View Full Version : US Presidential Elections

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10

28/09/2008, 4:34 PM
Thanks si, anywhere on telly though?

28/09/2008, 5:25 PM
Thanks si, anywhere on telly though? Couldn't find anything.

28/09/2008, 9:03 PM
Don't see how you thought McCain won though

Trying to see from US viewpoint bearing in mind they elected Bush. They love the America is great & don't talk to terrorists lines.

Not sure if Obama would be good for the Irish economy as seems he would closr the tax loopholes of multinationals availing of our low corporation taxes.

01/10/2008, 12:06 AM
Faux News perspective...

KTkqosRiyYo

HarpoJoyce
01/10/2008, 2:55 AM
Faux News perspective...

Thanks strangeirish, I guess Fox news have their work cut in Pennsylvannia, Ohio and Florida again?

01/10/2008, 1:49 PM
Big lead for Obama in latest opinion polls. Economic situation is probably benefiting him & that isn't going away anytime soon.

All the national polls favor Obama as follows: Diageo (Obama +6), Gallup (Obama +6), Rasmussen (Obama +6), Research 2000 (Obama +10), and Washington Post (Obama +4). The mean is an Obama lead of 6.4%. A win of 6% in the popular vote will translate into winning all the swing states and an electoral college landslide

01/10/2008, 2:01 PM
Big lead for Obama in latest opinion polls. Economic situation is probably benefiting him & that isn't going away anytime soon.
No doubt the current economic climate is helping Obama, but I also believe McCains choice of running mate is also helping Obama. The VP debate is Thursday, so it will be interesting to see how Palin handles herself. Biden has to be careful himself, not to come across as too condecending.

03/10/2008, 11:23 AM
SNL take on Couric Palin interview (http://www.nbc.com/Saturday_Night_Live/video/clips/couric-palin-open/704042/)

"Bono, King of Ireland" :D

In VP debate I lost track of the number of times Palin just ignored the question & read her prepared script. If asked anything about say Health she was always going to read out same answer verbatim. :rolleyes:

Reality Bites
03/10/2008, 1:55 PM
Palin is a Dope

06/10/2008, 8:54 AM
http://www.independent.ie/world-news/americas/us-elections/pitbulls-obama-smear-turns-race-into-a-dogfight-1490736.html

Palin's biggest error yet?

06/10/2008, 9:09 AM

When you are down significantly in the polls that is what VP is used for. Presidential nominee can't say things like that.

http://www.electoral-vote.com/evp2008/Images/national-polls-Oct04.jpg

McCain is going on the attack & he will also bring up Obamas pastor again. See Obamas response here (http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1008/14283.html)

06/10/2008, 2:50 PM
http://www.independent.ie/world-news/americas/us-elections/pitbulls-obama-smear-turns-race-into-a-dogfight-1490736.html

McCain is playing with fire by allowing Palin to run her mouth. He has opened a can of worms for himself and has given Obama a opportunity to attack him about the Keating five. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keating_Five)

They're grasping at straws now, hoping to deflect attention from the economic crisis. It's getting down to the nasty mud-slinging tactics that the Repugs are renowned for.

06/10/2008, 3:29 PM
SNL: Palin v Biden debate (http://www.nbc.com/Saturday_Night_Live/video/clips/vp-debate-open-palin-biden/727421/)

Best line is Palins definition of marriage. :D

Another debate tomorrow. Topics to come from members of the audience in Nashville.

Angus
07/10/2008, 12:02 PM
The key difference this year is the ferocity, speed and ruthlessness of the Obama campaign.

I suspect that McCain floated the ayers thing just to see what would happen - what followed was a barrage - he toned it down yesterday and is now using the racially tinged - "who is the real Obama ?"

I fully expect the Dems to respond with the skill and poise they have shown all campaign.

Unless something serious happens or Obama stumbles this is over

07/10/2008, 12:24 PM
The key difference this year is the ferocity, speed and ruthlessness of the Obama campaign.Whatever about the other two, his campaign people have always been incredibly quick to react to opponents, invariably very successfully. The speed with which they've been able to roll out responses - particularly professionally edited video responses, both online and in mainstream media - is nothing short of astounding. Minutes and hours where before it was days and even weeks. I've never seen anything like it.

07/10/2008, 12:36 PM
Whatever about the other two, his campaign people have always been incredibly quick to react to opponents, invariably very successfully. The speed with which they've been able to roll out responses - particularly professionally edited video responses, both online and in mainstream media - is nothing short of astounding. Minutes and hours where before it was days and even weeks. I've never seen anything like it.

