View Full Version : Hatton V Mayweather.

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Thunder-WYFC
08/12/2007, 10:44 AM
Just incase anyone missed the weigh in,Hatton 145 pounds,Mayweather 147

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=1598157390314167395&q=mayweather+dj+j-nice&total=1&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=0

Or te sky version- http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=1598157390314167395&q=mayweather+dj+j-nice&total=1&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=0

08/12/2007, 11:29 AM
You know, the one where Hatton lost the rag and came across like a homophobic simpleton

Mayweather was grabbing his ass and di**, he's hardly gonna turn around and tell Mayweather to keep doing it :) I thought Hatton was funny at that press conference - I don't think a simpleton could have the mental capacity to do stand up and deal with questions from the media on a constant basis in a clear and coherent manner as he does.

08/12/2007, 1:32 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fQzYnbljZ9Y&feature=related

thats what im afraid of, he cuts up very easily. and he will take a lot of hits off mayweather. Looking at the two of them he seems like a boy compared to him;

08/12/2007, 1:38 PM
how can i watch this live and free online? is it even possible?

sligobhoy67
08/12/2007, 1:54 PM
Mayweather to win on points - if Hattons makes the distance - I dont think he will be KO'ed but could be stopped in the 8th or 9th because of cuts over the eye/s

08/12/2007, 2:09 PM
I'm going for Mayweather in the 7th round.

Noelys Guitar
08/12/2007, 7:25 PM

myp2p.eu or live-footy.org

09/12/2007, 2:23 AM

Also on
http://forum.freefootball.org/

I am watching the undercard now.

shanman2
09/12/2007, 3:20 AM
it won't be. the main fight always starts on schedule. They'll have a two hour gap between fights before they'd let the main bout go 5 minutes early

knowledge is the bomb and you dare to question other peoples knowledge of the sport. god bless you dodge:D:D:D

09/12/2007, 4:26 AM
Class told, Skys commentary was a disgrace the better boxer beat a back street brawler.

09/12/2007, 6:30 AM
im still up, i dont know how, but i felt awful sorry for hatton, cortez was definitely siding with mayweather, he wouldn't let him fight his game, mayweather was awful cute, talking awful crap about not watching hattons fight, he knew exactly what he was doing ducking so low and keeping his elbow to hattons head, very sly. Anyhow in the end though mayweathers class did show, he really is class. id like to see him move up another weight or two though.

luka
09/12/2007, 8:38 AM
im backing hatton all the way very confident on this one.

Right...........:rolleyes:

Would like to see Hatton win but it's unlikely.

Correct.............:D

beautifulrock
09/12/2007, 10:35 AM
id like to see him move up another weight or two though.
Paul. you do realise that Mayweather has been a champion at 5 different weights already:rolleyes: stop spoofing will ya

09/12/2007, 11:05 AM
Better boxer definately won, quicker, connected more.... good night though :p

09/12/2007, 12:49 PM
Paul. you do realise that Mayweather has been a champion at 5 different weights already:rolleyes: stop spoofing will ya

rock, i know wll,but he is only 30 and he has done everything, why not try and break some more records, i really would like to see him at a weight where the punching power would effect him more. He didnt seem comfortable when hatton caught him clean in the early rounds.

09/12/2007, 1:02 PM
rock, i know wll,but he is only 30 and he has done everything

Indeed he has, a true legend at the game.

6 times champion at 5 different weight divisions.

why not try and break some more records

WTF??

Why not retire??

i really would like to see him at a weight where the punching power would effect him more.

6 times champion at 5 different weight divisions.

He doesn't have to prove himself to you or anyone else for that matter.

He didnt seem comfortable when hatton caught him clean in the early rounds

Wise up FFS.

There wasn't a mark on him after that fighr, aside from one poxy jab in the first Hatton barely laid a glove on him.

Class told, Skys commentary was a disgrace the better boxer beat a back street brawler.

