View Full Version : Help me sell your club

padjoe
03/12/2007, 9:19 AM
Hi lads and ladies,

didnt't know what to put in the thread title so that'll have to do.
i am doing a christmas review for my sports section in roscommon and part of it is a new year resolution section/something new for 2008. I have decided to include something along the lines of supporting an eircom league club for the year. As the paper is in roscommon i was going to focus on Longford Town, Galway United, Sligo Rovers and Athlone Town but i thought it would be better to expand it to include all clubs. No point limiting choice to four clubs.

So you might just state your club name at the top and fill in the blanks. feel free to add in more headings if i forgot any interesting ones.

Why support us.......

Player to watch.......

Sample of Chants......

Expectations for 2008.......

Must see games in 2008 involving our club......

03/12/2007, 12:40 PM
Longford Town

We need the money.

Whoever stick around next season.

We hate Athlone...

Athlone

03/12/2007, 12:46 PM
Longford Town

We need the money.

Whoever stick around next season.

We hate Athlone...

Athlone

As above, but substitute Athlone for Longford and vice versa :D

03/12/2007, 12:49 PM
hehe. See you next season Ash!

03/12/2007, 12:56 PM
hehe. See you next season Ash!

Deffo ... we'll have to defend our Shane Brennan Memorial Cup win in
pre-season ... although as far as I know even though we won it ye
never gave it back :eek:

03/12/2007, 12:58 PM
I'll give you €20 for Sligo Rovers

atfconline
03/12/2007, 12:59 PM
I'd just do a great big splash on the only LOI club in Roscommon, Athlone Town. :D

03/12/2007, 1:02 PM
With a little more detail ....

Why support us....... oldest league club in the country, lovely new stadium

Players to watch....... Carmine Russo, Brian McCarthy, Noel McGee, Colm Jinks

Sample of Chants...... (been very quiet lately..)

Expectations for 2008....... Get promoted or at least finish higher than Longford

Must see games in 2008 involving our club...... Longford and Dundalk (they demolished us last season so we need to beat them)

I'd just do a great big splash on the only LOI club in Roscommon, Athlone Town. :D

Plus former Town players Shane Curran, Enda Kenny and Henry Kenny play GAA in Ros!
Actually the Kenny brothers played for Longford too so scratch that!

03/12/2007, 1:21 PM
Finn Harps.

Why support us....... We have super Higsy, well worth the entry fee alone.

Player to watch....... Conor Gethins and Tony Sheilds

Sample of Chants...... Oohhh super Higsy,
He used to be a mucker but he's alright now.

He's small, he's hard, he's known to the guards,
he's tony sheilds, tony sheilds.

you are my Parkhouse, my only Parkhouse,
you make me happy, when skies are grey,
acceleration in moderation,
please don't take my Parky away.

Expectations for 2008....... Stay in the prem. Beat the muckers.

Must see games in 2008 involving our club...... Against Derry, massive games and big crowds.

Dazzy
03/12/2007, 1:32 PM
Must see games in 2008 involving our club...... Against Derry, massive games and big crowds.

Should be good games with atmosphere and displays:D

JC_GUFC
03/12/2007, 2:23 PM
Players to watch....... Carmine Russo,

Did he make you an offer you couldn't refuse to say that?! ;)

Tir Oilean
03/12/2007, 2:27 PM
So you might just state your club name at the top and fill in the blanks. feel free to add in more headings if i forgot any interesting ones.

Why support us....... Fastest Growing Club in the West

Player to watch....... Daryl Robson

Sample of Chants...... Fields of Athenry (sung by Galway people!)