I see you've been getting the Obama e mails as well.I've been signed up for over a year now and there's always e maiols waiting for me from David Poulffe, Barack or Michelle Obama or now Joe Biden every day. It really is astonishing the grassroots support he has built up

Angus
07/10/2008, 2:13 PM
Whatever about the other two, his campaign people have always been incredibly quick to react to opponents, invariably very successfully. The speed with which they've been able to roll out responses - particularly professionally edited video responses, both online and in mainstream media - is nothing short of astounding. Minutes and hours where before it was days and even weeks. I've never seen anything like it.

Agree - what that tells me is that they did world class opposition prep - i.e. they know what is coming, they got smart people to pitch anti Obama stuff and have a canned response to everything

pretty impressive

07/10/2008, 6:10 PM
Tonights "debate" seems to have a list of rules (http://blogs.suntimes.com/sweet/2008/10/mccain_obama_deal_puts_limits.html) so stifling that I heard it likened to simultaneous press conferences.

07/10/2008, 10:06 PM
I see you've been getting the Obama e mails as well.I've been signed up for over a year now and there's always e maiols waiting for me from David Poulffe, Barack or Michelle Obama or now Joe Biden every day. It really is astonishing the grassroots support he has built up

Where can you sign up for these?

And also, can anyone recommend a good website that covers the elections and provides all the latest news, polls, rumours and analysis that I could possibly need? :)

Thanks.

07/10/2008, 10:34 PM

And also, can anyone recommend a good website that covers the elections and provides all the latest news, polls, rumours and analysis that I could possibly need? :)

Thanks.

CNN ain't a bad news source for the election - though they can be frustrating at times.

07/10/2008, 11:09 PM

Thanks.

Can't remember how I signed up but info@barackobama.com is the address I get mail off so e mail them and they'll probably add you.

As for election info, no one site covers it well enough for me, CNN, Fox, the Guardian, BBC, and Jon Stewart pretty much give me info, and forums here and in English and American sites give me opinion pieces

08/10/2008, 4:42 AM
As for CNN, according to post debate opinion poll, Obama basically wiped the floor with McCain. Double digit percentage felt he won overall. 20+ points better on the economy and the financial crisis. 5 points better on Iraq. McCain won on only one "issue" and that was terrorism. He won the "likability" poll. He won the most "leader-like" poll.

Interesting that the pool of people in Ohio that had the wee button/reaction yokes. The graph suggested that the preferred what Obama had to say, yet when Soledad asked them if you had to choose today the majority said they'd vote for McCain. :confused:

Overall, McCain came across as really, really frustrated, and snipey.

Angus
08/10/2008, 7:41 AM

Thanks.

I have attached below the 2 best that I surf regularly:

www.electoral-vote.com
www.fivethirtyeight.com

538 has a slight Dem bias, but is probably the best for content. For a slightly GOP bias go to:

www.electionprojection.com
www.drudgereport.com

08/10/2008, 10:26 AM

www.electoral-vote.com

I recommend that site. Nice concise daily overview of the issues.

08/10/2008, 10:30 AM

www.electoral-vote.com (http://www.electoral-vote.com)
www.fivethirtyeight.com (http://www.fivethirtyeight.com)

538 has a slight Dem bias, but is probably the best for content. For a slightly GOP bias go to:

www.electionprojection.com (http://www.electionprojection.com)
www.drudgereport.com (http://www.drudgereport.com)

Thank you. ;)

08/10/2008, 1:08 PM
As for CNN, according to post debate opinion poll, Obama basically wiped the floor with McCain. Double digit percentage felt he won overall. 20+ points better on the economy and the financial crisis. 5 points better on Iraq. McCain won on only one "issue" and that was terrorism. He won the "likability" poll. He won the most "leader-like" poll.

Interesting that the pool of people in Ohio that had the wee button/reaction yokes. The graph suggested that the preferred what Obama had to say, yet when Soledad asked them if you had to choose today the majority said they'd vote for McCain. :confused:

Overall, McCain came across as really, really frustrated, and snipey.

Well, the propaganda channel has its own way of putting things in perspective...:D Half!????? Supposedly, there are 20-25 people in this 'focus' group.
Y0XnADjMjNk

08/10/2008, 2:34 PM
Well, the propaganda channel has its own way of putting things in perspective...:D Half!????? Supposedly, there are 20-25 people in this 'focus' group.