Agree 100%

I mean, how dare that referee try to keep the fight clean.

How dare that referee warn them both about points deductions before the fight then take a point off for acting the scumbag just like he had warned them he would.

How dare Mayweather be the superior fighter.

I just hope all the Hatton fans who travelled all that way so they could boo the American national anthem recognised how lucky they were to be in the presence of true greatness.

Floyd Mayweather is in an absolutely different league to Ricky Hatton, had to laugh at Sky News trying to talk up a rematch this morning.

I also hope that the reason Ricky Hatton was such an ungracious **** at the end of the fight last night was down to his head having been bashed around for the previous ten minutes as opposed to him actually being an ungracious ****

09/12/2007, 1:20 PM
Ahhh I thought Hatton was alright after the fight even joking etc. I was kinda up for Hatton before the fight but the Sky commentary and the class made me want Mayweather to win as Hatton was only going to win with a freak uppercut or something like that or maybe a really really dodgy points decision. But to be fair Hatton is ok as a guy, the fans etc would not be my cup of tea.

Rovers fan
09/12/2007, 1:37 PM
raging i ended up getting wasted and i missed the fight,

hoops1
09/12/2007, 1:39 PM
Cortez reffed the fight brilliantly.After about 4 rounds there was only
going to be one winner. Hatton was upset after the fight with himself because
he kept making the mistakes he knew he couldnt afford to make. But thats what
happens against the best they make you make mistakes

TheBoss
09/12/2007, 2:58 PM
Mayweather controlled the fight, he knew that Hatton would be all attack as it were in the first few rounds and prepared for that perfectly, he waited until Hatton tired himself out and just picked him off, a brilliant fighter.

sligobhoy67
09/12/2007, 3:08 PM
Mayweather to win on points - if Hattons makes the distance - I dont think he will be KO'ed but could be stopped in the 8th or 9th because of cuts over the eye/s

had £100 on a Mayweather at Ladrokes 4/7 - paid for my night.

Cortez interferred too much in the early rounds and appeared to allow Mayweather a lot of leeway but the outcome would still have been the same if he hadnt.

Hatton had expended himself by the 8th and Mayweather looked like he hadnt fought a round. Easy win imo

Junior Witter v Ricky Hatton next please!

Ceirtlis
09/12/2007, 3:58 PM
Mayweather outclassed him, he wasnt really troubled at all. After the fight as well he was gracious enough fair play to him. Hatton not to keen to give praise in the other direction though but id say he was just sickened because he knew he gave his best and he fell a long way short

09/12/2007, 5:10 PM
Lim, just cos i disproved yer early point, doesn't mean ye have to justify yourself ;)

Through the years 5 divisions is pretty impressive alright, given his age. I'm not denying that, all I am saying is it would be good to see him in middleweight or something, against a fighter like pavlik, who is able to take serious punches but also dish out serious punches too. And if you are that good, why stop so young, keep going. Onwards and upwards. There has never been any real power punchers below welterweight.

What are you on about prove himself to me, thats just plain stupid. I obviously wasn't expecting him to prove himself to me, its just what I said I would like to see.

Funny on sky how they kept making a point to say "just to let youall know our fans have been very well behaved.....aren't we great" and so they should be there shouldn't be a need to have to say that. the yanks were not impressed with the booing of the star.

Gaillimh Al
09/12/2007, 7:41 PM
I'd say one of the reasons would be he has nothing to prove. Plus his hands aren't in the best of shape. Saw the preview thing on Sky 1 where he had to get treatment on them every 2nd day.

09/12/2007, 8:07 PM
As you said Paul the Americans are not at all happy about the booing of the Star Spangled Banner.

Usual behaviour for your average English hooligan unfortunately. Sky's pathetic brushing over follows hard on the heels of Motson attempting to do the same at the England v Croatia qualifier.

Glad Floyd did the business.

09/12/2007, 8:08 PM
Lim, just cos i disproved yer early point, doesn't mean ye have to justify yourself

Where did you disprove my earlier point??

