18th February in Athlone Town Stadium.Any chance of confirmation on k/o time yet?:confused:

EDIT: Just realised you have it down for Monday night too:eek:, thought it was scheduled for Sunday 17th?

Battery Rover
23/01/2008, 6:09 PM
Any chance of confirmation on k/o time yet?:confused:

EDIT: Just realised you have it down for Monday night too:eek:, thought it was scheduled for Sunday 17th?

Got a text message this morning confirming the new time and date

Think the reason behind it is one of our pre season training nights is Monday so saves the players having to travel an extra day

23/01/2008, 6:42 PM
Where the feck is Cabra?

Carlin
23/01/2008, 6:44 PM
Near Dalymount.

deecay
23/01/2008, 6:52 PM

Think the reason behind it is one of our pre season training nights is Monday so saves the players having to travel an extra day
Ah rats:(

neutrino
23/01/2008, 7:26 PM

i thought ye lot were stuck for cash.bye bye to every rovers supporter that was going to travel on Sunday. tut tut tut. cud the players just not train monday, since they're playing sunday :rolleyes:

23/01/2008, 9:18 PM
bye bye to every rovers supporter that was going to travel on Sunday.I'm going.

Battery Rover
23/01/2008, 9:42 PM
i thought ye lot were stuck for cash.bye bye to every rovers supporter that was going to travel on Sunday. tut tut tut. cud the players just not train monday, since they're playing sunday :rolleyes:

That might not have been the reason for it. Sunday would have been easy for me getting from Limerick but being on a monday now makes it a lot harder

A big crew will still travel it is only a short spin down the road

24/01/2008, 6:24 PM
League fixtures are out tomorrow.

http://www.eircomloi.ie:82/news-centre/news/news-149/index.xml

dublinwanderer
27/01/2008, 8:25 AM
Bray v Monaghan 28th Jan in Rathnew

Also weekend pre-season training in Limerick with a possible friendly organised down there.

More info www.braywanderers.ie

27/01/2008, 6:35 PM
longford town vs bray wanderers mondy feb 11th flancare park

28/01/2008, 5:33 PM
Limerick -v- GUFC called off today .

28/01/2008, 7:33 PM
Limerick -v- GUFC called off today .

Sorry about that

Turned out it clashed with myself and gael353s' trip to England and therefore couldn't go ahead :ball:

geezer
28/01/2008, 8:57 PM
will limerick even get a licence, cant get access to a pitch? thats the best excuse yet from a football club? Looks like Mervue Utd will get lims place

28/01/2008, 10:00 PM
will limerick even get a licence, cant get access to a pitch?

Jackman Park is being re-sodded (No doubt in preperation for us not getting a licence) and myself and gael are going to England

Therefore Friendly Off.

Get Over It.

thats the best excuse yet from a football club?

I sincerely doubt that in the rich tapestry of football history Limerick have ever had the best anything.

May I suggest you read a few football books if you think this is the case

Alternately, maybe a bout of whinging about a trust is in order??

I mean, it must be hours since you were on the Limerick forum talking one up...

Looks like Mervue Utd will get lims place

According to who??

Mind your own.

Another 20k pi$$ed away by "The Best Run Club In the World" (Trademark gufct) and Mervue could have been taking your place.

28/01/2008, 11:14 PM
MONS BEAT PREMIER TEAM BRAY IN PRE-SEASON FRIENDLY
In a last minute arranged friendly between Monaghan United and Premier Division team Bray Wanderers, Mick Cooke’s men came out on top on Monday night last. A goal from Eoin Lannigan, due to sign for the team on Wednesday, separated the teams.

“Lannigan has phenomenal pace and latched onto a long clearance from Wayne Byrne, rounding the goalie and slotting home.” Cooke said.

Bray fielded an almost complete squad with only 3 of their side missing from the action while Cooke used the opportunity to try out some of his new signings by mixing them in with some of last years players.