Expectations for 2008....... A top four finish

Must see games in 2008 involving our club......Sligo Rovers, Drogheda United and FAI Cup game(s)!

ramblersnb1
03/12/2007, 2:34 PM
Why support us....... We are the first division champs and are ready for the prem...... roy keanes first senior club

Players to watch....... Davin O' Neill and Conor "DUBS" Meade was at best average in the first divisoin but hes up for the prem and will be a huge player for us next year

Sample of Chants......
connor connor meade
he is a dub
he loves d club
connor connor meade

kenny colman is a ram
is a ram
is a ram
kenny colman is a ram
he loves ramblers

he plays on the left
he plays on the right
that boy davin made everyone look ****e

O KEARNEYS F*****G MAGIC
HE WEARS A MAGIC HAT
AND WHEN HE SAW SAINT COLMANS PARK
HE SAID I FANCY THAT
HE DIDNT SIGN FOR DUNDALK
OR LIMERICK COS THERE S***E
HE SIGNED FOR COBH RAMBLERS
COS THEIR F*****G DYNAMITE

Expectations for 2008....... Stay in the prem hammer city

Must see games in 2008 involving our club...... derby against cork city .....

03/12/2007, 3:12 PM
Why support us.......Don't. Support your local team :D

Players to watch....... Joe Gamble, Dan Murray, Leon McSweeney(maybe)

Sample of Chants......
The banks of my own lovely lee
Fields of bishopstown

Ole Ole Ole Ole Ole Ole Ola x2
We are Cork City FC
The Rebel Army, The rebel Army

Expectations for 2008....... Sign 4-5 quality players, challenge for league and cups

Must see games in 2008 involving our club...... City vs Rovers, City vs Drogheda to see the bigger crowds

BrayUnknowns
03/12/2007, 3:39 PM
Expectations for 2008....... A top four finish

Seriously ? :confused:

scottish_bohs
03/12/2007, 3:42 PM
Good idea... i've just spent my first year supporting an Eircom League side (Bohs) and i'm hooked so hopefully there are more like me out there.

Why support us... 'cos we're THE big club in Ireland!

Player to watch... Brian Murphy (goalkeeper) - destined for bigger & better things

Sample of Chants... 'Stand up if you hate Rovers' & 'Stand up if you love the Poles'

Expectations for 2008... Challenging for the title and winning some silverware

Must see games in 2008 involving our club... The derby versus Shamrock Rovers

don ramo
03/12/2007, 3:44 PM
Why support us: we play some of the best football in the league.

Player to watch: davin o neill, shane gutrie, john kearney and graham cummins.

Sample of Chants:
O KEARNEYS F*****G MAGIC
HE WEARS A MAGIC HAT
AND WHEN HE SAW SAINT COLMANS PARK
HE SAID I FANCY THAT
HE DIDNT SIGN FOR DUNDALK
OR LIMERICK COS THERE S***E
HE SIGNED FOR COBH RAMBLERS
COS THEIR F*****G DYNAMITE

Expectations for 2008: beat city (thats easy) safety and a cup will do

Must see games in 2008 involving our club: Drogs, Dery, Pats, and City i suppose

03/12/2007, 4:49 PM
Why support us... 'cos we're THE big club in Ireland!

He wasnt looking for entries to the comedy section of the paper ;)

03/12/2007, 5:34 PM

That's me out of the bidding

scottish_bohs
03/12/2007, 5:39 PM
He wasnt looking for entries to the comedy section of the paper ;)

The truth hurts ronnie!!

Now, be off to the first division with you... :D

03/12/2007, 5:40 PM
Why support us.......

Player to watch.......

Sample of Chants......

Must see games in 2008 involving our club......

Derry

Why support us? The big team in the North West. The only team to win the domestic treble, twice.

Player to Watch? Paddy McCourt. On his day he is the most talented player in the eircom League and is worth paying the admission fee.

Sample Chants?

Have you ever won the treble? Have ye fcuk

We all live in the randy Brandywell,
The randy Brandywell,

Teenage Kicks by the Undertones.

Expectations for 2008? To cement our position as the biggest side outside the Pale and mount another title challenge.

Must see games? North West Derby.