If anything you agreed with me....

Through the years 5 divisions is pretty impressive alright

Sure is.

all I am saying is it would be good to see him in middleweight or something, against a fighter like pavlik

Why?? Why risk getting your brains muddled??

As you said yourself:

he has done everything

And if you are that good, why stop so young, keep going. Onwards and upwards.

He put it superbly last night himself when he said:

"I'm not going to let the sport of boxing retire me. I'm going to retire from the sport of boxing"

What are you on about prove himself to me, thats just plain stupid.

My point was that he doesn't have to prove himself to anyone.

You'll find this reading lark will come a hell of a lot easier to you if you read WHOLE sentences.

09/12/2007, 8:10 PM
Hatton not to keen to give praise in the other direction though

Ya, I thought that myself.

But, in fairness to him he was a little more gracious when interviewed today so maybe his head was just a bit muddled last night

09/12/2007, 8:59 PM
Why?? Why risk getting your brains muddled??

why Box then?!

ou'll find this reading lark will come a hell of a lot easier to you if you read WHOLE sentences.

Ya, good point, its the same when you pull out half a sentence instead of a full sentence too ;)

But, in fairness to him he was a little more gracious when interviewed today so maybe his head was just a bit muddled last night

Im open to correction but im pretty sure that same interview was done later on in the evening.

09/12/2007, 10:28 PM
cortez was far too picky on hatton, it was as if he wanted some of the limelight, he interfered far too often, nearly once every 6 or 7 seconds. once the point was deducted hatton drifted away, leaving himself open as he was trying to make up for the point loss. mayweather kept ducking below the waist, and should have had a point deducted himself if the referee was any good, or consistent. was it just me or did he look like the fella from austin powers!?

and lads, dont hate hatton because he's english, he's one of the most genuine sportsmen around. maybe a fight or two at this level before taking on mayweather would have helped him

10/12/2007, 1:14 AM
There has never been any real power punchers below welterweight.

Ruben Olivares - Bantamweight
Ricardo Lopez - Strawweight, Light-Flyweight
Naseem Hamed - Featherweight
Carlos Zarate - Bantamweight
Roberto Duran - Lightweight (and Welter, Light-middle, Middleweight)
Wilfredo Gomez - Superbantamweight, Lightweight, Light-welterweight

among many others, have all been punchers of devastating power, all capable of genuine one-punch knockouts.

Obviously they don't hit as hard as a heavyweight, or even a welterweight, but when you consider the power of their punches compared to their weight, and the weight of the person they're punching, the results are often more spectacular than heavier weights.

Duran was one of those whose power was most evident at his lighter weight, in his case Lightweight, and when he moved up to welter and light-middle, finally middle, his power wasn't as dominant as it had been at lightweight.
Gomez was unbeatable at super-bantam, but got hammered initially when he stepped up to featherweight (admittedly that was because he fought Salvador Sanchez).

Mayweather would be no exception to this trend. I'm not saying he'd be beaten, because I think he wouldn't, but it would be a forced, not a natural, step up in weight, and he'd be in with boxers whose power he couldn't match.
Mayweather would be no exception to this trend.

10/12/2007, 9:31 AM
Hype, hysteria and Hatton no match for Mayweather

John Rawling in Las Vegas
Ricky Hatton and Floyd Mayweather at the post-fight news conference after Hatton was knocked out by Mayweather in the 10th round of their WBC world welterweight title fight
Photograph: Guardian Service

BOXING: Has ever a fight drawn more coverage in the British media than Floyd Mayweather versus Ricky Hatton? Having worked on both Frank Bruno-Mike Tyson heavyweight title fights I can say they did not outrank it, and Lennox Lewis-Tyson certainly didn't. Nor did the hype surrounding the Chris Eubank and Nigel Benn confrontations equal that promoting the skirmish here in Las Vegas.