“The team played well together and the pre-season training has been going well. Graham (Doyle) has settled well into the Assistant Managers job and is getting a great response from the lads” Cooke continued.

Monaghan United’s team for the game was: Danny Woods (Brendan Kennedy 45), Paul Whelan, Aaron Mooney (Ian Malone 45), Brian Gartland, Kevin Williamson (Khalid Hussain 60) , Eoin Lannigan (Darragh Hanaphy 60), Wayne Byrne (Chris Dyson 60), Robbie Collins (Philip Sheppard 45)

James Hand and Brian Murphy were forced to sit out the game due to injury.

davidatrb
29/01/2008, 3:50 PM
According to todays Herald it was 1-1.

"Bray wanderers began preparing for the 2008 season with a 1-1 draw against First Division side Monaghan United last night."

Philly
29/01/2008, 5:08 PM
Typical Magicme spin

29/01/2008, 6:00 PM
Ha ha! No that was Bray trying to save face! We Won We Won We Won!*

*no am not really that excited but as our new Assistant Manager said to me today "winning is a good habit to get into"

stann
29/01/2008, 6:42 PM
Monaghan United’s team for the game was: Danny Woods (Brendan Kennedy 45), Paul Whelan, Aaron Mooney (Ian Malone 45), Brian Gartland, Kevin Williamson (Khalid Hussain 60) , Eoin Lannigan (Darragh Hanaphy 60), Wayne Byrne (Chris Dyson 60), Robbie Collins (Philip Sheppard 45)

Wow, you beat them with only eight men?? And started with a full bench just to rub it in!? I think the rest of us should be very scared for the coming season. :p :D

29/01/2008, 11:06 PM
Wow, you beat them with only eight men?? And started with a full bench just to rub it in!? I think the rest of us should be very scared for the coming season.

You think that's scary??

Well we're only gonna use 6 players this year.

No Subs. No Nothing.

So There.

29/01/2008, 11:16 PM
You think that's scary??

Well we're only gonna use 6 players this year.

No Subs. No Nothing.

So There.

One less than was at your preseason training last year so

29/01/2008, 11:20 PM
One less than was at your preseason training last year so

Exactly.

It's this cut throat modern business enviroment.

We are downsizing, streamlining, call it what you will, all in an effort to ensure the machine that is Limerick (Insert your own suffix here) is well oiled and ready for A-C-T-I-O-N.

29/01/2008, 11:23 PM
Exactly.

It's this cut throat modern business enviroment.

We are downsizing, streamlining, call it what you will, all in an effort to ensure the machine that is Limerick (Insert your own suffix here) is well oiled and ready for A-C-T-I-O-N.

:D just dont be too successful or Arkaga will start replacing wingers with greyhounds.

SunderlandBohs
30/01/2008, 10:06 AM
Pat's to Sunderland at the SoL on Thursday at 5pm. Free admission.

The Lilywhites
30/01/2008, 4:09 PM
Derry City -v- Dundalk, The Brandywell, Friday 29 February, 7.45pm.

www.dundalkfc.com

The Lilywhites
30/01/2008, 5:40 PM
Dundalk -v- Cork City, Oriel Park, Tuesday 12 February, 7.45pm.

www.dundalkfc.com

30/01/2008, 5:55 PM
Wow, you beat them with only eight men?? And started with a full bench just to rub it in!? I think the rest of us should be very scared for the coming season. :p :D

Whoops was so tired typing that the other night I didnt notice! Dont know who else was playing either as that is all the manager told me!

31/01/2008, 1:47 AM
will limerick even get a licence, cant get access to a pitch? thats the best excuse yet from a football club? Looks like Mervue Utd will get lims place
Cork City FC are playing all our preseason games away because we don't have access to Turner's Cross off-season. Are Tullamore taking our place?

Pablo Escobar
31/01/2008, 7:59 AM
Cork City FC are playing all our preseason games away because we don't have access to Turner's Cross off-season. Are Tullamore taking our place?

Salthill