Half of them? :D

08/10/2008, 4:13 PM

Lord have mercy...those hures at Fox are unbelievable :eek:

08/10/2008, 4:33 PM
Half of them? :D

Lord have mercy...those hures at Fox are unbelievable :eek:
Well, at least it's not a trend...Oh, wait...

KTkqosRiyYo

08/10/2008, 4:50 PM
Well, at least it's not a trend...Oh, wait... (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=1030895&postcount=254)

:D:D

I like the old fella in the back who tries to raise his hand for McCain only to have his wife smack it back down :D

08/10/2008, 5:08 PM
Well, at least it's not a trend...Oh, wait... (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=1030895&postcount=254)

Event the "room" was laughing at the reporter summary. :D

08/10/2008, 5:56 PM
The Daily Show's John Oliver (http://www.thedailyshow.com/video/index.jhtml?videoId=187570&title=the-stupid-vote)on the 8% undecided and which way they might go

08/10/2008, 6:56 PM
I like the old fella in the back who tries to raise his hand for McCain only to have his wife smack it back down :D

Then she raises BOTh her hands....class :D

09/10/2008, 4:59 PM
Ladies and Gentlemen, introducing the Republican 'Base' that McCain/Palin are pandering to. Try not to barf all over your screens. The first video is about 4 1/2 mins and the second is about 5 mins. The second video has McCain/Palin supporters yelling across the street at Obama/Biden supporters to get a job:D, amongst other compliments. Oh the irony.

Edit: 25 seconds in, on the first video, are there that many arches on a 'M' now?:D

KjxzmaXAg9E

itEucdhf4Us

Noelys Guitar
09/10/2008, 5:19 PM
I like this one. Rednecks for Obama.
http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20081009/pl_afp/usvoteobamarednecks

09/10/2008, 5:44 PM
Ladies and Gentlemen, introducing the Republican 'Base' that McCain/Palin are pandering to.

Basic racism. Calling Obama a "European socialist" was very nasty & too much. :p Funny though given the Bush/Cheney bank nationalisation program.

I read that McCain is pulling his ads linking Obama to terrorism as not going down well with Independent voters.

Hard to see how Obama can lose the election now. No knock out blows in foreign affairs & McCain can't win the economic debate unless he does u-turn on policies. I can't think tax cuts for millionaires goes down well in the US with bank executives earning millions from bankrupt companies.

10/10/2008, 8:31 AM
I love the way they tell people they're "going to Russia". Open a paper dumbass.

10/10/2008, 10:30 AM
How is Sarah palin treated by the media? (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/world/2008/1009/1223445617076.html?via=mr) Decent article in the IT, written by a Boston Globe columnist

I laughed out loud at this line

One of the interviews, with Sean Hannity, a right-wing pundit on Fox, was cringe-inducingly obsequious, like watching Ryan Tubridy interview Jesus Christ.

cavan_fan
13/10/2008, 10:37 PM
For those Americans tempted by Sarah Palin who are thinking

...well you don't need any training or experience to do a good job
...the fact I like you is more important than that you're smart
...anyway the (admittedly not very healthy) septugenarian will be the real one in charge

I give you Steve Staunton, and didnt that go well

14/10/2008, 10:39 AM
Obama buys 30 minute network slot (http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/story/2008/10/10/ST2008101003073.html)

Barack Obama's presidential campaign is getting a bargain for the half-hour of prime time it's bought on CBS and NBC, and is in talks about buying on ABC and Fox.

The Democratic presidential candidate's camp is paying less than $1 million to each of the two networks to air its campaign-related program on Wednesday, Oct. 29

No doubt he will use it for a Presidential style address.

14/10/2008, 12:41 PM
Has everyone seen the Aaron Sorkin-penned Bartlet-Obama meeting?

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/09/21/opinion/21dowd-sorkin.html

(I probably found it here! :))

14/10/2008, 1:13 PM
Has everyone seen the Aaron Sorkin-penned Bartlet-Obama meeting?

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/09/21/opinion/21dowd-sorkin.html

(I probably found it here! :))

'The people who want English to be the official language of the United States are uncomfortable with their leaders being fluent in it.':D

Aberdonian Stu
14/10/2008, 2:18 PM
It wasn't penned by Sorkin, that's just the title. It was written by Maureen Dowd.