Those old enough tell me Randy Turpin and Sugar Ray Robinson in 1951 was pretty special, when questions were raised in the House of Commons after the BBC Radio commentary team of Raymond Glendenning and Barrington Dalby led listeners to believe that Robinson was winning their epic fight at London's Earl's Court only for Turpin to have his arm raised after one of the greatest upsets of them all. The public, I am told, was outraged to have been given a duff call.

So I wonder if similar questions will be raised in Britain after it was encouraged to buy into the myth that Hatton was about to beat Mayweather, a fighter who anyone with a proper knowledge of boxing had to acknowledge was a class above brave and lovable Ricky. Yet record pay-per-view figures for Sky Box Office are apparently a distinct possibility and bookies were expecting more money to be wagered on Hatton than for any previous boxing contest.

Reading the newspapers, with the tabloids in particular having developed an insatiable appetite for all matters Hatton in recent months, it did seem all sense of perspective had been lost as Hatton's sub-Bernard Manning cheeky-chappy observations were gleefully reported and Mayweather depicted as the bad guy, with scarcely a reference to his considerable abilities.

And then there is the part played by Sky itself, which surrendered a substantial chunk of its award-winning programming on Sky News on Saturday for what was a thinly-disguised advert for the £14.99 21) a pop required for fans to watch the fight. We had interviews with punters and fans in pubs, on the streets, in the casinos, on Las Vegas Boulevard. And hey, guess what . . . the big news was that Joe Public wanted the "Hitman" to win.

British people allow themselves to be sucked into a belief that England should have a team full of world-class footballers capable of winning the World Cup. No matter that England have been rubbish for the larger portion of living memory, it won't stop the bandwagon starting up again once the qualifiers begin for 2010. And, when the team fail, it's the manager's fault.

Why do people fall for it again and again? Perhaps it is because a cheerleading media ultimately stifles rational thought. This is what happened with the Hatton fight. If you read often enough that Hatton will prevail, and that Mayweather will not handle the heat, you begin to believe it. Especially if you have not actually seen Mayweather fight.

On Saturday night in Las Vegas football standards reached the MGM Grand as Hatton's hordes booed throughout the American national anthem, then jeered the introductions for one of the best fighters the sport has seen. Across Britain many more watched at home, or in clubs and pubs, believing their bets on Hatton were about to pay off.

Except it was never going to happen. Or, at least, it was highly unlikely. Hatton had been backed in to as short as 11-8 against winning the fight, a nonsensical price considering the Mancunian was up against a fighter who has operated on a higher plane for years. The truth is Mayweather is a modern great - Hatton is very good but simply not at that level. But it doesn't sell papers or boost pay-per-view sales, so let's conveniently sweep the facts under the carpet until, come fight time, they jump out and metaphorically - or literally in Hatton's case - dump you on your backside. Not that it matters then, because the sale has been made.

sliced pan
10/12/2007, 9:38 AM
I predicted right at 33/1 as I said here nice night for me. Ref didnt let Hatton fight his style but Mayweather showed he was a class ahead if Mayweather is still fighting in a year or two id like to see Hatton give him another go he's gutsy but not gutsy enough.

shaneker
10/12/2007, 1:58 PM
Just watched it! Got too ****ed and fell asleep on Saturday night just as the anthems were about to be sung and have spent 2 days desperately avoiding all TV, not going on the internet and keeping out of any shops so I don't see any newspapers while spending 24 hours downloading the fecking thing...totally worth it to watch it as live though.

Absolutely no question as to class, Mayweather truly looked like one of the greatest ever, but I was bleeding for Hatton, he seems a really genuine grounded bloke and I was rooting for him. Gutted he came up so short but loved the fact that he was cracking jokes 5 minutes afterwards.

And sliced pan - fair play to ye, I didn't see either man getting knocked out, good pick!

10/12/2007, 5:24 PM
why Box then?!

What a stupid question.