03/12/2007, 6:06 PM
Limerick 37

Why support us.......don't unless you're a self-loather, in which case welcome to the party

Player to watch.......Wayne Colbert (if he's still bloody here :mad:)

Sample of Chants......You're just a small port in England (towards the Ramblers)

Expectations for 2008.......For McGee to be sacked

Must see games in 2008 involving our club......Waterford

don ramo
03/12/2007, 6:08 PM
Limerick 37

Why support us.......don't unless you're a self-loather, in which case welcome to the party

Player to watch.......Wayne Colbert (if he's still bloody here )

Sample of Chants......You're just a small port in England (towards the Ramblers)

Expectations for 2008.......For McGee to be sacked

Must see games in 2008 involving our club......Waterford

ya enjoy singin that one next year:D, god help ye, the only club ye could take the p**s out of was us, and ye were bad at that, :ball::ball:

03/12/2007, 6:12 PM
Derry

The only team to win the domestic treble, twice.

Did you miscount or did I:confused:

03/12/2007, 7:35 PM
Did you miscount or did I:confused:I think he's counting the Shelegation league.

hogey
03/12/2007, 7:53 PM
Well thats a bit stupid of him then is'nt it.

03/12/2007, 8:00 PM
Well, if Shels could get away with it in 2002... ;)

03/12/2007, 8:13 PM
U.C.D.
Why support us....... The best run club in the League, the best club for developing young talent in the League, who wants to be a glory hunter? :D

Player to watch....... Paul Byrne , he's a goal machine.

Sample of Chants......( To Bohs or Longford when we are beating them)
Are you Trinity in Disguise?

Trinty! Sh*te! Cheer Up Trinity oh what can it mean to a West British W*nker who can't spell UCD

Did you get your , did you get your, did you get your junior Cert?

Expectations for 2008.......Win a trophy , 2 semi-finals in 2007 need to go one better !
Oh and mid-table security, Win the Fair Play Trophy again and walk away with the Under 20 League :D

Must see games in 2008 involving our club...... the South East Derbies with Bray and Dublin Derbies with Shamrock Rovers , St. Patrick's Athletic ( especially in Richer) and Bohemians ...

03/12/2007, 10:04 PM
UCD -

Why support us.......Best young players in the league. Catch the future stars of the league before anyone else.

Player to watch.......Killian Gallagher. Assuming Ian Bermingham leaves, Gally's going to be a real exciting prospect - nicknamed Kamikaze, he's a full back who loves to get forward and defends on the odd occasion too.

Sample of Chants......Trinity ****E!!

Expectations for 2008.......Stay up more comfortably than last time; can we match this season's two Cup semis? Can we go one further?

Must see games in 2008 involving our club......All of them. We don't have a big game per se, although UCD v UCD retirement home (aka Bray) will be interesting!

The only team to win the domestic treble, twice.
If you're counting silly trebles, we've won one too.

03/12/2007, 10:26 PM
The only team to win the domestic treble, twice

If your counting silly trebles, we've won one too

We won the double in 2004 does that count too?

niallsparky
03/12/2007, 11:18 PM
Stand up if you love the Poles'

That's better Scottish Bohs.:);)

04/12/2007, 9:25 AM
Monaghan United FC

Why support us.......because you will be part of a small club which will become like your family and have "cheers" moments at every game. :o

Player to watch.......Luke Fitzpatrick - So good Dundalk weren't able to get him. :p

Sample of Chants......

Byrne Wayne Byrne, feet like an inferno

Expectations for 2008.......To finish in top half while building our kicka** Regional Development Centre

Must see games in 2008 involving our club......Dundalk - The team everyone loves to hate.

04/12/2007, 11:06 AM
Why support us.......

We're not here to bloody impress you.

Although we have one of the few grounds where bags of cans are actively encouraged.

Our "stadium" has a certain rusting, grassy charm and due to the surrounding blocks of flats is a perfect amphitheatre.

Player to watch.......

Wayne Colbert, leaving soon I'd imagine so get here quick

Sample of Chants......

"We don't know what we're doing, we don't know what we're doing"

"Ski McGees, Blue and Black Army, Ski McGees, Blue and Black Army"

"What's Another Year"

"You need soap and water to wash a northerner"

The by now ruined Birdie Song.