EDIT: Hmm it says it was done in a call with him but a buddy of mine who's in the Dems and is a huge West Wing fan said it was Dowd that penned it.

ccfcman
15/10/2008, 11:07 PM
For those Americans tempted by Sarah Palin who are thinking

...well you don't need any training or experience to do a good job
...the fact I like you is more important than that you're smart
...anyway the (admittedly not very healthy) septugenarian will be the real one in charge

I give you Steve Staunton, and didnt that go well

Classic post there

Angus
16/10/2008, 7:20 AM
Are you kidding ? He brings up abortion ? Why is McCain continuously running to the right ? I am convinced they have decided they won't win and want to shore up the base for next time.

This is crazy. The thing the Obama camp feared was the softer, moderate McCain - the anti Gitmo, anti torture, working with Ted Kennedy - attractive to the independents.

This is over - in the absence of a major gaffe by BO (unlikely) or a major foreign intervention by somebody. Note how they announced a deal yesterday to pull out of Iraq - this is designed to hurt Mc

This should be over now - landlside time - unless we have a major gaffe or terrorist intervention someplace

16/10/2008, 9:51 AM
Are you kidding ? He brings up abortion ? Why is McCain continuously running to the right ? I am convinced they have decided they won't win and want to shore up the base for next time.

They say McCain is the first republican nominee to move to the right after he got the nomination.

Reading recently that the Republicans are looking to get back to their core principles of small government & low taxes while cutting the evangelicals lose if they lose the election.

16/10/2008, 10:01 AM
Watched the debate last night (first time this election). Pretty good one, with some excellent questions by the moderator. Certainly gave both men a chance to show their differences.

I thought McCain started out well (line of the night "I'm not George Bush, if you wanted to run against him, you should've ruin 4 years ago") and he had slightly the upper hand on the financial front. However it all changed when he tried to say he was totally against negative ads and within 15 seconds attacked Obama over Ayers and ACORN. Obama handled it excellently and from then on answered each one of McCain's claims calmly and confidently. "Americans don't care about our hurt feelings on the campaign, they care about the real issues that affect them"

McCain became increasingly flustered and acted as if he knew this was his last chance (think of someone in "The Apprentice" trying to tell Sugar he shouldn't be fired). Obama definitely had the upper hand on health care, Energy and Education (Mccain thought more soldiers should be allowed teach without qualifications in answer to a question on why Americans spend more on eeducation and lag behind the rest of the world!)

ON abortion they're obviously on different levels but Obama answered all of McCain's claims and stood strong on his policy. Won't change anyone's minds on this though

McCain continued to bring it back to "joe the plumber" who he reckoned would be worse off under Obama. It was ridiculously annoying. While I thought McCain was shpaing up for a big win at the start he basically just lost it a little, and Obama definitely came across as more "presidential".

16/10/2008, 10:08 AM
Saw probably the first half & much better than the other debates. Moderator was the key difference. McCain on the attack & the "should have run 4 years ago" line was a good one. He was clearly trying to paint Obama as a tax & spend socialist but Obama didn't take the bait. Obama seems to answer the Ayers & Acorn questions very well & McCain seemed petty when after Obama gave detailed answer said "the american people need to the details of the relationship". Maybe Obama should have asked what else he wanted to know but possibly no advantage to be gained there.

jmurphyc
16/10/2008, 10:38 AM
I don't know whether anyone has mentioned this but there's a third party debate this Sunday with Nader, Bob Barr (the Libertarian candidate) and a Green Party candidate whose name I don't know. McCain and Obama have been invited too, though I very much doubt they'll show up. I'll be watching, but I doubt anyone really cares too much.

Angus
16/10/2008, 11:17 AM
They say McCain is the first republican nominee to move to the right after he got the nomination.

Reading recently that the Republicans are looking to get back to their core principles of small government & low taxes while cutting the evangelicals lose if they lose the election.

What do you think is really going on here ? Is his campagin forcing him down this path ? He is not naturally this right wing - why is he running this campaign ? Obama is unbeatble now (leaving aside gaffe / terror event) but 12 months ago he was beatable - it's as if Mc had no strategy to beat Obama - Obama has been plannign to beat all of these guys, basically since the Iraq war vote

Also the Obama campaign put out media talking points before the debate where they referenced Mc's being "erratic" "unsteady" and "staggering" - this is so transparently a thinly disguised "old" comment - this is the first time since Clinton, and JFK before that, that a Dem campaign has played in the same game as the GOP - the Dems are ruthlessly efficient in this election - prob the most impressive campaign ever