Why doesn't he move up to heavyweight altogether, shur that's where the real money is?? :rolleyes:

10/12/2007, 6:56 PM
What a stupid question.

Why doesn't he move up to heavyweight altogether, shur that's where the real money is?? :rolleyes:

the real money hasnt been in heavyweight fights in a long time.....

...anyhow your not really saying anything so no point in trying to reason with ye ;)

Absolutely no question as to class, Mayweather truly looked like one of the greatest ever, but I was bleeding for Hatton, he seems a really genuine grounded bloke and I was rooting for him. Gutted he came up so short but loved the fact that he was cracking jokes 5 minutes afterwards.

Ya I felt sorry for him, mayweather was class, but cortez never really gave him a chance to fight his fight. For once I agreed with the commentators on Sky! :)

kingdom hoop
10/12/2007, 7:19 PM
Wouldn't be a huge boxing follower, always enjoy it alright, but I must say I had a particularly fantastic time watching this fight. There was something special about sitting with a group of lads, all really lary, volume really loud, late on a Saturday night watching two (or one more accurately I guess) men beat the **** out of each other. More nights like that please. :)

10/12/2007, 7:28 PM
the real money hasnt been in heavyweight fights in a long time.....

That's because all the current heavyweights are bums.

Big name heavyweight contest would always draw more than a big name contest in any other division.

...anyhow your not really saying anything so no point in trying to reason with ye

Ah paul don't be like that.

Every single thing you post is absolute tosh but I still try to reason with you.

Ya I felt sorry for him, mayweather was class, but cortez never really gave him a chance to fight his fight. For once I agreed with the commentators on Sky!

Damned if I'm going to try reasoning with this though :rolleyes:

10/12/2007, 7:39 PM
Surprised so many came on here expecting Mayweather to get beat in the end, as I said, head says Pretty Boy, heart says Hatton, and in the end Mayweather proved a lot of people who doubted his desire to be in the ring anymore wrong, myself included. Anyone who ever thought Hatton could outbox Mayweather hasn't got a clue about the sport in my opinion, the only way he coulod ever have beaten him would be if Mayweather had lost a little bit of desire to box, and as I've said, he proved a lot of us wrong Saturday night. Not a great fight by the way, good, but not great

10/12/2007, 7:55 PM
That's because all the current heavyweights are bums.

Damned if I'm going to try reasoning with this though :rolleyes:

great post there.

Sometimes you make some sense, and then other times it appears like ye dont even try.....

Anyone who knows anything about boxing, knows that a refs only real job is to step in when a fighter is in serious trouble or the fights need to be stopped( points deducted etc ) for illegal punches etc. Its not to step in at every opportunity just because he wants to see a clean fight.....ive never ever seen a ref do that before. My god, lads would never be able come through the amateur ranks if that were the case. The only defence for cortez was that it made for a more entertaining fight, and that again is not the job of a ref in boxing.

anyhow, i know my posts are complete tool, thats why ive racked up so many, thats the difference though - i know ;)

10/12/2007, 7:59 PM
Surprised so many came on here expecting Mayweather to get beat in the end, as I said, head says Pretty Boy, heart says Hatton, and in the end Mayweather proved a lot of people who doubted his desire to be in the ring anymore wrong, myself included. Anyone who ever thought Hatton could outbox Mayweather hasn't got a clue about the sport in my opinion, the only way he coulod ever have beaten him would be if Mayweather had lost a little bit of desire to box, and as I've said, he proved a lot of us wrong Saturday night. Not a great fight by the way, good, but not great

i played my cards close to my chest cos i thought it was going to go the distance at least. this pic says it all really:
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?view=DETAILS&grid=A1YourView&xml=/sport/2007/12/10/soboxx210.xml

I noted it before but ye can see it there too, along with the fight, hatton looks like a little boy compared to mayweather and that really did show in the end whenever mayweather landed a punch.

Jebus, why did you not think it was a good fight, because it was too one sided?!