Followed by letting off a couple of the biggest flares in World Football.

Mid-Table mediocrity.

The Manager leaving in a hail of back-biting and controversy.

Financial Instability.

Must see games in 2008 involving our club.........

Waterford, Dundalk, Shels.

Failing that try to get to the bi-annual Buckley Park fiasco.

Shiba
04/12/2007, 11:27 AM

Ye have been robbing form us for last few years so why stop now! As for our Shams friend your rite dont waste your money ye need it for your ground rental.

Shiba
04/12/2007, 11:38 AM
Why support us.......

What else would you do................

Player to watch.......
Faz , Peers & Coleman (Everyone else is)

Sample of Chants......
Quasimoto .......................
Improve on this season.

Must see games in 2008 involving our club......[/QUOTE]

Finn Harps, Derry,Galway (Derby Matchs always a good atmosphere) Also Cork & Pats they play football.I suppose Bohs as well they half of Sligo Rovers Team there anyway.

scottish_bohs
04/12/2007, 1:34 PM
That's better Scottish Bohs.:);)

:D It's a big immigrant love in!

04/12/2007, 4:45 PM
We won the double in 2004 does that count too?
Eh...no? Cos that's a double, not a treble?

04/12/2007, 8:30 PM
Dublin Derbies with Shamrock Rovers , St. Patrick's Athletic ( especially in Richer) and Bohemians ...
I'm sorry, but there are some assertions you just cannot let pass.
A game with UCD may be many things, but a Dublin derby it most certainly is not. :p

04/12/2007, 8:53 PM
I'm sorry, but there are some assertions you just cannot let pass.
A game with UCD may be many things, but a Dublin derby it most certainly is not. :p

Why? When did you lot move to Meath? :D

hedderman
05/12/2007, 4:59 PM
With your anti-Trinity chants, I've got more of an incentive to turn up at Belfield with my TCD hoody and Derry City scarf :D

05/12/2007, 5:47 PM
With your anti-Trinity chants, I've got more of an incentive to turn up at Belfield with my TCD hoody and Derry City scarf :D

We dare you to do that you heretic! :D

Coltron
05/12/2007, 6:03 PM
Drogheda United

You'll enjoy watching us try to climb higher.

Declan "Fabio" O'Brian and/or Brian Shelly

He is Shane Barrett,
He's 18 carrots,
He came from Longford, to bring us joy,
He's 5'11, of football heaven,
So please don't take Shane Barrett away.

Retain the league and enjoy competing against European teams

The Cork games are gettting better and better.

05/12/2007, 6:08 PM
He is Shane Barrett,
He's 18 carrotsLOL, pretty cheap. :D

08/12/2007, 2:18 PM
LOL, pretty cheap. :D

18 Carrots! Very healthy though don't you think ? :D

08/12/2007, 8:28 PM
Why support us-Well in your case it's handy in terms of location. Plus, we play some good football, most of the time, under Paul Cook.

Player to watch-Seamus Coleman, Gavin Peers and Judge(when on form)

Sample of Chants-I know a man from Bognor Regis. We've got the best midfield in the world. and the old reliable...Na na na na, na na na na, ay ay ay Sligo Rovers.

Expectations for 2008-Hard to know just yet as things are unsure in terms of what budget is available. If we can get a bit of investment and sign a few good players for the positions needed then I'd be hopeful of pushing for Europe.

Must see games in 2008 involving our club-Finn Harps, Galway and Shams.

BobtheDrog
09/12/2007, 2:44 AM
Drogheda United

You'll enjoy watching us try to climb higher.

Declan "Fabio" O'Brian and/or Brian Shelly

He is Shane Barrett,
He's 18 carrots,
He came from Longford, to bring us joy,
He's 5'11, of football heaven,
So please don't take Shane Barrett away.

Retain the league and enjoy competing against European teams

The Cork games are gettting better and better.

always thought that went "he plays in claret"