Btw, anyone who thinks that mayweather wont fight again - assuming someone comes along in the next 2 years - hasn't a clue either. I think some already said that above too.

10/12/2007, 8:11 PM
Didn't think it was great because from the 3rd round on it was obvious Hatton was going to lose, arguably you could say it was from the 2nd round on, and I have to give credit to the Hitman for hanging in til the 10th, as the fight progressed in the third I didn't think he'd get to the 6th, let alone the 10th

10/12/2007, 8:37 PM
The only defence for cortez was that it made for a more entertaining fight, and that again is not the job of a ref in boxing.

Only defence necessary IMO.

I know I'd rather watch Mayweather being Mayweather then Hatton dragging him down to his level.

Any fan of the art of boxing would surely think likewise.

anyhow, i know my posts are complete tool, thats why ive racked up so many, thats the difference though - i know ;)

You can put a little winky thingy at the end there thinking you're being all clever and stuff but to be honest judging by your posts on foot you're either (a) 9 years old (b) should be my pet or (c) both of the above.

BTW, being an idiot is nothing to be proud of.*

Then again, it's a characteristic you seem to find endearing, judging by your Hatton love.

*In no way a personal attack it's just judging by his post he seems to take some sort of perverse pleasure from his posts being "complete tool", whatever the hell that is.

10/12/2007, 8:44 PM
Originally Posted by lim_til_i_die
The only defence for cortez was that it made for a more entertaining fight, and that again is not the job of a ref in boxing.

Only defence necessary IMO.

I know I'd rather watch Mayweather being Mayweather then Hatton dragging him down to his level.

Any fan of the art of boxing would surely think likewise.

thats not a job of the ref. its like saying a football ref should allow offside so there can be loads of goals, cos fans of soccer like to see lots of goals.

It is no defence.

oh and btw I am a big child. But aren't you a bigger one by still going on ;) Ill do a "mayweather* " on it and retire, unlike KH I can give up on lost causes :)

*like he will....

10/12/2007, 8:49 PM
thats not a job of the ref. its like saying a football ref should allow offside so there can be loads of goals, cos fans of soccer like to see lots of goals.

What a stupid analogy.

It's not even remotely similar.

Jesus. :rolleyes:

oh and btw I am a big child.

You're a big something alright.

But aren't you bigger one by still going on

It's this or study for a Strategic Management exam.

And arguing with you is far, far, far less taxing on the oul brain.

10/12/2007, 8:56 PM
I'm not arguing though lim :) I think you are arguing with yourself....Strategic management shouldn't require much study so im sure you will be alright though.

What a stupid analogy.

It's not even remotely similar.

Jesus.

Ok then.

10/12/2007, 9:00 PM
I'm not arguing though lim

Right, yeah, fair enough paul :rolleyes:

Strategic management shouldn't require much study so im sure you will be alright though.

Of course I will.

It's actually probably my favourite subject on the course and is definitely the one I find easiest to do.

There's a hidden message about my opinion of you in there somewhere. I leave it to you to discover as I'm off to bed.

Night, night Lassie.

10/12/2007, 9:08 PM
Lads keep it to pm will ye?
Or for the sake of yer sanity, don't bother at all.

10/12/2007, 9:20 PM

I stopped about 3 or 4 posts ago, but poor lim ( along with the (in)security of needing the last post )feels the need to argue with an idiot :)

10/12/2007, 9:27 PM
I stopped about 3 or 4 posts ago, but poor lim ( along with the (in)security of needing the last post )

If you're so concerned about my emotional state I suggest you ask around foot paul

Insecure?!?! Roysh......... :D

feels the need to argue with an idiot

It stopped being an argument posts ago sonny

Duly noted and fully agreed with.

This is my last post on the matter.

Would you by any chance allow paul the right to reply though lest he feel my crippling insecurities are causing me to hog the last post rights again??

11/12/2007, 9:34 AM
Lads, cop the fuch on, or go get a room will ye??